TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

United Left Alliance ‘tripping over themselves with hypocrisy’ – Labour TD

Colm Keaveney says that the alliance of left-wing parties in the Dáil stands for nothing but People Before Profit’s Joan Collins accused him of being “disingenuous”.

Joan Collins, Clare Daly, Joe Higgins and Richard Boyd-Barrett from the United Left Alliance (File photo)
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

A LABOUR TD has sharply criticised United Left Alliance (ULA) TDs accusing them of hypocrisy and of “resistance for resistance sake” ahead of expected protests at the Labour conference this weekend.

Colm Keaveney, a TD for Galway East, said that he was not worried by any protests at this weekend’s conference in his home county saying that Labour was more focused on the issues of government.

He told TheJournal.ie: “The easy and the cowardly thing to have done is to have gone into opposition,” speaking about the party’s choice to go into a coalition government with Fine Gael, a decision which has seen it criticised for reneging on pre-election pledges.

Keaveney said the ULA – a left-wing electoral alliance of the Socialist Party, People Before Profit and the Workers and Unemployed Action Group – stood for nothing and said that there only policy is to resist.

“The reality is that those people who are protesting in society are, you know… I see it coming from the ULA and so on. They are tripping over themselves with hypocrisy on many issues.

“They objected to the restoration of the minimum rates of pay, they objected to the adjustments on the USC (Universal Social Charge), and they objected to the government in relation to a legal framework for protecting low paid people in society.

‘Disingenuous’

“What do ULA stand for? Resistance for the sake of resistance. They’re only policy is to resist,” he added.

People Before Profit TD Joan Collins rejected the criticism saying that Keaveney’s reference to the ULA’s opposition to the minimum wage restoration was “disingenuous.”

She said that the ULA opposed the reversal of the minimum wage cut because it was a measure included in a bill in which there were “two or three” policies the alliance was opposed to.

“That included, as far as I remember, the increase in pensionable age from 65 to 66 and we have opposed that for a number of years,” she said.

Collins, a TD for Dublin South-Central, said that Keaveney was “playing politics” and said that Labour was more fearful of the what she said was a growing campaign against policies such as the household charge.

“Labour are more fearful of a protest movement gathering pace and the campaign against the household tax,” Collins told TheJournal.ie. “That’s part of a groundswell of people rooted in communities, nothing to do with Joan Collins or any other ULA TDs.”

Read: Do I regret accosting Bertie Ahern? Not at all, says first-time TD

Read next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Labour have some neck to say the least. Also my local labour TD who was elected to the Dail for the 1st time no longer lives in the area as its now ‘too low brow’ (his words!). I will never again vote for these charlatans.

• mike 14/04/12 #

As a i was Chairman of a Labour Branch in East Galway i must say the Local Td is Focus on his position. To the best of my knowledge he has not been to Loughrea since his election as far as i know as constutuency Chairperson. No meeting, no communication. Oh yeah Labour are focused on be in Govenrment all right. Just forgot about the people of Ireland. Out of touch i say.

• Can anybody explain what Labour has to do with labour

• Sure I can… Labour is busy exporting as much labour as it can to live in economic exile in other countries. And thanks to Rauri Quinn they are also doing a great job at making sure the next labour generation are so uneducated and laden with debt that they are completely unemployable.

• Look who’s bloody talking, labour spent the last few years screaming and shouting at FF only to continue with their policies when in power.

The dail is a joke, it’s always resistance for resistance sake, look at FF now opposing policies they used to push, the whole thing is a circus. Its embarrassing to listen to.

• Absolutely correct… There is in actual fact no need for party names, it’s ” that 120 against that 46″ or whatever way it’s broken up at the moment, none of them have a shred of decency in my eyes until they reform those blasted, F****g expenses, most get triple what I earn in UNVOUCHED expenses, our country is a joke and absolute joke.

• This is a bit rich coming from Continuity Fianna Fáil. Labour’s way, or Frankfurt’s way was the choice Gilmore asked us to make when casting our vote. “ah, sure it was only an electioneering slogan,” said Howlin yesterday. Oh, that’s our fault then for not understanding that. Silly us.

• Silly Labour, all upset that the ULA stole their bit of “standing up for the people”.

Well perhaps you shouldn’t have abandoned those people you purport to represent in the first place.

• It seems the only left is Labour left. If they were in opposition they would be making the same points as the ULA but they have sold out. Also I’m sick of FG and Labour saying they have a mandate from the people, I voted Labour in the election not FG-Labour only when a party has an overall majority can they say they have a mandate from the people,

• In fairness everyone knew a vote for labour was a vote for the coalition, they didn’t hide the fact that they were going to do that.

Thats why I didn’t vote labour.

• I didn’t vote for them but you are right they were elected to implement the policies in their manifesto. They have no mandate to implement the policies in the programme for government which pretty much casts aside everything they stood before the people with. If they wanted a mandate for the programme for government they should’ve gone back to the people. But that would’ve jeopardised their seats and pensions. If any party in the Dail stands for nothing it’s Labour. But the leaders don’t care, most will be retiring before the next election on their huge ministerial pensions, leaving the rest to suffer a similar fate to the Greens and PDs. So Mr Keaveney stop throwing boulders out of your greenhouse, it makes you look even more stupid than we already know you are.

• Just ask yourself this Mr. Keavney. If Connolly and the other founders of labour were alive today, would they be ULA TDs or propping up FG while working people suffer for the sins of the few? You’re not fit to call yourself a Labour man.

• Kettle, pot and black.
    Coming from a party that stands for nothing, except guaranteed reneging of pre-election promises.
    Minister for Social Protection? Cuts disabled young peoples allowances at first opportunity.
    Minister for reform? Spends a fortune on doing up the office, signage for Ministers toilet, new Galaxy phones for all the staff.
    Minister for Education? Promises no fees for third level, ratchets up registration fees to €2.5k straight away.
    Backs an unfair flat charge property tax.
    This is Labours way, not Frankfurts.
    Annihilation awaits them come the next local and general election, where they will be knocked back into the political stone age.

• who is being hypocritical really? a party that is supposedly left leaning, progressive and pro labour who decides to form an alliance with a right wing, conservative, corporatist party. They sell out any beliefs they supposedly had for a tiny taste of power. When this government falls Labour will end up as irrelevant as the greens are.

• Labour = sell out snakes

• Aidan 14/04/12 #

Kettle calling ye pot lack ye needs reality check

• mike 14/04/12 #

Tony Benn came from a Similar background. And he left the Labour Party too. I believe he said “to get involved with real politics”

• Obviously ‘Labour and Fine Gaels policy of steering the country nice and gently off the cliff Finna Fail climbed use on to isn’t much of a policy, but it is a policy. The united left on the other hand….Take this Craic of promoting criminality via shouting for non payment of the household charge, like I mean what kind of left are they, against a property tax, they should have been shouting for 10 times more for the wealthy not saying ‘don’t pay’ to everyone. Fair enough the 100 each charge is unfair, but the tax base was destroyed by the FF/PDS, if we woke up tomorrow with no state/bank debt this country would still need a property tax, most reasonable people know this, but besides it’s a tax on wealth for God sake something the left should be shouting for more off. I’d guess their the only bunch of left wing thinkers in the world against a property tax, all to try and get a few headlines so their seen to be doing something…anything.

Also by being so radically populist they push reasonable people in the arms of the centre right rather than building a true left party and associated vision for the country.

• I guess you missed the “why” behind the protest..
      1. It was a flat fee. Meaning it was nothing to the wealthy and a lot to many more. Have the government explained how the tax next year will be calculated yet? Is it property value – if so property value when? Is it on acreage – if so that is unfair in light of price variations from area to area, is it linked to ability to pay? Because then if your neighbour is unemployed and you aren’t that you pay more – which is also unfair.. So how is it to be done? Can we reasonably expect any fairness in this?

2. We keep hearing about how everyone else pays property tax, but they aren’t paying private companies for the services they pay their property / council taxes for.. If we are to pay this tax, can we expect the councils to provide waste services, emergency services like the fire brigade etc? And remember – water will be extra, not included in this charge..

Yes, a tax on wealth makes sense, property tax when properly implemented and operated are also a good idea, the fact of the matter is that this is not what we are being asked to sign up for, as usual, the Irish equivalent will most likely be a poorly run, inefficient and management / admin heavy waste of money.
      From what I understood of the campaign it wasn’t the tax itself that was the problem – it was the mode of implementation and the lack of value for said charge (especially in light of all the other indirect taxes we pay).

• I agree, though I put it poorly I meant to say that a flat tax was a poor idea, but to extrapolate from that and say NO property tax is a good idea is bad politics. It should be directly perportional to wealth (definitely) and take in to account current income (of course) but the point is a property tax is a good idea for the country. Is it a poor time to introduce it (with so many in negative equity), not doubt, but telling people they can/should choose not to pay it is bad populist politics that benefits no one expect the careers of those who preach it.

• There is also the factor that it’s like a last stand. As we have seen, our government and the one before do not care for public protest. They do not care for letter writing campaigns nor do they care for petitions.

So what exactly is left?
      Yes, it’s populist, but as I’m sure you’re more than aware the populace are getting restless. We were led to believe that we voted out corruption and wound up with more of the same. It’s great that we Irish are so stoic, but it’s also like we choose to bend over and take it.

Personally I don’t see why the protest isn’t marching to Aras an Uachtairan to our allegedly socialist president to ensure that he refuses to sign all these austerity measures into law, or that he may dissolve the Dáil, and if he can’t do that then what exactly are we paying his (bloody high) wages and costs for?

And while we are at it, surely we the people – the true bosses in this land, should be reducing ministerial wages and expenses as a matter of course? And I’m not talking about a few grand for show, I mean REDUCING, let them lose the percentage equivalent everyone else has – both from their wage and from their pensions. Let them wait for their pensions until pensionable age, and only claim 1 state pension. It wouldn’t solve everything, but it would certainly help, not only financially but in terms of morale.

But I guess that’s far too idealist of me!! Personally I believe that it doesn’t matter who you vote in, the faces change but nothing else ever does. FF/FG/Lab are all the same, and SF/ULA probably wouldn’t make much difference either (can’t say for sure as they’ve never actually won!), the real decisions aren’t made by these poster boys anyway. There’s a hive of senior civil servants telling them what they can and can’t do, they aren’t voted for and they don’t change. The system is corrupt. We can expose Bertie et al all we like, the problem runs far deeper and until we weed that out, we will always be screwed..

• Ah, yes. Richard Boyd-Barrett. The Voice of the Workers. The private school educated, Dalkey-bred, Voice of the Workers. Just what exactly have you been “working” at these past 20 years Richard other than being a rent-a-quote moaner for national radio? Solidarity, brothers!

• mike 14/04/12 #

Oh Yes, Richard Boyd-Barrett should be in one of the other Parties telling lies. Imagine speaking out about issues of public concern. What a Disgrace.

• Paul 14/04/12 #

He comes from a wealthy family, lock him up! What this country likes is inexperienced school teachers, drunken fools and low brow gangsters from working class areas running the show for the benefit of themselves and their entourage.

• Why attack his background? So what if he comes from a wealthy family…. It shows more backbone to do what he is doing if that’s the case. What have you done for the people of this country lately?

Add New Comment