You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin city centre this week Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
you told us

Top readers' comments of the week

Here’s our roundup of the best, the most popular and the most commented-on pieces from the past week. Did you make it in?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING, we like to take a look at all the best comments left on the site by you lot over the past week.

This week there was a lot of talk about threesomes, Alan Shatter’s deepening battle with the Gardaí, the seemingly never-ending bad weather, the Meath East by-election, Ireland versus Austria and #Irelandin3words.

So here, in no particular order, are the standout comments from the week that was.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

1. FG’s Helen McEntee retains father’s seat in Meath East by-election (434 comments)

2. Poll: How would you vote in a general election today? (352 comments)

3. 15 of your ways to sum up #Irelandin3words (300 comments)

4. Pics: Taoiseach confronted by off-duty garda over public sector cuts (279 comments)

5. Deputy Mulherin: Website’s advice on threesomes is ‘far from healthy’ (245 comments)

Some of the best comments left on the site this week

Amid the hoo-ha about whether threesomes are the source of all evil in the country or not, Garrett Sheehan got almost 500 thumbs up for a more practical consideration:

Threesomes why bother? you’re just doubling the amount of women you’re going to disappoint

And on that note, the number of tourists visiting Ireland increased in the first few months of this year. Aoife Marie had a timely theory:

Tourists must have heard about all the threesomes we’re having

These four comments win our inaugural (and possibly non-existent) award for Most Typical TheJournal.ie Comments Ever. Step forward Stu Clancy, Adam Brennan, Paul Nolan and Shane Wixted for these comments on an article about… yes, you guessed it, The Weather.

*Blames weather on government *
Something, something, James Reilly.
*blah blah blah next time im definitely voting sinn fein although I’ve never voted for them before YAWN*
yada yada bondholders

On an article about the drop in organ donor activity in Ireland, Phil wrote this comment about how a transplant made a huge difference to his dad’s life:

My father worked all his life until his kidneys failed. He spent the following 13 years on dialysis. Firstly it was at home 4 times for an hour a day. He couldn’t as much go to one of my football matches incase he missed it.
Then came a new machine where he was hooked upto it over night it was very awkward as he had to be in his room from 8 that night and had nosocial life. Finally he had to attend the hospital 3 times weekly hooked upto a machine.
It got so bad my mother had to give up work to care for him. I had to drop out of collage to get a job and support the family. This was all.during the so called boom.
In 2002 the call came dad had got the call for the transplant. Within 6 months his life was back he was back going to football matches, social.life returned was even able to leave the house and not be watching the clock. In the end the kidney failed after 13 years, he passed away a few days later. To this day I still think the thoughts of going through dylaisis again, the constant watching the clock, the been alive but not living, the constantly hoping that someone dies so you may get a chance to live properly was to much for him and he gave up hope.
I plead to you all to carry a doner card you have no use for any of your organs once your dead. You could change a whole.families life.

(Photos via @TheRetronaut)

This photo comes from an article about photos of celebrities doing ordinary things like hoovering and shopping. They’re just like us. Here’s how Dave O’Hanlon imagined the conversation going:

Paul: Shall we get the dishes done Michael?
Michael: Ok, you dry and i’ll buy ownership of all your music.
Paul: Sorry what!
Michael: I said you dry i’ll do the washing and scrubbing

Bewley’s won a landmark court case this week which could have far-reaching implications for controversial upward-only rent reviews. However Andrea Rock Massey sounded a note of caution:

It won’t make any difference to the majority of business owners unfortunately. It is only happening for Bewleys because of a particular clause in their lease. If such clauses were in other leases we would have seen more cases like this already. UORR are counter productive and hopefully someday, something will actually be done about them. Too many businesses have shut their doors already because of them.

Morrissey turned up at the Ireland-Austria match on Tuesday night to hang out with his cousin Robbie Keane. Plus, as Colm Coughlan noted:

It was Robbie’s childhood dream to be in the Smiths

Here’s 13 of the most annoying phrases your parents used when you were little – plus this bonus one from Claire Cullen-Delsol, which got almost 400 thumbs up:

When you fall and hurt yourself, “You’ll be alright before you’re married”. That’s no comfort to a seven year old!

The 5 comments which received the most thumbs up

1. Very straightforward list of the most popular comments this week. First up is this comment from Catherine Crotty Brett beneath the article about how a group of neighbours stopped three would-be raiders in Galway, which received more than 1,821 thumbs up:

Just brilliant when a community helps each other. The guards can’t be everywhere. Well done to all in the village. I bet those thieves didn’t know what was happening when a crowd people started chasing them .

2. Second most popular was Sean Beag‘s comment beneath an article about how three Cork County Council workers were suspended for filling in a pothole without authorisation. He received more than 1,150 thumbs up for this:

That’s one of the more ridiculous things I ever heard. i wonder does that Health and Safety Officer feel good about himself.

3. Graham Galvin got 1,125 thumbs up on the article about the Galway neighbours foiling a possible robbery:

great to see this.well done people.

4. Fourth most popular this week was Sharon Clifford‘s thoughts on the article about things people think in bed at night, which got more than 1,000 thumbs up (hope everything went ok Sharon!):

I wonder will tonight be the night I go into labour???? Fingers crossed :)

5. Last but not least, Micka Kelly got almost 900 thumbs up for his comment which expressed what a lot of people were thinking beneath the story about how Irish supporters’ group You Boys in Green came to the aid of two Austrian fans who were mugged before the match on Tuesday:

Fair play to ye lads

Spot any good comments? Let us know! Mail christine@thejournal.ie with any suggestions for comments of the week.