TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Two men arrested as cannabis plants worth €160k seized in Tipperary

A 52-year-old and a 32-year-old man are being held at garda stations in Tipperary.

File image of cannabis plants.
Image: (AP Photo/Eric Risberg)

TWO MEN HAVE been arrested as part of an investigation into the seizure of cannabis plants in Thurles, Co. Tipperary.

As part of an ongoing investigation into the cultivation, sale and supply of cannabis in the Thurles area, Gardaí from the Drugs Unit searched a premises at Moyne, Thurles yesterday afternoon and seized cannabis plants with an estimated street value of €160,000.

A 52-year-old man was arrested at the scene and is currently detained at Templemore Garda Station.

In a follow-up operation, a 32-year-old man was arrested and is detained in Thurles Garda Station.

Investigations are continuing.

Read: Cannabis plants worth €750k seized in Kilkenny >

Read next:

Comments (101 Comments)

• File image? Yeah right, come clean. That’s the office stash isn’t it?

• Ending Cannabis prohibition would…

1. – Remove a valuable revenue stream from organised crime gangs.
    2. – Generate a huge amount of money for the country in the form of tax revenue; it’s true market value is unknown, but it has the potential to raise hundreds of millions per annum.
    3. – Develop a new industry & create employment.
    4. – Free up Garda resources & budget, allowing them concentrate on more serious crime.
    5. – Free up our already stretched judicial & prison systems.
    6. – Reduce the amount of underage usage by regulating the market for adults over 18.
    7. – Make Cannabis safer for adults who choose to consume it, by introducing quality controls & known potency levels.
    8. – Offer adults an alternative to alcohol, which could also have the knock on effect of reducing violent crime, domestic abuse, sexual assualts and other serious problems that are closely linked to excessive alcohol consumption.
    9 . – Prevent otherwise law abiding citizens from becoming criminals for the so called crime of ‘cannabis possession’.
    10. – Break the link between cannabis & harder drugs, the fact that criminal gangs sell other more harmful drugs as well as cannabis is what causes the “Gateway Effect” – Prohibition is the cause, not the Cannabis.
    11. – Offer medicinal benefits to people suffereing from a range if illnesses – MS, Parkinsons, Cancer, Anorexia, Insomnia, Migranes etc etc.
    12. – Remove the unfair stigma that goes with using cannabis, allowing people to enjoy it without the feeling of guilt or making them feel as if they’re criminals.

• The sooner the better this drug is legalised. Get some money in the Government coffers and take a big chunk out of the gangsters pocket.
    Then use our dwindling resources of police, customs etc on tackling the ‘hard drugs’.

• Zebedee, as much as I want to see this amazing plant legalized the reason it won’t be legalized is that there is absolutely no way it can be taxed.
      This is the ugly little truth the powers that be don’t want to tell you. Not only does it give you a great buzz and is known for it’s ability to heal and for general health, it can also be used for energy, textile, building material….list is endless.
      However the government can not tax it period. I mean do you pay tax while growing tomatoes in your garden? no you don’t because they are legal and free.
      The only way the government could tax hemp is if it kept it illegal yet sold taxed spliffs and this is the only way.

• The ” War on Drugs ” has been lost – worldwide . Marijuana is now legal in some states in USA- and many police officers in USA will say the so called war is lost . marijuana also is helpful for MS sufferers .
      C4 UK did a documnetray some years back – and showed that deaths from Tobacco and Alcohol were 400 times deaths from hard drugs . But Tobacco and Alcohol bring in big taxes for govet .
      Decriminalising would hit the criminals hard – the more illegal substances they have to trade the better for them .
      Legalising them[ hard drugs ] may also affect CIA income .

• Revenue could be generated through tax & levies put on the retail sale of cannabis, not everyone is going to grow their own and those who did would still want to buy other strains. Plus, there’d be a completely different landscape if cannabis was legalised, consumers would come out of their homes to spend their money in the new Coffee Shops & Vape Lounges that would be opened.

• It was put brilliantly in the show the wire when it was said you can’t have a war on drugs. Why?? Because wars end.

• There is not one recorded death ever from marihuana.

How many people die from alcohol abuse every year?

Alcohol is by far the worse drug.

• Well done again lads..great work…more of that evil plant off the street….all that chocolate, crisps and late night telly is really detrimental to ones health.

• I have smoked cannabis for nearly 20 years. I tried it first when I was a teenager. I have also used other drugs. Now according to these reports I should be a heroin addicted cokehead with a multiple personality disorder. These reports never mention people like me who use canbabis and enjoy it. Who by the way for all you people who swallow this crap are in the quite sizeable majority. Maybe they should do one on us. Oh, hang on that would disagree with what the authorities would like you to believe!

• they don’t want you questioning these things. take a look round any A+E in the country, any town centre on New Years, St Patricks day etc and see the Alcohol induced chaos. I like a drink as much as the next man but i realise the immense damage it can do to lives so I try and keep some control on intake. Doesn’t always happen but i try. Not everyone has this mindset. You won’t smoke a few J’s and beat your partners or children, start rows with strangers, get so bad you have lost the ability to walk, talk and function like many people do up and down the country week after week. on THE EVIL WEED you might watch a stupid funny film, eat some kebabs and just chill, having a nice time. They know all these things and yet still it’s illegal. Nothing to do with the power of the Drinks and Tobacco industry at all! It’s just bad for you and that;s the end of it. They know what is better for you so just keep quiet plebs. Decriminalise and tax you idiots.

• When will the stupidity stop? We need to decriminalise!! No selling, but growing with a taxed license or something like that!

• To have a fatal overdose of marijuana you would need to smoke approx 800 joints back to back. Even then your cause of death would not be from marijuana but carbon monoxide poisoning from smoking papers.

• I was just wondering where we would get cannabis from if we did legalize it. I found it hard to see where Dutch coffee shops get their supply from. Wouldn’t it mean the Government having to licence growers and enforce security around grow houses because I can’t see my next door neighbor planting 50 acres of weed without having to put an armed guard on it come harvest time.

• Hemp is one of natures great gifts. It has so many uses, I’d be here all day listing them.

And I think its the main reason its outlawed.

Google Henry Ford and Hemp.

• Mr mc 22/03/13 #

Iv taken lots of drugs and it never brain my damaged

• You can overdose and die from excessive consumption of caffeine and taurine laced energy drinks and yet these are freely available to children and nobody bats an eyelid.

Cannabis has never killed anyone in recorded history and the only argument against it is “But it’s illegal”

• deirdre 22/03/13 #

All of what u said is fair and reasonable alan. By the way I dont believe cannibas is a gateway drug to harder drugs.

And i am sure most of the posters here are responsible/sensible cannibas users.

But look at our history with alcohol. Yikes!!! I am not talking about the addictive nature of alcohol but the way we totally abuse it. Would the same happen with cannabis??? Maybe it wouldnt.

I am just explaining my concerns.

• Lowery wasn’t getting out of it so he probably called the Garda.

• Are these the “green shoots” of economic recovery?

• Hey Deirdre, thanks for your reply, nice to see you have an open mind about things :)

• There is a reason mental health professions see cannabis as a dangerous drug for development of brains and developed brains, It can be a trigger for schizophrenia in young male adolescents and females upto 28 yrs of age. It can mask mood disorders(bipolar etc), cause depression, irritiability, slow impulse and thought development. Making the case it didn’t affect me is nonsense, the majority of the population drink alcohol and they have no problem with it, the minority have, as is the same with any other drug out there (obviously except heroin, crystal meth, cocaine). Cannabis shows motor neuron reactions.
    THE EVIDENCE IS OUT TO COUNTER ANY PRO CANNABIS ARGUMENTS IF YOU CHOOSE TO INFORM YOURSELVES BEFORE MAKING IGNORANT COMMENTS. PLENTY OF PEER REVIEWD DOCUMENTS IN THE MEDICAL WORLD KNOWLEDGE IS POWER!!!!

• I think the point is being missed here.

The argument to legalise is a valid one, with plenty if pros and cons.

However, in this case, the Gardai are to be congratulated. In many instances ( not them all ) the grass is supplied by the same gangs that pedal coke heroine etc. and these raids are designed to disrupt their activity . So congrats are due to the authorities for the ongoing investigations into drug gangs.

I fear, however, our society will never mature enough to have the debate on legalisation.. The worry bring, I suspect, if the cannibas lobby are successful, will the cocaine lobby then look for coke to be made legit? No govt wants to handle that particular debate..

Just my 2cents

• Problem is that cannabis IS addictive and DOES lead to harder drugs use (recent scientific study, can’t remember where I read it, sorry). Additionally is causes irreversible damage to neurones in brain.

• Im no fan, but there is not a single study done that says its actually a gateway drug. Utter nonsense.

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

There is nothing in cannabis that makes people do other drugs. In Ireland, most people’s first experience is with alcohol. Using your logic, alcohol is a “gateway” drug.

• Smiley 22/03/13 #

But alcohol doesn’t irreparably damage neurones, unlike cannabis.

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

Says this unsubstantiated study you mentioned earlier…

• Alcohol does alot more damage in domestic, finacial and pshycological ways then cannibis does. You never hear about the guy who smoked weed and beat up or murderd someone do you?

• Phuq I think you will find Brest milk is the gate way drug its a slippery slope after that!!!

• Interesting theory. We do quite a bit of study of biopsychology and cognitive psychology in college. You equate the effects of. T.h.c. with addicitve substances which is utterly false, cannabis is not addictive. Secondly you believe that alchohol is somehow better than cannabis for the body or mind? False, in fact even In ireland cannabaoid products are available for ilnessess and prescribed by medical physicians. Now were I you I would neverer compare the two again, alchohol is and has always been demonstably dar worse for both body and mind. Also try reading up on it as oppose making unsubstantiated claims

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

I never said cannabis was more or less harmful that alcohol. I said that stating cannabis is a gateway drug is using flawed logic. Also, your article says that cannabis use is an indicator of use of other illicit drugs. Correlation does not mean causation.

• Smiley – You are absolutely full of bull. The last time it was mentioned as a gateway drug was when Reefer Madness influenced idiots like yourself. That theory is as redundant as ‘the war on drugs’!

• My replies are not aimed at you..they @ smiley (sitting other side of computer screen with huge clown boots on) correlate what you will from that.@(“,)

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

Similarly, I’m talking to Smiley, not you. So go correlate yourself! :)

• Smiley 22/03/13 #

Ummm, Heathen, what was Reefer Madness? Please stick to the topic. Abuse is the sign of a poor argument.

• If you don’t know then get researching. It’s not unsubstantiated bull either.

• Ok when smoked by an undeveloped person say a 16 year old, it can cause short term memory loss and gives a 5-10% increased chance of becoming schizophrenic. When smoked recreationally by a fully developed adult there is not one bad side effect!! Recreational is lets say 1-2 joints after work before bed.

Someone smoking joint after joint day in day out is obviously going to have problems! Having anything in huge quantities is never good for you.

And finally, the Netherlands have a far lower percentage of teenagers who smoke cannabis than most European countries, including Ireland. Why? Because it is legalised and sold in shops where it is strictly over 18′s!!!

• Alcohol is generally the gateway drug then cannabis ect ect ask any person that has issues with drugs they’ll name cannabis as the start of their use. A drugs a drug which often has negative effects towards a users life, be it alcohol weed benzos or heroin. It always amazes me how weed smokers defend it so much with little regard to the effects it has on many others. Just the same as alcohol suits some and not others.

P. S stop been one sided makes you look like you have a problem ha.

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

I don’t use cannabis or any other illegal drug. And the whole point is that there is no such thing as a “gateway” element to any drug that compels you to try other drugs afterwards.

• There is such a thing as a psychological addiction. Just ask the weed smokers to give it up for 6 months see how they get on.

• The gate way argument is bull. Some people like to try stuff out weather thats a toke or a yoke or some sex act or a skydive.

Now that I look at it, I’d like to do all of the above at once. While typing a reply on the journal. I knew I shouldnt have had another coffee…

• I smoked a joint well before I started drinking does that make cannabis a gate way to alcohol or are both readily available so making cannabis illegal just encourage people to meet illegal drug dealers who offer far more then cannabis. I know if my son or daughter manage to get served in a off licence or bar all they can get is alcohol!! Making it illegal is the gateway to a world that if it was sold responsibly kids would have less contact with!!

• Phuq Yu 22/03/13 #

The thing about psychological addiction is that it can apply to anything, not just drugs. It stems from a fixation that a person attaches to an object or thing such as food, a type of drink, sex etc. So yes, cannabis can be psychologically addictive, but there are no chemical compounds contained in it that make it so.

• I’m so high right meow!!

• Jason 22/03/13 #

See this is typical of the “legalise weed” lobby. They spout “research” to suit their agenda and then when someone with an opposing opinion shows research that disagrees with their opinions it is dismissed or downplayed.. It’s not as simple as some people believe it is. There are legitimate concerns.

• Jason 22/03/13 #

But it isn’t legalised mr McGowan. If you had bothered to research properly you’d see that it was tolerated and not legalised. You do realise that the Dutch are now tightening up on the use of cannabis don’t you? Similarly the Brits have reclassified it back to a more serious level having lowered it to a class c drug a few years back. Just because you’d like it to be legal doesn’t mean it should be.

• Jason 22/03/13 #

Wrong phuq.

• Jason 22/03/13 #

And the reason phuq? It’s because the drug leaves the system so slowly. That’s why it’s not physically addictive. I see the results of cannabis dependence on a regular basis and you are deluding yourself if you think that it is harmless.

• Smiley 22/03/13 #

Cannabinoids and opiates have been used as medicine for millennia. My experience is that regular early use increases the likelihood of later psychosis. Have friends in London studying positive and negative consequences of cannabis usage. Unpublished, as yet, results from longitudinal studies suggest regular usage over a long while leads to problems. Medicinally, some good outcomes. Problem is that cannabis and its products are much stronger than, say, 40 years ago. A study in NZ some 12 years ago showed chromosomal changes in the children of habitual long-term users.

• Give them the death penalty the vile piece of crap.

• deirdre 22/03/13 #

I would keep cannibas illegal. It cant be good for u long term.

Cigarettes are freely available and look at the impact they have had on our health.

NO to legalizing cannibas. Definately NO

• On what grounds deirdre?

• Moronic comparison. The only reason tobacco’s legal is because governments make a lot of money from them. Cash is king; they don’t get a fiddler’s fcuk about health. Do you not find it ridiculous that a product that is linked directly to cancer and causes 7000+ deaths on our little island alone per year is legal while a plant that has never been scientifically linked to the death of one person is illegal?

• Decriminalise all drugs. Only way to go. Examples around the world will be multiplying on how it works and many countries will be following the likes of Portugal. Hope we’re not left behind in the dark ages.

• @deirdre. Im sorry. What??

• deirdre 22/03/13 #

Its not like i have never tried cannabis. I have quite a few times. And i loved it. My brother in law is a grower!

I can understand the advantages of legalizing it. And i dont blame people for disagreeing with me.

But dont u think our relationship with alcohol proves we are not responsible enough to handle another legalized drug.

My mind could be changed by the way.

• History first, it was legalised, back in the 1930 because they wealthy families who run this world had just bought, pharmaceuticals, billions worth of forest and oil. Hemp a product off the weed plant, can be used for paper making clothes, heating houses, running/building cars, building houses and another few thousand uses. They would have suffered losses if they went into competition with this product. They got dirty got gov to draw up legislation to make weed illegal ( changed it to the Mexican name so people didn’t associate the drug with their massive non pollution cheap hemp industry. Used their media influences to scare people, used racism in their adds, showed white women jumping into bed with black men, women jumping out of windows and the like. We all know the drug doesn’t work like the so did they. It was all about money. You can take that example and apply it to things today the influence these families who own lots of everything, natural resources, banks, corporation, their still calling the shots and influencing our lives with media propaganda.

• I smoked weed in my late teens and 20s had no effect on me. I had friends who went out drinking every weekend when I would sit in and have a smoke with a few girls, we would smoke only on the weekend and maybe if we had a day off during the week. I never got addicted it has no effect on me. Actually my friends going out were coming home with bruises and some went a bit hmmm after the few drink and there would be a lot of strange men. They would spend a fortune and were never able to save money, I have a nice bundle of savings from that time. I stopped when ever I wanted. I might still have the odd smoke but very rarely. I see nothing wrong with it I hurt no one. I laughed, ate a lot of food, watch a lot of movie, but mostly laughed a lot.
      The argument is it is addictive, alcohol is a lot more addictive and damaging to people’s health.
      I think in these tough time everyone should smoke a joint once every two weeks have a laugh and close your mind off to everything for a few hours.
      My parents having a tough time financially I have told them smoke one have a laugh with each other and just forget about banks etc for one night.

Not a thing wrong with it legalise it, regulate it.

My opinion on gateway drug is that these kids are buying from drug dealers who are going to offer them other harder drugs some say No others don’t. Legalise will eliminate that problem.

• Your the problem with society, the word, fickle doesn’t even cut it for people like you.

• Well written and well said Adelle :-)

• Hey Deirdre, I understand why you would perceive cannabis legalisation as a negative, especially when you factor in the damaging effects that alcohol has on both the consumer & society as a whole, but when you take into account that alcohol is the “only legal” mind altering substance available for people to consume, it’s not surprising to find that we have so many problems with it. Ending cannabis prohibition would give us a much safer alternative drug to consume legally, one which is far less addictive, which you cannot die from overdosing on and which doesn’t kill your brain cells. It also doesn’t cause people to get violent or increase the chances of sexual assaults or domestic violence.

If our government were really concerned about the wellbeing of our society, ending cannabis prohibition would be at the top of their agenda, but unfortunately I think they’re probably more concerned about keeping their friends in the Vintners Association happy.

• Julian was that comment for me if it was please explain further if not never mind.

• deirdre 22/03/13 #

Cannabis Freedom. Fair enough. I was against legalising it. But i think there has been a great discussion here to convince me i have been misinformed.

No harm to take it out of drug dealers hands thereby reducing the risk of them tempting people with harder drugs.

Ya i am convinced.

• Deirdre weed is easier to get then smokes and they don’t ask for ID!!

Add New Comment