You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dancing on Grafton Street in Dublin today to promote the finale of the Dublin Dance Festival which runs until 26 May. Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
Daily Fix

The Daily Fix: Friday

All the day’s main news as well as the bits and pieces that you may have missed…

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of all the day’s main news as well as the bits and pieces you may have missed.

• Customers travelling with Ryanair this weekend may be left confused by the company’s policy regarding checking-in with the airline after it publicly said that airport check-in fees would apply to those who do not check-in online before 4pm today when it’s website went offline for the weekend. But the airline has contacted some customers by email to say they “will not be charged the airport check-in fee”. Confused? Here’s more.
  • The government is in discussions with AIB about a possible partnership to offer student loans, TheJournal.ie has learned.
  • Fine Gael has declined to comment after one of its former councillors was found guilty of receiving tens of thousands of euro in corrupt payments six years ago. Fred Forsey will be sentenced next week and faces as much as ten years in prison.
  • A man in a hoodie was ringing a bell on Wall Street today. It just so happened it was Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg as shares in his company went up for sale on the stock market this afternoon. There was much excitement.
  • The latest Fiscal Compact referendum opinion poll shows the Yes side still in the lead but that lead has narrowed according to the Red C poll for Paddy Power. Here’s all the details.
  • Guess who is coming to Dublin? None other than the Burmese pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi who will visit Ireland on the 18 June, we understand.

This time a year ago, Queen Elizabeth II was in Ireland. Today, as part of her diamond jubilee celebrations, Her Majesty visited the new rhino paddock on a visit to Chester Zoo in the north west of England. You could say “Rhino what you did last summer”… Don’t worry, we’re getting our coats… (Photo: Paul Grover/Daily Telegragh/PA Wire/Press Association Images)

• Two people have died following a road crash in Mayo today. The man and woman died after the motorcycle they were travelling on collided with a car at about 12.20pm.
  • Dublin Bus has expressed shock after a White Pride World Wide sticker was spotted on the upper deck of one of its fleet. The incident has been reported to the Gardaí.
  • A man has been arrested after three kilogrammes of heroin was seized at Dublin Airport today.
  • The Taoiseach and strawberries? What’s that all about?
  • Want to write to the fellas and girls on the International Space Station? We’ve got the address right here, no really…
  • In today’s column, the singer Sinéad O’Connor says that Ireland needs to do more to look after its children: “I understand people don’t want to lose their jobs. But there is an ‘every man for himself’ policy… that does not put children first,” she writes. Read more here.
  • In sport, as Leinster and Ulster prepare to go head-to-head for the Heineken Cup and Chelsea chase Champions League glory, Liverpool’s search for a new manager continues but they’ve already been rejected by one potential candidate.
  • Finally, check out this landslide in the Swiss Alaps which caused 300,000 cubic metres of rock to slide down a mountainside. So far no casualties have been reported:

YouTube: BrainlessHell