You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda Traffic via Twitter
you told us

Top comments of the week

Here’s our round-up of the most interesting and most popular comments from the past seven days. Did you make it in?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about Anglo executives, Labour canvassers and bats under a bridge.

So here are the standout comments from the week that was.

The 5 most popular comments this week

1. Over 180,000 people have read Conor McNally’s account of his cousin Glen’s suicide. The comments showed overwhelming support for the young writer. Especially gerry campbell’s comment which received 4,204 green thumbs. 

Conor McNally , it’s you and like minded young fellas , that are the future of this country , never give up on your friends, and don’t be afraid to ask the hard questions . What a well written piece, best of luck in your exams, somehow I feel luck won’t need to be called on.

2. Michael showed a dry wit over a wet road to crack the top five when a pipe burst at Newlands Cross and 3,199 people liked his comment.

Quick free water, grab a bucket

3. When Peaches Geldof’s death was attributed in some part to heroin, a debate over the attitudes towards addicts came up in the comments. 2,409 of you agreed with Dan Walsh.

When it’s a celebrity heroin overdose: It’s a tragedy.
When it’s a inner city junkie heroin overdose: It’s just desserts for the degenerate. Utter hypocrisy. I feel sorry for her kids, they deserved better.

4. The teenage son on Sinn Féin TD Aengus O’Snodaigh was stabbed last weekend and Larry Dunne hit a chord with 2,074 people a proposal for knife crime punishments.

5yrs automatic sentence for even carrying a blade

5. When two former Anglo-Irish Bank executives avoided jail for illegally giving loans to developers, people were angry to say the least. Kerry Blake drew the comparison to other crimes, receiving 1,756 green thumbs.

They are lucky they were not up for non payment of their TV licenses…..

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

1. No jail time for convicted Anglo pair, judge says prison sentences would be ‘incredibly unjust’ (418 comments)

2. Gerry Adams arrested by police over Jean McConville murder (390 comments)

3. Mary Lou: Gerry Adams is not a suspect and his arrest is politically motivated (296 comments)

4. Northern Ireland rejects same sex marriage for third time in 18 months (283 comments)

5. Video: Labour candidate verbally abused while out canvassing (280 comments)

Some of the best comments left on the site this week

Diarmuid O’Sullivan had a somewhat valid query following the discovery of the Atari grave of video games.

Makes you wonder where they hide all those unsold Ronan Keating records

We love when a story helps our readers recall cherished memories. We love it even more when you share them with us. As molly coddled did here.

I like bats, one of the most memorable dates I had was when going for a walk after dark along a country road, stopped at a low bridge, the boyfriend made a loud whistle and literally about a hundred bats came flying out, up, and around us, then off into the night they flew. Magical.

The comments section can often be a fun and frivolous place to be – but sometimes it becomes so much more than a chatroom. It can be a place of support and networking, as was shown on this article about research into cancer-related fatigue. Click here to read the entire thread. Here’s just a small sample.

Limerick Ploy says

I’ve just come out of a 3 year dark depression/chronic fatique syndrome by doing a twenty minute breathing meditation in the morning and evening. I did it for 40 days but i knew on day 4 that the depression was lifting as i could feel the ugly heaviness gathering around my stomach and chest, by day 10 this ugliness and heaviness was gone and life is bliss again.
here’s what I did twice a day. Sit down on a chair (not supple enough for the lotus position) breathe in and out through the nose concentrating o where the in breath hits the nasal area, repeat a one word mantra that resonates with you such as peace or chi, i used chi, repeat it over and over.The twenty minute morning session soon turned into 40 minute sessions without me even realizing it.I wanted to do the TM meditation but the guy was looking for too much money so i followed their method but chose my own word, i was depressed and chronically tired so i chose the word chi.It worked so quickly it was unbelievable. I did the mindfulness course but i found it hard work, this one worked though, boy did it work.

Betty Duignan added:

If you can’t get to meditation or do mindfulness work ,could I suggest you take time out to listen to Eckard Tolle’s series of CD’s ‘ A new Earth’..i.e himself reading his own book…. a simple yet profound philosophy of living in the present moment. I found his work just brilliant in my cancer recovery (3 years now) e.g great for helping accept the tiredness/fatigue; or dealing the anxiety or especially the interrupted sleep. Don’t worry if you fall asleep listening to them… you’ll have lots of time to go back on them. Good Luck!

And Julie Beswick-Valentine replied:

My first bout of cancer with chemo and radiation was 30 years ago, the second different cancer 16 and third lot 4 years ago. I am perpetually bone tired, its so hard to keep going and keep depression at bay. However i do have many interests, hobbies and friends so it helps take my mind of it to a degree. Think i will explore this meditation path, anything that helps would be welcome. Hugs to fellow sufferers :-)

As did Margaret Lawson:

I am so glad this article has appeared, I thought it was just me. I have days where I just have no energy you try to carry on as normal, but sometimes it a battle. Then I worry cause my poor hubby knows there’s something wrong and he can t help. It can be very lonely having had cancer.

And here’s something to lighten the mood. Many of you shared your awkward moments with DailyEdge.ie. This, from Abi Dennis, was a favourite in the office:

A guy in work was on the phone to his mother, goes “ok bye, love you, bye” at the end of the call. Perfectly grand but next thing he gets a client call, answers the clients question and at the end of the call goes “ok bye, love you, bye”

And this made us cringe, so bad.

PastedImage-63849

Spot any good comments? Send them through to us by email at sinead@thejournal.ie.