TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Taxi bill would “remove serious criminals” from sector

The bill is being proposed by Public Transport Minister Alan Kelly and would also bring in CCTV on taxi ranks.

Labour Party Minister of State at the Department of Transport, Alan Kelly
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

A BILL THAT would increase the power of gardaí to refuse licenses, and bring in mandatory disqualification of taxi drivers who have committed certain crimes, will be discussed today.

The Seanad is to discuss the Taxi Regulation Bill 2013, which Public Transport Minister Alan Kelly said would remove serious criminals from the sector, during today’s session at 11.45am. This will be the first time it is discussed by senators.

The Bill would provide for the mandatory disqualification of taxi drivers with certain categories of criminal records. Current taxi drivers with serious criminal records would be given 12 months to apply to the court to keep their licence.

Unsavoury characters

Gardaí would also be given increased powers to refuse licences to people they deem to be “of unsavoury character”. The bill will provide for a penalty point or demerit system for taxi drivers who breach the regulations – and if a driver accumulates a certain amount, they will have their licence suspended.

Authorised officers would be given power under the bill to enter private premises to inspect vehicles, while CCTV would be allowed to be used for taxi enforcement, such as on the ranks.

Read: Taxis will have to take shortest route under proposed laws>

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• Too many cowboys driving taxis, must be annoying for the legit lads.

• tom 23/01/13 #

When your at your most vulnerable after a few drinks you like to think your taxi driver is trustworthy rather than some unsavoury chancer. Anything heading in that dirrection has to be a good thing.

• All taxis should have a GPS tracker in them like the new service that’s available in some of the cities here. Means you can track your cab on the app. That should be mandatory in all cabs across the nation.

• Why would you want to track the cab you are already in?

• 2 reasons :

1. If something goes wrong the company / Gardaí know where my last whereabouts were.

2. I’d sleep better when my daughter is out for the night for the same reasons as my first point.

• You assume that all taxis belong to a company?

If you can’t sleep well enough knowing your daughter is out getting taxis, I suggest you reassess how she gets home.

• How would they know what taxi you got into to check the GPS? Maybe you need the GPS on you?

• Pedro 23/01/13 #

I completely agree John, all taxi’s should be legally required to have GPS installed.

Neuromancer – Your last comment makes no sense at all.

• Pedro 23/01/13 #

Sorry, my last comment should have said all taxi’s should be legally required to have GPS tracking installed, not just GPS.

• So all taxis should have GPS trackers? Why? So if someone goes missing they can see where the taxi was?

This is assuming the person who went missing or whatever actually got into a taxi.

While there are some dodgy taxi drivers out there, it’s an equally fair blame on a punter who gets into a taxi drunk out of their minds and has no idea where they are or what they are doing.

If people feel uneasy about getting into taxis, perhaps it’s best to use a reputable cab company, or call a friend.

• Pedro 23/01/13 #

This isn’t about dodgy taxi drivers, it’s just simply logic. GPS tracking is relatively inexpensive and gives added security to both the customer AND the driver. In fact they should all be legally required to have camera’s in their cabs too.

I think a better question would be to ask why you seem to be so against it.

• All the thumbs up suggest I’m right and you are an idiot !! My daughter is 25 and as I can’t follower her everywhere nor would I want to?? Just peace of mind when she’s out with friends so no reassessing there what ever that means you are clearly a taxi driver …..

• Nothing suggests I’m and idiot, people just don’t see me view, and why would they, they are not taxi drivers. But one time I was a taxi driver.

It’s all well and good to suggest trackers, but these would have to be paid for, and maintained with monthly payments. CCTV is great for customers if its turned on by the drivers, and great for driver security too.

• Pedro 23/01/13 #

Of course the GPS tracker would have to be paid for! Does a carpenter not pay for his tools? The only difference is that any half decent phone these days has the ability to be a GPS tracker.

And then this maintained with monthly payments craic. Sorry but this is the typical of the bull the taxi drivers union spits out when any sort of change is suggested. There is absolutely nothing to say that there would be monthly payments or maintenance fees if GPS tracking was implemented. Hailo cabs are doing it already.

In the age that we are living in this type of technology is so affordable and useful it should be mandatory. There is absolutely no valid argument against it.

• I can smell the ignorance off you.

You want drivers having a phone used as a GPS tracker, which magically uses no credit/data whatsoever. For the sole purpose of showing their whereabouts when working so precious passengers are safe.

Hailo use this service already, yeah, so they can be located for business purposes and they get money. What about those drivers not with Hailo or another cab company?

• I have to ask if the authorities will include offences committed outside of the state. . We also have foreign nationals driving taxis who have criminal records which have not being investigated.

• Could we not just print a list of crimes the driver has committed on the dashboard, at least it would be something interesting to talk about.

• If this removes the “cowboy” element from public transport then it has to be good.
    There is also the antisocial behaviour of some of the “less than savoury customers” that needs to be tackled.
    But it’s a step forward .

• We have a nct/suitably test/and cleared by Garda carriage office,but very hard to enforce when 15000 vehicles hit Dublin streets on the week end ,its bad for the customer and the driver.I can only blame the dept of transport and a number of politicians for just ignoring the situation.

• More chance of getting fined by a dog warden

• Most but not all taxi drivers are the biggest spoofers going. The story i have heard more than once from them is….Oh a girl didn’t have the fare so she paid me another way…..

watching too much telly lads.

• So they will only remove the ‘serious’ criminals from the industry?
    I guess it’s a start.

• Foolish me , thinking that Taxi Drivers were already screened !!
    This has to be a good move , however wih the reduction in garda numbers who will be doing the screening and in what time span ?

• Roll on taxi drivers ringing Joe Duffy to moan about the regulator interferring with the market

• Sweet Jesus, The minister Alan kelly wants to remove crimials from the taxi industry. This is the same industry thats is supposed to vet all drivers . Yet somehow they have managed to allow some six thousand people with crimial records get taxi licences. Not 6, 60 or 600 but a whopping 6000 plus. this is totally unacceptable and the whole vetting department should be sacked. If they cant vet our own criminals then how have they been vetting the non nationals. This is another kicking for honest taxi drivers who are trying to survive in this industry who now have to work knowing that the public are aware that at least 6000 drivers are criminals and if you add in the non national drivers who have been vetted by the same muppets the figure could be closer to 10000. Not a great avertisement for taxis. Now that this scandal has been exposed the minister shoud start the process of removing criminals from the industry NOW so that the travelling public can be safe knowing that remaining taxi drivers dont have a crimilal record. Simples.

• Doesn’t matter what you introduce as new rules or regulations. The actual will to enforce it doesn’t exist. Bit like tax laws rule for one different take for others.

• Often you get cabbies who get friends to drive for them while they… do god knows what. If they get into an accident, am I right to say I won’t be covered? Since the driver isn’t the one holding the policy for the car.

I’m a foreigner myself and I completely support heavy punishment for criminals like that. I have to admit most of these illegal cabbies are foreigners. Kick them back to their original countries

• I welcome the proposal. I want to be and feel safe in a taxi.
    As for the knowledge test…i know it’s there but passing the test with 60% it’s not good. Has to be minimum 80%.
    and for the foreigners….some English language test would be recommended. I’m not a racist but that would help both of us. And some manners class would be nice. They must know that i don’t need to be entertained during the trip, they shouldn’t get offended if I say that i don’t feel like talking. I’m tired of pretending i’m on the phone just so they shut up.
    I’m just saying.

• Tv3 want to sponsor filming the CCTV footage and broadcast it as part of its Irish broadcasting ” taxi rank fight club”

• Unsavory characters also include present and ex members of the Dail who drove this country into a financial ditch.

• Everyone deserves a second chance in my opinion. If you’ve served your time you should be free to work as a taxi driver.

• Further repressing criminals who have done their time is not a good solution.

I’d like more detail on what an “unsavoury character” is?

• So you would feel comfortable with your wife or girlfriend or daughter being driven around by a former rapist/sex offender?

• Under the current system you can be convicted of rape and still be issued a licence. That’s a fcuking unsavour characteristic

• Years ago, I actually had a taxi driver in Dublin ask me, in a threatening way: “How do you know I’m not a rapist?”. I think the conversation that I endured with this ‘unsavoury character’ may have been avoided had there been proper vetting, as outlined above. Needless to say I made a hasty exit from his taxi – at a false address so he wouldn’t know where I lived – and reported him. Is this what women should have to put up with so some ‘poor chap’ can keep his taxi license?

• Pedro 23/01/13 #

Further repressing criminals? I hope that’s a joke Paul.

If you have aspirations of becoming a taxi driver, don’t become a criminal. Simple.

• I had a similar experience, got into a taxi on a mid week night from town to the northside and had the taxi man ask me did I not pull that night? Felt completely uncomfortable and even more disgusted when. He asked me would I consider a 3 some with himself and his girlfriend! Shocked is not the word! Be safe guys and girls.

• It seems a good move except for the provision that gives ‘authorised’ officers the right to enter your private residence ! That is a step too far and sets a precedent for other bills allowing officers to enter your home !!

Add New Comment