TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Video: Mayo County Council uses CCTV to catch ‘boy racers’

Some residents say their lives are being made a misery by late night anti-social driving behaviour.

Still from CCTV footage supplied by Mayo County Council

MAYO COUNTY COUNCIL is enlisting the help of CCTV cameras in what it’s calling a ‘war on boy racers’.

The council says drivers speeding and doing ‘donuts’ on public roads is a scourge, and is endangering their lives and the lives of others.

It’s calling on young people to be aware of their speed and is appealing to parents of those involved to take responsibility for their childrens’ actions.

Noel Gibbons, Road Safety Officer with Mayo County Council said that the damage caused by tyre marks on the roads can cost between €500 and €1,000 to repair, and that some residents lives have been turned into a ‘living nightmare’ by antisocial driving behaviour.

He also said that road signage is sometimes ripped down in order to facilitate some manoeuvres and to protect drivers’ tyres.

Gibbons told TheJournal.ie that the CCTV cameras are mobile and are being moved to various hotspots around the country and that some of the footage has already been forwarded to Gardaí and interviews have taken place.

He said that they want to highlight to motorists involved that they are being monitored, and that the council is aware that it is a “minority group” of people taking part in these activities.

Residents have reported incidences of drivers racing, skidding, honking horns, flashing lights and blaring loud music. One resident said he is certain that somebody will be killed at some point. He said the activities begin at around 1am and go on through the night:

It’s like have a new born baby in the house again and you’re getting disturbed sleep patterns.

Western region Traffic Superintendent Martin Cashen said that residents can be reluctant to report this type of behaviour and that in rural areas it can be difficult for Gardaí to catch the culprits in action before they are warned and move on.

Gardaí say that a statement from a member of the public is enough to bring a case to court due to the threat to public safety.

Noel Gibbons has said that the cameras have not deterred some drivers from using local hotspots, but that more cars are being identified and that down the line the council is anticipating an improvement in road behaviour.

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• Laws should be changed. If caught car gets crushed and driver banned for
    10 years.

• Using CCTV to prevent crimes? Huh.. fancy that new age idea.

It is a good idea though, and good that it’s being implemented.
    The noise of these fkn pieces of sh!t really do my head in.

Not once, never, have I heard a nissan micra with a big bore exhaust driving past me at 5 miles an hour scraping off the road and filled with red bull filled teenagers and thought “Whoa, that’s cool”.

It doesn’t have to be that specific car make or model either. Oh no.
    Everyone seems to be doing it, from school lads driving buckets held together with spit and string or middle aged men with a lower than average IQ driving in their lifes blood worth car.

Don’t get me wrong though, once in a while a modified car passes me, without exhaust, and actually has some sense of appeal!

• They should be banned, It’s brutal at my area killarney during the lakes rally 3am morning drag racing.

• And that’s worse than midday rallying? How so? Because the rally crowd have a permit and road closures? How about affording the same good grace to those wishing to drag race.

• Barry 18/05/12 #

Midday rallying with a permit means its legal and their is safety pro-cautions in place,

Racing at 3am is endangering other road users and also risking their own lifes and other people’s propertys, if they are racing they are also likely speeding and as such it is very much illegal.

• Don’t disagree with ya Barry just playing devils advocate. So where did we land with providing a place and time that would allow these activities be carried out in a safe manner like rallies?

• Dont go driving on an empty head

• Daithi, racetracks mate, Watergrass Hill, Mondello park and so on! That’s what they are there for, public roads at night certainly aren’t the place! I also have a few mates who regularly organise to use industrial estates, they get permission and it’s well run, there is no excusing using public roads!

• Damian i was never suggesting public roads at night were the place for this kind of behaviour. Was merely suggesting ya can’t demonise those involved unless there is an alternative. Fair point about the race tracks although they are a fair trip from Mayo. Never heard of any such industrial estates seams like a great idea, and plenty empty ones lying around the west of Ireland too.

• Lack of regulation seems to haunt Ireland in many aspects.
      As far as boy racers go I have only one comment.
      The easiest way to spot one by day is by listening.
      Their exhausts are a dead giveaway.
      Lowered suspension, engine tuning kits etc.
      Many if which are illegal.
      I am by no means a compadre of the Gardai.
      But if you want to get something done.
      Just do it !!!
      But then again. What good is a dog without teeth?

• €500-1K to fix rubber marks left on the road ?????? Where in the hell did that come from

• How come car drivers aren’t restricted like bikes. certain bhp for first 2 years after passing the test.

• Good idea, I’ve known lads with 300bhp imprezas and evo’s who hadn’t got their licence more than a year, because they could pay the insurance they could drive them. Madness indeed. The Celtic tiger burst has put a lot of them back in sensible cars.

And to the earlier poster who advocated having organised places for this kind of messing at rallies etc. Rally organisers and the vast majority of competitors don’t want anything to do with any of this behaviour, evidence could be seen in the Rally of the lakes programme this year which had a full page telling boy racers they weren’t welcome. As somebody who has been involved in organising rallies and competing behaviour like this is contributing to rallies being cancelled.
      The Galway international rally was cancelled for a few years because of the messing that went on over the rally weekend. Please bear in mind that rallies bring a lot of money to local businesses over an event and the loss of such revenue can be the difference between a business staying open or closing.

Another argument I wish to address is the one where it was asked what was the difference between late night racing and rallying so here goes:

Street drag racing is dangerous and cars generally have no driver protection in the event of an accident. I’ve seen some car fitted with roll cages like rallycars have and the fact is where they might offer a bit of protection, if your bit wearing a helmet and hit your head off it in an accident it will very likely do you serious damage and maybe even kill you! ( I know somebody who is permanently brain damaged because of this very thing. A life ruined )

Rallycars are designed with safety in mind and will have all the necessary equipment to give the driver a better chance of survival should something happen ie. fire protection,crash protection etc etc

Rallies are also highly organised so there is always someone close by to help out and there is always a recur crew and ambulance within a few miles! Racers don’t have any of this!!

I could go on and on but this carry on of racing makes my blood boil.

If you want to drag race do it properly with all the safety gear at an irfan used event.

If you want to drive fast then buy a rallycar or a racecar and again do it properly at the likes of mondello etc.

If you want to burn the back tyres off the back of your twincam or other rwd cars then get into drifting and do it properly in an organised fashion.

The last word, Keep the race in its place!

• They should trade in their cars for horses and carts, then they can do as they please on public roads.

• Why doesn’t the minister for transport removing these cars from the roads? They are illegal as I’m sure all the modifications aren’t declared to the motor transport department. This means they aren’t road legal as the insurance and nct don’t cover them.

• Simple answer is if he removes the cars he’ll loose revenue. Simples. Also majority of these cars pass the NCT with the ”modifications” and I think you’d be surprised how many declare mods to their insurance. As for those that don’t there’s two arguments 1) They’re morons 2) how about not letting insurance companies pull figures out of a hat and have them base their premium rates on the risk applicable to the driver in question?

• They only have to be declared to your insurance company, and not the Department of Transport unless there is a change in engine size or colour of the vehicle. The installation of mods would have no affect on the NCT unless they actually caused the car to fail on an element of the test.

• ps the lad in the 180 is well able to hold on to her!!

• some load of c**k being talked ere!!

• why crush the cars it’s not going to teach them anything. if anything reposess and sell on and use the proceeds raise funds for the county council

• Put an advert on TV showing a “boy racer” revving up and screeching past two fine young ladies… have the two ladies look to each other throwing their eyes up to heaven while gesturing the “small man-hood” to each other… this will shame them into copping-on. If that fails, confiscate said cars and crush them!!!

• Lots of b#ll#cks talk on here. A lot of these guys are car enthusiasts & this behavior on the public roads is crazy. However no one has solutions. Crushing cars banning them off the road talking about cars not complying with ncts. Any body driving cars like keep them to a high standard very few normal cars would be as well look after as these cars. If you want to help the problem but not completely do like they do in europe & the uk give these kids track days for their cars & have a rsa liason to talk to these kids in their own language educate them on road safety & give discounts on insurance for club membership & compliance. These guys love cars if you take that away they will get up to other stuff. Solutions not punishment. We have no understanding of that here.

• There are plenty of idiots on or roads. You don’t have to be 19, male and and eejit to be a bad driver. Rural roads are in an awful state with no crash barriers and potholes all over them, confusing speed limits and a lack of guards policing the roads. But what do our boys spend the money on, EU conforming road signs and polish translation… No wonder people are being pulled out of ditchs and trees every day of the week.

• Down with that sort a thing!!

• bejebus 18/05/12 #

I saw a suspicious looking wheelie bin with a hole in back of it the other day at that crossroads! Hmmmm…….

• Yep, crush the cars and ban them from driving for 10 years

• Theres nothing going on here!!! Go on Ted!!!

• God forbid the Gardai should do this themselves

• White nissan 180sx at 5am on a Sunday morning isn’t gonna be too far from home, or is too much like hard work for our Gardai?

Add New Comment