TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

PHOTOS: Teachers protest over class sizes and unequal pay

The three main teachers’ unions held the rally at Leinster House, demanding ‘equal pay for equal work’.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

MEMBERS OF THE COUNTRY’S three teachers’ unions, and students from some teacher training colleges, have held a rally in Dublin this afternoon in opposition to possible changes in the forthcoming Budget that affect teachers.

The rally – jointly organised by the INTO, the sole trade union for primary teachers, and the TUI and ASTI who represent secondary teachers – is in opposition to possible increases in the pupil-teacher ratio in the forthcoming Budget.

Over a thousand demonstrators assembled at the Department of Education headquarters on Marlborough St, before crossing the Liffey and marching on Leinster House.

The demonstration was also in opposition to what the teachers see as an unequal pay system, where new entrants to the teaching profession are paid drastically less than colleagues who perform equal work but who entered the profession earlier.

The changes in pay structures for so-called ‘NQTs’ – newly-qualified teachers – mean two teachers who earn their teaching qualifications at the same time could end up on a different salary scale, depending on when they are able to find full-time work.

It is estimated that people who entered the teaching workforce two years ago could earn over €250,000 more throughout their careers than those who took their first teaching jobs this autumn.

Those newly-qualified teachers are also not protected by the Croke Park agreement, having joined the public workforce after 2010, and can therefore have allowances taken from their pay where elder colleagues cannot.

INTO general secretary Sheila Nunan said the cuts were “unjust, unfair and unwarranted”.

PHOTOS: Teachers protest over class sizes and unequal pay
1 / 12
  • 'Valuing Education' demonstration in Dublin

Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Read: New teachers’ salaries down 30 per cent since 2010

Read next:

Comments (158 Comments)

• Teachers didn’t look like that when I went to school

• Aside from the salary difference, I think young teachers are hard done by due to retired teachers returning to schools to do subbing/cover for teachers on maternity leave. I think this prevents young teachers from gaining valuable teaching experience. I think principles should give young teachers the chance to gain this experience instead of hiring former staff. It’s unfair otherwise.

• It is very frustrating that teachers must continually defend their profession but having read some of the comments here I really do feel I should write something. No, I don’t have the most horrific job in the world and yes, I get great holidays. However I work bloody hard during term time, often 4 hours a night to prepare for some of my classes. I don’t complain about it, merely state the fact. Preparing for a Leaving Cert Higher Level class is hard work. Again, not a complaint but a fact. Dealing with teenagers and all their woes, not to mention their parents is hard work. Not a complaint, I chose this career, but a fact. I have taken them on many trips and tours during school holidays but freely and without complaint. I will freely admit however that the same cannot be said for many of my colleagues. Some of them do little or nothing after 4 o’clock. A few of them not even that much between 9 and 4! Many of them already are in senior positions while I have zero chance of promotion or advancement. Do not label me the same as them. I enjoy my job and while it can be very stressful, making a difference in a kid’s life, while cliche and naff, can make it worthwhile. Clearly not all teachers think the same. I don’t think I deserve a mega salary for what I do but even a little respect from the public would go a long long way.

• Aine, teachers like you absolutely do have respect, but as you said yourself there are others less deserving of their wage and conditions. You must realise, that being part of any union, protects the lazy as well as teachers lie yourself and ultimately effort and hard work are not rewarded as they should be. Welcome for your commitment, I hope you are rewarded appropriately relative to your abilities and achievements.

• Aine at last a bit if a reality from a teacher, your an example of what a good teacher should be, best of luck in your career!

• I don’t care what the cause is. Good on them. The Irish nation should all be out there for justice. Lets frighten the miss-muppets Greek style. Put the real picture on the cover of Time magazine. Good little boys of Europe might get a bit of pocket money thrown their way but not much dignity. Stop turning on ourselves and go get the real villains. Lying, corrupt, crony politicians and bankers who continue to feather their own nests while turning the screw on the rest of us because they know the majority of hard-up Irish people either die, emigrate or just sit on their backsides and take it.

• Who do you want teaching your children? Do you want intelligent, well-educated professionals who are motivated and passionate about their work? Teachers require top grades and 6 years of third-level study. Do you really think that teachers shouldn’t be paid holiday-pay? Would you encourage your children to enter a profession where they are paid for part of the year, with few, if any, promotional prospects? Will there be any men entering the profession? I love my teaching job but I’d find it very difficult to encourage any intelligent, hardworking, ambitious graduate to join the teaching ranks. This recession will end, who do you want teaching the next generation?

• I agree, we want good teachers.

But the system needs to be changed, empowering principals to be able remove bad teachers from the system would be a great step forward. The croke park agreement should have focused on increasing the time students spend in the classroom, not cutting salaries. Ireland has one of the shortest school years of the OCED countries, the kids should be in the classroom for an extra 4 weeks a year.

The starting salary of a doctor is about the same as the new starting gross salary of a primary teacher, so I really don’t think they are underpaid.

• Sweet Jesus Barry Sean and diarmuid . I rest my case . Now here’s a little challenge . I’ve confessed all in the interests of transparency . Now it’s your turn . What do ye do ? What do ye earn ? What do you know about my job ? When was the last time any of you we’re in a school ?

Cue the lies and the silence

• I am an environmental scientist… BSc and an MSc … work 40 hours a week… take home pay… ?1860 a month. Private sector… working 4 years.

• A few points Conor, one thing you forget is that many teacher positions are protected I.e they will never know what its like to compete to keep their job. You never actually state what you earn, and I dont think anyone expects you to, but you should not expect others to either. I’m an engineer, and earn a very good wage, I did however have to leave the country I love and my friends and family for that job, after being 3.5yrs professionally unemployed. however I think what I do is irrelevant, the reality is $32k a year is a damn good wage for most professionals starting out in their career, and if new teachers feel hard done by then that anger should be directed at the unions who are protecting the over inflated wages of many in public and civil service.

• I’m an engineer not in the construction sector but the agricultural sector so don’t brand me with ur celtic tiger b******t i’ve had to leave Ireland to get a job, my wages are the same as a starting teacher, but i do over 500 hrs over time a year and i worked over 30 weekend days, neither of which i get paid for! I don’t get the time back either,

I’ve seen teachers who are in a full time position take a year out and travel the world after a year just walk back into their full time position! It doesn’t work like that in the private sector! Teachers in the uk only get paid when they teach they get nothing for summer holidays and they teach more days during the year than Ireland, the thing is teachers at the top get paid way too much teachers at the bottom should start on low wages, i’ve done an internship at a company for 13,000 for the year! Thats standard in the uk and gradually ur wages go up!

• Just anothe instance of the older Generation pulling up the ladder behind them. Theyve made out like bandits with their Mortgages paid off ,obscene pay and pensions they got due to craven politicians blowing through a lottery win .

• For all you people moaning about teachers’ wages and time off- why didn’t you become a teacher if you think he pay and perks are so great! Btw, I’m not a teacher but a mother who appreciates the hard work teacher do to educate our children. No one is getting it easy in this recession but there is no point on turning on one another.

• I didn’t want to be a teacher, because I wanted to be an engineer, but like many others, we can still have an opinion on teacher wages. These opinions cannot be invalidated, because we didn’t become teachers ourselves. To think otherwise is silly.

• # Emerald Phoenix, of course you are entitled to your opinion on this issue as am I. I never suggested that because you’re not a teacher you can’t comment. I’m not a teacher and I have an opinion. That’s the great thing about leaving a comment-we get an idea of others think and agree to disagree :)

• I am then wondering what is the relevance is of asking persons why they don’t just become teachers? I was trying to answer that one can have an opinion about the worth of our teachers, without it meaning that they are in some way jealous of them and wanting their jobs and conditions, or indeed it meaning that they aren’t teachers because they wouldn’t do the job for their pay and conditions.

• Bridghid, think you hit the nail on the head, our Government has done a fantastic job on turning the public on the public, creating a big smoke screen for the real wasters, the overly paid government advisors, consultants, politicians and so on!

• Anyone who thinks we work a 20 hour week…PLEASE join us for just one week in the classroom and shadow us: see the work we put in.kids go home at 3,doesn’t mean our job is finished.incredible negativity and quite frankly ignorance shown towards modern teachers

• With €25 billion budget deficit, we don’t have the money. The only way to give more pay to young teachers is to reduce the pay of older teachers. They are being shafted by their unions and cossetted coleagues.

• I think new teachers should form
    Their own union…as the current unions completely shafted them in favour of the “old boys club”…all teachers should have had their wages cut.
    Where I work we all had to share the pain with pay cuts across the board regardless of your position or length of employment.
    I couldnt imagine working with colleagues who got paid more, doing the same work, just because they have been there a few years before me!!

• Love these debates amongst the proles. A few comments if I may:

1. Just because you have a low salary doesn’t mean that everyone else should too. Especially those who a few years ago would have been considered to be opting out of the Celtic Tiger and taking the poorer route. That’s just naked begrudgery, and you should be justifiably ashamed of yourself. Particularly so when you laughed at teachers a few years ago while you we’re buying your new VW Passat thinking it was really a Beemer under the hood and every bit as good. It’s not, by the way, and never was. I know.
    2. If you feel so strongly that teachers are on the gravy train, then get off your backside, get a teaching qualification and join them. Of course, if you can’t go to teaching college or are not intellectually capable of getting through at a high enough level to get a job at the other end, well, you know where I’m going I’m sure. If you don’t, then cease this point forthwith.
    3. If you really want it good, become a professor like me on €145k for 4 hours lecturing week, and I can also run my own ‘consultancy’ business (read ‘tax write-off for all my living expenses’) while I’m at it. Now that is good, as Pat Short might say. It took me several years of slumming it, many years of study, much time grafting, but now it’s come good. Lesson is that hard work pays off eventually. Be prepared to work long and hard in order to finally succeed, mind you if you want quick wins and throw the rattlers out of the pram when you don’t get the wins quickly enough, then you deserve what you get.

The Prof.

• I am currently a substitute teacher in a three teacher school. I teach three classes everyday . I have a child with ADHD in my class and another with severe dyslexia. I have no SNA or additional support for these children. I am in school every day at eight. I leave at six o clock. Home from school luckily I have loving parents that have a dinner cooked for me. I eat it and then from 6.30 until 8.30 i work on preparation etc. I then push myself to go for a walk or the gym. I do this each day monday to friday. Fridays I work until 10.00 at night in the school. Saturday morning I take 4 hours off, then I am back into preparation and the same on sunday. I am meanwhile earning a substitute salary with no holiday pay. My first pay check i paid more on tax than i received into my hand. I agree that we need to reduce salaries to bring Ireland back to prosperity but I am working the same job as the two other teachers in my school but earning a significant lower wage. I feel it is unfair to punish NQT’s who contributed in no way to the Celtic Tiger or the crash of the Celtic Tiger. WE did not buy expensive cars, go on holidays, buy houses with a mortgage double that of our salaries. THe older generation led the good life for a while and it is the younger generation paying for it now.

• Net Pay, priceless. So that’s €21,100 after paying all your income tax& prsi!

Why don’t they write their gross pay on the signs! Are they trying to give the illusion that their salary is lower then it actually is, can a teacher please post their gross starting salary, like the rest of the world uses.

Also in this gross salary please include common basic scale + academic qualifications allowance (a,b or c,d,e,f,g) + graded posts (if any) + other allowances (if any). For National School teachers the new basic gross pay is €27,814, plus you add on an academic qualification allowance (which you have to have to become a teacher), for a basic degree add €4,426 (unless you get a pass degree where you only get a €1,658 extra) to this sum.

For a primary school teacher the new starting salary (gross) is €32,240, which is a bloody good starting salary for any graduate. Don’t roll out that highly educated response either, the vast majority of Irish people in their 20s and 30s now hold a min of a 4 year degree.

• Have you been following the news for the past few weeks/months? Allowances have been scrapped for new entrants.

• Point taken, the new new pay scale.

They’ve rolled it in together, as the new scale no longer starts at point one, instead now jumps to the fourth point in your first year. So the starting gross salary of a primary school teacher is €30,702. Still a bloody good starting salary for a graduate with only a 4 year degree.

• As a teacher (in China) I can’t comment on what is the right salary for each teacher in Ireland. We must understand though these are young pups, trying to make a start in life. We have all been young once…. Right? Getting a mortgage, having nights out, hell bent even having a life! I have been here in China for 8 years now started on 800 a month (converted) now I’m on 1500-2000 a month. What I am trying to say is looking for a quick buck, high pay and so on, will only fail in the future. Stick it out. Get your head down and do your best.

Failing that if your job can’t pay for your lifestyle, change your lifestyle or change your job.

• Just taking some time out of correcting tests there to check in and see what kind of reaction was there to the protests… to anybody that’s not a teacher and is using the same old holiday / short working week argument.. did you not all have a CAO form to choose teaching if you thought it was such a cushy number? 22 hours is indeed a teaching week- contact time- in class. The rest we make up in preparations and other required work. It disgusts me to see people on here making comments about a profession that they think they know everything about,but have not stood at the top of the room or sat correcting papers in the evenings when a lot of other professions come home to put their feet up.. what happened to people being united against a government who are trampling the country into the ground, and not taking cheap cuts at each other!

• Well said

• Gotta love teachers, a heavier cross than poor Jesus ever had to carry, to be honest Eileen, considering no other job has such a high proportion of moaners (apart from maybe taxi drivers) I don’t think anyone would really fancy sitting in a staff room listening to all the bleeding heart stories and whinging all day.

• Gaius, i dont claim to carry a heavy cross. Not at all. I get on with my job, enjoy it some days, some days not so much, exactly the same as other professions. But it enrages me to see people comment on a professional body that they are not part of, and feel they know all about just because they went to school and feel they know how to be a teacher from observing people at work. Come back to me when you have spent a week as a teacher and we will discuss the many pros, and cons.

• Gaius, i dont claim to carry a heavy cross. Not at all. I get on with my job, enjoy it some days, some days not so much, exactly the same as other professions. But it enrages me to see people comment on a professional body that they are not part of, and feel they know all about just because they went to school and feel they know how to be a teacher from observing people at work. Come back to me when you have spent a week as a teacher and we will discuss the many pros and cons

• One does not have to be a teacher to have a valid opinion on what a teacher is worth to the state and society as a whole, for those teachers who took up a job at those rates, that was the offer and that is what they accepted. If they don’t like it, they can go work else where, like most other people do when they are not happy about pay an conditions. It could also be argued that your opinion is biased, because you are a teacher and loose your objectivity. . . .

• For what it’s worth I taught primary school kids for 2 summers in a row, about 3 hours of classes each day and then the rest spent supervising sport, not saying it’s the same, but I do have an idea to an extent

• Hey why all the red thumbs, they all went on to be astro-physicists

• Very very sad to see both the lack of understanding about teacher’s salaries, working hours etc. and the attack on those in the teaching profession. It’s very clear that many of you commenting don’t personally know any teachers, obvious from your ignorance about what they do on a day to day basis. Huge amount of incorrect information being posted here. You think teachers have a cushy number…..become one.

• I think that’s a bit of a sweeping statement, I wouldn’t say there are many people who don’t have friends, relatives or partners in teaching. I would counter argue that teachers don’t realise how lucky they are to have a job, there are thousands of people who are not happy with their working conditions for the last few years, but it’s about knowing when to just keep your head down, get on with your job, and be thankful you have one. We currently have an unemployment rate of almost 15%, the 5th highest in the EU, nearly half a million people.

• Aarum 24/10/12 #

No sympathy? That’s called jealously when you didn’t work hard and study in school to get the points for primary teaching, instead going for the quick euro in the building trade, I have no sympathy for those who left school to earl €1500+ a week and pi&&ed away their over paid untaxed (mostly) salaries! Teachers of which I am not one but I know plenty are over stretched as it is with little resources, in some cases buying, yes buying out of their own money supplies i.e art supplies, out of their own money so kids can paint etc etc i could go on the real problem is the paper pushers in the public sector, not teachers, gardai or front line Hse staff nurses, docs.

• If it was nt so pathetically predictable it might be more than a little disturbing . The ability of so many of this pages commentators to talk about a subject and a profession they have no contemporary knowledge of is mind boggling .The ignorance and thinly veiled begrudgery is shocking . I am a teacher : no apologies there . I love my job of 28 years , no apologies again , and honestly work every night to stay on top of my game . All I would ask is that those young teachers who inject much needed oxygen and enthusiasm into our schools would be paid on the same scale as myself . I earn every measly penny I get . I’m not apologising for having and keeping a job and I’m not hiding my pride in what i do well . if it makes the begrudgers feel any better im also not able to pay half my bills . Pay them what they deserve and for those about to suggest I take a 50% cut to balance the books thank you in advance for proving my point about those who know so little having far too much to say . Rant over , goodnight

• Alien8 24/10/12 #

Not a lot of older teachers in that march. Looks more like young recent graduates who have been shafted by the Unions that organised this march by making sure the established teachers keep their wages high.

With the figure of €250k, I guess the difference in earners is around €5k a year (God knows what the official retirement age is for teachers as well, they seem to join the pension reserves earlier as well) – is this march to make sure that the additional €5k a year is reduced from current teachers pay to make them equal with those who joined the market before they did? Seems fair, and I would support them all the way.

• My teachers are fantastic hardworking individuals. They deserve the best that life can send them. When the parent teacher meetings take place in a few weeks time my mam and dad will see for themselves just how brilliant they all are.

• Why all the bickering? More holidays? Higher payed blaa blaa blaa. All swallowing the Irish Independents bait hook line and sinker. I’m a teacher and if you work from the minute u wake till late at night to make somebody else a millionaire then I think that is a disgrace also but why complain about other ordinary workers standing up for themselves. We are all being shafted and we all need to stand up for each other.

• I’m a newly qualified teacher and not only am I paid less than other teachers doing the same job I also got a letter saying that the departments system wasn’t updated in keeping with the new pay scale so I now owe them 500€! I accept that we are in a recession and that cuts have to be made but it should be on an equal level for all teachers! I shouldn’t suffer for my age and year of qualification because of mistakes made by a generation of bankers!

• No point complaining here Eimear, along the way us teachers clearly became the enemy of the state! Not sure why, but it is clear those above us have decided we are lazy and not worthy of the same pay conditions as others with degrees, a really sickening take on this from (some) members of the general public

• Eileen, unfortunately it is the case that most people are not capable of independent, critical thought, and will therefore subscribe to whatever populist fad the day presents: be that voting against FF, hating the English, wanting David Norris for president, or any other movement-du-jour. Today it is begrudgery against any public servant who has the nerve to want a fair salary for their efforts which no one would begrudge if they were in the private sector. Tomorrow it will be that public servants should be paid in Lidl vouchers – and be grateful for them.

• Well, I suppose compared to the vast majority of working people in both the private and public sector, teacher’s really don’t have such a bad lot do they? You also forget that almost every single Irish person in the workforce had teachers and spent most of their childhood / teens in the classroom, therefore, while hardly equating to seeing all of the work teachers do, at least having more insight into the life of a teacher than teachers have into the lives of those working in other areas. Nobody is saying it’s not okay to want better working conditions, it’s just that teachers are CONSTANTLY moaning about how unfair it is on them and how everyone is out to get them, ‘you don’t know what it’s like to be me’, blah blah blah. The reason you get less sympathy than say, nurses or gardaí, is because (a) you’re always giving out and (b) it’s the manner in which your arguments are put forward, quite galling for most members of the public. By the way, both my parents were teachers, in the north inner city where kids were constantly caught up in crime and in Tallaght, where things were just as bad, and I never heard them complain once, maybe it’s a generational thing.

• msk 24/10/12 #

32k starting wage…..sounds decent enough tbh….

• I agree, equal pay for equal work, so lower all AGS to the lowest currently on offer

• If you dont want to work as a teacher at that rate of pay then dont apply for the job.
    Same goes for any trade, its happening to mechanics, printers and all sorts of other trades, just because the government sets the rate of pay for new arrivals does not mean new teacher are entitled to the same working conditions as previous employees…reality check!

• Reg 24/10/12 #

Got my pay slip today and my gross pay this year to date is about 15k. Welcome to the real world of a small busines owner who’s been working for almost thirty years. Luckily the other half works in the public sector ;-)

Big crowd by the way!

• A newly qualified teacher in a secondary school in Switzerland earns circa e75k per year. Switzerland is Europe’s most competitive economy. Quality education costs. We have to make a decision about whether we invest in providing our children with the best education possible or get caught up in a game of begrudery where we believe that everyone is doing better than ourselves and deserves to be taken down a few notches.

• Reg 24/10/12 #

I agree that teachers need to be well paid Stephen but you can’t compare Ireland with one of Europe’s richest countries. This country is broke, borrowing vast amounts of money to pay for services and salaries. I’m not begrudger, just a realist.

• Switzerland didn’t just become rich overnight. It’s the high quality of their educators that laid the ground stone. We need radical reform of our system and well paid (and respected) teachers have to be part of it. It’s a really important job. Today’s march was about giving new teachers the same pay as teachers who were first employed in 2010. It’s hard to disagree with that. Cuts should be even across the board if and when they have to be made. Sadly the Unions sold out their future members bog time in this regard.

(By the way I didn’t mean to post my comment as a reply to you)

• Switzerland didn’t become rich because of education. It became rich because of banking and keeping out of wars. Some very dodgy banking btw.

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

I will be an NQT next year and I will probably have choice but to emigrate. To be teaching and earning 30% less than the person in the classroom next door. It’s ironic having a referendum about Children’s rights on Nov 10th, when the most vulnerable are being targeted. Learning support being cut all around and teachers working in the 2nd largest classes in Europe. Teachers are the most valuable resource in this country and people who think are job ends at 3pm each day, try spend a day in our shoes.

• Oh ffs, first of all it’s * our job, not * are job. There was no learning support when I was in school, so be grateful there’s any at all, and to say teachers are the most valuable resource in this country is arrogant to say the least, most can’t even spell.

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

Yes a typo, happens to to the best of us. You try teach in a class with over 35 students and how dare you diss learning support. They are one of the most valued members of staff. You try to teach a diverse class with various learning difficulties from dyspraxia to autism. You try to give students the attention the deserve in an overflowing classroom.

• I thought it was an orange order march.

• My my Mr Gracchus! Aren’t you the wound up ranting creature this evening?! You must have encountered a teacher in your past that took a disliking ( maybe with good reason) to you, for you to be so mean and nasty towards teachers.. ;)

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

Hahahah Agreed Brighid! Only an educated lot know how much work and attention to detail goes into a teacher’s weekly or even daily plans.

• If by being physically abused by a teacher and having to leave primary school at the age of 9, then yes, Brighid, you’d imagine I would have a grudge as a result, but like I’ve said elsewhere, both of my parents were teachers, it’s the whining about pay and conditions that I find unacceptable, teachers seem to live in a bubble and never look outside at how other workers circumstances are ten times worse, it’s insular, which is unhealthy.

• Both of my parents were teachers, no rant, just tired of hearing teachers whining about having a job, too many kids in the classroom? Guess what, your job is to teach kids. Teachers live in an insular bubble, thinking that nobody else faces the problems they face and the sense of entitlement shown here, in Ireland, in 2012, is reprehensible, maybe the two of you should pop over to a struggling family with kids who have lost their jobs and have the bank hounding them for mortgage repayments and tell them your sob story.

• mike 24/10/12 #

They have a week paid holidays next week but they protest instead of working today…If they were genuinely concerned for the pupils they would have protested next week.

• Why don’t you see any teachers protesting during the summer or during a mid term break?

• Forgive me if I’m wrong but did the INTO not negotiate this agreement that they are now protesting about? Is Sheila Nunan not on the implimentation board for the Croke Park agreement? I bet she has some interesting conversations with herself in the mirror each morning.

I can’t understand how, when the working conditions for poor souls are so bad that the points required to go into teaching have not fallen year on year or that the drop out rate on the courses isn’t huge as the poor student teachers realise how badly off they will be in their chosen profession.

The simple fact is that all professions in this country have been overpaid in the past 20 years and the correction that has taken place in the private sector is now taking place in the public sector. I do not know of any employment ouside of the public sector that still pays increments on salaries. In the real world you must earn your increase and often that is in direct competition with your peers.

Please join with me in wishing Sheila and her colleagues a speedy and safe return to planet Earth

• I started my job in retail in 2005 35k if i was takin on now for the same job id be on 28k .. Thats the reality of the country nobody would march for that. This countrys public sector needs to be torn down and re build wit only the best of the best

• The majority of secondary teachers do not start on full hours and therefore only receive a fraction of this wage. Most teachers work many years before receiving full time contracts.I am aware of teachers working 12 hour contracts who work in McDonalds at night make up a living wage. If this is how we want to treat the people who educate our children we live in a very sad country.

• Do you really think you will attract the brightest and best with these sort of wages?

• Sandy 25/10/12 #

I know lots of people in private sector who never got a pay cut – my husband included.

• 21,000 for 9 months work (I’m being generous here) is 28,000 for a full 12 months work, standard starting wage for a graduate these days

• I do feel bad for them, but I just finished my degree in engineering and some of my classmates (of the few who got work in Ireland) are on slightly over €20k, some are doing free internships or are getting paid minimum wage during an internship. Before the recession engineering graduates could earn double that.
      €28k would be sweet!!

• Alien8 24/10/12 #

Niamh, just to be clear the pay is €32k for starting. The €21k is after Tax and the pension contribution. We have PhD and MBA graduates working with us for more like the figure you are talking about to get experience in the real world.

They complain now about starting wage of €32k, and will complaining about living on Cornflakes if they were on €75k.

• Amy what planet are you on, teachers are not the only qualified graduates who can’t get jobs, my son is a mechanical engineer graduated from a very prestigious uni and has had to leave the country to work in UK as no jobs here with, my husband also well qualified and shed load of experience had to work in Middle East for year for same reason…teachers piss me off with their sense of entitlement, they are just some of many many people who have had wage cuts, tax increases etc, they are nothing special (and I’ve worked in a primary school so I know what I’m talking about)!

• Niamh , a lot of the teacher union crowd would have you think us malcontents in the private sector don’t have degrees and all made 50 million each with our property portfolio in the boom. They won’t mention that 80% of entire education budget goes on wages , it why kids will go to school in glorified wooden boxes and even with 80% of the entire pot they won’t even share with the new teachers , have to hand it to THem they have neck liked jockies bollo@ to be pretending they give a shit about young teachers

• It’s not acceptable that you were treated so terribly by a teacher G. Gracchus.However, I do feel that you really are not in a position to speak to me in this manner. You have no insight into my personal circumstances for all you know I may struggle every week to put food on the table, continually refuse my 3 children little luxury items that used to be the norm or think seriously every time I’m in a shop do I really need that extra box of cereal? Blah blah blah my mother was a teacher too, I have 2 sisters teachers although not in this country. Please do not-He who thinks he’s a roman politician,tell me what struggling is! My husband works long and hard hours, we manage to pay the mortgage but we are sick to death of listening to people saying ” sure you’re lucky to have a job”. Yes there are so many in different PS jobs who earn too much money but not NQTs. For the record again I am NOT a teacher just someone appreciates the hard work the good ones do.

• Problem with the teachers in Ireland is at the top they get huge salaries and the only way they could save costs was not by cutting the massive pensions and huge wages, but cutting the new entrants, the people marching shouldn’t blame the government, they are squeezing everywhere! The new teachers can only blame their peers and the choke park agreement for not taking a cut!

• I would have a lot more sympathy if they protested during the mid term break! But alas no.

• Class sizes or more work? Hmmm I wonder which. Funny they didn’t protest during their 3 months holiday. Which is paid for by the way.

• How about this for an idea. Newly Qualified Teachers get the same rate as their elder counterparts do, on a worked week basis plus 8% to cover statutory annual leave entitlements. BUT, BIG BUT, weeks when you don’t teach, you don’t get paid. So for mid term breaks, Christmas, Easter and the long summer breaks, you source other employment. I’m not saying I fully agree with such a concept, “entitlements” to “old school” regimes must change.

• Utterly ridiculous comment teachers pay is based on shorter working year just equalised over the year. A teacher starting wage after deductions is only 1.5 times the dole. For teachers on the old rate it is twice the dole. Hardly racking it i also I can tell you as the mother of a teacher she spends at least 2-3 hours a night on planning etc she she is currently doing a masters in special education on her own time nights weekends etc and she will receive no additional allowance for it So there is no incentive for teachers to ups kill actually the gov does not care about the quality of education so long as they can keep cutting costs next they will be asking people to volunteer for nothing oh wait they do it’s called jobs bridge

• So, your telling me that the old rate is €376 per week for a teacher, and the new rate is €282????…. Somebody is telling their Mammy porkies!!!

• The old starting rate was €807.69 per week and the new rate is €615.38 per week before deductions. Unless they are paying €431.69 and €333.38 in deductions respectively, I think your figures are incorrect, I even dare suggest they are utterly ridiculous. I also said in my original posting that I don’t fully agree with the proposal I put forward but was merely suggesting that change must be forthcoming and lateral thinking in this regard is required.

• @michael

You should apologise to the lady, I currently have 43.4% of my salary taken away on deductions so using the figures you gave she may be correct.

There is also a very strong chance that her daughter is not working to full hours therefore she is only getting a percentage of what the starting full time salary is. The vast majority of new teachers now take a good few years to even get close to full hours. In my particular school, teachers who’ve been there for 6 and 7 years are still only on 3/4 hours. I would reckon that 25% of the teaching staff are not on full hours.

• @eric Apologise for what? The figures above are based on fulltime hours. One cannot compare part time teaching work to full dole payments either, it doesnt give a true picture. Also, a person earning ?32K before all deductions, included pension levy, does not have 43.7% deducted from their pay. Ask your Accounting Teacher colleugue to do the sums tomorrow.

• We don’t. We get paid for the hours we work spread out over the 12 months.

• We don’t what?

• Teachers… money grabbing out of touch idiots. Not living in the real world… my sister is in secondary school… letter came home the other day about a school trip to …… euroDisney … lovely I’m sure… one catch … ?565 due in by 9th November!! Do these clueless people not realise half the class can afford to go the other half can’t. Family lives in a west of Ireland town riddled with job losses etc. Talk about creating divisions. Those who can afford it should be brought by their parents in term time… I will probably get red thumbed for saying this…

• I hope the people who red thumbed me understand there are going to be alot of disappointed kids who’s friends are going but they can’t…. my sister can go as I can pay for it but my parents don’t want her going as her two friends can’t. She is a nice girl and fully understands. pity some teachers are to insensitive and cocooned within their own bubble…

• So is she going to EuroDisney or what??…the first sentence of your comment is a ridiculous generalisation by the way…hard working honest people standing up for what they deserve, if more of the country did it, we’d be better off…

• @Geoff… the tone and manner in which you asked whether my sister is going or not tells me you are a rather disinterested me me me merchant who hates when realities of life in Ireland are brought up.. realities like the fact that many of the kids the teachers are so ‘ dedicated ‘ to teaching come from homes where money ostensibly seriously tight or non existant … I hope you are not a teacher…..

• They don’t have to go on the school trip to Euro Disney…Jesus, lighten up. The other half can go to Tayto Park..
      I’m not a teacher but I am a ‘money hungry, perk having, pension paid by the rest of the country, loadsa time off’ public servant…

• Your sister’s teachers most likely have no say in the trip. That stuff would be organised by the Principal or Board of Management, as they would have to oversee that kind of thing. Organising a trip to Eurodisney for a whole class group would probably be a teachers idea of hell anyway :)

• tom 25/10/12 #

it’s also very common to have teachers travel expense build into the students trip cost. I was surprised when I discovered this.

• If they don’t like it lump it . There are plenty of employees in hundreds of different occupations who are suffering from pay cuts but are getting on with it . Why don’t you all do summer camps in your time off in the summer for all of us to send or kids there , you’re being paid anyway , but you won’t do that will ye , moan moan moan , get real ffs.

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

Not sob story, most of us just want basic rights- equal work for equal pay. Basic human right. Children are central in education and a child can’t grow to full potential especially if they have special needs and in an over populated classroom. It’s so frustrating as a teacher not being able to give them proper attention. Last time I checked I lived with my parents because I won’t be able to move out on my wages, far from a bubble.

• I’ve no sympathy for them.

• That’s a lot of thumbs down your getting…..but don’t be disheartened, it’s probably from one teacher using the schools computer room to thumbs down you from each PC.

• Why? The diff between the new teacher graduates and other university graduates is that teachers are tied to a very slow moving increment scale while other graduates can get decent increases when they move jobs or deserve a pay rise.

Remember most of these teachers got over 450 points in the leaving did a 4 year degree and a Hdip on top of that. They for the most part are diligent and hard working and eager to succeed in life. Yet you almost laugh in their inequalities and 30% pay cut.

Can you only feel better when other people have suffered cuts? Do you not know any student teachers? I find it hard to understand why so many people only feel happy when other people suffer :(

• Doubt it. There home at 3:30pm.
      Bloody teachers aren’t living in the real world.
      The phrase a fair days pay for a fair days work, works both ways!!
      Less than 20 hours teaching.
      No weekends.
      No bank holidays.
      No midterm.
      No Christmas.
      Every summer off.
      9 months year.
      No accountability, whether you’re good, bad or indifferent.

“What about all the preparatory work?”
      Give me a break.

• Good for you. I’m sure the other posters admire the contempt you hold for people who squeak out a piss poor wage and still spend countless hours prepping, grading, dealing with parents, educating your children, nannying them, trying not to let kids who don’t keep up with the pack fall through the cracks… How dare them expect the rest of us and our government to treat them with any dignity?

• John 24/10/12 #

Highest paid teachers on the planet and four months PAID hollidays!!!!!!. Unbelievably well paid compared to other countries. They are also protesting about ‘class sizes’, yet all their placards and signs are about money…greed, greed, greed, when will this country ever wake up ffs!

• @jump

You’re the person not living in the real world. Schools are full of kids and teenagers suffering from all sorts of real world problems.

Do you know what, volunteer to help in your local school as a sports coach or whatever skill you possess that will be of assistance and then and only then come back and preach about how easy teachers have it.

Like every job teaching has its perks and challenges, you my close minded person can only see one side, take off the blinkers before you cast aspersions over the profession.

• John, if you think 21.1K is such a stellar salary at all, nevermind in the middle of crippling austerity, you musn’t be living in Ireland. To suggest that the teachers fighting for a wage on the level with those who entered the profession the year before are motivated by greed is lunacy. That contempt for the people who spend more time with your kids during the week than you do for no thanks needs to be rubbished by anyone who has a decent bone in their body.

• You don’t understand, it’s full of teenagers with problems, etc… that’s the bloody job! The job is to train and educate kids, that is all! You might think that they are worse than any other job because most every bloody parent has them and get a lot of empathy based on that, but the job is this – you teach kids.

For this, the government will start you at €21k and the pay will increase over time to between €50k and €75k over your career depending on the roles you take. You have a shedload of holidays, smallest working week and opportunities to perform additional paid work during your holiday times. You don’t have to do this if you don’t want these conditions for this pay; there is a lot of work elsewhere for english speaking qualified teachers (though the Irish and Religion will be of no use), but get off the streets making petty protests because a Union gimp has told you protest for more to keep your elder colleagues’ salaries high.

• Alien8 24/10/12 #

my apologies… from RTE news site, apparently the 21k bandied around may not be everyone’s starting figure:

In 2009, new entrants to the profession earned almost €41,000 annually.
      Since then, the starting salary for new teachers has been reduced to just over €32,000.

• @michael hegarty we used to be friends!!!!!!

• @Ciaran Cronin…. Don’t read down any further and we still may be!!! :-)

• Of course we should have a degree of sympathy , young teachers are paid being less than their colleagues , if of course they can get a job . Of course they will still be paid more than many graduate stater rates but thats beside the point .But why are they protesting outside the Dail? Their own unions just like all the other all the other Public unions are the ones that sold them down the river , they are talking s&it now but they will always choose take a lot from little than a little from a lot. Sheile nunan an ex teacher is on 159 K as a union cheif , and make no mistake folks their remit is the all of their current members out the door with any further cuts and their lump sum and to hell with new teachers , they are the facts so go look a little closer to home , what kind of union would let teachers be part time for years while allowing some guy holds their job hopn for maybe 20 years while they fatten themselves on the TD gravy train .BTW equal pay for equal work ? so they will now spend 40 hour in school , we all hear they do 50 hours so do it in school, accept that extra pay for correcting examns while they are on full pay on holidays is a joke, its being paid twice .

• It must be very tough starting on such a low salary and not getting increments as quick as you’d like, all the while other people are losing their jobs and taking pay cuts (if they’re lucky). When teachers do a 40-hour week and get 21 days annual leave they can come back to me with their whinging, ‘but we do prep work at home for the next day!’ guess what, most people do work at home and at weekends and all summer long. I’m also a bit worried about some of the standards in grammar in these posts.

• @Westmeath

How can you say that, how can you not care for these young people. They haven’t even entered teaching and you are already blaming them for everything. These young people are somebody’s children. They have been educated to the best of the parents ability. They just want justice, what’s fair for all. Why should a teacher that has retired, on a very nice pension (yes, that they paid for) be brought back to the ‘local’ school because it saves people paperwork and interviewing? Schools and our children need young, vibrant, enthusiastic, interested young teachers.

Classes cannot be allowed get any larger than they are at the moment. It’s not fair on the child that has a difficulty, that needs the extra time and help, but can’t because he/she is not in the high percentile to get into the ‘special needs’ eg. maths, dyslexia etc. etc. That child gives up very quickly when he/she sees that it seems the teacher doesn’t care, (in fact, the teacher just cannot give the extra time needed) so why should the pupil care. These poor unfortunate kids are the ones that leave at 14/15 years old, uneducated, and end up on the dole or minimum wage. Not fair.

• Neither do I, I worked with some, and dealt with loads along the way, some were good but majority were useless and beyond any correction. Don’t want to hear about corrections after class etc, like a doctor complaining about being on call! Part of the job, if you don’t like it, don’t do it!!!!!

• Education in Ireland, was much better was teacher/student ratios were higher. . . FACT!

• *when

• Aarum 24/10/12 #

I’ve no sympathy for the fools who left school early, didn’t study or work hard and have a chip on their shoulder over people who made the right choices in life, don’t know any teachers who earned €1500+ a week in the boom times

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

#ignorance

• That’s because you don’t understand discrimination… dont worry about it, petal…

• Sarah D 25/10/12 #

Yes I do understand discrimination clearly We deserve equal pay for equal work!

• msk 24/10/12 #

Hard to have any sympathy for teachers when they have as many holidays as that…..

• amy 24/10/12 #

Yes and many newly qualified teachers are on a permanent unpaid holiday because they can’t get jobs. This situation will get worse if class sizes are increases – one of the reasons for this protest.

• amy – If the situation gets worse, you can thank the Fianna Fail / Fine Gael voters for electing those governments who’ve created this.

• Jealous much????

• Amy how can teachers protest over class when it has been proven that it is one the lesser factors in educational outcomes ,more pressing could you tell me for example if anyone has every failed the Hdip , I don’t believe so ! What does that say about standards ? Btw if you are a new teacher I do wish you well , it is an important job and one I respect but the teacher unions are a disgrace .

• amy 25/10/12 #

Bigger class sizes = less jobs = more people on social welfare, instead of earning money and paying tax. Also, I personally know people who have failed the primary teaching h.dip/probationary period.

• Please tell me you wont be teaching ecomomic Amy. We are operating is a situation where 80% of the entire education budget goes on wages , crazy, that cannot be touched at the behest of the grossly overpaid militant union officials that you support, They alone allow this situation exist , they alone will allow for the pension of retired teacher be higher than new wages young teacher working full time . we all know becasue of demographics that alot more teachers are required but the union remit is to ensure the imcumbants get out the door with their massive lump sum and gravy pension , dont be fooled young teacher are mearly pawns in their PR coverup

• In most countries in Europe, School is not free. In Italy, you must pay for secondary school. Instead of having a property tax, the government should consider charging secondary school fees.

• Load of nonsense. Secondary school is free in Italy (as is uni) and in every European country that I know of (I teach on the continent btw). Only exception is private schools which in places like Switzerland are regarded as inferior to public schools.

• Una Dev 24/10/12 #

Stephen – Google is your friend. I’m not sure you properly researched that. I’m not defending FG apartheid but this state cannot finance schools without some contribution. Most European countries require a flat fee for schooling their kids. I think that kids are well-spoiled too.

• Go on so Una, tell me how much it costs in Italy then to send a child to a public secondary school? I suspect you are taking about something you know little about. I link would be great. Also the other countries that supposedly charge for secondary school would be great. And Una… Google is your friend.

• Why did not they wait until next week to demonstrate?
    Oh, I forgot – that is half-term and would be in their own time!

• Why is it always the same public servants that are striking two months off during the summer only teach a few ours of the day.they should only be hired on a self employed bases and graded like the students

• I’m surprised no one said it so I will, if you can’t do, teach. :)

• Lenny 25/10/12 #

well used to making posters anyway! country is in decline and the cuts have to be made. no performance or accountability assessments !

Add New Comment