TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

New reforms for taxi sector announced

The moves include new branding, and a system to enable passengers make sure the appropriate driver is in the vehicle.

All taxis in Ireland will be obliged to carry these decals on their driver and passenger doors from January.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

GREATER PROFESSIONALISM AND accountability is being encouraged in Ireland’s taxi sector, with new decals and other moves being introduced.

Public Transport Minister Alan Kelly welcomed the new taxi branding signage, which he announced will be phased in to Ireland’s taxi fleet from January 2013.

Branding

The branding will contain the individual vehicle licence number associated with a particular vehicle and will also carry the ‘Transport for Ireland’ logo.

Minister Kelly said:

New York has yellow taxis, London has the famous black cabs. These approaches would be far too expensive for Irish taxi drivers but to ensure the people who operate in the sector are accountable for their vehicles, we have opted for semi-permanent branding for taxis.

He described the move as “a very significant reform” and said it will encourage a more professional approach to the taxi sector.

We want to ensure that those who operate taxis are committed and accountable. It will make it harder for rogue drivers to continue operating in the sector.

Changes

As part of the changes, a new online system will be introduced that will link the driver with the vehicle they are using, allowing passengers to check the appropriate driver is in the vehicle.

There will be new age limits for vehicles introduced, and  ‘Taxi Plate Only’ rental will be prohibited. Under the changes, the SPSV vehicle licence will be linked with the vehicle owner.

New taxi and hackney vehicles will be prohibited from having tinted windows when entering the fleet.

The transferability of taxi vehicle licences will come to an end, and the inactive licence period will be reduced.

Read: Smartphone taxi service launches in Dublin>

Read: Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?>

Read:

Read next:

Comments (123 Comments)

• In Denmark a few years back the taxi drivers were given chance to buy new Mercedes taxi without having to pay any VRT or taxes as long as they bought the specific colour , the taxi drivers got great deal on cars , the customers got to use nice updated cars and the government didn’t spend anything they just forgo collection of that tax which was seen as investing in good taxi vehicles for the people , something similar would work here if they tried it.

• It’s been like that in Germany for years, but up to recently it was only on German built cars.

• Hahahahahaha hahahahahaha hahahahahaha. Sorry nothing wrong with your post, it makes a lot of sense. But you do know we are talking about Ireland here? We don’t do sensible.

• Maybe Dave should email minister@transport.ie with his suggestions? The idea (which I think is a great one) won’t be put into practice if nobody suggests it or promotes it.

I also fail to see why there couldn’t be at least a standard (trademarked?) colour – I like the idea of blue as suggested above – phased in over time. A sticker on the side of a taxi seems a bit tacky.

• NTA decided against uniformed cars due to the cost of having every taxi driver in the country have to buy one in the current economical climate . The stickers are a 2nd option to have and an option most drivers will be able to afford .

• @ Gordon: Yes I am aware of that which is why I said it should be phased in over time. This would take nine years at an absolute maximum. And if drivers wanted to get their car painted ahead of time, then I’d suggest they are not charged any VAT.

I see this as a missed opportunity.

• The thing is though Gordon you could introduce it over time, if you have a car now you stick the sticker on it but when buying a new one you have to go down the uniform route.

• A full wrap of a car isnt a bad idea at all .. either is the door decals

But making 19,000 drivers own the same car is , where will 19,000 ppl get finance to buy them , the banks are in shit and won’t lend .. The NTA have accepted this and thats why is a non runner .. and that has come from the authority that runs the industry and not the taxi drivers themselves .

• That’s a crazy idea Dave…it makes far too much sense to be implemented here ;)

• I refused a taxi last Friday. I went to the second car on the rank and I was nearly lynched by the first guy. I refused to get into his car because it was a filthy 1999 Toyota Avensis, the driver was wearing a tracksuit! The standards of our taxis are a disgrace. It’s unfair that a guy in a 2 year old Mercedes, dressed respectfully, with his car immaculate and not ramming his opinions down your throat has to compete with a guy in a 13 year old filthy junker,who’s dressed in a tracksuit and feelsentitled to share his mainly racist opinions with you.

• They should have stuck with the full force of the old plans – no taxis over 9 years old – full stop. A vrt exemption for a few models decided by the regulator would work , skoda superb, e class mercedes, 5 series bmw and the toyota avensis – all fine taxis and drivers would stand to save a few quid if the vrt was knocked off them. Get our taxi service back on track and bring full time drivers back into it , instead of just any auld immigrant using his mates taxi id in a 15 year old corolla on bald tyres as it is at present

• My old man drives a Skoda Superb as a taxi, very nice car! Pity its not getting used as much as it should! :)

• My father drives a 2 year old avensis and I can tell you he definitly wont put them decals on his car. What will happen is that drivers will all buy bangers to put the on to.

• 9 yr rule is in place , Any new taxi’s or plate transfers have to go onto a car no older then 3 years . Plates on cars 9 yrs or older can stay on it until the car is been changed , then the car has to be no older then 3 years old .

Regardless of VRT exemptions , where wud drivers get the money to buy uniformed vehicles ?? there is no finance available to self employed or anybody else from banks or lending institutes

• All this will do is cause more strikes resulting in the public getting upset and the goverment backing down in the end. lose lose for everyone.

• Dec Rowe 03/10/12 #

Expecting too much too soon from taxi drivers will cause major problems… These changes should be expected over a reasonable time frame and with proper support in the form or grants or whatever to taxi drivers… Either way, it should be brought in, can’t be a bad thing having uniformed and newish taxis in the roads?

• Do the new reforms include driving lessons???

• uh-oh Taxi strike on the way so……….. they don’t like change

• To be honest I don’t know what impact a lot of this will have, it’ll take taxi drivers to give their views on the subject before we can get an accurate idea.
    I do remember a time about 5 years ago when I was quite ill at the time, I got a taxi and sat in the front seat. I turned to the driver to tell him where to go then happened to notice the ID on the dashboard, the picture on the ID and the driver were two different people. I tried to casually type a text message but actually took down the details of the ID, then made small talk with the driver, asking him how long he was out. He told me he was in Ireland 4 weeks and very much liked the country, my jaw just hit the floor, if I’d asked him that he wouldn’t have told me. I’d always heard rumours about this kind of thing but it was the first time I saw it and realised we had a big problem in this area.

• The quality of Taxis in Dublin has fallen alot in the last few years, i remember 10 years ago in Dublin the cars would be really clean inside and out, today many are dirty, ripped seats and smelly inside. They should make all cars 7 seater, all the same colour, maybe blue for Dublin. The standards will improve and those that are really interested in the job will invest. To many Taxis on the road, plates shared by many people. Its not good for the industry or service.

• I know that a lot of taxi drivers are struggling to make a living! I’m sure the slip in standards are associated with this!

• I understand that, alot of business are struggling these days but small things like cleanliness does not cost alot.

• you can only invest if you have it to invest Mark , The banks arent lending and if the drivers aren’t making a whole lot i really doubt their saving vast sums for investing in the failing industry .

• True but instead of having 18,000 mostly part time drivers because many have other jobs, if you had 9,000 fulltime taxis. All with 7 seater cars, and as Dave Hammond said if the government scrapped VRT and Taxes on these new cars the service would be alot better today and safer. It is only failing because you have to many drivers on the street.

• Mark , 19,000 fulltime drivers thru – out ireland .. to say most of them are part time is an insult to them , most of them work no less then 50 hours a week , I was one , i know first hand the hours needed to work

You can’t descriminate against a person trying to earn a living because they cant afford a brand new car / vehicle , the NTA have recognised this and that why there going for the vehicle branding and not a standard vehicle .

• I use Taxis alot in Dublin and their main complaint is to many part time Taxis on the road in Dublin and to many drivers sharing plates. Thats what i hear alot from Taxi drivers in the city.

• Its true , there is , I for one am gald i’m out of it the last 7 months . there are 12,000 licenced taxis for dublin alone , thats an over supply i reckon of about 40% , But what else are these drivers going to do , join the other 420,000 on the dole going crazy bored sitting at home ??? they keep working it as it brings in some money then the dole plus they feel there out there doing a bit for there families ..

• I know many Taxi drivers work hard and long hours, but Taxi drivers in Dublin say many of the part time drivers have other jobs, driving a taxi is the second job. The bit on the side, go out at busy times. That’s when the Full time drivers suffer. How many of the 12,000 licenced taxis in dublin work part time?

• How long is a piece of string Mark … Nobody knows it’s a guessing game , There are thousands of plates rented too but they are to full time drivers that put in the same hours as plate owners . I know for a fact now many part timers are getting out because there not making enough to justify it , there not willing to get there cars branded and everybody will know there double jobers and revenue will be hitting them with big bills aswell , But having said all that , the work is not there anymore to justify all the cars . People and companys are not spending what money they have left on taxi’s ,

Oversupply and lack of want is the 2 main factors the taxi game is in shite , the NTA are slowly bringing in measures to try put it right .

• Mark, you use taxis when youre on holidays here. Plenty of us are happy to be able to get a cab easily enough. 7 seaters are not required because most people use cabs in 1s, 2s or 3s. Its rare that groups get cabs as its a small city plus drivers use their cars as family cars. suggesting they should all be 7 seaters is ridiculous.

• No Tommy C i have a property in Dublin and am in the city alot….. I don’t know what you are talking about.

• Its not only about 1 or 2 people travelling in a taxi Tommy, the 7 seater cars are accessible to a wheelchair user, you work in a hospital surely you can see the benefits in this???

• 13,000 w/c acessable 7 seater taxi’s in dublin .. Good man Mark you really are clueless , you do realise a new one of these currently runs at around 40,000 each !!!

• And some of us were born and bred here so we know the place and the people. A city of 1.5 million doesnt need a taxi fleet of 7 seaters only. This city is far too small, taxi drivers need their cars for their families, 9000 fulltime taxis means 9000 unemployed taxi drivers. If the average city inhabitant is happy enough with a service, we dont need to pimp it just to make them look good.

• Gordon you said Dublin has 12,000 taxis in your comment above, you now say Dublin has 13,000 w/c accessible 7 seater taxi’s? Im confused…. I rarely see a 7 seater taxi in Dublin. I thought you are from Mayo Tommy,

• I was alluding to your stupid suggestions of 7 seater w/c only taxis , that’s what we would have on the streets .. ur lack of knowledge to the requirements of taxis in dublin is actually funny …

• Is that why you stopped driving? lack of knowledge :)

• No mark unlike you , my knowledge was perfect ;) I stopped flogging a dead horse . I knew when it was time to walk away ..

• You sound like most Taxi men, never open for change. Just moan and say how hard things are. Miserable…..

• facts are facts Mark .. your ignorance about the taxi industry is there for all to see .

Name calling because you don’t know what your talking about is sad .. very sad ..

• Eoin Faz 03/10/12 #

TBH All the underemployed Taxi drivers (40%) would be better off on the dole. Just Do It! Quit – go on the dole – and get your crap car off the road. Soon you’ll realise you can do other things, maybe even something productive! You could enjoy working and you cold stop complaining about part-timers. Give other road users a break from major congestion around Taxi ranks. Maybe try something smart like use the union to work out a rostering system where odd numbered and even numbered plates alternate their work days which would give more predictable income levels. Use Hailo or some other software to forecast demand levels!

• Whats wrong with saying it would be good for Dublin to have a trademark car for the Taxi industry in the future? Ok maybe not all 7 seaters (some) but all the same colour? It will be good for the taxi industry and its customers. You are the one that started the name calling, i just said what most people think about taxi drivers.
      They are never open for change. Just moan and say how hard things are. Miserable…..Truth.

• How about someone explains to them the rules governing contraflow bus lanes, double yellow lines & double parking for a start?

• Thank god its about time they sorted out the bogie taxi drivers out there. Theres plenty of legit taxi drivers who im sure will welcome this change, hopefully it will expose those using bogie id’s etc. The amount of taxi drivers i see wearing man u jerseys tracksuit bottoms nike air max and gold chains is crazy. I cant understand why some are like that, why they dont take pride in themselves throw on a cheap white shirt and slacks a pair of shoes maybe a tie and it makes the world of difference. I asked a driver before why his car was in bits he said he couldnt afford to get it sorted. All it needed was a wash and some hubcaps.

• they is not gonna like this!

• Maybe if they knew where they were going would be a start, oh yeah and a bit less of the old “I’m not a racist but…”

• As far as I’m concerned they should introduce standard vehicles as in the UK! With extensive knowledge testing and a compulsory 5-year license retest!
      The quality of taxis and the standards we’re driven are appalling!

And before anyone says something; Yes there are exceptions and NO is isn’t just the foreigners who are bad!

• The standard of the knowledge test has been improved over the last 4 years , but it is still a long way off the british model

• Thank god for the Hailo app. A clean taxi, a picture of the driver sent to you before you get in the taxi, a guarantee the person driving you is the person who owns the taxi licence, an email with the taxi number sent to you so you have it in case you leave anything behind and you can use them at 4am after a night out. Never again will I hail a taxi ofd the street, especially at night!

• Aideen, I must download that. Very nervous at night getting into taxis. It’s happened a few times to me and my friends that picture and driver have not matched. And it’s every race including Irish!
      Also wish they’d do something about stinky taxi men, the smokers are the worst, I nearly got sick the last time I jumped into one, the taxi was mouldy!
      Yuk!!

• Why is it if so many taxi drivers are struggling to make a living several have them more than one property? This is low level work that should be accompanied by low level income. We have some delusional idea that taxi drivers should be earning about 60k a year. Wake up. Standardize the vehicles and the type if vehicle and this will drive many of the part time cowboys out leaving a fruitful living the remaining ones who are prepared to invest in more than a fifteen year old dirty Toyota corolla.

• I was in Germany recently.

• M Bowe 03/10/12 #

When are taxis gonna be included in the commercial fleet and made VRT exempt. Buy a van tomoro for work and you are VAT and VRT exempt and that vehicle is subject to a lot less commercial specs than a taxi. Even wheelchair access taxis are subject to VRT.

• That is not true, VRT on a commercial vehicle is now 13.3% up until 3/4 years ago it was €350, and only those registered for VAT are able to reclaim the VAT on a commercial vehicle.

• self employed ( all taxi drivers are self employed ) aren’t registered for VAT and thus cannot claim it back .

• Because you can drive it around as a regular family car when you take the sign off the roof at the end of the shift.

• Brian, the reason why taxi drivers and all passenger transport in Ireland cannot claim vat is because it is a vat exempt industry. That is that vat is not charged to the customer but is paid by the carrier whether taxi bus etc on goods it purchases such ad diesel. The vat element is seen as a business cost by revenue.

• Eugene I’m aware of the VAT situation, I was referring to the chancers wanting cars used for taxiing to be VRT exempt.

• @Brian, Maybe they should looking at lowering the VRT on the vehicles subject to branding the vehicles one colour scheme going forward etc as this would could reduce the age of the fleet and make the debt required to service more magagable. Things like this have been done in Germany where if the drivers by German vehicles they get reduced tax on the vehicles. There is always going to be people who use taxi’s as personal cars but Revenue also tax this into account with tax returns as you have to allocate a percentage for personal use. The same I would imagine would go for trades people who have van’s/4X4′s.

• andy . . . .the taxi drivers in Ireland don’t like any changes been made. and regardless of it been on the web site for however long, I think most of them will object to the changes and will go on strike! And my bet is the strike will happen at a time when a lot of tourism is happening or something big is on in the country. That’s why I don’t think they will like it. Is that good enough for you?

• Pip .. lets not be stupid about this , NOBODY likes change when it ‘s forced upon them by authority’s , If the NTA consulted with taxi drivers representitive bodie’s they could work out the best solutions between them , Hence not getting the backs of the drivers up by forcing them to do something they had no say in …

• The taxi drivers had a chance to contribute meaningfully to the regulations 20 years but all the did was prevaricate and delay any serious changes, the minister of the day got tired of their b/s and said here’s the new new regulations like it or lump it. Taxi drivers were the architects of their own misfortune.. Tough sh1t

• sad thing is Brian , the taxi unions called for stupid stoppages based on quick voets among a few members , but yet expected the taxi drivers a s a whole to accept this , The masses of drivers just followed suit because they didnt want to be seen as scabs ..

Times are changing and the drivers are now less inclined to stop working as they cant afford to , The stoppage up the airport a few weeks ago was only by the drivers who have a pass to work the airport , when the suggested it go city wide to help there cause , they where told in no uncertain terms to F*** O** .

• @Gordon hughes ,your comments re airport situation and unions is total and utter bullsh*t .

• If they wanted a uniformed fleet they could’ve had it by now… All they have to do is get all present taxi drivers to register their vehicle and expect them to purchase a specific model when they are renewing and give grants to have branding or paint jobs done, new taxi drivers should be expected to conform to these expectations also… Eventually all taxis will be uniformed!

• pjbrowne 03/10/12 #

all the things about taxis are in the law at the moment except the door decals so i can’t se the big deal about it all there are regulators and the guards can stop any taxi anytime.also taxis have to have an nct every year regardless of age.then the taxi has to have an other inspection by another company before it is licensed to work.so you can’t put all the blame on the industry on the drivers.and imagine not a taxi driver

• Most drivers will welcome the door decals , as it will start showing the part time drivers a mile off as there cars sit in company carparks all day , revenue will be able to build a nice list of double jobers and plough them for nice tax bills and boost the countrys coffers by a few more quid

• Without been funny , some of the changes are good, the changing of cars for a New standard issue car i.e black cab , yellow taxi was shot down by the National transport Authority itself , Mainly due the cost to the 19,000 drivers who wud all have to buy one , there is little of no finance available to self employed drivers . The falling standards of cars is due to the lack of money and finance to upgrade , most drivers are only changing cars now when they have no choice as the old one has given up the ghost . Having said that its no excuse not to spend 20 mins a day giving it a hoover and a polish to have it clean and comfy on the inside .

• I was in New York, London, Sydney and many more cities.The best Taxis in the world are the Dublin Taxi drivers. I was out in Howth one night and I was skint I rang a Taxi and told him my plight, he came and brought me home and told me to see him on the rank next day to pay him and I did .

• @ Gordon , ok so I’ll try say it plain English and you tell me why this is not worth a go ;) ….from jan next the government agrees to offer a tax break on a particular standard of car , eclass , avensis ,passat ,etc doesn’t have to be one car brand , car just a new 13 d registration , of agreed standard and in a specific colour (black for simplicity it doesn’t matter ) , the amount saved is probably in the region of what , 30% less than market price if no taxes apply. It is not compulsory but a genuine offer that compares so favourable that drivers will begin to use the cars with tax break. The banks or more likely car finance folk like VW bank etc are more likely to want to finance these cars as the monthly payments are much more affordable than at present , the infusion of new cars will take some time but in the same way film tax breaks etc work it could act as a stimulus rather than ” waiting for the economy” to change as indicated….the net effect would be attractive option for taxi drivers , better cars for customers , govt support for the taxi industry and over time the standards of cars for customers rise. It would not be compulsory and the stickers can still be introduced alongside as planned . Give the drivers the choice ,get tax breaks , and oil the wheels of finance for the taxi sector while improving standards at the same time. Why would NTA not want to have that idea considered.

• in boom times that would be a great idea , we are living in times of austerity and the taxi industry is on its knees , I’m out of it 7 months and I know for a fact very few drivers could even dream of buying a new car in the next fee years unless there’s a drastic upswing in business …

• Why not introduce standard vehicles as in the UK? Accompanied by knowledge testing and compulsory driving testing. The standard and quality of irish taxis and the way they drive are truly appalling!

And before people start:
    Yes, I’m aware there are exceptions.
    And no, the bad ones aren’t just foreigners!

• 19,000 self employed drivers trying to get finance to work in a struggling industry , do you really think the banks or credit unions will lend to them ( who aren’t lending to most people by the way ) !!!!

• Mjhint 03/10/12 #

Mark would you like to pay UK taxi prices? Also in Cork I have a couple of friends that own taxis. They cant make a living. The self employed in this country are sick & tired of being told what to provide. Can we ask what we will get from these investments? Being self employed is now a fools game. To much regultion & rights for everyone except theres none for self employed people. Can we adress that balance. I would hate to drive a taxi its not an easy job.

• @Gordon: there is no need to change overnight. However, compulsory driving lessons should be introduced for all professional drivers.

@Mjhint: First of all; I am self employed. My customers pay me because I keep up-to-date and deliver a good standard of work. More then I can say for a lot of taxis I’ve taken.
      The reason why the customers get more and more rights is because the amount of abuse they suffer from their drivers: Small cars, old cars, smell of smoking, driver having porn on a portable dvd player, opinionated drivers, angry drivers (airport to swords run), taking the longer route to get some more cash, drivers don’t know the city, driver speeds and endagers my life and I can keep going for a while.
      Taxis in this country are far below par. There are exceptions and I’ve met some really good ones, but my experience so far is that they are exceptions.

• your having a laugh right ?? professional drivers shud have there driving skills checked every 5 yrs and the general public shud not !!!! Taxi drivers , bus drivers , limo drivers the army’s drivers , gardai , council workers …. think about it mark …… I put 400,000 kms on a car from 2007 to 2012 …. as opposed to a joe soap who probaly dint even put 50,000 in that time , but my driving skills wud need to be checked …

• You bet it should be: the more people drive, the worse their bad habits: jumping lane constantly, taking two lanes, pulling up in front of other drivers, parking in the middle of busy streets, speeding within city limits, cutting off other road users and what not.
      Taxi’s and unmarked vans are amongst the worst and anti social drivers in the cities.

• How about this side of it , The more people drive the more Experience they gain , the more they become aware of the dangers of the city roads , the more likely they are to know the padestrians are going to walk out in front of them in the city centre and allow for this .. Your argument/suggestion is Laughable at best .

• You can laugh all you want Gordon, but it’s a scientific fact that over time driver get worse not better. ALL drivers.
      On top of that, as you said yourself, with 400,000 Kilometers in 5 years your bad habits endanger a lot more lives then others, who drive a lot less.
      Not that long ago I read an article (and I promise if I can find it again I’ll give you the link) describing how research shows that the more often a person drives, the more familiar they are with their surroundings, the more risks they take. Reason for that is exactly the familiarity you describe yourself: the illusion of being able to deal with the unexpected. It is for the same reason most accidents happen with a certain radius from our homes: we are too familiar with the road and rather then being alert we go by experience alone.

• your a bit presumutious I’ve bad drivings !!!! 400,000 no crashes , no penalty points, no fines ….. I don’t drive a taxi anymore , but wen I did I always tried to be safe and responsible when driving :)

• I think the first thing the government should do is train taxi drivers to a proper standard. They hover between lanes, go through red lights regularly, don’t stop at stop lines or signs and seem to be generally of a very poor driving standard. The knowledge of rules of the road in the taxi industry is poor. It is shocking to think that the only driving qualification needed to drive taxis is the state driving licence. Youngsters have that licence before they’re eighteen! They’re should be a retrospective rigourous training scheme put in place, involving a good standard of English, an excellent standard of driving and navigation, public interaction training and a commitment to exemplar driving behaviour. Any individual that is willing and capable to get through that process would more than deserve their spsv licence and have the confidence of public and authority.

• i hope that the new taxi signs will be in irish as well as english. tacsaí/taxi

• Why not pip white, most of these changes have been on the national transport website for the last 6 months. Uninformed making stupid comments once they see a article about taxi drivers.

• Yeah but Gordon what about the €150 to renew every year and nct (€50) every year, it’s not a saving of €580 on road tax really now is it. A now a sticker on your car door how does that help. There is already a temper proof sticker on your front and back window. The ministers nephew is selling these new decals. If they want double jobbers out just use the pps number

• Kelly would know a lot about professionalism, he ditched his MEP job in europe and then handed it over to the unelected Phil Prendergast.

• Surely the big yellow sign on the roof of the car is enough to show that it’s a taxi. Decals on the side and who is going to pay for them?

• That’s great pip glad you could clear up that for me.

• My mate works as a taxi driver on night shifts and during the day his wife uses the car for bringing kids to school and going to shops and stuff.

Don’t think it’s fair that his wife will now have to drive a taxi around during the day, when its not being used as a taxi.

• Why bother saying in the article there will be new age limits on the car and then not tell us. Now I’ve to go do your job and read through their website. Yes keep the article small and precise thats why i read the stories here but some details are a must.

Can anyone clear this up for me?
    Cheers

• 9 yr rule is in place , Any new taxi’s or plate transfers have to go onto a car no older then 3 years . Plates on cars 9 yrs or older can stay on it until the car is been changed , then the car has to be no older then 3 years old .

Add New Comment