You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Take a Break

Ah here: tourists challenged to do 50 things in Dublin in 48 hours

Poor feckers.

SLEEP IS FOR wimps. High-energy tourists need only apply for a challenge set by tourism chiefs marketing Dublin as a city break destination.

In a very natty multimedia web story on ireland.com, weekend visitors are given a guide with a difference – 50 things to do in Dublin in the space of 48 hours.

It starts like this:

Tourism Ireland Tourism Ireland

Tired yet?

Then it gets into pretty detailed specifics, sending tourists to the Cobblestone bar in Smithfield at 5pm on Friday evening for a pint, and then onto the Bison Bar across the river for a BBQ and whiskey sour. It then sends you to Whelan’s for live music at 8.30pm and the Vintage Cocktail Club near the Central Bank at 11pm.

Friday night will look like an increasingly blurry montage of these stills from the guide, we imagine:

Despite the inevitable hangover if you were actually to hit all those liquor pitstops, it has you up and out the door and standing in the National Gallery at 10am, in Trinity before midday, the Little Museum of Dublin before lunch, and upwards and onwards through a flea market, the Guinness Storehouse, dinner at The Pig’s Ear on Dame Street, theatre at Smock Alley, and drinking in the Bernard Shaw pub near Portobello.

By Sunday morning, you’re on the Dart (cradling sore head in hands at this point, surely), swimming at Seapoint, up Killiney Hill and down again to Grafton Street to listen to buskers, eating gourmet burgers, browsing craft shops, and possibly fitting in a walking tour, wakeboarding in Grand Canal Dock, sailing on Dublin Bay, on a city cycling tour.

Wrecked just reading about it?*

*We think they probably don’t recommend actually trying all of these things in 48 hours.

• What would you recommend to tourists visiting the capital for a weekend? What’s your must-see/eat/drink/do? Tell us in the comments and we’ll put together your alternative guide to the city…

discoverireland / YouTube

The Big Idea: ‘Ireland was the land of 1,000 welcomes, but only if you had €100,00. We wanted to change that’>

Signs in Kerry café forbids ‘loud Americans’ on premises>