TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Syria: President appears on television, vows to crush rebellion

“The Syrian people and their government are determined to purge the country of terrorists and to fight the terrorists without respite,” Assad said in a televised address.

ndated file photo of Syrian President President Bashar al-Assad
Image: PA/PA Wire/Press Association Images

PRESIDENT BASHAR AL-ASSAD vowed on Tuesday to crush the 17-month rebellion against his regime and to cleanse Syria of “terrorists,” as his troops engaged rebels in key battleground city Aleppo.

“The Syrian people and their government are determined to purge the country of terrorists and to fight the terrorists without respite,” he was quoted by state news agency SANA as telling visiting senior Iranian envoy Saeed Jalili.

Assad had earlier appeared on television for the first time in more than two weeks in a meeting with Jalili, a top aide to Iranian supreme leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei.

The ‘resistance axis’

Jalili offered Assad his country’s backing, saying Tehran would “never allow the resistance axis – of which Syria is an essential pillar – to break.

“What is happening in Syria is not an internal issue but a conflict between the axis of resistance on the one hand, and the regional and global enemies of this axis on the other,” he added.

Iran has accused Turkey and Gulf countries of arming the opposition in Syria, in collusion with the United States and Israel, to overthrow the Assad regime.

Jalili was previously cited as saying “the crisis in Syria must be solved internally, through national dialogue, and not through the intervention of external forces.”

He added: “The Syrian people are hostile to any plan supported by the Zionists and the US.”

Later, Jalili called for an end to “all foreign intervention” in Syria, adding Tehran rejects “any party imposing its will through military intervention.

‘Able to defeat foreign plans’

Assad said his country was “able to defeat foreign plans targeting the resistance axis and Syria’s role in it.”

Tehran also sent its foreign minister to Ankara and a letter to Washington holding them responsible for the fate of 48 kidnapped Iranians.

In Aleppo, clashes rocked several central areas of the city while the army also shelled rebel-held areas in the east, the Syrian Observatory for Human Rights said.

The fighting in and around Aleppo killed at least 20 people, the watchdog said, adding the nationwide toll was 122.

Aleppo has been bracing for a major ground offensive after a senior security official said the army had completed a buildup of some 20,000 troops.

Near Homs in central Syria, opposition gunmen attacked an electricity company housing compound, killing 16 people, including Alawites, Christians and Sunnis, the Observatory said.

And rebels attacked an oil field in the eastern province of Deir Ezzor, triggering clashes in which four rebels and six soldiers were killed, it added.

Assad ‘may retreat to Alawite area’

Defected ex-premier Riad Hijab was in neighbouring Jordan firming up his plans after his shock defection to the opposition, which Washington said showed Assad’s regime was crumbling.

In that vein, Jordan’s King Abdullah II said Assad might make a “worst case scenario” retreat to an Alawite stronghold if he falls from power.

“I have a feeling that if he can’t rule Greater Syria, then maybe an Alawi enclave is Plan B,” he said in an interview with US television network CBS.

“That would be, I think for us, the worst case scenario – because that means then the breakup of Greater Syria.

“That means that everybody starts land grabbing which makes no sense to me. If Syria then implodes on itself that would create problems that would take us decades for us to come back from.”

King Abdullah predicted Assad would keep up his brutal crackdown to cling to power because he “believes that he is in the right.

“In his mentality, he is going to stick to his guns… I think the regime feels that it has no alternative, but to continue… I don’t think it’s just Bashar. It’s not the individual. It’s the system of the regime.”

48 abducted citizens

Meanwhile, following the Damascus talks, Jalili told Al-Alam that Tehran was using “all means possible” to secure the release of its 48 abducted citizens.

Tehran says they are Shiite pilgrims, while their rebel captors insist they are members of Iran’s elite Revolutionary Guards.

Iranian Foreign Minister Ali Akbar Salehi headed to Turkey to demand Ankara’s assistance in securing the release of the Iranian hostages amid growing concern for their fate.

That followed an unconfirmed report on a rebel group’s Facebook page that three of them had been killed in shelling by regime forces on Monday.

“Considering that the (rebel) Free Syrian Army — which claims to have abducted the Iranian pilgrims — is backed by Turkey, the visit by the foreign minister aims to warn and remind the Ankara government of its responsibilities in this matter,” Iran said.

Tehran delivered a similar message to Washington in a letter transmitted through the US interests section of the Swiss embassy.

“Because of the United States’ manifest support of terrorist groups and the dispatch of weapons to Syria, the United States is responsible for the lives of the 48 Iranian pilgrims abducted in Damascus,” Deputy Foreign Minister Hossein Amir Abdollahian quoted the letter as saying.

On the humanitarian front, more than 22,000 Iraqis have fled Syria in less than three weeks, while 12,600 Syrians have done so since the beginning of the year, the UNHCR said.

In Geneva, the World Health Organisation said Syrians urgently need life-saving medicines, and the World Food Programme said 1.5 million people in rural areas would need food aid in the next three to six months.

And Britain announced a grant of £10 million ($15.6 million, 12.6 million euros) to aid thousands of Syrian refugees who have fled to Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey and Iraq.

- © AFP, 2012

Read: Syrian PM was “planning break from regime for two months”

Read next:

Comments (53 Comments)

• Yer man Assad looks like the standard issue workplace tosser from the accounts dept. or suchlike that you’ll find in every job in the world. Long streak of misery with a ‘tache and a dodgy barnet

• I can see Asad and his wife having the same end as chauchescu and his wife… this story is writing itself . .

• Anyone who thinks this is a cut and dry case of oppression versus freedom isn’t aware of all the facts. Bashar al-Assad is supported by the majority of the people in Syria and these so called “rebels” have CIA block ops and mercenaries working with them to bring down Bashar al-Assad’s regime. You really need to ask the question why. Why would the United States provided, training, weapons, and resources putting CIA agent’s lives on the line.

What were have here is more masked American imperialism that has everything to do with Syria being neighbours with Iran. America want to setup their own puppet democracy in Syria that they can control. This has worked out so well in the past. It seems America won’t be happy until they destabilise every country in the middle east.

So this isn’t dictator versus rebels, it’s dictator versus imperialists. This is not an Arab spring movement… and if it was that hasn’t worked so well for Egypt. Egypt is more oppressed now then when it was ruled by Mubarak.

• Your right Daniel , majority on here are a bunch of fools to be honest, cannot even accept historical facts.

• If Assad has the support of the majority of Syrian People, why hasn’t he or his father given those same people free and fair elections in a multi-party environment in the past 40 or 50 years? Just what in blue blazes are you Assad apologists smoking exactly? You’re all pathetic to be honest. The only apparent consistency in your thought processes is that if the West is in favour of something then it must be profoundly corrupt and immoral. You all speak of the hypocrisy of the West while you continue to wish for the denial for they Syrian people of the very same rights you all enjoy here in the supposedly rancid and delinquent West. Just go try post something critical of Assad online, from within Syria, and see how long you all last. Let’s see how much you bitch and moan about the West while you’re getting finger nails pulled and car batteries applied to you genitals. Have ye no sense of decency at all?

• Andrew, I never said he wasn’t a dictator, clearly he is. However if you think this is freedom fighter’s democratic revolution you’re very naive. These “rebels” are fundementialist muslims, who if in power would oppress the Syrian prople far more than al-Assad. If you think the U.S. cares about democracy, you’re a fool. They care about oil and the virtual sea of it under Iran. As far as torture goes, U.S. knows all about that. Just ask the inmates at abu ghraib who were raped, beaten an killed. Do you remember when George Bush authorised the use of torture? Do you think these rebels are above torturing the Ba’ath Party members?

Andrew the situation in Iran is more complex than you can clearly grasp. Given the current options of an outcome either way Iran loses.

What needs to happen is an impartial U.N. cease fire so a peace talks can take place. Stop ignorantly choosing sides in a civil war you obviously know nothing about and get educated on the facts.

Andrew, I have friends in Syria who are living in this war zone and they’ll happily tell you there is no “good” side and there is no “bad” side but I guess thar’s beyond your comprehension.

• mattoid 08/08/12 #

If you have any actual proof that the US are training, arming and paying the FSA could you please post it. And by proof I don’t mean some blog or conspiracy website somewhere.

I’m not saying they’re not, just that speculation with no proof serves nobody.

• You said he has the support of the majority of the people? How do you know? Because you have friends in Syria who know every one in Syria? And you have the audacity to call others ignorant and naive? If he has this widespread support why the lack of free and fair elections for the past 50 years Daniel? Why? When you can answer that question sensibly without recourse to your few friends in a country of millions get back to us. Assad and his henchmen have brought this to pass, no-one else. Nobody else forced them to run the country like their own private plaything for the past 50 years. Did they Daniel?

• Mick 08/08/12 #

@mattoid

From new york times, perhaps watching some RT or PressTV might help too – they are biased but then again so is our media.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/06/21/world/middleeast/cia-said-to-aid-in-steering-arms-to-syrian-rebels.html?pagewanted=all

• Again you’re demonstrating your astonishing lack of cognitive thinking. I don’t support al-Assad or the so called rebels, I’ve made that abundantly clear and anyone who actually read my posts or wasn’t a moron would realise this. What have stated and I guess I have to state it again, no matter what happens the outcome will be bad for Iran. There no good guys here, just bad guys. As far as my statement regarding al-Assad’s level of support it is a fact the majority of Iranians are either Ba’ath party members or supporters, this well established and even stated in the CIA “fact book”. Clearly, you support the “rebels” so I assume you also support the sharia law and the oppression of personal freedom that would take place if they came to power? You’ll support laws forcing women to to wear burkas, public stonings, and corrective rape should they take power? Good luck defending that position.

• @ Daniel.

I’m sorry, but you’re all over the place in your most recent post.

The Islamic Revolution runs Iran. The Ba’ath Party runs Syria.

And presuming that you meant Syria and the Ba’ath Party there, drawing on the fact that Syrians are either members of the, or supporters, is somewhat pathetic given that the Ba’ath Party is effectively the only show in town, and has been for the past 40 years. More to the point, if it has been run like the Ba’ath Party in Iraq was, and it probably was, then anyone hoping to advance in their careers in Syria would join up out of necessity. It’s a technique much-practiced in the region – In Iran if you’re a civil servant hoping for advancement, then you bloody well make sure you’re seen at all the regime backed anti-West demos, regardless of whether you think its a legitimate protest, or a steaming turd of nonsense.

As for Sharia law coming into force in Syria if Assad is deposed, I would point out to you that a)only parts of the rebellion are Islamic Fundamentalist Groups and b) Much similar noises were made about the revolutions in Libya, Tunisia and Egypt, and we have yet to see Sharia law implemented there.

Personally speaking, I’d like to see a Syria run like Turkey, Islamic, reflecting it’s majority population, but accepting and facilitating of its religious minorities, and most importantly of all, democratic, with regular free and fair elections for all. I don’t think anyone wishing for the defeat of the rebels can claim the same.

• mattoid 08/08/12 #

@Mick
      Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Qatar are openly supporting the FSA – we know this already.

Its a huge leap from knowing that the CIA are sharing intelligence with these countries to claiming that the US is actively arming, training and paying the FSA, Al Qaeda and others.

Proof please, not speculation.

• mattoid 08/08/12 #

@Daniel
      Don’t be fooled by Assad propaganda into thinking that “the rebels” are a single unified movement.

There is plenty of evidence that foreign jihadists are operating on the ground but no evidence that they are linked to the FSA in any way.

In fact quite the opposite – all the evidence suggests that they are fighting independently from the FSA and the FSA leadership regard them as a significant threat to Syria.

And as I mentioned above, there has been no evidence to date suggesting that the US is directly supporting the FSA, let alone Al Qaeda.

I think the US could be supporting the FSA but until evidence is forthcoming I will keep an open mind.

• @mattoid http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/08/02/us-usa-syria-obama-order-idUSBRE8701OK20120802 mainstream news and that is what we know , what is more troubling is what we do not know.

• mattoid 08/08/12 #

Johnnathan, your Reuters link says much the same as Mick’s NY Times article, ie. that the US is providing intelligence to Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Qatar, but that they have stopped short of providing weapons.

• @mattoid….and you think the US government is telling you the truth ? lol…in all fairness c’mon mattoid ? what is wrong with you ? WMDS ? all lies ? dude seriously get a grip and i am not insulting you or anything , just how can we take the word of those people ? what we see hear and see is only 25 % of the truth if not less than that .

• @mattoid a revolution in Ireland tomorrow…..where would you think i could get my hands on a grenade launcher ? Automatic weapons ? tons of ammunition ? the answer is nowhere in this god given earth unless someone hands me those weapons , they just don’t suddenly appear !!

• mattoid 09/08/12 #

Johnnathan – I’ve said on many threads that propaganda from both sides is standard fare in any conflict so no, I don’t believe everything the US is saying, just as I don’t believe everything the Assad regime and its allies are saying. The real truth lies somewhere in between.

Its a pity you can’t grasp this basic truism, and instead you condemn everything coming from the US and its allies as propaganda and yet you accept without question the legitimacy of any information coming from the Assad regime and its allies, which you simply regurgitate as facts.

And quite frankly it is ridiculous to compare the availability of military weaponry in Ireland with that in the middle east, which is flooded with heavily armed groups and militias. As we already know, Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Qatar have all said that they are supporting the FSA militarily. And are you really naive enough to think that Al Qaeda doesn’t have a perfectly good supply of its own weaponry sitting just across the border in Iraq?

• @mattoid fair point , still costs money to buy arms . The reason i do not believe what the US is saying is because parts of their government ( security agenceis ) are basically terrorists it is as simple as that , they have caused millions of deaths all over the world , Vietnam , Laos, South America , Iraq, Afghanistan and i could go on so no would not trust these animals at all . We the people are good people but whoever is running the show in the states are basically criminals. That is the truth and i not afraid in saying it.

• @mattoid another thing aswell , how does it work out that the US, UK and the coalition can murder hundreds of thousands on lies and extreme propaganda and not even a whisper from the criminal UN ? what is the difference ?

• Taken from Robert Fisk’s excellent article – Robert Fisk: Syrian war of lies and hypocrisy

……Then, of course, there’s us, our dear liberal selves who are so quick to fill the streets of London in protest at the Israeli slaughter of Palestinians. Rightly so, of course. When our political leaders are happy to condemn Arabs for their savagery but too timid to utter a word of the mildest criticism when the Israeli army commits crimes against humanity – or watches its allies do it in Lebanon – ordinary people have to remind the world that they are not as timid as the politicians. But when the scorecard of death in Syria reaches 15,000 or 19,000 – perhaps 14 times as many fatalities as in Israel’s savage 2008-2009 onslaught on Gaza – scarcely a single protester, save for Syrian expatriates abroad, walks the streets to condemn these crimes against humanity. Israel’s crimes have not been on this scale since 1948. Rightly or wrongly, the message that goes out is simple: we demand justice and the right to life for Arabs if they are butchered by the West and its Israeli allies; but not when they are being butchered by their fellow Arabs.

And all the while, we forget the “big” truth. That this is an attempt to crush the Syrian dictatorship not because of our love for Syrians or our hatred of our former friend Bashar al-Assad, or because of our outrage at Russia, whose place in the pantheon of hypocrites is clear when we watch its reaction to all the little Stalingrads across Syria. No, this is all about Iran and our desire to crush the Islamic Republic and its infernal nuclear plans – if they exist – and has nothing to do with human rights or the right to life or the death of Syrian babies. Quelle horreur!

• If he does meet the same end as Gaffafi then he’ll have only himself and his henchmen to blame, won’t he?

• Yeah i say hang Assad if he is guilty of massacres of his people…hang him high!! but also we must hang Bush, Blair and their comrades for the murder of 500,000 people….can we agree on that or is OK if you are a democracy ? Lets call a spade a spade…..US Administration , UK Cabinet that were involved in the murder of hundreds of thousands of Iraqi’s should tried and jailed for their own massive crimes against humanity….sick to death of this SICK double standard…truly shocking!!

• I hope the Syrian government does defeat these so called ‘rebels’. Another mass grave discovered by Syrian Army in Damascus in an area where the ‘rebels’ had control and had been fighting before being defeated. This is being reported by Russian TV. Yet I don’t see anything on it by AP. These rebels are nothing more than armed gangs/mercenaries/foreign jihadists/Al Qaeda. The US has just allowed US citizens to financially support Syrian ‘rebels’. Strange how the US fights Al Qaeda on the one hand and then allows its citizens to directly support them financially.

• Also democracy is a great thing if we really had democracy…..not even a democratically government is safe from these mongrels…..SALVADOR ALLENDE….democratically elected president of chile…..ELECTED BY THE PEOPLE……ousted in a CIA backed coup and the good old Augusto Pinochet installed as Dictator…..where does that leave democracy ? The great bastion of democracy , the United States sponsored the removal of a democratically elected president…..you could not make it up….people are very naive !! democracy, dictatorships..you do not play with the boys you are removed or shot dead and removed for good…..

• Any of the experts on here heard of Operation Gladio ? Yeah your friends in NATO , did some pretty horrible stuff. Maybe do some research on it for the good of the world.

• And specifically what has any of that to do with Assad and his father having murdered and tortured tens possibly hundred of thousands since the regime took power?

• It has alot to do with it actually , false flag terrorism…

“Operation Gladio is undisputed historical fact. Gladio was part of a post-World War II program set up by the CIA and NATO supposedly to thwart future Soviet/communist invasions or influence in Italy and Western Europe. In fact, it became a state-sponsored right-wing terrorist network, involved in false flag operations and the subversion of democracy.

The existence of Gladio was confirmed and admitted by the Italian government in 1990, after a judge, Felice Casson, discovered the network in the course of his investigations into right-wing terrorism. Italian prime minister Giulio Andreotti admitted Gladio’s existence but tried to minimize its significance.

The main function of the Gladio-style groups, in the absence of Soviet invasion, seems to have been to discredit left-wing groups and politicians through the use of “the strategy of tension,” including false-flag terrorism. The strategy of tension is a concept for control and manipulation of public opinion through the use of fear, propaganda, agents provacateurs, terrorism, etc. The aim was to instill fear into the populace while framing communist and left-wing political opponents for terrorist atrocities.”

• @andrew we are being played like a bunch of fools it is as simple as that , i mean just look at Greece, democratically elected government removed not through force but financial terrorism the quicker people wake up the faster we can all enjoy our time on this earth

• @andrew your right it has nothing to do with what you just said , but i agree with you 100% if they murdered their own people it is fairly logical that they face justice and also that means US, UK, FRANCE and all the rest of the coalition of the killing should also face the same faith. Either both are war criminals or none of them are , which is it ?

• @andrew the reason i posted about Operation Gladio is to give people an idea on what secret governments and branches of their respective security agencies are capable of that is all.

• To the people who are personally lambasting me,
    What is being portrayed on the news re Syria is very biased and misleading and is not reflective of the situation in Syria. This in turn has caused the vast majority of people to believe the rebels are some home grown group fighting against the oppression of Assad. This could not be further from the truth. While lately there may be genuine elements of the rebels who are Syrian looking to overthrow Assad this is not reflective of the ‘rebel’ movement who are made up largely of foreign fighters who just magically started appearing one day in Syria with state of the art weapons. I believe that the Assad government needs reform and change. That I agree with my detractors on. However, I do not agree it should be brought about this way. Regime change is trying to be brought about by external elements and countries who have no interest in Syrian people. This is very dangerous and if it happens again like it did in Libya then it could anywhere next. Some things people need should be aware of. The press is not free or objective but in fact is very biased and is controlled by a few people(never a good thing for democracy!). The US is an imperialist country, if you believe the US is the world’s good guy you are truly led astray from reality. Also, you cannot try to impose the systems of government and rule we have here in the West on other counties and expect it to work all the time. Who are we to say our system of government is the best . It has failed us badly at times. If you look at how two democratically elected governments in the UK and US led to the deaths of hundreds of thousands in Iraq simply because they wanted the oil for themselves and oil corporations
    who by the way funded massively the respective parties in government(oh, oh know the two could be limed in anyway if you did link the two young might be classed as a nut. Big oil companies funding government parties but expect nothing in return. Hmmm….).
    Anyway,
    all those people who attached me are entitled to your opinion

• Rebels with state of the art weapons? Which dispatch was that in? Because every single news report I’ve seen has made it clear that the rebels are very poorly armed, with only small arms and whatever hardware they can capture, available to them? It is remarks like that George that give reasonable people good reason to doubt and question your stance and your version of events.

I don’t think anybody else is under the illusion that the US and the Greater West doesn’t have its own vested interests (which facilitate your enjoyment of a reasonably comfortable Western lifestyle, might I add), but if you’re asking me what I would choose between decades more of repression for the Syrian people at the hands of Assad and his regime, or the hope of a democratic country run by all of the people for all of the people, well unlike you apparently, I am always going to choose hope. It’s just a shame that your perspective is so jaundiced that you can’t see what you really are standing for.

• 1 jdam

Add New Comment