TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Suggestive poses by 10-year-old Vogue model spark outrage

Parents’ groups have condemned the images, which include the pre-teen reclining on an animal skin rug, saying that the photographs help to perpetuate the sexualisation of children.

Image: Facebook

PARISIAN MODEL Thylane Lena-Rose Blondeau is featured in the latest edition of French Vogue wearing heavy make-up, draped in thin golden fabric and lying on a bed scattered with leopard-print cushions.

The images have caused outrage, as Blondeau is just ten years old.

Parents’ groups concerned about the sexualisation of children have condemned the inclusion of the pictures between the pages of one of the world’s most popular magazines.

Blondeau, the daughter of actress Véronika Loubry and former footballer Patrick Blondeau, already has an impressive modelling career for her tender years – having walked the runway for Jean Paul-Gaultier and secured cover-shots for a range of magazines.

The images, which also include the ten-year-old lying on an animal skin rug and rubbing dark lipstick across her mouth, have energised an ongoing debate about the representation of young girls in the media.

One commenter wrote: “I find it shocking that any parent would allow their 10 year old to be depicted like this. It’s blatantly sexualising them way before it’s appropriate. Seriously, are they so stupid they don’t realise who these images will appeal to and the harm theyre doing?”

However, Yahoo quotes another commenter who wrote: “I am frustrated with all the people who deem this as sensual… Art is totally subjective and depends on the individual viewing it.”

Suggestive poses by 10-year-old Vogue model spark outrage
1 / 3
  • Vogue photoshoot

Via Facebook
  • Vogue photoshoot

Via Facebook
  • Vogue photoshoot

Via Facebook

Read next:

Comments (75 Comments)

• That’s truely fucked up!

• I’m sorry, but I don’t class a ten year old in a dress with a VERY low neckline as ‘art’.

• This is freaky.

• disgusting, as a mother it sickens me

• Stop giving out and fight Back. Hit the corporates where it hurts. Don’t buy the clothes, mags, music, everything that sexualises kids. Take control back. We do have choices. F them all.

• That’s the powerful weapon consumers have, Willy. Act with your wallet/purse & refuse to buy. These photos are shameful & what kind of mother would basically prostitute her kid for fame/money/recognition ?! Shameful.

• that is sad

• Art me hole!

• WTF? That’s not right…

• Wrong, so wrong

• What sort of parents would let their ten year old daughter pose for this, though she is obviously very beautiful. Goodbye Lolita…bring back childhood, there’s loads of time to grow up, wear make up, look sexy but it’s definitely not aged ten!

• This is wrong on so many levels. I am gobsmacked, no doubt its because us peasants just don’t understand "art".

• I guess Vogue have no shame. After all, their brand has hit the headlines and there is no such thing as bad publicity. Its a win – win situation for Vogue. Very distasteful marketing tactics in my opinion.

• it is disgusting to allow a child to be photographed like this, her parents are a disgrace

• Totally agre with all the people who think this article is sooo wrong ,jesus christ SHE’S A CHILD !!!THese parents should be charged with child abuse .Can you imagine all the PERVS ogling this little girl .I would die before i would allow my child to pose like this .

• So the argument goes thus:

“It’s wrong to sexualise children.”

“But it’s art, and it depends on the subjective experience”

It’s not really art. At all. To think that this is the brainchild of some artist would be silly. Looks more like an ill-advised project given to some poor marketing director who had to walk a line between keeping his soul and flogging overpriced branded crap to kids and parents who don’t spend time with their kids.

• That’s messed up.

• I would not buy it at all as I can think of better ways to spend my money than to be told by someone in an office how to dress, were to holiday etc. although vouge are wrong on many levels to commision a shoot that is provocative and exploitive of a 10 year old girl, she is too young to decide for herself if she wants to be seen in certain light. ultimately it all falls to parental responsability which there seems to be an apalling lack of in society today. I have a child and I censor everything he watches and listens to. take rihanna, " teen idol" have you listened to her track s and m!! I think its time parents took back control and raise children as they should be raised, as kids with a happy carefree childhood that can be filled with healthy innocent memories. stop buying explicit music, dvds, put parental control feature on tv and internet and spend more quality time and listen to your kids, they have all there lives to behave like adults

• @cathriona , I disagree with your comment about piercing ears young as in a lot of cultures they do this young to get it out of the way so you have them from young, & there is nothing wrong or sexualising about wearing a pair of little studs. But i get what you mean in the sense of it…..& agree about the Rihanna Stuff!

The fact that they are saying this is art is so stupid, We all know what we like or dislike but when we don’t agree with something that is so blatantly sexualising a 10 year old child, it’s not us disliking art, it is because we have morals & can see the wrong put in front of us.
      vogue have never claimed that any of the photo shoots or covers from the past have been art, so why now? just an excuse to make a 10 yr old wear a low cut dress when she has nothing to show so they fall into line with the fashion of youngsters growing up quick? just awful. It makes me sick. Why are the government fighting so hard to take clothes, videos & songs off the shelves that are inappropriate for young children, then Vogue go make it even harder? just insane. I would be embarrassed if my parents at that age saw me dressed like that.

• Ear piercing is purely cosmetic, just like make up. Regardless of your culture its done because we think it looks cute and the child has no say in it.

• @nadia. I disagree about ‘culture’ being an excuse to mutilate a child. ear piercing is taking a sharp instrument and creating a hole in ones ear, a process that is painfull. I have had my ears pierced from a very young age and it upsets me that I now have two permanent holes in my ears, I did not ask nor choose to have it done, if you think ear piercing is so important to ones culture can it not wait until the child is of a reasonable age (15/16) and can make an informed and educated decision

• I agree, Cathriona. A child is a child & every child should have a childhood. Those photos are freaky & the parents, esp the mother, ought to be brought to account for allowing it. Nadia – culture, my ass. Not being disrespectful, but a child is a child. I don’t agree with you on that point.

• Art ?? I don’t think so

Beautiful kid and that’s what she is at ten years old a "kid" she has loads of time for them type of photos when she is older

Her parents are to blame taking her here there and yonder for these photos shoots

• mart_n 06/08/11 #

Pretty horrible thought that any parent would see this as something which is ok. It seems to be the way of the world now unfortunately. Sure, people will show outrage over stuff like this, but there is some double standards at play too. My own nieces for example love Rihanna.. now in my view, some of the material in her videos and the lyrics of her songs are insidiously explicit. It could be said that it to ‘sexualises’ kids in a way, yet the stuff gets hours upon hours of playtime on the radio and nobody seems to give a hoot.

• Cant say i approve.

• That’s truly disgusting

• That’s just so wrong on so many levels, her parents are appalling for allowing it.

• This is highly disturbing and women should boycott Vogue. This is way way way over the line.

• I blame the greed.

• Not suitable at all too young

• I agree with all you guys..it’s sad!
    I would like to know what perve is giving the thumbs down to ye????
    Mr/s Perve doesn’t comment though!!!
    Shame on vogue

• unfortunately there is a class of society that thinks its cool to dress young girls in provocative clothing, having their ears pierced since very young, letting them wear make up etc. its disgusting, gone are the days a ten year old girl would wear curls and a pretty dress this is now viewed as old fashioned! these parents, are they not guilty of some kind of child abuse?

• The thumbs down are probably from the same people who go around pressing the thumbs down button on every comment in every article regardless of content – as I’ve said before it’s best to ignore them.

Regarding the article – sick, sick, sick, sick! What the hell were the parents thinking allowing their child to be photographed in this way. Don’t the parents know that there will probably be pervs looking at that and thinking you-know-what? Some commenter posted above to hit the companies which promote the sexualisation of children in their pockets – agreed! But this type of thing should also be illegal. It’s hard enough to protect children as it is without this type of paedophilic cr*p!

• Borderline child porn. Vogue should be brought up for that. Also the people giving thumbs down on the previous comments must be perverts!!

• Grey area I am afraid, it’s the make up I don’t agree with but…… How many of you have dressed your kids up this year, last year , previous ten years like mini brides at there communions?????????? in an institution that raped, buggered, orally raped children for decades.. In MY opinion you are as bad, if anyone had a modicum of respect or apathy for any person who was abused by the church , you would not go to church… Simple… Irish people are full of bravado over a Guinness ( I am Irish btw) oh this is wrong, that is wrong and still do fuck all about it, so, in conclusion if you still dress your child up and take her /him to your local church , you are worse than those French parents.

• Aside from the sheer creepiness of making a ten-year-old look “sexy”, what about the ten-year-old sexy clothes they’re designing for her to model? Are they expecting to start selling this kind of stuff to other ten-year-olds some time soon? I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised though; after all, bikinis for four-year-olds have been on the market for years now.

• How the f**k is that art? That is exploitation of a child plus child labour. Probably aimed at getting some old sickos to buy their idiotic magazine. Whoever still buys this, supports that and should be ashamed!

• That’s just not right or normal.

• Poor little girl, she should be still playing with her toys not made to look like an adult. Too soon they grow up.
    What kind of a mother has she,if she was slapping her the child would be taken into care.

• That is disgusting. Should the Journal even be showing the pics though? :/

• Sickening and wrong ten your old girls should still be acting like tomboys, it’s ridiculous the way pop culture in general is effecting kids. When I was a teenager girls didn’t even start wearing make up till they were 15 or 16. Also I find people who plaster pictures of there children all over Facebook just as bad.

• What’s wrong with putting pictures of your kids on Facebook? Are they not there to be viewed by friends?
      Regarding the vogue pics I think this is a deliberate attempt at publicity by the magazine and the parents should know better. Children should be allowed to be children and dressing them up as adults in this way is inappropriate.

• I have pictures of my grand kids on facebook but recently read that once you put a photograph up, it becomes the property of facebook. The article said that a family photo was used in a dutch ad on a bus with out the family even knowing. Makes you wonder what else our photos could be used for?

• Totally agree with Dean Turner’s comments ,My daughter has two small children and will NOT put their photos up !!!What ever happened with sending a photo by ordinary mail???? so much for progress ,its more regress

• I’ve been telling my 13 year old daughter that she will be a grown up for a lot longer than she will be a child so she should enjoy her time as a child as long as she likes. The range of clothing offered to young girls is also inappropriate, and as long as people keep buying clothes for their children that makes them look like miniature women then people will go to extremes, i.e photograph them like this. This is a disgrace, the little girl should be in her jeans and t-shirt, out playing with her friends, cycling her bike or playing with her toys. When will the adults that treat their little girls like women grow up themselves? I am not sick and I don’t see this image as art…. it’s exploitation!!

• Let the child be a child. Is there no reasonable adult in this child’s life to protect her?

• Why can a magazine get away with this?
    If a “normal” person put pics of their kids up on Facebook dressed like this they would not have many friends left, and everyone will distance themselves from them, quite rightly too.
    When a magazine like vogue do it, it sparks debate etc etc, this is sort of like the Property developers getting away with owing millions and John and Mary being threatened with repossession.
    I remember something like this from about 15 years ago, it was exactly the same thing, photos of a young kid on a fashion mag, Outcry, its art, etc etc same old argument, but it is fundamentally wrong.

For those of you that scan comments instead of reading them, I think its wrong to have children displayed thus, however Vogue will remain in business and we`ll be scratching our heads.

• I’m here for the thumbs up. Seems loads are going free!

• Truly disturbing. What clown called this Art. It is nothing more than soft core Child Porn. The magazine needs to be prosecuted. The parents are simply unfit and should be made answer.
    Too many childless arty farty types in the fashion industry dressing young girls like sluts and tarts.
    It needs to stop but as long as the magazines keep selling nothing will change. Sad.

• Jkee Fb 07/08/11 #

such a pretty girl…
    too early for the kind of shoot though..

• Whats pretty about a ten year old posing in an obviously sexual manner covered in makeup . I have a young daughter and would beat the living daylights out of anyone who would attempt to sexualise her, her parents are sick and don’t deserve children they are selling her innocence . Poor choice of words Jkee.

• Stop pissing and moaning it’s on TV every day, stop pretending it’s something new. You can dress a 10 year old any way you like and it won’t suggest jack shit to a normal person.

• Una Ryan 07/08/11 #

Social workers should immediately interview the parents of this child. They should be supervised on a regular basis as they appear to be unable to make fundamental decisions regarding the welfare of their child !

• I agree with Maria Tang.

Have you ever watched “Toddlers and Tiaras”? Isn’t that as bad or even worse?
    Little girls trained to be little brat barbie dolls since they are in dippers… That’s approved and on TV…so i really can’t see much difference…

• is this article taken word for word from the daily mail app?

• What about the 13 to 15 year olds that are modelling at fashion week accross the world? This sort of practice is going on all the time, exploiting children or young teenagers is the norm for big fashion co operations. What vogue has done from my point of view is show what’s really happening. I don’t agree with what they do as I think kids grow up far to quick under normal circumstances never mind when they are being paid to be clothes hangers but I would love to hear what this childs parents think of the pictures. Do they see dollar signs or their innocent child. I reckon dollar signs cause I know that as a mother myself and anyone that would attempt to publish anything like this would have a very big fight on their hands!

• TP 07/08/11 #

Vote Norris!

• That’s t

• Hands up who’s conservative? If anyone is looking at these pictures as they are trying to be sexy it is missing the point, the idea is high fashion/art, it might to many people have missed the mark. But in no way is it exploitive of the child.

• mart_n 07/08/11 #

Of course it’s exploitative. You don’t think that the child is the one to have come up with the idea for the shoot, do you? It’s exploitation by both the ‘artist’, and the people who stand to benefit from it.. including the parents and the publishing company. Mind you, thinking about it in that way throws up all sorts of ethical questions about child actors and the like. There needs to be a line drawn somewhere, and the fact that it’s blurred in this day and age, is not a good thing.

• Meh. It’s not like anyone can see anything, so it’s not childpr0n and therefore within the law. I don’t understand all the commotion. Pervs are bound to think dirty thoughts about children regardless if you dress them sexually or not, and normal people won’t think of harming children regardless if you post sexual images of children or not. It may be a distasteful sort of advertising, but whatever, it’s still within the line of law. And besides, seeing all this commotion, I think the photos are doing their job well – distasteful it may be, but it’s a smart move of Vogue.

• Girls that age want to look like an adult… make up/high heels … If you see this (knowing it is a ten year old) as sexual you are the sick one and not the photographer or Vogue!

• U are so wrong, Ome. If you don’t understand peoples outrage, then u are missing the argument.

• It’s true that quite a few 10 year old girls enjoy dressing up, messing with make-up and clattering around in their mother’s high-heel. There’s no harm in that. However, these pictures are very much posed to emulative the seductive poses of an adult woman. The child didn’t decide on the type of shots that would be taken. I think I’d have no objection if the pictures were less formal and were portrayed as children playing in a typical childish manner.

• Y

Add New Comment