TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Taoiseach and Tánaiste to meet with Magdalene survivors

Eamon Gilmore said the government is eager to listen to the women about their needs and about what its response to the report should be.

The interior of the now derelict Sisters of Our Lady of Charity Magdalene Laundry.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has said today that he and Taoiseach Enda Kenny intend to meet with Magdalene Laundry survivors next week to have a “direct discussion”.

Members of the Magdalene Survivors Together said they were left “devastated” when the Taoiseach stopped short of issuing a full apology and called on Kenny to meet with them.

Speaking on Newstalk Breakfast this morning, Gilmore said they will have a discussion with the women “about what their needs are and about how government should respond to this report”.

“These women have suffered, what they endured was wrong, what happened in this country over those decades was appalling,” he said. “This government has heard these women and we have taken what they say on board seriously.”

He said the government decided to publish the report immediately and so it didn’t have time to consider its response. However he said the women are entitled to be listened to at the highest level of government.

“We are not going to let these women down,” he said. “We are going to do the right thing and we are going to have that open discussion with them.”

A government spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that the details of the meeting have yet to be confirmed.

Yesterday the Magdalene Survivors Together group said that they hoped the women would not be forgotten because of the events in the last few days surrounding the IBRC promissory note.

Related: Magdalenes ask Enda Kenny to meet with them>

Read: This is how the world reacted to the Magdalene Laundries report >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (27 Comments)

• Enda better bring the chequebook.

• Knowing this Government the victims will have to bring their chequebook.

• AND I hope that they will apologise on behalf of the states involvement and assure them that they will also do the decent thing and make sure that this will be top of there list to divide state from church and there will be recriminations for the church also and also that he apologises for the lack of an apology in the Dáil and he will put that right immediately and have it on record in the Dáil by verbally apologising in the Dáil and also admit he omitted to apologise earlier in the week

• These poor women, yet another instance of catholic dominated ethos combined with a state that was more than happy to save money by letting the church pick up the bill; education, healthcare and social problems are not for a church to run!!

• why has no one related to the issue of the Parents handing over many of the young women to the Laundries and many would not have them back. there is nothing,nothing right about what happened ,it was common knowledge that ‘girls’ were sent to the M/L’s, the church,the state,the parents,heartless every last one.

• A direct discussion, why? Does Gilmore and Kenny not have enough information on this? Is there something that the whole country knows that these two clowns do not know? This takes the “political disconnect” to a new level I guess.
    On the other hand it could be a damage limitation exercise from Kenny after he lacked the decency to offer apologies on behalf of the Irish Government who colleberated with the Catholic Church in setting up slave labor factories for those who did not conform to their world view .
    Kenny and co would still let women die rather then stand up to the church and its barbaric teachings, same old story.

• Well said Mari, i wonder what political party .mypolitics1 belongs to ?? lol sounds like someone who avails of the free labor supplied from present government via job bridge

• I would be very, very wary of individual meetings with the Tanaiste or Taoiseach. They could signal anything from individual apologies by a Gilmore or such, and then claim that the State did “apologize” to you…or they could be initial approaches to making private settlements, which I would advise against in light of the very real possibility of actual full restorative justice and compensation. Doesn’t anyone remember the 2002 Redress Act circus? We have urged any survivor to contact us (Justice for Magdalenes, http://www.magdalenelaundries.com) if they are approached by members of government or by Senator McAleese’s office and asked for a meeting.

• @ Mari, suffering deserves a direct voice and expression to the decision makers. I would love to see a full, unreserved, candid and sincere apology heartfully made to representatives if the victims. Who cares about legal admissions. Some issues transcend caution, legal liability and reserving of position.

Legally speaking both the State and the Roman Catholic Church are sitting ducks on this.

The facts is that more often than not victims just want a sincere and real apology.

My impression is that an apology may be too late but fair dues to the representatives for their generosity in allowing Mr. Kenny an opportunity to redeem himself partially.

• Kenny and Gilmore should travel to the women on their knees and apologise and beg for forgiveness for prolonging their grief despite the women being vindicated.

• It’s time to apologise Enda!

• I wasn’t aware that TD’s can’t read. I was able to read the report – in some detail – online with no difficulty. So what is the delay? Even the slowest of readers should be able to read through and inwardly digest the essence of the report within 24 hours. Perhaps the teacher needs to return to the classroom for a while to improve his literacy skills?

• They will not accept liability. And their crocodile tears mean as much as their promises i.e. sweet f**k all

• I think that the government’s attention was consumed by the change in promissory note terms. I am sure that there will be a more detailed and a more considered response after the meeting with the victims’ representatives.

• I dont see why my taxpaying money should go towards something which occured over the last nine decades and stopped 2 decades ago. Give them all the apologies and grovelling they asking for but no cash. Why should they get cash? Funds are needed to create jobs and other important things that matter today in this economic crisis. Let the church give them money if thats what they’re chasing. Legacey payouts is a dumb concept. I would rather see my tax payments better spent..

• Why should our children and grand children pay for a debt they had nothing to do with a debt heaped upon them by Coke sniffing midgets in a bank that 99% of the country had no account in.I think you will find state collusion in both cases.

• Don’t know what planet you have been on for the last few days but the report that was published was about the STATES role in the shameful Magadalene slave camps. By the state we mean IRELAND, ie the government and by association the tax payer. Like it or not that means that the Irish tax payer, thanks to the collusion of a succession of governments of all parties in this disgraceful episode in Irish history IS on the hook for any compensation due to the victims and rightly so. The Irish state was quick to hand over responsibility for these people to the various catholic church orders who in turn operated these slave labour camps with the benefit of the state through laundry contracts etc, the orders too need to be made to pay their half of all the costs, compensation and any other ongoing enquiries or reports that are needed to give the victims justice. Your assertion that the victims are only after cash only highlights your own ignorance of the situation and your lack of empathy towards the victims is nothing short of disgraceful. Your comment is as dumb as your spelling! Maybe you should read up on the facts before you go posting garbage on here in future.

• My spelling? ! Maybe you should focus on the content little more and less so on the spelling. After all it is only texting on a phone. By the way I have just asked 6 people and they all agreed no money should be given. Perhaps you just over sensitive?

• @mypolitics1 you clearly do not understand your obligations as a citizen of the Irish state. These women were denied their most basic human rights by the church and state. You would deny them their right to justice and compensation also . You are no better than the perpetrators of those crimes. Shame on you! Shame on them!

• Tony ‘ol chap if I didnt understand my role as a tax payer living in Ireland then I wouldnt have taken people off the dole and given them full time and permanent employment. You are entitled to your own opinions but you are not entitled to your own facts.

• @mypolitics1 As a citizen you are part of this state and you have a duty of care to your fellow citizen . Whether you like it or not those women have to be compensated for the crimes committed
      Against them by the state . The state which you are a part of and in which you pay your “taxes” .Now that’s a fact ! Now in my opinion , if someone is of the opinion that these women should be denied compensation and justice by the state then those same people don’t deserve to call themselves citizens of the Irish state and are no better than those people who committed those crimes . That’s just my opinion of course ! By the way well done on creating employment , a truly altruistic act on your behalf no doubt !

• You are lucky that 10s of billions of Euros of debt repayment have been dumped on the next generations.

Personally, they were damaged by society. I am over 60 and it was my generation and before who are responsible. I will be very happy to see these victims properly compensated by the State and by the Roman Catholic Church.

This scandal, this slavery continued right up 1996.

• @ Tony, excellent reply.

• So it’s okay with you, mypolitics1, that women should work as slaves and have received no wages or pension for commercial work they performed? You might want to check your family tree and be sure there are no hidden aunties or grannies there who also appear on the 1901 or 1911 Magdalene Laundry census reports — we wouldn’t want you besmirching your own. Or maybe some of your family members *sent* their own daughters, aunts, mothers or grannies there. You don’t have to shake the tree very hard to find a relation who suffered through a Laundry and worked for no pay. If it was your mother, would you feel the same?

Add New Comment