TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

WATCH: Angry dad shoots daughter’s laptop – nine times – over Facebook post

North Carolina dad Tommy Jordan wasn’t at all impressed with a post on his daughter’s page. So he took permanent action.

IT’S HIGHLY POSSIBLE that you’ve already seen this video, even though it’s only been online for three days by now – but if you haven’t, it’s certainly worth a watch.

Meet Tommy Jordan. Tommy is a dad from North Carolina, who works in the IT business. As a result of his expertise, he was asked by his (evidently quite insistent) 15-year-old daughter to upgrade her laptop.

Unbeknownst to the daughter, giving her father access to the laptop would mean he could see posts on her Facebook page – posts she thought were hidden from his view.

Put it this way: he wasn’t at all happy about what he read.

This is parenting – North Carolina style.

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• Special mention to the good people of ” Youghal ” at the end of the video, small world eh !!!

• I kinda understand his reaction, I don’t have a gun but an axe is just as much fun.

• “Shot nine times”
    If 50Cent is to be believed, that’s the making of a rap career for that laptop.

• Barry 11/02/12 #

He’s got on, people who post stuff on the internet or facebook thinking its private are idiots, She got found out and he paid for the laptop so its his to do what he wants with :)

• ‘Murrikah, Fuck Yeah!

• Fair play to this guy! The lack of respect for parents in this country disgusts me everyday, he was right to not let her away with her childish “woe is me” drivel.

• That was appalling and absolutely disgusting. That laptop was barely four feet away from him and his grouping was nearly six inches across. That’s awful shooting alltogether.

• Could do with more parenting like that in some instances in this country.

• Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant! Go Pops!

• While the gun was OTT. I can’t blame the guy for being hacked off.

• The “9 on saturday” picture for next week ?

• Really quite poor grouping. He’d want to spend more time at the range and less time on Facebook.

• A bit of an over reaction. Teens will always bitch about parents. Although she does sound like a spoilt idiot. But he is the one raising her. I think a ricochet bullet into his shin would add good old fashion comic value and be a lesson to gun toting men in cowboy hats. This is not the 1800’s

• I used to just get a few whacks of the wooden spoon to my arse and it did the trick! Although I’m sure if I’d had a laptop it wouldn’t have lasted long either! : )

• Sometimes I wish I had a gun……….

• WHAT A LEGEND!!! :D

• To the Journal..
    You kinda gave away the ending there..
    Wouldn’t wanna watch movies with you ;)

• Niall 11/02/12 #

The most shocking thing about this is that the redneck is an IT professional.

• Respect for parents and all adult when you are a kid is important. I agree 100% with the fathers reaction, if a little anxious at his method of destroying the laptop.

• Great parenting, kids are way too spoilt for their own good these days….

• He is so completely right!!!
    I would be proud to know that man….any way of finding out his email address¿?….cos I want to tell that extremely disappointed parent that I think he is ‘the man’!

• This reminds me of that time I had bought an Eminem cassette (it was years ago) when I was around

• Ai need ma gun, Ai don’t feel right without maa gun…

• Hey kids, when you’re really angry about something pull out a 45 and fill if with lead, great parenting.
    What a red neck muppet.

• What a moron, no wonder she acts like a brat when her father acts like a child.

• Yeah brilliant parenting! Nothing says that you are a responsible parent and role model like going on the Internet and showing everyone that all problems can be solved by shooting the shit out of something! How long before someone sues him for influencing some nutjob who shot up his local Internet Cafe or school? In a week when a young girl lost her like to gunfire we have people applauding this sort of action? The mind boggles!

• You know Brian, sometimes it’s nice just to to enjoy a bit of “light relief”. I find this amusing, I personally wouldn’t do it myself but it’s amusing…………..the mind doesn’t boggle at all.

• Hey Anthony I’m all for light relief but this video and peoples reactions to it are totally confusing.
      On one hand people praise this guy for showing his 15 year old daughter that the best way to solve things is some good old gunfire. Ye ha! Maybe she will take his advice and the next time the spoiled brat gets pissed off with her parents, instead of posting a rant on Facebook , she’ll put a few .45 rounds into her parents!
      On the other hand we have a massive out cry over a young girl getting shot in Dublin be people who think that the best way to solve their problems is by using a gun.

There is no doubt that that girl needed o good lesson in life and if the guy rolled over it in a car or something then yeah I could go with that. However in a country like the US that has so much gun crime was this really a well advised video? I used to own guns myself and have an interest in all things military so it’s not like I’m saying that guns should be outlawed. What I am saying is that with gun ownership comes responsibility and common sense. Children get a large part of their values from their parents so that is where I’m coming from.

Here is what he posted 6 hours ago on hie Facbook page…..
      “The police by the way said “Kudos, Sir” and most of them made their kids watch it. I actually had a “thank you” from an entire detectives squad. And another police officer is using it in a positive manner in his presentation for the school system.” Do you think that the Gardai should go around every secondary school in Ireland and show this “amusing ” video?

One last thing, he also posted “She wants a 22 rifle like mine.” If I were him I’d start investing in a good Kevlar jacket and a reinforced bedroom door! Have a nice yawl!

• @Brian, I can totally appreciate where you are coming from, and discussed this last night with someone on Facebook. As far as leading by example goes its not the best.. It shows that daddy is a tad impulsive and may be where the daughter gets her impulsivity from!
      At the same time, for all we know the daughter might be a really ungrateful little madam.. It’s not outside the realm of possibility (and again, may be due to parenting)

But on face value it’s funny, and may serve as a deterrent to other teens!!

• @Brian, if he’d done it with a hammer would you object as much or is the problem the gun? You have to remember that there is a HUGE gun culture in America. That’s not an excuse, merely a fact of life.

• Thomas maybe I didn’t make my self clear. I have no problem with guns, I owned 2 of them myself and wanted to buy a handgun but the Government and Gardai started imposing ridiculous conditions on gun ownership so that put paid to that. I thought that when I said that there is so much gun crime in America that it would also be taken that there is also a huge gun culture as well but i was obviously not clear enough on that. Obviously there is a huge gun culture in the US, I mean where else can you buy a Serbu BFG-50A .50 cal rifle for $6795.00 (shipping included).

I started shooting when I was 16 and the first thing I was taught was gun safety, safety, safety. What I was not taught was that every time I get pissed off with something or someone that it was alright to fire off a few rounds at the other persons possessions. If this was the case my sisters bedroom would have looked like it had been hit be a Hellfire missile followed up by a couple of thousand rounds from a mini-gun!

Think about it . This girl has publicly been humiliated in front of 12 million people ( even though she did deserve to be reprimanded) has been interviewed by the police and child Protection services. She has had abuse written about her all over the internet and told that she will end up a stripper! On top of that you have a bunch of morons posting “responses” on YouTube saying how they thought that yer man is right while the posters are waving guns around the place saying that they are going to follow his lead with their own kids!! I don’t have a problem with the gun so much as the idiot holding the gun. I hope that clears things up for you a bit.

• You’re right Brian. If it’s funny at all it’s because he’s such a total gobshite. What an idiot!

• What an impotent ass. Having failed to teach his daughter to respect hi, he resolves to embarrass her, and now she hates him all the more for it.

I pity him and all like him.

• Am I the only one surprised to discover that he moved out of home, lived on his own, went to college, had 2 jobs and was also a volunteer fire-fighter when he was in high school? Not that he seems to have made a great job of parenting.

• agreed Peter; Daddy sounds like he wants his 14yrold daughter to appreciate his childhood difficulties (and that’s NEVER possible) which is very immature of him.

I went to college whilst bringing up 2 teens on my own (not by my choice BTW) and worked part-time as well……… But I wouldn’t WANT or expect my (now grown up) children to live that way. (or even to understand the stress I was under)

I was a (looking back, sometimes too much) strict parent – but I would NEVER have gone this far. It’s too much. And as so many other commentators have mentioned; using a gun to make a point is not the best way of doing it!!!

• Great parenting!!!!! (i don’t think).Using a gun to discipline. I wldn’t like to see what he wld do if his daughter did something really serious. She’s just a normal 15 yr old kid who annoyed at her parents!!! We’ve all done it. This guy is not a good role model. He’s just enjoying his few mins of fame at his daughter’s expense. Sad man:(

• Susan, it’s North Carolina. The teenager probably has pistols of her own :D
      If it was Ireland, it’d be a different story (he’d be in jail for shooting a pistol outside of an authorised target shooting range). But when in Rome…

• Mark…… Ur assumption that all school kids in the USA hold pistols is completely unfounded. Violence using a firearm is a sick way for any parent, despite what the “culture” is in his country to ” reprimand “their children for misbehaving. That man is not an ideal role model for any child. Hopefully his disciplinary methods don’t entend to ” living” things.

• Actually Susan, my assumption was that this was North Carolina, where gun ownership figures are far, far, far, far, far higher than here, and firearms are just as unusual an object to find in a home as a power drill.

And frankly, nobody’s suggesting he be treated as a role model; it’s a funny video. The police in the area have been out in response to it, they found there was nothing in the home that was dangerous or unacceptable (by North Carolina standards, where, again, firearms are a lot more commonplace than here).

So nobody got hurt, the police have investigated and are satisfied, and we all had a laugh. Not seeing the downside so far…

• Once again a gun toting maniac has shown us the way. Would have been funnier if he had the daughter hold the laptop over her head. Missing an aul yee-haw! at the end too…

• Simpleton, great example to give your child, if you don’t like something honey, shoot it! This guy is a joke, must have nothing better to do with his time..

• The guy is a moron – I feel sorry for his daughter – does he forget what it was like being young himself? It’s part of the job description of a 15-year-old, as well as their brain development, to be lazy, stroppy and hate your parents for the restrictions they have to put on you and we have to unconditionally keep loving them and lead by example. What lesson has he taught her by shooting up a laptop with a gun – he is really scary and nasty.

• But as he points out himself, that wasn’t what he was doing as a teenager. The “teenager” is an American creation of the 50′s that seems to mean you can do anything you want and say “it’s my hormones”!! It’s why we have near feral kids running around. And before anyone says it, I was no angel of a young fella and my parents worked hard on me and didn’t just make excuses that “he’s just being a teen”.

• It’s part of the job description of a 15-year-old to be lazy and stroppy and think their parents are awful. True.

However, it’s part of the job description of the parents to keep them on the straight and narrow despite the fun and games their neurochemistry is causing, so that in 20 years, they aren’t still regretting that facial tattoo, or that teenage pregnancy, or that addiction to cocaine. And if destroying the laptop and embarrassing them publicly is what’s called for, guess what – that’s why the word is “parent” and not “friend”.

Me, I’m thinking that back when I was 15, I didn’t have a laptop. Or an ipod. Or for that matter, anything near to the amount of material goods this girl has. It’s not like he was keeping her starving in the basement or beating her.

• Lazy article, the facts are incorrect. He didn’t snoop on her computer at all!! They have a Facebook page for their cute dog and she forgot to block that page along with the rest of her family and church friends. Status popped up on the dogs account when he was posting a photo of the dog being cute on that account. All you had to do was go to his Facebook page and read the full story instead of jumping to your own conclusions! Anyway, Tommy is a legend, hero to all parents of teenagers!

• @Audrey – The article doesn’t say he snooped! It just says the daughter clearly hadn’t anticipated that he would be able to see her posts. The text was only intended to be a brief introduction and wasn’t meant to be considered comprehensive.

• Why would anyone here bother going to the facebook page of some Joe from North Carolina. There are a lot of retired people using this website.

• What an idiot. I can understand why he would make a video but what a childish reaction. Shame about the laptop. I’m sure a charity would have appreciated the donation.

• Seems like this guy is about as mature as his 15 yr old daughter. KNOB of the highest order.
    The girl didn’t lick it from a stone that’s for sure!!

• Kids rebel due to bad parenting,case closed.All you idiots that believes this to be a ” just action ” are just as bad as him.Please do NOT procreate.

• Leahy Shane best comment EVER

• he must suck at it , if he spend an hour and a half upgrading . I.T fail

• North Carolina ? go figure.Robby the redneck shoots laptop because of some naughty words.Boo hoo hoo.I’ll send him a card stating how much of a douch nozzle he is and tell her to hurry up,finish school and gtfo of there before he shoots her too.

• Is shooting her laptop supposed to help this kid to not complain about her parents in future?? Surely it’s gona have the complete opposite effect, duh and ok maybe the girl exaggerated a bit on her fb… But the parents could gain the kids respect by being kind and considerate, it’s real tough being a teenager, maybe then she won’t slag the crap out of u haha. Don’t be stupid chuck norris would kick ur ass (kinda scared he’s gona come after me with that 45 after he reads this) xD

• This is a complete over reaction from the father. What she put on facebook is no different from what she would say to her friends. Is she not entitled to give out about her parents

• This guy has taught us an important lesson: Facebook is not only for kids

• Here are my thoughts on it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_VmTt8PGsY

• Please tell me Social Services took that poor child away from her crazy monster father.

• Aleo 11/02/12 #

The father is a nasty piece of work, who has justified his daughter’s complaints.

• douche * You crappy made website with no edit functions.

• “Unbeknownst to the daughter, giving her father access to the laptop would mean he could see posts on her Facebook page – posts she thought were hidden from his view”

@Gavin. You clearly suggest that he saw the comment on her laptop, on “her Facebook page”
    I’m not trying to bash you about it just pointing out the inaccuracies in the statement. But of course I will be red thumbed again for that too!

• Does it REALLY matter…..really?….its not a piece of vital news. Besides, on the video he didn’t mention anything about the dogs facebook page he just talks about uprgrading the laptop.

• These kinds of thing are constantly happening on the journal. There is no excuse for bad journalism. If in doubt leave it out. They should be sure of the facts before they post the story. It seems that no one checks the authors story before it goes out.

Add New Comment