TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Three-minute explainer: What’s the story with the Gaeltacht Bill?

Opposition TDs walked out of the Dáil en masse yesterday in protest at government tactics. So what’s the deal?

Opposition TDs abandon the Dáil in protest at the government's handling of the Gaeltacht Bill.

IRISH LANGUAGE PROMOTION groups have backed opposition parties after they staged a walk-out from the Dáil chamber yesterday in protest at the government’s management of the new Gaeltacht Bill.

The walkout by Fianna Fáil, Sinn Féin, ULA and independent TDs meant that each of the hundreds of various opposition amendments were defeated – and led to an adjournment of the Dáil as business finished ahead of schedule.

Here, in short, is our bullet-point guide to the Bill and the complaints about it:

• The Gaeltacht Bill is the first major piece of legislation dealing specifically with Gaeltacht areas for around 60 years. The only pieces in between then have been technical pieces relating to housing grants.
  • The legislation would have ended direct elections to Údarás na Gaeltachta, the regional authority responsible for the economic and social development of designated Gaeltacht areas. The Údarás is currently comprised of 20 members, 17 of whom are directly elected by people living in Gaeltachtaí. The Bill would see the Údarás instead filled of county councillors delegated from each Gaeltacht county.
  • The changes would see the Meath Gaeltachtaí, Rathcairn and Baile Gibb, lose their full-time Údarás representative.
  • The legislation also amended the definition of what could be considered a Gaeltacht area – paving the way for the likes of Clondalkin to be designated an official Gaeltacht area.
  • The government had sought to push the legislation through before September, as the mandate for the current members of the Údarás expires by September 2012.
  • The opposition had tried to delay this – instead encouraging the government to use previous legislation to extend the lifetime of the current Údarás for another two years – and had also tabled over 130 amendments to the legislation.
  • In order for these to be discussed, the opposition had asked the government to hold off on forcing the legislation through, so that each of those amendments could be given sufficient time to be debated and taken on board.
  • The government insisted that it wanted the legislation totally completed in time for the summer recess, so that it could be signed into law by the President next week (i.e. before the Údarás elections).
  • A vote was ultimately called and the government ensured that insufficient time would be allowed to debate the amendments.
  • The opposition parties, in protest at this, walked out.

VIDEO: Opposition parties walkout of Dáil over Gaeltacht Bill

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• I teach German and French in a secondary school, during the orals the students often tell me and demonstrate that after just five years of a foreign language they are able to speak it better than their own native which they’ve been learning for over 12, this from what I’ve seen is down to two major things;
    1) it needs to be taught from the basics again in secondary, ie numbers,colours, vocab building – note based on the general presumption that everyone in primary had a good teacher who got most of the curriculum covered
    Which brings me to point two- the primary school teachers have a lot to answer for in how much a student learns it and likes it- as we know kids are sponges and can absorb so much in their first few developmental years, this is when they should be exposed to lots of languages (not just Irish), the variant degrees of knowledge of irish coming up from primary is shocking and then we try make them sit a common exam for the junior cert- no wonder they hate it

• The first thing that needs to be done for the Irish language is to teach it properly in schools so that every child is fluent in it. There is no excuse for children leaving school after 12 years and not having more than a few words of Irish.

• Better off learning German as our masters are there !

• It amazes me that Welsh children leave school fluent in their native language. The Dept of Ed should look at the model they use to teach their language and adopt it here.

• My son left primary 2 years ago with little or no Irish,yet with just 2 years studying German in secondary he is more fluent in a foreign language than in his own native tongue. A shocking indictment of teaching standards at primary level.

• Katie I agree absolutely that cronyism etc needs to be tackled and all spending aimed at supporting the language be carefully monitor. What I am objecting to is the. Vitriol spewed by the anti irish lobby as if supporting our language is intrinsically repressive of their rights. I tire of the negativity of the Anglophiles in d4

• Well said Ross,

I have a friend who is fluent in it and he said that the biggest flaw in the Irish language is the way its taught. Too much time spent focusing on the theory and grammar and not enough on the practical and day to day usage of the language.

Joe

• As it’s been said before the Welsh Language is booming, why can’t we send some officials on a ferry to see what needs to be done. Rhys Ifans, Matthew Rhys, Ioan Gruffydd, Gethin Jones and even RTE’s Bethan Kilfoil are all fluent welsh speakers. You can’t say that it was a waste of their education teaching them welsh, they’ve all done well. Even more astonishing is Alex Jones of the BBC’s One Show, she used to be a presenter on the Welsh Language channel S4C. Fluent in Welsh despite being born in a monogolt English speaking household, both her parents do not speak Welsh.

• I’m all for saving the language but the current system has never worked. I myself learned french a few years ago and can speak fluently. Teaching kids grammar before they can get excited about learning to speak a new language is stupid. Its like starting maths teaching with algebra.
    I would like to see the gaeltacht being the first introduction to our native language for 10 years and up, and as part of the school year. Or even learning another European language first, that way kids would understand how languages work. The way it is at the moment is throwing good money after bad! I do understand that these areas need funding otherwise the population would drop.

• Can you explain how learning french before Irish can give a child a better understanding of ‘how languages work’?

• Well french is thought in a more logical way as is german. Your thought it a way that gives you the basics say for example when you go on holidays. There is an air of excitement.
      I just remember learning Irish in school and the teacher drumming it into ya and not having a clue or even the desire to learn more. Wrong wrong wrong
      Its hard to explain, I think I could make a better fist of learning Irish now than say before I learned french.

• Aaron, learning any second language gives an insight into how languages are generally structured above and beyond the intuitive nature in which you learn your first language as a child. If you learn a second language, it is generally easier to learn additional languages.

• I never had a problem with Irish as I was immersed from a very young age in the language. French, on the other hand, i felt, was drummed into me. The only logical way to learn a language is immersion. And i do believe that being bilingual can help to become multi-lingual but don’t think we need to learn a foreign language before our own indigenous language.

• I know how to say the Hail Mary prayer in Irish yet couldn’t hold a two minute conversation with a native speaker to order a meal in a restaurant. We learned a bunch of sounds as kids, poems, songs and phrases and recited these sounds verbatim. Until the text books are ripped up and Irish is taught as a living working language in our schools it will continue to die.

• Very good summary. Many of us in the Gaeltacht are angry that the Bill was probably the last chance to save Irish as a community language. We didn’t want money, we wanted properly thought out changes to the current nonsense.
    What we got was a charter to make wellpaid civil servants’ life easy and unaccountable.

• Hi Páid, could you give some info on your perspective on the bill?

• Please do not let the language disappear the way the native Indian languages here in the USA are vanishing, much to the regret of speakers who cherish their heritage. I’m happy to remember the Irish I learned through 1954 when the “MILE” (maths, Irish, Latin and English) we’re required for ‘matric’ at UCD. — Bill, Ridgeland, MS, USA

• 14 years of learning Irish in school and I can’t speak a word of it. To me, this is where efforts should be made to revive the language.

• I’m sure you can speak a few words, don’t put yourself down like that, surely youre not that thick. You just havent applied yourself.

• Embrace the few words you have, and add one or two new words a week. In a cupla bliain, you’ll have plenty of focail, and the trend will begin. You could caith in cupla focail in all your conversations, which will lead to more familiarity, for all, and before you know it, half your sentences will be as Gaeilge.

• EJPC 21/07/12 #

I would question the Irish education system as opposed to bashing the language. How much money do we spend on systems that are just not fit for purpose. How come we have an education system that is so inherently flawed that even after 14 years very few students gain any sort of proficiency in any language other than english. I only learned Irish and French through the summer colleges. I want to know why the Irish education system seems to think it can get away with this any why you have to pay for private language courses if you want to achieve any level of fluency in another language

• Having been “taught” Irish during the sixties and seventies, I can only hope that the teaching methods have changed. Regarding above commenters descriptions of people despising the language, I think that they really despised the teaching methods and not the language itself. From my own experience, I can tell you that we were never taught the language , by any international standards. We were talked to in Irish, but never taught Irish itself. If we complained, we were told that hell would freeze over before they would use the language of the oppressors before translating Irish into English. Imagine if you were to take classes in Urdu, or Swahili and when you asked for a translation, you were met with a response in those tounges?How would you ever learn?. A partial truth is that some ” teachers ” were trying to score political points, by pretending to teach Irish to children, but in truth, they cared more about their own embittered agenda than the language, or the children’s education.

• Nil me liofa. Ach taim ag iarriadh nios mo gaeilge a labhairt. Tir gan teanga ‘s tir gan anam. Simples.

• Fair play to all the TD’s who walked out. I think they should be doing more to save the Irish Language not destroy it.

• They could begin by ceasing the attempt to force the language on the English-speaking population. This silly project is diverting much resource that could be better used protecting the language where it is spoken. Another FG promise broken.

• So all this means is that its more jobs for the boys

• The prejudice of non Irish speakers is unbelievable. Why is it other countries can appreciate the beauty of our culture but we as a nation revile it. The Irish language and culture is what distinguishes us from other English speaking countries and brings in huge numbers of tourists. Aside from that it has a intrinsic value other countries support there national culture and language. Wales support of welsh speaking areas and school has increased the numbers speaking welsh fivefold in the last twenty years. We need to grow up as a country we are not in school now being force fed peig we are adults and need to rediscover the beauty of our language and support the areas that keep it alive. Otherwise it will die and it will be to late to realise that we want it after all. Of course we could just turn into some generic quasi American outpost

• You can love the language and the culture and still be aware that a lot of what goes on in the name of defending it is nonsense and costly nonsense at that.

At least digitisation may reduce the printing costs for the unread mountain of government documents that have to be published in Irish, even though hardly anyone ever requests them in Irish and nobody who couldn’t read them in English anyway. But it’s jobs for translators.

You can only be in awe of the lobbying that got this extended to the EU, where since 2007 all legislation is published in Irish, which isn’t even the primary language used in the parliament of the member state! Yeah – a career path for translators!

TnaG, Udaras etc are jealously guarded job schemes also and anyone who dares suggest they are over resourced is accused of being an enemy of the language and culture. Too easy.

• Why not make all national schools gaelscoilanna. That way children are immersed in the language and will learn it naturally.

• why u all typing in English????

• I was a student in GMIT in Galway and in first year you pick electives each year and one that they offered was languages eg Irish, French, German and Spanish. I think they should do the same in Secondary Schools. It works better because people have a choice on what language they want to learn.

• I presume those who appear to despise our native language aren’t so hypocritical as to cheer for Ireland. At anything.

• @Paddy We all get it, you’re into Irish but its this holier than thou attitude which really rubs people up the wrong way! I support anyone’s right to use whatever language they wish to in their lives but I was born in a country in which the vast majority speaks English, I’ve never known a country that speaks Irish and to be honest after learning it for every single year I spent in school I still consider it a foreign language! This argument about people following an Irish team and not speaking English is mildly ridiculous but I’m sure you realise that yourself!

• It’s not just about the language. It’s history, heritage, identity. Latin is dead but lives through culture and the arts. Irish can’t die. I don’t expect everyone to be fluent but don’t knock those of us trying to preserve it.

• It’s not a matter of despising Irish but more about highlighting the idiotic obsession this state has with trying to preserve it at any cost when there are Irish citizens literally living hand to mouth..the pursuit of the focal is a nice little distraction for those who can afford it, but I personally want to see my kids learn German and Spanish, and may i add by flippantly dismissing a contrarian view to your own as ignorance is just insular

• @ Paddy – I went through the Irish school system and so I was obliged to learn The Irish language. As an adult I’ve spent time learning German, modern Greek and Latin. Irish is a beautiful, but Latin is useful to me far more often than Irish. For the vast majority of people, Irish will not be a medium for business, legal or family issues. That is the fact of the matter and you cannot criticise people for this. That said, The Irish language is worth preserving and appreciating. Be pragmatic.

• Paddy, if you lose the attitude you’ll probably find that people don’t ‘despise our native language’, they despise the way they had it knocked into them at school. For a lot of our fellow Irish people who were not raised in Gaeltacht areas, Irish was what was beaten into you in between religion being bet into you.

• Total rip off this organisation

• franco 20/07/12 #

In hate sponge bob in Irish !

• For my ” leath-phingin’s” worth Fine Gael hate the Irish language and will do anything to destroy it so they can look more “modern”, “European”, etc. I have yet to meet a Fine Gaeler who had respect for Gaeilge. The Normans, aka as Fine Gaeler’s look Eastwards towards Britain and have more affinity with Anglo-Saxon, and would gladly see Irish disappear. Enda and his pals in power (including the Minister responsible Dinny Mc Ginley) may speak flunt(ish) Irish, but they are wolves in sheeps clothing! Caoirigh.

• The Irish we were taught was very different to that in Donegal. Phrases all over the place.
    As for the person above who said all primary schools should be gaelschools, I would home school my kids if that were the case.

• Sam I Am 21/07/12 #

Why? They’d still get the same education (actually Gaeilscoileanna perform better).

• @Alan

Hear hear! Enough of this gaelic fascism!

• Sam, missing my point, I have a bit of Irish but the Irish I hear on the tv and radio is Donegal or Connemara Irish and that is completely different to what I was taught.
      The whole educating of Irish in the schools is utter horseshit, if the gaelgoirs are so confident that they are in the majority, let the government put it to the people to decide whether this language should be compulsory or not along with religion too. If people had the opportunity in school from a reasonable age like 1st year to drop both and take up a language like German, French, Spanish even bloody Chinese they would definitely be fluent rather than the half hearted way foreign languages are taught now. Half my French ends up being broken Irish. About as useful in the middle of Paris as a bloody Hurley.

• The gaelscoils only do better because of free marks in the leaving cert exams.

Pathetic.

• Sam I Am 21/07/12 #

Alan I agree it should be option in school, and other languages should be offered earlier. The point about Gaelscoileanna though is that Irish is just the language of instruction, Irish class could still be optional, language acquisition would be coincidental rather than the rubbish kids are taught in English-medium schools. I totally agree, let the people decide. I didnt even agree that with the point you were referring too, just intrigued to why you would homeschool you children so quickly just because hypothetically your only local school was a Gaelscoil!

• So many millions spent trying to resurrect a dead language while our kids leave the school system clueless about thriving European languages our own continent has jobs and opportunities aplenty but we persevere forcing thousands of valuable teaching hours of Irish down our kids necks for nothing. Gaelscoileanna are purely gratuitous instruments that allow for the accumulation of cultural capital by sad parents with frustrated ambitions!!

• If you want to speak Irish – fine.
    But don’t expect the tax payer to spend billions on your little hobby. How many hospitals could be built with that money?

• This state has no business dictating what language should be spoken by its citizens, just as it has no business dictating their religion or political beliefs.

By all means protect the Gaelic language but the state has no business forcing its (or rather that of a cadre in the civil service) idea of ideal irishness on anyone.

• What exactly do you think should happen? That the language be allowed to die in favor of a language forced upon us by another government and state? Should we just let sleeping dogs lie and roll over to take the complicity of another nation on the chin? I for one welcome any attempts to preserve the language – and the State has every part to play in that preservation. Údarás na Gaeltachta might be a very very flawed institution but seeking its representation be constituted solely by county councillors – many of whom can’t even speak the Irish language let alone understand what its decline really means – is a stupid and self-serving idea.

I don’t understand your opposition to the State playing a role in the preservation of a language that I’m to only assume from your surname that your heritage had some part to play in the genesis of dealing that first savage blow to our ‘Teanga Dúchais’.

• We are the state

• Well said Diarmaid. A bit of heart at last. Eire Abu. No more of this West Brit, “stop making us learn stuff”- lazy b******d attitude

• Who said anything about letting the language die?

If you have to force it on little children, then the language is dead.

Surely those people who want to speak the language can demonstrate a little more imagination?

And no, the people are the state. If they choose to speak English that’s their right. It’s the “we must all speak gaelic brigade” who partitioned this country.

• @Diarmaid

And as for my surname, I’m as Irish as you are thank you very much. Irish and gaelic speaking are not synonymous.

• Jaysus Diarmaid will you change the record on the invading power rhetoric its jaded at this stage. Before the Gaels arrived here from SPAIN may i add we had other native tongues so one could say if you go back far enough Irish or Gaelic is not our native language at all. A lot of bleeding hearts on here probably with little Fionns & Fiacras going to the local Gaescoil. Its all a tad pathetic really in the greater scheme of things people clinging for dear life to a language that is dead long since. The fact of the matter is that maybe a few hundred people on this island actually think in Irish and are indigenous speakers, that will soon be gone. I’m not celebrating the fact but just facing reality. The UN predicts 90% of present day languages will be dead in 90 years and the likelihood is that English, Spanish and Mandarin will dominate the globe. But so what its a means of communication period. Our Country is Ireland and our language is English get over it!!

• Just stop TG4 showing rugby matches with commentary in Irish. That’s all I ask, they can have their county councillors and their sign posts and whatever else makes them happy.

• I love it when Gerry Adams taunts Kenny in the Dáil as Gaeilge. Kenny has to reply in Irish but you can tell by the look on his face that he despises Irish every bit as much as he despises Adams.

• Well I couldn’t care less if Irish disappeared in the morning, complete waste of the country’s scant resources when there can be very few native people in the country who can’t speak English. What I find far more worrying is this Government’s continuation of the FF/Green policy of using parliament as nothing more than a rubber stamp for cabinet decisions, with all opposition amendments rejected out of hand without even a debate. The sooner the whip system is outlawed the better, it is completely at odds with democracy.

• Sam 21/07/12 #

There is more to life than just simply working and paying bills, that is what life is not about. What’s wrong with spending extra time in the dail to try and sort out the gaeltacht issue. The Irish language is something to be proud of, its what makes us unique and different to many other countries. Instead of just giving out and making the easy decision of just getting rid of the language altogether, you should support ideas that many people and organisation have been putting forward such as teaching the language in a completely different way so people will actually be fluent after learning the language for 11 years which they should be.

• None of this is surprising really. Sure our most important day of the year celebrates some English fella named Patrick. Some of us are just in love with the English and their language a bit too much i think

• Just a quick Bit Of Information , The Irish Language Ian are native language Because it arriginated From Germany .

Add New Comment