TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

DAA meets with taxi drivers as passengers face disruption at Dublin Airport

DAA has urged drivers to resume service to the public at the airport as soon as possible.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland!

Updated 11.25am

MANAGEMENT AT DUBLIN Airport and groups representing taxi drivers are currently meeting in a bid to end a dispute which has seen drivers withdraw services for passengers at the airport.

Dublin Airport Authority (DAA) has urged taxi drivers to resume service to the public but drivers have refused to take fares again today as the dispute about parking spaces continues.

Earlier DAA offered to reinstate 30 parking spaces as a “goodwill gesture” but has since withdrawn this offer after 400 taxi drivers staged a slow drive protest around the airport campus causing disruption to traffic at the main airport roundabout leading to both terminals.

Staff at the airport are directing passengers to public transport options. Some coaches have added extra services today with extra DAA staff in place at Terminals 1 and 2 to assist passengers.

The row started over DAA’s amendment to the temporary overflow area for taxis which saw the number of parking spaces reduced by about 70.

Jim Waldron of the National Private Hire & Taxi Association told Morning Ireland that drivers are not holding “anyone to ransom” but claimed that DAA are stopping taxi services from doing their work.

Our drivers were stopped coming to work. We turned up to work and were prevented from getting into our parking spaces that we have been using for the past two years.

“That is why drivers are losing money and the public are being inconvenienced.” He called on other taxi men and women to “come out to the airport and show their support”.

A DAA spokesperson said that there is “enough capacity” for the number of taxis that operate at the airport.

The city centre was flooded with taxis this morning as drivers stayed away from airport ranks.

DAA says it is available to discuss the matter with taxi drivers and their representatives.

Waldron and other taxi groups including Tacsaí Timonaí na hEireann (TTNH) have disputed DAA’s claim that they accepted an offer to reinstate 30 parking spaces in return for going back to work.

“No, we never agreed to accept that proposal,” he told RTÉ. “What we agreed to do is put it forward to our drivers and that’s what we did. The drivers rejected that.”

Waldron also called for a more fair system to be implemented at both Terminal 1 and Terminal 2. He says that the 60 additional spaces provided at Terminal 2 can see drivers wait for up to three hours for a fare, while those who arrive later at Terminal 1 pick up passengers more quickly.

DAA disputes this saying that taxi drivers have their “own reasons” for refusing to fill up ranks at terminals 1 and 2. A spokesperson said that 45 per cent of passengers coming through Dublin Airport come through terminal 2 and 55 per cent through terminal 1.

Taxi drivers pay €440 per year for a permit to operate at the airport.

Paul O’Kane of DAA has said there are “adequate spaces for taxi drivers at the airport”.

The row escalated yesterday after Gardaí issued a number of tickets to taxi drivers who parked in unauthorised spaces in front of a hotel. It is understood that those tickets have now been rescinded.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell

PICTURES: Taxi drivers say they’re in it for the long haul in airport dispute>

YESTERDAY: Taxi disruption is ongoing at Dublin Airport>

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• If your argument is with the airport, find a way to punish the airport, not the public. It never, repeat, never works. Check the history of the last 20 years of industrial disputes. If the public get inconvenienced, you lose all public sympathy. I still refuse to tip taxi drivers since their strike over deregulation, and that’s 10 years ago now.

• I always think back to the reeling in the years during the last airport strike 10 years ago. There was streams of tourists arriving with trolleys full of bags not knowing what to do. It ruined their holiday, one English couple in particular in tears vowed to never return. I’m sure many more never did.

• john no points for guessing that you are a taxi man. Its that very attitude thats gives them a bad name. People are entitled to their opinion.

• No points for you so. My dad is and I hate this shit saying theyre all lazy slobs that drives bangers because it simply isnt true!

• I used to regularly get taxis John and found at least 70% of them to be racist, whiney and Know it alls that if you try have a different opinion than them on something they’ll shut off and become ignorant for the rest of the journey and some have often smoked, I could have reported them but i just thought id stop using them and not put someone out of work. They’re constantly speeding and breaking laws like parking on kerbs, driving up my arse and breaking red lights. They complain about prices increasing like petrol,taxes and insurance yet can’t get come to the simple conclusion that they need a career switch, all of the taxis for the last 5 years have known the Facts and figures that there is far too many taxi permits out there and its simple economics of demand and supply, when theres not enough demand to meet supply you either lower prices, increase quality or just stop altogether so its time for taxi drivers to wake up to the facts. Yesterday and today ive seen comments from people saying they’ve waited 3 hours to get a fair so if this true why are they even bothered with Dublin Airport , its obviously not a high turnover area.

• @ John Ryan

You see John,I am not the only one and these are the reasons why most people have no sympathy for taxi drivers.As a result taxi drivers like your father(if he’s as good as you say he is) suffer,when it comes to situations like this.

• Forgetting about the company I work for. My partner and I missed a flight last June and had to get a taxi 19 miles home with one bag each we asked for a price up front. 105 euros. I laughed and asked if he was taking the piss as we got out we went to the taxi behind and the first driver shouts back 105, second driver shrugs and says 105. He says the first guy in line sets the price. I can’t under cut the taxi at the top of the line. Made a call to my local taxi driver 55 euros. Theives and nothing more.

• No sympathy for the taxi drivers. The union mindset has them ruined, any time something happens that they don’t like they strike. DAA own the land, up to them what they do with it.

• I’m starting my own little protest, so from now on, I will no longer tip taxi drivers.

• They have the same number of spaces as 2010 with less taxis holding permits? If they insist on keeping this up remove all of their permits and give them to hard pressed people who want to work. Enough pussy footing around taxi men they have held the country to ransom too many times.

• I wonder how many times that the taxi drivers have being on strike in the past ten years or would NASA be too busy keeping an eye on curiosity to work it out for us.

• From reading the DAA statement:
      -Same number of spaces as 2010,
      -DAA traffic down since 2010,
      -Permit holders down 300 since 2010,
      -Months notice given to taxi drivers about the change.

Taxi drivers don’t dispute any of the above but yet feel that they can hold the country to ransom. Some of them should take a drive to the towns outside Dublin that rely almost wholly on Irish tourism to put bread on their table and see try to imagine the long term damage that they are causing. This will leave a scar with many tourists who will pass these negative comments about our country to many of their friends

• The DAA should allow school bus opperators to run a service from the airport. They are available all day for the next week or so and for large chuncks of the day even when the schools open. If they are safe enough to carry our kids, they would be fine to carry passengers into town.

• With due respect, you obviously have absolutely no understanding of the issues affecting the taxi industry. 1) the taxi industry has the highest rate of suicide of any industry in this country. 2) there are in excess of 3000 permits issued but only 300 taxi spaces at the airport. 3) drivers pay in advance for permits but can be forced to leave the airport if no spaces are available… In effect… We PAY for the right to provide a service but are then denied from doing so 4) drivers are working up to 90 hrs a week for next to nothing. As i type this, i have worked 7 hrs for a total of €27. This equals less than €4 per hour!!! And that is gross earnings not net. Do not say i should leave the industry if i cant make a living…most taxi drivers are over 40 yo and have absolutely no chance of competing with younger people for scarce jobs. Finally, 75% of all passengers thru Dublin airport travel via private car. There are also many bus services. Ultimately, the DAA are doing what semi states/public bodies do all the time… Taking money from the the private sector and then persecuting same. If these bodies were accountable the country would not be the BANANA REPUBLIC it is.

• @ Fred. with all due respect most of your points are not valid 1) i cannot comment on suicide rates as its an area i am not familiar with. 2) the 3000 permits are given out not for the use of the parking space for the day but for the collection of passengers only. the waiting time may be long to collect a fare however it is only seen as a temporary waiting zone therefore providing a space for 10% of the permits given is adequate. 3) Taxi drivers pay 1.20 a day for use of the collection zone. if you take into account a daily fare count of 3-4 which is still below what is the average seeing as 25% of passengers use taxis this amounts to 30c to 40c for use of services per a fare. 4) Drivers choice there hours of work. most of this time is spent sitting on ranks and travelling to and from the airport? do you actually think taxi drivers should be compensated for these? i work 45 minutes from my workplace so whould i get 1.5 hours extra pay? … and on your other point, in a report issued in 2011 looking into passengers passing through Dublin airport it says 50% car and van, 25% taxis and 25% buses. the reason for this is because of the prices airport taxis charge, eg bag charges, set amount fares. also because the quality of service given has declined over the last number of years. You arent angry at the DAA you are angry at your failure to notice read between the lines that Taxi driving isnt profitable anymore. similar to some trades however you dont see the carpenters, electricians, painters etc out striking. They simply put it down to experienc, move on and take up a course and interest in some other profession.

• Well then don’t go to the Airport and sit for two to three hours wasting your time, go out onto the streets and look for a fare!

• @ Fred,

why do you think you and your colleagues have the right to effectively shut the airport down for anyone who does not have access to a car / bus. What have the following groups of people who are seriously affected by your selfish actions done to you?
      1. Families returning from holidays with lots of luggage and young children tired after their flights,
      2. First time tourists whose image of Ireland could be irreparably damaged due to a stressful few hours trying to travel to their hotels,
      3. International business people, its well known that Ireland is full of multinationals and that these multinationals employees travel extensively between their various sites.

I notice that ye don’t have the spine to go on a full strike, ye are happy enough to still drop passengers to the airport.

• There are over 1500 permits given out every year by the DAA @ €440 each, there are only 120 legal parking spaces at any given time to cater for the 1500+ , if the DAA can’t accommodate the taxis they shouldn’t charge the fee.

• If the taxi drivers can’t get the parking space at the airport, which it says on the permit ‘subject to availability’ they shouldn’t buy the permit! And there is well more than 120 spaces

• @ Alice, You might want to think about that one a little further……

-Not all the taxis which have permits are on duty at the one time,
      -Not all the taxis which have permits work at the airport 100% of the time, some might switch to city pick ups,
      -Just because a taxi is on airport duty does not mean they need a parking space, its fairly obvious that once a taxi picks up a fare there is a good chance they will be away for up to an hour
      -etc
      -etc

• mattoid 23/08/12 #

Agreed Gary,
      Whilst the ‘strike’ is going on the DAA should just allow unrestricted access to any taxi, and see how long it takes for the striking drivers to come running back to work…

• The worst thing about all of this is that the drivers will be sh*tin on about it all weekend. I recommend the bus/nightlink if possible!!

• I got caught by this protest yesterday after returning from summer Holidays. I was told by the DAA that the Taxi drivers were protesting and not providing a pick up service to the airport. I therefore called another company to pick me up from the airport. Their driver called me 10 mins later to say he could not enter the airport as the protesting drivers were throwing eggs and stones at his car. I was therefore asked to get a shuttle bus to the airport hotels were I could be picked up

At the same time the protesting drivers had waled up to the pick up and set down area of terminal 2. There were about 50 of them in total and they were extremely intimidating to all arriving passengers as they shouted at and protested to all taxis that were dropping off passengers.

In the end we were able to get a lift from a taxi driver that was dropping off passenger but this poor driver was insulted and shouted at by they protesting drivers

I must say what a shower of idiots, how on earth do they thing they will garner public support with an idiotic and threatening protest like this. I can only imagine what arriving tourists were thinking – Cead Mile Failte, I think not!!

• Brian 23/08/12 #

Well done Eddie for exposing those clowns for what they really are. The guards need to get in there and sort them out now.

• Oh how i wouldve wished for a big coach to come along…they’d soon remove their corolla barricade.

• They should be arrested and charged for public order offences

• 50 drivers out of 1600…paint everyone with the same brush why don’t you.

• There’s the problem Glen,”50 out 1600″ Do you not realize its those 50 that are giving the rest of you a bad name,why people have no sympathy for you??? Instead of you trying to claim a small number of bad apples,you should be trying to fix your own industry from within.

• Glen, there were 50 at the T2 rank and I assume more at T1. But there were also more protesting on the roads coming in so it was not just 50 drivers. That being said I do know it was the minority giving the majority a bad name.

With more doing a go slow protest around the airport it is just pissing off the general public. I do understand that the taxi industry is is serious trouble but the clown arranging the protest need to see that they are doing more harm than good to the industry. I for one will be refusing to use a taxi with a DAA permit for the foreseeable future. I am going to vote with my feet.

• Let them strike and put extra busses in!
    They’ll be back working in a week.

• Pani 23/08/12 #

They can’t find a spot to wait an hour to get a fare? I remember a time not being able to find a queue with less than an hours wait to get picked up by a fella who left school after first year, got a loan for second hand corolla and thought the world owed him a 6 figure living so he brought me the long way home. #Karma #mistertaxiunionman.

• I have to go the airport to pick someone up on Saturday, can I expect a nightmare orchestrated by Hieronymus Bosch?

• I’ve been using Dublin airport taxis nearly every week for the last 2-3 yrs, I’ve had enough of their attitude. Their issues are with the DAA not the paying public (or tourists).

Possibly the worst service in Europe, dirty cars and high prices. Used the Airlink bus today and it was quick relaxing and easy (€6 vs. €30). Bye bye taxis.

Not the way to get public support.

• I don’t have much sympathy for taxi drivers. From my experience they will rip off a person if they think they’d get away with it. I recently arrived in Dublin airport in the early hours of the morning and was booked into a hotel about a 3/4 minute drive from T1. Luckily I checked the fare first with the taxi driver I was assigned and he said €12. I started to complain and another taxi driver intervened and they had a conversation and then he said ok €7. I was a woman travelling alone so I looked like an easy target. I was once charged €43 for a 15/20 min drive at 3am from the airport to a hotel near Swords for myself one other person and 2 cases. (didn’t check price first). When I complained he said it was €6 per case for the luggage. They are probably not all like that but they don’t do themselves any favours with that kind of caper.

• Taxi drivers on strike is a complete and utter joke. They’re day in and day out complaining that they’ve to work for 19 hours to get 1 fare. If it was so bad out there then why has the high level of taxis been there for such a sustained period. Seems like me, you and the taxman all get the same bulls**t story.

• The principle reasons there are so many taxis is as follows… 1) there is a huge number of illegal unlicensed taxis operating. There is no enforcement of regulations at all. I am 14 yrs in the industry and i am still waiting to be randomly inspected. 2) the age profile of drivers mitigates against leaving the industry. I am 44 with all the costa etc of that age group ie mortgage, car loan etc, i can not compete with someone in their 20′s for example on salary. We provide an essential service, some of us endeavour to provide a high quality service but we are prevented from doing this because of the on going incompetence of Gardai, revenue,social welfare, dept of transport, minister Varadkar and the taxi regulator!!

• So far the greatest things they have achieved is highlighting the fact that:

A) the public are not behind them
    B)The world can still rotate without them
    C) people are unhappy with the service in general
    D) they don’t own the airport….

• Brian 23/08/12 #

The problem here is that a small group of ‘old school’ taxi drivers are the ones creating trouble. It’s the same old story every time there’s a taxi strike. Anyone who goes against them will be intimidated and bullied.

I would say most taxi drivers are decent, hard working people who cannot afford to strike but because of the influence of this other ‘cabal’ of me feiners, they feel they probably have no choice but to go along with their pathetic, small-minded actions. The result is this kind of chaos.

DAA need to stand up to this and not give in to the threats of this bunch of ageing, spoiled bullies who will be all over the airwaves talking even more shite than they do in their cabs.

• i agree with alot of what your saying..the job is full of aulfellas constantly giving out about how it is now…always looking to have a strike. they made a fortune for years and had it all their own way and are living in the passed. they have no mortgages..no expenses..and to be honest most of them are widowed and only go out there to play cards and get their dinner and chat. should be made retire .

• That seems to be the case – looking at the comments on a newspapers site has this gem from earlier in the morning:

“Time for solidarity comrades. The DAA have no problem charging drivers 440 euros for permits and then refusing to supply adequate spaces. A blockade of the roundabout and other access routes to the airport for about a week should put manners on them.”

Put manners on them? Strikes me as being very arrogant.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0823/breaking1.html

• If they block the access routes their cars should be seized and crushed and their taxi licences permanently revoked, who the f*ck do they think they are to hold the rest of the country to ransom!

• The taxi profession is a bottom of the barrell job in every country apart from Ireland. For years & years it was a goldmime, taxi plates going for €100,000 & lads earining €800-€1000 a week. Them days are long gone, they need to realise that..i lve lost count how many times they have gone on strike in the last 5 years..pack of jokers!

• Bottom of the barrel???? Its a job/service like any other. How many participants in top of the barrel jobs , like the legal profession, have been sent to prison this year or censored or banned from working in their chosen profession?? I would rather be a taxi driver than a banker thats for sure. You??

• A couple of years ago,myself and my mother arrived in on a flight at 12am. We went and queued for a taxi at the pick up spot, as instructed. We gave our driver the address (which is very near the airport, maybe 3miles away) and got our heads ripped off for not being a better fare. The entire journey (10mins) he grilled us as to why we didn’t get the bus (it was too late and we had luggage and it wouldn’t drop us near enough) and whether we had someone at home who could have collected us (we didn’t). We had to ask him several times to drop it.
    I reported him the next day, but got the usual fob off from the regulator.
    Now they’re complaining that they don’t have enough spaces in the airport? Try being nicer to your paying customer.

• It will be interesting to read the views of the tourists on trip advisor when they get home to their respective homes!..well done taxi drivers-kill the goose that lays the golden egg!..ie tourism…

• I have said it to taxi drivers before but they nearly bit my head off, that they should all be working on a shift basis,whereby if you work sat and sun night this week, you cannot work those days next week, same with the airport,Jesus it’s crazy trying to get around their parking area out by the radisson hotel. They all want to work during the day and have tea and chat to the lads.
    NCPS, get off your arse,get out of the estates and clamp the lot of them.

• That’s an interesting suggestion Paul wouldn’t be hard to do / police either could be based on the roof sign’s last number odds one weekend evens the other ? They should have a standard car and colour though that everyone has to adhere to if they want to be in this career ? Yellow taxi New York has worked for decades … I saw a vw golf as a taxi in Dublin cringe when tourists see it …

• I know its crazy, they’re always parked on the double yellow lines around to the main Airport roundabout blocking traffic to all the carparks there and the hotel. Even when Airport police or the Gardai come they still refuse to move, if it was just us the normal Joe Soap we’d be fined to the hilt!

• If they are at the airport and not working then they should be moved on

• While I have sympathy for taxi drivers trying to make a living, as times are tough, but why take it out on the public, will never understand that. My experience of taxi drivers is if they can rip you off they will, last summer coming back from China jetlagged charging Mr 120 euro to go to Navan.

• 23/08/12 #

My friend lives quite near the airport and to avoid this, he gives his mothers address which is a decent way away but en-route to his house and then they (him and his missus) orchestrate a phone call when outside the airport supposedly from Mother, inviting them around. Tells the taxi driver sorry but change of plan and he then drops them home about 2 miles away.

It’s madness he has to do this but he’s had so much grief from Taxi drivers before because of the short distance. They expect every fare from the airport to be 100k plus away. It’s not someones fault they live near the airport but don’t have a public transport option.

• @ Glen ling,
    Your gripe is with the DAA, not with the traveling public. Sometimes the long road is the best course of action, but as usual the taxi federation decide to take the perceived quick action of inconveniencing the public. ‘We don’t want to inconvenience the public….’ the same BS is spouted every time the taxi’s wanna get something their way!!

As I said above your gripe is with the DAA, you think by inconveniencing public you will embarrass/force the DAA to give in to your demands. TBH the DAA don’t give a crap, the only way to make them pay attention is to stop paying the permit fees to the DAA. Yes this is the long way about it, but if you and your fellow taxi drivers made it publicly known that all taxi drivers stopped paying the permit fees but will continue to service the traveling public until such time as this issue is resolved, then the only ones hurting are the DAA.

Of course the DAA will stop those with out-of-date permits from carrying out the service, but if you all refuse to show your permits the DAA could not tell who has an in-date permit or not. Also your fellow taxi drivers could agree to pay the permit renewal fee to your taxi federation/union (who receipt it and hold it on account) until the matter is resolved. That way nobody can accuse you of not paying your permit fee or that you are holding the public to ransom, should the DAA stop you from carrying out your duty, then make all the publicity about the DAA stopping the taxi’s from performing their duty. NOW you have public favour on your side and the egg is firmly on the face of the DAA.

So my advice is change tack and fast, you are not doing yourselves or this country any favours with your cowardly actions!

• i have been in countries where the government owns the taxi industry. they employ the driver who then works a 8 to 10 hour shift gets a wage at the end of the week he or she gives in the money that is on the meter at the end of their shift and keeps the tips there are no lack of taxis in these countries but less licenses. they have being doing it for years and if found pilfering dismissed. i too have been stung by taxis 25 euro to the airport from my house and i can see the airport from where i live rip off dont use them any more my car or public transport the only way to go.

• well actually no government owns the taxi industry .Secondly no taxi driver in any part of the world only does “eight hours “work ,thats nonsense.the rest of your comment is laughable and farsicial.
      As for being “ripped off”.
      have you no mouth on you to tell said driver the way you wanted to go or do you just go to internet forums and complain there !

• @ Lee jones , jaysus lee are you a complete g******e , the taxi has identifying marks , ie number on the roof , name of driver on dashboard , and report the driver to the regulator ! If somebody tried to rob me I wouldn’t just complain to the journal !

• harold go to the uae they own the industry. francis i was stung 3 years ago and have not used them since do you have to insult me to get your point across i am not complaining to the journal simply using a reference to back up a comment or are you just a troll.

• nobody is forcing the drivers to work at the airport-its their personal choice-they can work all over dub city&county with the dub taxi licence so if they dont like what the daa is doing just stop working there

• Taxi drivers lookin a day off as per…

• They are still on strike. I have seen him on my way back from work…nothing has been done about it yet.

• @Lee jones , Lee I do apologise , and no I am not a troll , but I have seen so many comments about people supposedly being ripped off , I was beginning to wonder have they not got a Tongue In their head , it’s quiet simple if someone hires a taxi you ask for a receipt at the end of the journey , it tells you the taxi number , the reg of the car , the time when you start , and the time when you finish , and if there is a problem you contact the regulator , a driver tried to rip me off before and I reported it and was refunded the overcharge , with the option of bringing the driver to court . So from my experience the regulator works .

• here are the facts..hundreds of drivers turn up as usual for their work and told to move on no space for them with no notice fact despite what the daa say..im a taxi driver who works the airport everyday and i got no notice..rang the daa yesterday and asked why i wad not informed had a very civil conversation and was told they did not have to inform us individually but they have no issue sending letter after letter that are about payment of your permit ,rules and regulations..they have our mobile no.s and emails so they could of sent info if they wished.. for free.
    i think most will agree paying for a service and not being able to use that service is not on think of bins water electricity and others nbody would be happy paying for something and then told tuff your not getting it today come back tomorrow you might be lucky but no garauntee.
    i don’t think that the daa will turn around to mcdonalds or easons some morning and say see that space you’ve payed in upto a year in advance for–your not having it any more–deal with it!! No Chance.
    none of us want to upset the public but its the only way to deal with the daa unfortunately they don’t seem to treat us like the rest of the paying services that use the airport for a living.
    one more thing…alto of commentators here seem to have nothing bit bad experiences in taxi’s ..for this us professional drivers are very sorry. there is plenty of choice out there and plenty of ways to make a complaint about the service the public receive..i would urge people to do so if they have a bad experience from my experience issues are dealt with by the regulator and the daa.

• Read the first 2 lines….”no notice”…. you had 30 days notice. Then I got bored.
      Never get taxi’s any more as I get sick of listening to their uninformed and uneducated rants.

• well Ross if you can show me where my 30 days notice id id be very grateful..if you read on you see why i got no warning or notice..the daa did not issues individual notice…im not a member of a taxi union like the majority of drivers now are not in my opinion there useless so maybe they where informed but not me..i just go to work and get on with it like most people now who still have work to go to..and that’s all most of the fella i know want to do..but if your turned away from your place of work what do you do say.. thanks ill try again tomorrow ???

• Your place of work is your car not the Airport, you operate from your car, the Airport is only a pick up/drop off point, if you cant get a space dont buy the permit and go work the streets of Dublin instead, theres many more options for ye to get a fare than there is people who had to take pay cuts or lost a job or list half the wages from hours been taken away, everyone is in the same boat here and we’re all sinking quickly!

• While I feel that the taxi drivers could make their point in a way that s less disruptive to the travelling public I do think that the self serving quango that is the DAA should be broken up and replaced by something more representative of a democracy….this quango ignores the free market and lives in a protective bubble more representative of the 1970 s

• Stick a roof on the kesh ‘where the taxis park’ and they could double the amount of spaces in a few weeks … stick an overflow in the nat show centre or the back of the coachmans or where the hire cars park or ….. Etc etc …. Mother a god is der anyone with half a brain working up der …

• i agree there is solutions out here but the daa won’t invest in anything. everything done on the cheap. drivers don’t care what part of the airport we’re in just want to be able to be facilitated if we have permits.

• Glen.. The problem here isnt the amount of spaces available, the problem here is that there isnt enough people demanding taxis anymore. if there was a continuos flow of customers then the amount of spaces for collection would be irrelevant. but there isnt so Taxis are needing to hold up the 300 spaces for 1-2 hours sometimes.

• DAA should cut the permits back until there is no overflow issue

• Send in the gardai with water cannons , tear gas , batons , and beat up these striking taxi drivers , oh wait don’t we live in a democracy , forgot about that !

• I dont have a lot of time for taxi drivers but…I wonder if I’m missing the point here but to be fair to the taxi drivers their work parking spaces have been taken away? So if you tuned up for work this morning and your space was gone would you be happy?

• Of course I wouldn’t be happy if my parking space was taken away without warning. But the fact is they were given a months warning to the change in the overflow parking. In addition there are the same number of parking spaces available as 2010 while at the same time permit holders are 300 less than there were in 2010!

So if the taxi system could cope in 2010 with 300 more permits why can’t they cope now? Give them an inch ‘n they’ll take a mile. As I said on yesterday’s article there is a fine line between protesting for your rights and holding the public to ransom. At that time for me the jury was still out on which side of the line this protested landed. Well it is safe to say they’re 10 miles away from the fine line firmly on the side of holding the public to ransom.

• No taxies?
    Why not to use bicycles? :)
    http://dublincyclists.blogspot.ie/

• I would love to see more people on bikes, but let’s be real. I can’t see a family of four arriving here on holiday with a load of luggage and getting on their bikes to cycle about 20 miles down a motorway to the city centre.

• I was joking of course (hence the :) ).

More seriously, the 7 miles journey ( http://goo.gl/maps/tWSv3 ) can be done easily by Dublin Bus. Line 16 goes to town often for about 20 times cheaper (it takes 20 minutes when the road aren’t busy).
      Airlink costs only 6 Euro and it departures every 15 minutes.
      Air coaches reach many part of Dublin town for 7-8 Euro and work 24/7 and they’re also frequent.

With all due respect to taxies, they provide a premium service, not something you can’t live without.
      So if they don’t want to operate from the airport, so be it.

• howzat 23/08/12 #

Will I put my 20 kilo case on my head while I cycle Ffs

• I wish them well. Respect for peolple who stand up for themselves.

• Have you taken the time to even read this article or comments. Sticking up for yourself shouldn’t involve holding the public to ransom. This time next week I will have 8 German and French investors visiting our company. We cannot use the taxi drivers at the rank there as our visitors have been so badly ripped of countless times over the last ten years. It’s embarrassing explains how we can’t control these thieves

• I do not blame the Taxi Drivers going on strike, i know one or two and they, like the rest of us are struggling to make a wage, and they pay enough to be there, and don’t forget they don’t get any sick pay or pension so it’s hand to mouth, good luck to them …..

• What’s wrong with people, you may not like taxi drivers but that doesn’t excuse the DAA’s actions. 440 a year to operate there buys some rights, imagine you turned up for work to be told “oh yeah, we closed your section down last night”. The DAA is funded from the public purse and should be run a bit better. Btw Seanie Fitz isn’t still there is he, that would explain a lot.

• What planet are you on. There was at least a months notice given and the DAA own the land. Next thing you know they will be looking for subsidies like farmers when it’s raining or snowing. Having been left standing around in the cold so many nights waiting for taxis I have little or no time/respect for them. I think this no tipping should be pushed further as there service is so bad

• You’re missing the point. There was a months notice over 60 spaces, 130 were taken overnight. Your dislike of taxi drivers doesn’t excuse an overpaid and overstuffed quango it’s incompetence. Not sure what to say about the farmers bit!

• 1.20 a day to sit in a rank for 3 hours?? they’re insulting their own intelligence. There’s the same amount of spaces now as there was in 2010.

• pagan 23/08/12 #

@little Jim
      First off all the DAA is not funded by the public purse.In fact it gives back a large percentage of there profits to the government and is self funding.Where are you get the info that Sean Fitzpatrick is on the board of the DAA.I can tell you he is not on the board.So before you start criticizing the DAA get all of your facts correct first.
      As for the taxi driver’s dispute the DAA have every right to take away what ever parking spaces they see fit.It’s there’s and the Minster for transport land.

• Pagan, the board is full of ex anglo buddies, arthur cox boys, spent politicians you’ve never heard of, “senior” civil servants and trade union patties. Who else would pull a stunt like this with the tall ships in and people back from hols before school starts. Daa is state owned, t2′s budget overran by millions (we picked up the tab so the books were ok) . T2 was also built around a taxi link model so they have to deal with them. Btw I don’t like what the drivers are doing either. I see the figures involved are changing with every announcement. (from both sides.)

• i know a taxi driver who lives in Cavan has to drive from Cavan to Dublin airport to start work. .Then when he arrives at Dublin airport being told by the DAA that he can’t que cause it’s full after paying 440e for the permit ,that there is no room cause the DAA took away 70 taxi spaces on the taxi drivers without consulting or agreeing on. . . . .

• He could be a taxi man in Cavan, he chooses to work in Dublin and travel to Dublin because he makes more money there obviously !

• Is the Taxi man’s name Ryan Adams ??

• SMcB 23/08/12 #

And exactly what is stopping him from doing a days work outside the airport???

• there isn’t that much taxi business in cavan . .people sitting in and drinking there 75 cents bottles of beer in cavan. . . people have no money they paying the bondholders . . people have to pay more taxes now,

more taxi business in diublin .. .i don’t think so . .ben was on the back of the grafton street rank last night his back wheels were hanging of the rank the gardai came and moved him on . .trying to get a few bob to feed his few kids . . .this what the govt like people fighting people among people . .divide and conquer . ..

• Ryan are you drunk or is that you can’t spell ?? What planet are you on ?? Why not tell ‘Ben’ to get a real job. There was a time taxi drivers wore a short and tie and presented themselves in clean car. The last one I had the pleasure of getting wore a Celtic jersey, had a third eyebrow over his lip and drove a sh@& box. Even the Spanish have it right always a white clean taxi and no moaning.

• john looks like you can’t spell or you drunk. . .short do you mean shirt get a grip . . and john there are no real jobs at all . . and ben said he would take a real job but there isn’t any jobs at all not evening cleaning toliets . .and ben does have a clean car and is well dressed . .your painting every taxi driver with the same brush you don’t know every taxi driver. .and what planet are you on your a paid troll . .

• ‘You’re’ is how you spell it Ryan and I hope things work out for gentle ‘Ben’

• I am thinking Ryan Adams is joey donnelly in disguise.

• I’ll bet most of the above are cowards that wouldn’t say a quater of what you do here to a taxi man. Cowardly keyboard warriors!

• Must be an large amount of complete whimps in this country if they cant stick up for thmselves against the big taxi man.

Add New Comment