TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Video: Noonan accuses Donnelly of ‘lying’, quickly withdraws remark

A debate on the promissory note arrangement saw sharp exchanges between the independent TD and the Finance Minister last night.

FINANCE MINISTER Michael Noonan clashed with the independent TD Stephen Donnelly during a motion on the promissory note agreement in the Dáil last night.

The chamber was discussing a motion which welcomed the swapping of the promissory notes issued in respect of the former Anglo Irish Bank being replaced with government bonds when Donnelly’s contribution drew sharp criticism from Noonan.

Donnelly was critical of the government’s decision to not seek a writedown of the debt burden in negotiations with the European Central Bank and claimed that Greece had got a write down of €110 billion on its sovereign debt when it asked.

Noonan said this was not the case: “You’re doing what you always do, you’re misleading people. I heard you on the radio the other day. You were lying, you were lying on Marian Finucane the other morning.”

The Minister quickly withdrew the remark at the request of chairman Ciarán Lynch, saying: “I withdraw, he was misleading Marian Finucane”.

However he went on to say: “You pretend to have expertise… you mislead constantly.”

Watch (from 2m 55 sec)

YouTube: Stephen Donnelly

Earlier Noonan explained to the Dáil, the benefits of the agreement reached last week.

He said: “The principal benefit of this arrangement is that the promissory notes are gone.

“They will be exchanged for long-term Government bonds with an average maturity of 34 to 35 years as opposed to the seven to eight year average maturity of the promissory notes.

“The maturity of the bonds will have significant benefits from a market perspective, as it ensures the liability to repay is beyond most credit investors’ time horizon.”

Read: Here’s how the IBRC deal takes €1bn off next year’s Budget

Timeline: The 24 hours that secured the promissory note deal

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Stephen Donnelly went to the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. Michael Noonan is a secondary school teacher. Who exactly is pretending to have expertise?

• It’s easy say what the electorate want to hear when you’re on the opposition! Donnelly is a man who likes the smell of his own bullshit

• Such a well reasoned response. The debate is always so lively and intelligent on this site.

• Reg 13/02/13 #

I also think Donnelly is being misleading about what is achievable here. This was turned into sovereign debt the night Fianna Fail guaranteed the banks. I remember the crowing on the radio the next day from Lenihan and Cowen about such a great move it was. It was a disaster for the country.

• What we’re hearing from the opposition is exactly (in most cases) what the electorate wants!

• @Reg: Fair point, but to shoot yourself in the foot by not at least putting what you want on the table, of course what is achievable won’t measure up, it’s a physical impossibility. Here is a nice taste of what this government is really up to, and really highlights how interested they are in the best interests of the people: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/bill-restricts-dail-banking-crisis-probe-222273.html

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Give over reg, we’re past blaming FF. they guaranteed the banks yeah now two years on FG extended that guarantee and the liquidated Anglo now ask yourself why? Why now after all those billions pumped into it (thanks tax payer) why in the middle of the night when a Supreme Court case was in the process (thanks David hall) was it going to be successful and known that the prom notes were illegal? FG changing the goal posts to suit themselves yet again.The time for blame is long gone this is all FG doing. No one else can claim responsibility for this disaster.

• Reg 13/02/13 #

I think the troika are pretty much aware what we want Ferdia. Who in their right mind would want to pay this debt. The problem for Ireland is that we are still in need of significant funding for the next few years. When someone has your balls in a vice grip it is very difficult to do anything that you would like to do.

• Yes but them knowing what we want, and Noonan actually putting it on the table in negotiations are very different thinks. If it’s on the table it must be delt with, even if that just means saying “No”. If both parties simple know about it, it can be ignored entirely, as with what happened. Again, I am not saying it would have happened had he put it on the table, odds are it may not have been, but it was his responsibility to put it on the table.

• Reg 13/02/13 #

Yes a harder line could have been taken Ferdia, not sure either if it would have got us anywhere. A technical default could have been expensive for us in the short term though and at least this reduces the cost of this guarantee for the next few years. This is is important when public finances are so tight. We need to reduce the deficit as soon as is practicable, as adding more debt is not the answer.

• @Ferdia my point is is that it’s easy to have the all the right answers when you are at the opposition side of the house. Implementing those answers would be a lot more difficult. I can’t imagine that if Stephen Donnelly became Taoiseach/Minister for Finance tomorrow that by 6 months time we will be in a much better state than we are now. The readership of this site seem to think that he is some sort of white knight who will come and banish all our troubles in a matter of moments. I don’t think economic miracles can happen in such a fashion; just look at Obama in the USA; although the signs of recovery are there it has been a slow and painful process.

• @matthew ryan, one word ‘Iceland’

• RP, Don’t put your faith in discount frozen food supermarkets.

Ireland couldn’t do now what Iceland did then, not having done what it has done so far.

• Ryano i can safely say FG can match FF for criminality ,this bailout is going to cost the people 60 billion and no bank investigation of any real meaning how can you defend this.

• agreed damocles, but do you really think this shower are performing well? even given the extraordinary circumstances? the hypocrisy of this government (labour in particular because fg always act this way) makes my blood boil

• Cowen and Lenehin made that decision sitting at a bar, pissed outta their minds….

• Reg. Cowen and Lenihan crowed and celebrated the deal because it protected FF donors and friends, ensuring that the party would survive long term and that gombeen pork barrel politics would continue. Their concern was not about the welfare of the country.

In all probability the Finance Minister who will be in charge when we are over the mess they created is probably only still in secondary.

• ” do you really think this shower are performing well?”

No. I’ve made clear what I think should happen repeatedly.

It’s in this blog: http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2013/01/02/yeah-well-politicians-innit/

• Iceland, not in the Euro not in the EU, different country all together, we have agreed to rules in EU treaties, it would have been worse if we had broken them to become like Iceland

• Conor, the promissory notes were a vehicle used to bend the EU rules on banking finance. You cannot disregard the rules to create something and then hide behind the rules to support it.

• Exactly Reg… time will tell how this will pan out..in the short term, its of benefit to us but long term…unless inflation seriously erodes the value of the debt, we’ve just put a longer fuse on the gun to our heads. I’ve said it before..the Anglo debt is, wasn’t or never should be ours. A debt write down..even a partial one would have been worth pursuing.

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

@Dermot

It’s indefensible. Any eejit can see that. Putting blame on the person with the matches (FF) while the real culprits are the ones who lit the match and started arson (FG)

And you’re right about the non investigation into the banking sector….because FG are simply looking out for themselves and their friends.

I guess their idea if accountability is defunct.

• Reg, they were crowing because it got them and the golden circle off the hook and shoved the burden onto us!

• Didn’t Noonan do a course with The Bilderbergs shur.

• Ha ha ha, classic comment.

• rusty9 13/02/13 #

Ironic to hear Noonan calling Stephen a liar and misleading the people when Noonan told the people of Ireland on the day that HE facilitated Anglo seizing the Quinn Group that the bondholders took a big hit in the region of 50% in the deal. They took no hit whatsoever and he has consistently refused to clarify why he misled the people. He also said that there would be no job losses and none of the company would be sold for at least 5 years. There are more than 1500 jobs gone to date and the Quinn Group is being auctioned off in pieces. Michael Noonan calling anyone else a liar is a bit rich.
      Separately, will he and those who facilitated the IBRC liquidation legislation be jailed for PUTTING ASSETS BEYOND THE REACH OF THE QUINN FAMILY especially when the alleged debt of 2.3 billion has yet to be ruled on in a court of law.

• “On Thursday, February 14, at 1.30pm, the Dail will vote for the first, and possibly last time on converting Ireland’s bank debt into sovereign debt. This is the proposed restructuring of the promissory notes. I am urging everyone to get in touch with their local TD to tell them whether they are in favour of converting debts from failed banks into the debts of the people of Ireland, and to urge them to vote for the people they represent rather than according to any party diktat.” ~ http://stephendonnelly.ie/converting-bank-debt-to-sovereign-debt/

• Aine,

Done. Just contacted my local TD Joan Burton and requested that she vote against this Bill which places the debts of financial speculators firmly on to the shoulders of the Irish people. It’s a futile gesture most likely but maybe in this late hour Joan will find some of the integrity she has lost.
      Joe Higgins and Patrick Nulty will vote against the Bill. I won’t waste my time contacting Leo Varadkar.

• The big difference in FF and GF is FF at least told us everything was great while they stuffed their pockets and we live in bliss not knowing the damage they done.
      FG on the other hand tell us the stark truth about how far up the creek we are without a paddle while stuffing their pockets
      Both ways joe public gets raped and pays for these crooks to live happily ever after

• Ferdia, that Irish Examiner piece on the Legislation being drawn up that will restrict Dáil banking crisis probe is just unbelievable..

It’s just so ridiculous and disheartening..!
      How the hell is the government allowed to just come up with new laws to suit them whenever they want…? X(

Surely this is a prime example of where direct democracy (The people having the power to call referendum for new laws and public policy) would be of major benefit.
      I mean those gangsters in government pretty much have the power to do whatever they please..
      Now we have Pat Rabbit trying to clamp down on any anti-government dialog that appears on the Internet.

• After Noonan having a good ol chuckle on the radio last week about the legality of the promissory notes which he’s now converted to legal sovereign debt, I think I’ll believe Donnelly.

• All I can say is wow! Every Irish citizen should watch this video. Everyone should share and post on twitter FB etc.

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Now watch the staunch FG party members defend this moron. Any one with an ounce if common sense can see Donnelly is tack sharp and on the ball 100% correct. Bilderberg nooners is way out of his depth, he couldn’t compete with Donnelly so he throws a sly dig, nothing unusual there……it’s a FG trait, when caught out first deny it, then deny it again, if that fails praise yourself, if that fails throw around insults at the opposition party. God these FGers have got to go before its to late.

Stephen Donnelly for Taoiseach !

• No doubt Donnelly will be accused of being negative now too, you’re a liar or negative for pointing out the obvious these days – this is a s**te deal! Thank God for Stephen, some resemblance of reality still left in that kip they call Dail Eireann at least!

• I think we should ask our children if they think they got a good deal…I know what my kids think.

Donnelly is absolutely correct, and Noonan’s backside is exposed and his small mindedness.

• We should be voting on this deal, not the people who negotiated it. Ask us, what we think of it?

• Our children have become indentured by this deal….how is this good…what idiot can consider this good.
      And anyone who suggests “the amount will be less by the time it needs paying, so that’s ok then” are the same kind of blundering gombeens that got the country into this stupid mess in the first place.

• the carry on of our government ministers in chamber over the last few weeks especially makes me embarrassed to be Irish, they act like fish-wives heckling and sneering, where is the dignity? how can anyone support such base behaviour?

• By imposing this illegal debt on Irish citizens, this government are committing a crime against its people like never before. Every TD that sanctions this treacherous act should have their photographs displayed in every working class estate in Ireland. Public hanging’s too good for these evil people.

• @ Revolting,
      I totally agree with you. It sounds like a bunch of yobs trying to “out shout” each other at a football match.

• Lmao Noonan has no experience either yet he runs the show. Pot calling kettle black.

It still angers me the spin doctors in FG saying we got a deal we got no deal. We kicked the can down the road.

We dont owe this money so anything other than debt right off is nothing shirt of failure.

• dubdon 13/02/13 #

Think I’m siding with Stephen Donnelly on this one. Can’t see how pushing the repayment of this debt on to my kids and future grandchildren is a good deal. This is a debt run up by belligerent bankers who lost the run of themselves and left us all to foot the bill. Ireland is the whupping boy for the EU. Good old ireland toeing the EU line and doing what we are told. Just to prop up German British and French banks who took a gamble and lost. Greece demanded a debt write down and got one before they even payed back a penny… But no Ireland with their stiff upper lip will take the pain for Europe.

• The problem with these politicians is they’ve been hanging around for too long and only fit for retirement. I was always uncomfortable when they gave the Finance portfolio to Noonan, the biggest dinosaur in the Dail. He is from a different era as are most of them and we need politicans with backgrounds similar to Donnelly, not village schoolmasters whose speciality is rote learning and gossiping with priests

• The current government are enemies of democracy and enemies of the people. They are running the country in accordance with the wishes of the the financial elite with whom they are so intimately linked. To quote Pearse: ‘THE MEN who have led Ireland for 25 years have done evil, and they are bankrupt. They are bankrupt in policy, bankrupt in credit, bankrupt now even in words. They have nothing to propose to Ireland, no way of wisdom, no counsel of courage. When they speak, they speak only untruth and blasphemy. Their utterances are no longer the utterances of men. They are the mumblings and the gibberings of lost souls”. However, the key problem with their approach is that in this day and age, the people they seek to cheat, oppress and deceive are far too well educated and ease of access to information (which explains the government’s recent drive to clamp down on freedom of information and freedom of speech). The reason that so many people respect Stephen Donnelly is that he represents the type of leader that people want to see running this country. Mark my words – in the coming years we will see the rise of many more leaders like Stephen Donnelly. Everyone must now become political. Let’s band together and remove our entrenched political elite peacefully, by accepting our responsibility as citizens of this fine country to participate as actively as possible in the affairs of the state. Let’s overwhelm these lying, cheating, self-interested buffoons who have lorded over us for so long – and when we rid ourselves of them – let us strip them of all of their benefits so that they can no longer feed off the life-blood of our nation like the parasites that they are.

• Michael Noonan – BA and H.Dip. in English and Economics, Former school teacher.

Stephen Donnelly – MIT Grad, Harvard Kennedy School of Government Grad, Masters’ degree in Public Administration and International Development, Former management consultant with McKinsey & Company.

Hmm …

So who might have a better grasp of the matter at hand?

Hmm …

• A total ignoramus like noonan having the brass neck to call someone a liar while he leads the country on a merry dance.
    I would believe Satan before I would believe a word uttered from him or his ilk.

• sean 13/02/13 #

typical FG tactics ………………….why oh why are we simply just accepting this shit ,
    FG couldn,t negoitate their way out of a paper bag ………..thats why they didn,t try to get a write down ,
    Simply haven,t got the balls , instead just bow down to draghi and co ,
    I see also now they are introducing a bill that will hinder the powers of investigation into past politicans involvement in the banking crisis …………………..talk about protecting their own …………..this country is some big joke

• Another example of the government playing the man and not the ball…

Whenever they are caught out it happens. Other examples are Luke Flanagan and Pearse Doherty..

• Lets have a vote on this deal, the citizens are paying it and should have a say!

• Ryan'O 13/02/13 #

Sadly our sneaky politicians change legislation in the dead of night so we can’t vote or even question it’s illegality ……that’s what the prom night was all about.

* Yayyyyyy FG, well done, delighted you converted a promise into sovereign debt that will have to be paid for decades to come. Wooohooo better keep my kids here so they can pay*

****sarcasm****

• My grandchildren will be in their mid-40s when thi time bomb explodes. If Lenihan was able to convert private bank debt into sovereign debt then this government could have turned that situation around. However they didn’t have the bottle to face down the EU and the IMF.

• Mr Noonan explains the benefits of bonds: “We’ve saddled you peasants with more unsustainable debt and we’ve kicked the can down the road. My, I’m in awe of my own brilliance!”

• the question is did greece get a write down or not

• Kettle & Black come to mind.

• Motion: “The House welcomes that we hadn’t the bottle to negotiate a write-down deal for Ireland!” … Carry On.

• At 3.53 it looks like Ming is skinning up !

• My God — an Irish politician being accused of lying.
    What has the country come to ?

• If they stopped bickering like children maybe the country could actually go somewhere, who knows they could even try to solve the issues rather than pointing the finger. A primary school debate can be more civilised.

• So Stephen Donnelly could never lie? Come on he has his nose in the trough now and capable of telling porkies just like the rest of them

• So anyone have the FACTS? “Greece had got a write down of €110 billion on its sovereign debt when it asked”

Anyone? Or are we just taking sides without knowing what we are talking about. Classic Irish approach.

Add New Comment