TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Saturday

In your 9 at 9: Shooting in Dublin leaves one dead; Gay marriage and gay pride; the footballers who defected; the Facebook presidential poll; and U2 at Glastonbury, it was good, wasn’t it?

Image: via macinate, Creative Commons

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you really ought to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #SHOOTING A man has been killed following a gun attack at a pub in Dublin overnight. The 21-year-old man died after a shooting at a pub in Inchicore in Dublin. Another man was injured in the attack. Gardaí are investigating.

2. #PAY CUTS The proposed pay cuts for judges should the autumn referendum on the issue pass will not be as big as was first reported. In what the Irish Times says is an embarrassing clarification for the government, senior judges will take a 23 per cent reduction in pay rather than the 31 per cent that will apply to the salaries of new judges.

3. #LIBYA Some of Libya’s top footballers have defected to the rebel side after becoming disillusioned with the rule of Muammar Gaddafi. The group of 17 footballers includes the nation’s goalkeeper, three other national team members and the coach of one of the country’s top clubs Al-Ahly, BBC News reports.

4. #GAY MARRIAGE Gay marriage has been legalised in a sixth US state. Overnight, the New York state senate – controlled by Republicans – voted to legalise gay marriage by a margin of 33-29. Governor Andrew Cuomo immediately signed the bill into law and gay weddings are expected to start happening within 30 days in the most populous state to legalise gay marriage so far.

5. #WHITEY The notorious  Irish-American gangster James ‘Whitey’ Bulger has appeared at a US federal court in Boston where he was remanded without consent to bail. Prosecutors and ‘Whitey’ sparred over whether he had enough money to afford a lawyer. “Well, I could, if you gave me my money back,” Bulger said after more than $800,000 in cash was found at his house in California.

6. #FACEBOOK PRESIDENT? In Egypt, the military  - which has been ruling the country since the ousting of Hosni Mubarak in February – has attempted to show it is committed to a better transition by asking voters which presidential hopeful they like best through Facebook. The Washington Post reports it as a marked difference from the elections held under Mubarak, marred by fraud and rigging.

7. #EUCHARISTIC CONGRESS The Catholic Church celebrates the National Eucharistic Congress at the Marian Shrine in Knock today. It marks the one year countdown to the 50th International Eucharistic Congress which takes place in Dublin next year. Here’s a few facts you might not know about it.

8. #GAY PRIDE Dublin’s gay pride parade takes place in the capital today. The route will follow the same as last year with thousands expected to celebrate when the festivities get underway at the Garden of Remembrance at 2pm. Full details here.

9. #U2Glasto Bono and the boys were in fine form at Glastonbury last night with their performance wowing thousands at the world famous music festival. Planned protests by campaign group Art Uncut didn’t go off as well with their attempts to release a 20-foot balloon reading “U Pay Your Tax 2″ foiled be security guards, reports AFP.

Picture: Yui Mok/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Read next:

Comments (13 Comments)

• Bono the hypocrite. Lost all credibility when moving his tax affairs to holland. Despite benefiting for years from the artistic artist tax exemption. Sorry U2 fans but it must be said.

• And who would pay tax if they could legally avoid it. It’s up to authorities to administer the tax system, it’s not a voluntary code. If u2 were Canadian they could not have avoided paying some tax as Canadian citizens.

And remember the cause of this slack tax system is traced to fianna fail under haughey

U2 haven’t broken Amy laws and they have brought so much honour and goodwill to Ireland making this protest seem unjustified

• In the grand scheme of tax evaders and avoiders, there are plenty of the first to go after before we turn our attention to the large sums of money that U2 earn outside of Ireland. indeed, there is a fairly large group of big corporations in pharmaceuticals, IT and Food & Drinks industries who’d be first on my list. Those who for assign R&D patents to Ireland so that they can launder manufacturing profits through here tax-free.

As we have become world leaders in enabling individuals and corporations to avoid tax, it is a bit rich of us to complain when another country does the same. (incidentally, we also reward tax evasion by some individuals with poll-topping elections!)

This said, this particular protect group are at least consistent. I understand that they have long protested their objections to our tax policy before they turned their sights on Bono & co. I also get the ethical business arguments.

Someone tweeter “U2 – the best thing to come out of Amsterdam since tax avoidance”!

Have to say though, the lads rocked Glastonbury and I am proud of their achievements.

• Well it serves them right for being daft enough to announce their plans beforehand, of course the security were on high alert, shame though.

• Shame they didn’t manage it I’d have love to have seen it. And in answer to fitszpatrick, if I was earning the money that Bono earns and the amount of tax I’d have to pay wouldn’t even be noticed by me I’d surely pay it in my own country. He earns millions for gods sake!! There has to be a sense of morality here. He has more money than any ordinary person can ever imagine to have and yet greed has taken him and it off to Holland. Sheer greed. What justification can he say for doing it. That the Government allows him to? Money wants more money. It’s that simple.

• Greed has nothing to do with it. Bonos work for third world debt relief and publicising important causes is completely selfless and inspiring. Along with bob geldof they have made immense contributions so I wish all the grubby little shopkeepers would feck off

• If the man is such a selfless person and is so wonderful in your eyes, why does he have a problem paying his taxes in his own country? Yes, he has worked hard to help third world countries but what has that got to do with it? He’s lucky enough to be in the public eye and do you think for one minute when he comes on the telly to publicise important causes he isn’t doing himself a favour too? There are far more people doing fantastic work for all of these important causes than just Bono. And these people are thankless people. People who give their time day in day out to help others. Just because Bono does it via the media does not make him any the more greater than the ordinary charity worker. And I, for one, am not a grubby little shopkeeper.

• H
      It’s very simple he doesn’t owe any taxes in the septic isle

• One law for the rich and another for the poor it seems …..nothing unusual about that !!

• ‘A lot of virtue is born from lack of opportunity’………………….

• they pay tax here on what they earn here, its like asking Apple to pay all their tax in there home country…. its a bigger picture than just paying tax people. U2 are the most known band in world….

• kate bh 25/06/11 #

why do people always comment regarding how much money someone has or has not? bono worked hard to make his fortune so what if if doesn’t say Irish tax, so what if he is clever with his money. he is one of the largest contributors on a voluntary basis for charity which is i can tell you not where his tax would go. it would go to the banks or over inflated wages for higher civil servants. U2 are something for us all to be proud of not begrudge because they got off their arse and made a success story.

• So how would u2 pay their voluntary tax. Do the revenue commissioners have a form for random donations?

Add New Comment