TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Sunday

Good morning. Here’s nine things to know before you start your day.

Image: Dragos Iliescu via Shutterstock

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #COUNT: The counting of votes from yesterday’s Children’s Rights Referendum will begin at 9am and a result is expected early this afternoon. Turnout across the country was low as polling stations reported that only between a quarter and a third of eligible voters cast ballots.

2. #SCANDAL: BBC’s director general George Entwistle has quit just two months after taking the top job. His resignation is part of the fallout of the Newsnight child abuse broadcast which led to Lord McAlpine being wrongly implicated in the north Wales scandal. The broadcaster is live-blogging the crisis as it unfolds.

3. #REMEMBER: Eamon Gilmore will become the first Minister to lay a wreath during a Remembrance Day service in Belfast today, reports RTÉ. Enda Kenny will attend a Remembrance Sunday event in Enniskillen where 11 people were killed by an IRA bomb 25 years ago.

4. #PUB LIFE: Eoin Quinlan, the landlord of GAA fan-favourite Quinns of Drumcondra has started living in the pub as he fears IBRC will seize control of it over claims that he owes €250,000 in rent arrears, a figure he disputes. Tom Lyons and Don Lavery in the Sunday Independent report that Quinlan, whose family has been running the pub for more than 20 years, believes he is a “casualty” of the bank’s “vendetta” against Seán Quinn who once held the lease.

5. #ANGLO: Sticking with the IBRC, the Sunday Times notes that the chief executive Mike Aynsley was paid more than €600,000 in temporary allowances between 2009 and 2011. That figure is paid on top of his annual salary of €500,000, pension contribution of €125,000 and benefits of €40,000.

6. #CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL: The saga isn’t over yet and there may be more headaches to come for Health Minister James Reilly. According to the Sunday Business Post, the proposed site at St James’s Hospital for the new children’s hospital is facing “significant planning problems” as the scale and mass of the development is expected to exceed guidelines.

7. #WAR: A mother and her newborn baby were among six people killed in a roadside bombing – planted by Taliban insurgents – in Afghanistan overnight.

8. #EARTHQUAKE: Up to 13 people are feared dead in Myanmar following a strong earthquake earlier this morning. Both a bridge and a gold mine collapsed when the 6.8-magnitude quake hit.

9. #SPY GAMES: Jordan’s former intelligence chief has been sentenced to 13 years in prison for corruption, BBC News reports.

Read next:

Comments (28 Comments)

• #5 Anglo, makes me so angry. How in hell are the banksters still allowed to get away with this mess! 10 more years of this until the bank is finally wound down. Paying bondholders and these unreal salaries is why our country is so flocking broke. When is Enda going to fix it eh???????

• Come on Enda get your finger out. I can’t afford to keep paying these frickin ridiculous wages to manage a bankrupt firm. ENOUGH. Stop

But then Enda isn’t going to read this or pay a blind bit of notice to what taxpayers think.

I can’t see it ever stopping. Society is being financially raped to put champagne on the tables of the super wealthy. Ireland will he what Ireland has been…..ripe for rip off.

• well does Eoin owe the rent money or not. There can only one direct answer YES/ NO.

• Hey John,

The Sindo’s report explains the dispute over the rent. The rent had been €30k per month but an assessor said it should be €15k so the reduced rate was paid for the past nine months.

• FG Labour. A shower of liars. The biggest scandal in this country right now is, that its governed by out and out criminals. Why hasn’t Enda Kenny been brought in by one of those Dáil committees? Isn’t it time he explained why his party pledged to stand up to Europe, and create thousands of jobs, yet has gone off in the opposite direction? We are a crap people who tolerate our country being raped and pillaged by this shower. Enda Kenny is a disgusting little low-life that deserves to be flogged in public!

• Absolutely disgusting……. but sad to say not shocking!

• Untill such time that all trade unions take a stand against this Government then for the people to follow within the law nothing will happen with Labour in power we may be waiting but it is totally unfair and will not work without the unions

• You’ve a lot of faith in the unions. I can’t say I have the same.

• Unions are a total waste of money. They talk behind the scenes with employers and discuss between them, how to control the working classes. Just try hard and think of one occasion where they were able to change the outcome of a closure. Also in cases of unfair dismissal where it is proven that you have been treated unfairly, all that happens is that the company buys you out, you walk away with a few thousand euro and you are still dismissed. So where is the gain for you, the company still gets what they want and that is to see your back going out the door. Please Please Please give me a break; Unions are protection racketeers and nothing more.

• the unions are bedmates with the government, when was the last time you saw a union leader stay in a b+b or drive a car less than 2 yrs old? no its merc’s beemers ,audies and 5 star hotels all the way ,they no longer represent the working man,not that there are that many left to represent .

• The union leaders are as bad as the bankers and politicians for sticking their snouts in the troughs. So I wouldn’t be putting too much faith in them to put everything right if I were you.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/im-alright-jack-union-chiefs-live-the-high-life-3237072.html

• union are or should be here to serve the people if they dont stop their payments.I agree with you the unions are not working for the people some unions are more sided with the government than the workers . When the first march in Dublin Against the FF government I supported that protest did not see to many people on that one because of fear of losing a few euro on wages its ok to post here about unions when people are asked to support a protest we were let down very badly by the workers of this country this was the protest to show the people in power we were going to stand up to them the few that did turn out gave the powers that be to do what they wanted.

• Another day ,same old sh1t, the country is being run by a government that is as useless as it is spineless, they won’t stand up to the troika, the bank’s, the c.e.o.’s or the tax dodgers, but my god do they hound those who are less fortunate, they have lied their way to being elected and are as morally corrupt as the last shower of gombeens. In a few weeks time they will bring in a budget that will send a vast amount of people in this country into poverty, the cuts to vital services and welfare allowances like the rent supplement will mean that people will no longer be able to afford their rent, and will end up homeless, meantime they are paying millions to the executives and former executives of FAILED banks, they are paying billions to bondholders, some of who no doubt are the very people responsible for the mess we find ourselves in, this country is on a downward slope and unless the people get off their backsides and do something about it, there will be nothing left to fight for.

• This is typical of what has become par for the course. There was more furor over the controversy about the Children’s Referendum (which turned out only a third of the country decided to vote in) than any of these exposures of inflated salaries and benefits/pensions!
    These individuals are getting these payments because they are getting away with it since the “boom” era. This is the reality of our times. All thse economic dictators have us running scared because an unsustainable system of living (ie. capitalism) is not working. Equality is non-existent; education is fast becoming shaped by market demands, not the actually philosophy of educating; governments are bereft of any responsibility for any decision they make, ANY; most media coverage is centered around the success or non-success of an economic variable, and very rarely follows through on any political shortcomings (ie. any story connected with James Reilly); our society has lost its compassion!!
    These technocrats will continue to rape the system just as long as they are allowed to, and lets face it: more people turned out to vote on the European Fiscal bullshit than on the Children’s Referendum yesterday- and I could safely posit that we knew even less about that particular circus!!
    As for Kenny and co.? Well “lets be very clear” that they, nor any of the other main stream parties, have now or ever will have the political will to change this flawed culture!
    “…Ireland is (very nearly) dead and gone…”

• Instead of letting it all out here…why not mail the bastards, after all, you are paying their salary and therefore you are the employer. So tell them what you want.

• Ephen, i have sent dozens of e.mails to the Taoiseach and other ministers, most do not reply, some do mainly saying that “these are government decisions” or the “due to the policies / actions/ agreements, of the previous government our hands are effectively tied ” the usual b/s and blabber we get from this bunch of spineless half-wits, lets face it the country is being led by a former junior school deputy head who is as weak as dishwater, the cabinet consists of other former teachers, solicitors and local government ‘yes’ men , there is not one of them that knows the first thing about the departments that they supposedly run, even the minister for health, a doctor no less, doesn’t have a clue as to what goes on in the real world, this government is as useless as a chocolate fire guard, they hide behind the same old rhetoric and excuses and are only interested in saving their own pay and pensions, why do you think they keep saying that they cant act against the pay and pensions of the bankers and c.e.o’s? because that would lead to questions over their own pay and pension pots.

• Eric …same here but I like to annoy them as much as possible. If you rattle their cage long enough it will at least unsettle them and when they are making there scripted speeches,
      your comments will be rattling around in their otherwise empty heads.

• Ephen, i have come to the conclusion that the reason anything people send to the political geniuses that make up our government goes, ” in one ear and out of the other ” is THERE IS F*CK ALL IN THE MIDDLE TO STOP IT!

• Give Quinns of Drumcondra to IBRC.

• Ephen fecker , I’m all right Jack syndrome raise its head This is left to the next person I have all ready done it worked almost 40 years in a union for the same

Add New Comment