TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Sunday

Nine things you should known this morning…

Image: *0* PrincessCCCC via Flickr

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #RACE FOR THE ÁRAS: A government minister has launched a stinging attack on Sinn Féin presidential candidate Martin McGuinness, saying that installing him in Áras an Uachtaráin would mean putting a “terrorist in the Park”. Environment minister Phil Hogan also told the Sunday Independent that having McGuinness as head of State would make Ireland look like a “banana republic”.

2. #CUTS: The scale of government spending cuts in the upcoming Budget may have been accidentally revealed by justice minister Alan Shatter. Shatter admitted to the Dáil his department had been told to slash 15.7 per cent from its budget – which would mean overall spending cuts of €2.5billion if it was extended across all departments, the Sunday Times reports.

3. #OCCUPY WALL STREET: More than 700 people have been arrested in New York after protesters in the Occupy Wall Street movement tried to stage a march across the city’s landmark Brooklyn Bridge, the Guardian reports. The demonstration, which came after allegations of police brutality at previous protests, was aimed at highlighting wrongdoing in the finance industry and has sparked copycat actions in other US cities.

4. #WELFARE: The level of welfare benefits mean an unemployed couple with four children have no incentive to take a job paying €28,000 a year or less, according to Department of Social Protection figures. The Sunday Times reports that a €28,000 wage would leave such a family with no more money and they would lose out on benefits such as rent supplement.

5. #MORTGAGES: Banks could be given more responsibility for mortgage debt under new plans to be submitted to the government. The Keane Report will propose that homeowners unable to keep up payments be allowed to stay on as tenants, and that lenders should actively engage in debt settlement, reports the Sunday Independent.

6. #ALCOHOL ADS: High-profile events such as the Oxegen music festival and the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival could be in trouble if new proposals to ban drink industry sponsorship of arts and cultural events are carried through. According to the Sunday Business Post, a national steering group is likely to recommend a ban on outdoor billboard advertising for alcohol alongside the sponsorship restrictions.

7. #KIDNAPPING: A group of kidnappers have successfully escaped to Somalia with their captive – a 66-year-old disabled French woman named as Marie Didieu – after carrying her off from her house near resort island of Lamu off neighbouring Kenya. Kenyan coastguards yesterday engaged the gang in a gun battle, but the rescue attempt failed, AFP reports.

8. #HIRING FREEZE: The HSE has admitted that its recruitment ban – introduced to cut costs – is not saving the health service any money. The executive’s HR director has said increased bills for agency workers brought in to cover staff shortages mean payroll costs are not dropping, and also said an early retirement scheme had failed to make savings, the Sunday Times reports.

9. #RIHANNA: The farmer who last week told pop superstar Rihanna to ‘put more clothes on’ during a video shoot on his land near Bangor, Co Down, has since received supportive emails from “all over the world”, he told the Sunday Times. DUP councillor Alan Graham added that he had no hard feelings, saying Rihanna was “welcome to come and visit me anytime, provided she has some clothes on.”

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• Has nobody realised we have been living in a Banana Republic for a while now.

• I don’t think we need McGuinness as head of state to seem like a Banana Republic…. well, not according to Wikipedia’s definition anyway: “In practice, a banana republic is a country operated as a commercial enterprise for private profit, effected by the collusion between the State and favoured monopolies, whereby the profits derived from private exploitation of public lands is private property, and the debts incurred are public responsibility”

• My god how can FG say that having MMG a man who will only take the average wage not like a banana republic and Alan Shitter can’t talk when he charges over ?600 an hour, and they continue to bail out bankers the same as FF and constant lies, most importantly there about to give away (the peoples) state assets. Yea banana republic alright FFS. Whether u agree with MMG politics or not He does and will put Ireland 1st and they govt are scared of this..(I guarantee in 10 years people will see that FG are as corrupt as FF!!
    This constant attacks by a govt against a democratic election must be questioned,wonder why FG was never in the Aras!!!
    @ Donncha u have a point, but we must remember the assembly up north is a totally diff system than any other in the world.

• 02/10/11 #

phil hogan thats hilarious prophesising. a banana republic? thats exactly what FF turned us into, and what FG are passively continuing on with. giving the majority of your potential salary back to the people really sets a precedent for self interest, doesnt it! lol! hogan sounds desperate to discredit martin, clearly he is a threat to the status quo. what are they hiding that they have to keep mcguinness out at all costs? sure according to the sunday independent poll he is nowhere in the running… who from FG will be next to condemn him I wonder!

• 02/10/11 #

well I was right to wonder who from FG would be next to weigh in against mcguinness. paul kehoe government chief whip take a bow. FG are acting totally desperate today.

• 02/10/11 #

no surprise about phil hogan attacking mcguinness. foisting debt worth billions upon the people, ensuring that they and their children will be forced to pay back for many years to come, rather than allow bondholders shoulder the burden of losing their private gamble, is am act of terrorism and treason as far as I am concerned. standing up for your people and making sure their voice is heard is not. I believe mcguinness when he says he will stand with us. he is the only candidate I would feel truly proud of.

• i just wonder sometimes where these people get their intelligence from. The people on here that are slating mcguinness,are they really genuine,I mean surely they are not that stupid,maybe yours are being paid to write this pure utter nonsense.Anyone with a brain would see that mcguinness is the person for the job,Phil hogan and his gang are selling the country from under us and he thinks he can preach as to who,s right or wrong to run for office.Phil hogan is a terrorist,hes terrorising the people of this island,hes giving away the country.What will it take for you people to wake up.You folks might be glad for mcguinness some day soon when the real terrorists are taking your house away,have yours no common sense at all to see whats happening.THERE ARE NONE SO BLIND,THAN THOSE WHO REFUSE TO SEE.

• rene
    I agree that both Bush and Teddy Kennedy are repellent and corrupt- but they both refused to meet with sf/adams/mcguinness….so what does that say about them.
    Surely its disingenuous of you to select Tony Blair- a British Prime Minister and Bush’s ally in an illegal war- to support your whitewashing of a terrorist.

• Madeline — when I replied to your comment I thought some few times about the wisdom of including Tony Blair amongst those who had positive things to say about Martin McGuinness — of course my reason for hesitation is the awareness that Tony Blair is even more discredited than your chosen citations. Nonetheless I feel that Blair had a particularly appropriate comment — he used the word “courage ” — which I would consider to be an important quality in a President . Few political figures meet that criterion — the last I remember was Mary Robinson .I’m afraid that I am quite stumped by your question “So what does that say about them ” — I really don’t know — what do you think it says about whom ? — about Bush/Kennedy — or about sf etc ??Meanwhile — Do you suggest that the viewpoint of Hilary Clinton , Barack Obama and the Presbyterian minister are also “whitewash ” — what could possibly be their motive ? Or — is it OK for world leaders to endorse Martin McGuinness — but when an ordinary citizen does so — it becomes “terrorist whitewash” in your eyes ?I do think that your repeating “terrorist ” is a bit simplistic — many world leaders have been described in those terms many times by those who benefit from the status quo — only to go on and be recognised by history as making significant contributions to their nation and their community .I really think that it is time to let go of the bitterness and grudges from our recent history and move into a future wherein grass roots considerations can shape the national profile — but then — I thought that Dick Spring was a significant moral authority in government — and he did not last long. So I guess we shall get one more egoist or status seeker as President . I am interested though to hear your viewpoint regarding the most suitable candidate — you seem quite swift to criticise — but a bit shy of stating your preference !!

• @ Rene
    OK fair play to you on your hesitancy about Tony B Liar
    As for repetition of the word terrorist- I’m sorry but that is what he is. If he was a school teacher I’d describe him as the teacher. I’d describe Gallager as the TV star or entrepeneur. What other terms could describe him. If I said butcher- his first job many would think I was still referring to his IRA days. Similarly if I referred to him as an ex-convict. The key element of MMcG is that he is a terrorist. He has never apologised for that and his insistence that it’s somehow in the past and should be forgotten is just typically arrogant and disgusting to victims of the IRA.
    ( and I should point out that if he was a loyalist terrorist I’d hold him in equal contempt ).
    As to the American politicians- I used to babysit for a wealthy American in Edinburgh when I was younger.,the level of awareness of Ireland was unbelievably low.. Americans had no idea what constitutes the uk, britain, ireland or even Europe. They lived in some St Patrick’s Day fantasy where the whole of Ireland is united to overthrow the oppressive British occupiers, who they believe still occupy all of Ireland.. One genuinely asked if Liam Neeson was still head of the IRA. I told him he’d left to join the A Team.
    The point of that rant was to show that endorsements from Hilary Clinton et al are not neccessarily well-informed.
    I just object to a man convicted of possessing FIVE THOUSANDS of ammunition and explosives on behalf of a terrorist- there’s that word again- organisation. I don’t care how MMcG is viewed in 200 years. I don’t want a man with blood on his hands and selective amnesia to be a figurehead for my country. Its about morality and any-one who can’t see that will never see where i’m coming from.
    I agree that I seem mostly negative about the election but honestly even if you ignore the inclusion of a terrorist its hard not to see the whole thing as a farce. I’d be hard pressed to pick my number one – Gallager and Higgins have impressed on occasion.

• Martin McGuinness is a political figure who is respected and trusted by significant world leaders as a man who has been a major contributor to the stabilisation of society in the 6 counties of the north of Ireland .His role in the paramilitary organisation was an essential component in establishing his personal credibility . Without this credibility he could never have achieved the task of bringing men of military action to peace negotiations .His achievements are colossal and should rightly be celebrated and honoured by all of us who are fortunate enough to live on this island at this time .

• @ Rene
      nonsense.
      Mitchell Reiss the United States special envoy to Ireland condemned SF stating that “it is hard to understand how a European country can have a private army associated with a political party”. In 2005 the US president and even Teddy Kennedy refused to meet with them.
      MMcG as president would be a worldwide embarassment for Ireland.

• I think this should all be very simple. McGuinness has admitted membership of a terrorist organisation, which in itself is illegal. He was arrested and imprisoned by the justice system of the south for be stopped in a car with explosives and ammunition. There are multiple other accusations of him carrying guns, arranging for bombings, directing terrorist acts and generally in-sighting violence. He should not be able to even sit as a TD let alone run for the Presidency. Apparently the the only condition that prevents you from running as President is that you cannot have declared for bankruptcy before. That in itself speaks volumes!
    One of McGuinnes’s main political drives is to expel the british from this country. He spent most his life trying to achieve this by means of a terrorist organisation. How could any sane man or woman put this man in charge of our armed forces! Just think how this act woul serve to alienate our closest trading partner – Britain. The country who also loaned us billions of euros to help us in this recession and have been the most vocal country in the European parliament in calling for more favorable terms on our bailout. Aside from Britain, think how this act would alienate the likes of the USA. I think a lot of these ‘Old War Horses’ need to realise that we are moving forward as a country and to put this relic in the Áras would set the country back to a terrible degree.
    Personally I think Sean Gallagher is the only attractive option for the presidency. He seems to be the only candidate who either doesn’t feel like they deserve the presidency for past deeds or ego such as Norris or Dana or Mary Davis. I think he is not motivated by money and actually sees an opportunity in this position to do some good for the country.
    Well that’s my two cents

• martin mc guinness has met american presidents before and other statesmen and women across the globe and they all speak highly of him.I dont see any problem with mcguinness going anywhere in the world to speak and work on matters concerning ireland.There must be something very rotton in the core of irish politicans and the wealthy side of irish life when these people are so desperate to cover it up.I have a feeling one of the big things is staring us straight in the face.Apart from the usual corruption thats going on there is something bigger in the pipeline and it,s being going on for a while.There,s billions,maybe trillions of euros worth of oil and gas going to leave this island within the next twenty odd years and guess what folks we aint getting a cent.The big bankers, with intent put the people of ireland into this debt we are in now with the help of our own governments.They done that for a reason,this country is going to be stripped bare of anything thats of value and we the ordinary people will be left high and dry.While we,re busy trying to pay a debt that cant be paid these gangsters will be taking all the oil and gas and anything else they can lay their greedy hands on.When these gangsters are finished with the looting they will still leave us in debt.You see folks this country could never be taken by force of arms,and the powers that be changed tactics,put us in debt,remember this happened before.Im sure everyone,s heard of the genocide they call the famine,i call it a genocide,but thats another story.Maybe thats why these west brit elements in our society are frightened that martin mcguinness would be elected and get access to the inner workings of our wealthy and corrupt elites,who by the way are only rent boys for their real masters.My advice to the people is put mcguinness into office,let him prove himself.This would be a walk in the park for mcguinness after the injustice he had to put up with.Put in one of the other six runners and what do you get,more of the same,have we not learned that lesson yet.We the people had a choice in the election just past,we choose same as we elected out.use your head send a message to these gangsters.VOTE MCGUINNESS A PRESIDENT FOR THE PEOPLE.

• You said a lot there, but I think MMG should be No 1 because of his past and his proven abilities. I also think if the IRISH PEOPLE really want a reasonabley prosperous republic and equality and respect then Martin would the most successful. I love Sean Gallagher and hope if Martin doesn’t win that Sean gets in as he is likely to be the best salesman for us with no perceived flaws. I also like most of the other Independants and even Michael D AS PRESDENTIAL looking but for substance MMG or SEAN. Dana, Mary davis and Norris, would all in my opinion be useful only to sectional interests. FG so far do not deserve the respect of the young or old voters based on their recent record not to mention their violent past, so I plead with all voters to reject FG in particular and Labour to a lesser extent. Of Course this position is non political but Gay Mitcheii insists in making it a civil war type contest, so much for his uniting ambitions.

• “Just think how this act woul serve to alienate our closest trading partner – Britain. The country who also loaned us billions of euros to help us in this recession and have been the most vocal country in the European parliament in calling for more favorable terms on our bailout.” It’s called pay back time for the rape of this country for hundreds of years!!!

• Hogan’s attack will be about as useful as McDowell’s – useless, or will create a backdraft. The government would do well to pick another line of attack or drop the matter entirely.

Journalist Ed Molony, in an article of 2005, had this to say abou the compositon of the IRA Army Council:

“The present Army Council consists firstly of the three Sinn Féin luminaries named by Minister McDowell and the other four are all IRA men, one or two of whom may have attended the odd Sinn Féin meeting but whose links to the party are really non-existent. This separation into three politicians and four soldiers has led to speculation that Sinn Féin can no longer control the IRA, a view strengthened by the fact that not so long ago SF had four members on the Council to the soldiers’ three.”

http://www.nuzhound.com/articles/arts2005/feb26_IRA_leadership__EMoloney_Irish_Examiner.php

• @ Madeline Angela Hind
    Your comment “nonsense ” seems unfortunate and inaccurate .
    The following quotes are taken from quite impartial sources . To my mind they seem to strongly support the views that I expressed which you describe as nonsense ! — I feel that my viewpoint is shared by political figures who are not on record as holding nonsensical views .
    Regrettably that cannot be said for the 2005 president whom you cite as being unwilling to meet Martin McGuinness — a figure discredited on the world stage as a frequent speaker of nonsense — George W. Bush !

Just another -small point — you describe Mitchell Reiss as “Special Envoy to Ireland ” this is also inaccurate — he was George Bush’s Special Envoy to the North of Ireland . The USA has a regular Ambassador in Ireland .

Regarding the idea that Martin McGuinness could in any way be an embarassment — that frankly is absurd — he is today recognised as a major contributor to peace — and the views of significant political figures on the world stage confirm that fact .

Tony Blair memoirs regarding Gerry Adams and Martin McGuiness
    The former Prime Minister continued: “Whether you like them or not, and no matter how strongly you disapprove of their past actions, they had courage in abundance.”

Belfast Telegraph Sept 10 2011
    The first Presbyterian minister to address a Sinn Fein party conference last night praised Martin McGuinness as one of the “great leaders of modern times”

Mail Online Oct 2009
    yesterday U.S Secretary of State Hillary Clinton embraced Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness as if he was an old and dear friend.
    After a meeting in Belfast’s Stormont Castle with the region’s First Minister Peter Robinson and Mr McGuinness, Mrs Clinton hailed the progress already made in the last 15 years as a model for reconciliation around the world .

Derry Journal
    Published on Friday 19 March 2010 11:01

Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness met with US President Barak Obama at the White House on St Patrick’s Day to discuss the recent progress in the peace process.

At the meeting, Mr Obama praised Mr McGuinness and First Minister Peter Robinson for providing “outstanding leadership” during the recent Hillsborough negotiations.

Add New Comment