You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

'He took my bags, and he held my hand, and there was an uproar': The week in quotes

Here’s what was said and who said what this week.

News: Bill Crosby Trial SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

They need to be aware that these things can happen to them, if they can happen to Bill Cosby.

A spokesperson for Bill Cosby, Andrew Wyatt, on plans to hold a series of “town hall” meetings to talk to young people about his experiences with the US courts.

shutterstock_526674979 Shutterstock / preecha2531 Shutterstock / preecha2531 / preecha2531

I just wish I could return to my old life. The one where the love of my life was still alive and we were expecting our first child. My life after my wife’s death has been a never-ending nightmare.

Part of a statement read out by the solicitor of Alan Thawley, after a coroner returned a verdict of medical misadventure over the death of his wife Malak.

Prince Harry interview Jonathan Brady / PA Wire Jonathan Brady / PA Wire / PA Wire

My mother had just died, and I had to walk a long way behind her coffin, surrounded by thousands of people watching me while millions more did on television. I don’t think any child should be asked to do that, under any circumstances. I don’t think it would happen today.

Prince Harry spoke to Newsweek about the heartbreaking images of him following his mother’s coffin during her 1997 funeral.
https://www.facebook.com/skynews/videos/1802378543110068/

It’s my first time in this building so there’s a little thrill in it as well. We spoke on the way in and I was reminded of that famous scene in Love Actually where Hugh Grant does his dance down the stairs. But apparently, it wasn’t actually filmed here so I didn’t get a chance to see the stairs.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar attracted criticism for using his first visit to 10 Downing Street as an opportunity to reference Love Actually.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

I told them that, in fact, the European Union was built on dreams that seemed impossible to achieve. So, who knows? You may say I am a dreamer, but I am not the only one.

European council president Donald Tusk used John Lennon earlier today to express his feelings on Brexit.

Irish political upheaval Niall Carson / PA Wire Niall Carson / PA Wire / PA Wire

I invoked the lyrics of a certain song the day of the appointment of An Taoiseach, Deputy Varadkar, by a band called The Who, “Meet the new boss/Same as the old boss”. The song is called “Won’t Get Fooled Again”. I am sure the old boss is looking in on tonight’s proceedings, rubbing his hands, probably having a relaxing drink or cup of tea and remarking what a fine mess he has left the Ministers in and how they deserved it because they pushed him and pushed him and came up the hill. The Fianna Fáil lads were up his hill too but they went back down each time.

Independent TD Mattie McGrath, as per usual, didn’t hold back on his feelings for the country’s new and former leaders.

STS-61_Hubble_servicing Nasa Nasa

I didn’t want to be known as the person who broke something on the Hubble that wasn’t already broken.

Dr Jeffery Hoffman spoke to us about his experiences as a Nasa astronaut.

download (8) Deirdre McCourt Deirdre McCourt

He took my bags, and he held my hand, and there was an uproar! They were clapping and cheering, and I swear to god – I said, ‘Surely to god they’re not clapping at us?’.

Mary Dent, an 85-year-old mother of eleven, told Liveline about her new-found viral fame after she was pictured being helped by Garda Paul Barnwell through the crowds going to the Robbie Williams concert at Dublin’s Aviva Stadium.