Source: Sam Boal via

Status Orange snow warning issued for seven counties

Accumulations of up to 8cm are expected.

A STATUS ORANGE snow-ice warning has been issued for six counties tonight.

Met Eireann has issued the warning for Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Longford, Leitrim, Mayo and Sligo.

It became valid at 4pm today and will stay in place until 6pm tomorrow.

Met Eireann says, “Snow showers will occur this evening, tonight and during Friday.

Accumulations of 4 to 8 cm expected, with the larger values on high ground. Icy roads and footpaths.

A status yellow snow-ice warning is also in place for Munster, Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Offaly, Westmeath, Meath and Roscommon.

Snow showers are expected for the counties which icy roads and footpaths.

It will also be valid until 6pm tomorrow, with accumulations of up to 3 cm expected.

Read: Luas Red Line back in service but passengers warned of 15 minute delays>

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.