Say what?

'He saved my life because he pushed my head out of the way with his knee': The week in quotes

“Why do people do this? It’s ghoulish, thoughtless and extremely distasteful.”

IT WAS A week of ISIS situations, ghoulish photos, and alleged kidnappings.

All that, and more, it’s the week in quotes.

10428669_746802145394640_3542682479300102927_n KerryClimbing.ie KerryClimbing.ie

No matter what anyone’s personal views on having crosses on peaks are, this goes beyond that. It’s an iconic cross on an iconic peak.

Piaras Kelly from KerryClimbing.ie, speaking after the cross on top of Carrountoohill was cut down.

Sinn Fein. Pictured Dublin Central TD Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

I’m on the bold step in the naughty corner

Sinn Féin TD Mary Lou McDonald on not being allowed back into the Dáil after staging a sit-in.

Strategic Reviews of Medical Training Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

The previous Minister for Health did more damage to the health service than any other Minister for Health in the history of the State and it’s even more embarrassing because he is a GP.

Dr Keith Swanick, a GP from Mayo, on James Reilly’s (pictured )legacy.

Philomena Lee at the graves Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

If this legislation had been in place years ago, Anthony and I would have been reunited with each other before he died. Instead, he died believing I had rejected him.

Philomena Lee called on every Senator to “do what’s right” and support the Adoption Bill.

Tanaiste and Minister for Social Protec Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

What happened in Jobstown amounted almost to kidnapping in a fashion where the Tánaiste, the deputy leader of our country, was locked in her car for over two hours.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny on last weekend’s water charges protests in Jobstown.

garda-protest-image YouTube YouTube

He saved my life, that one did. The tall garda in the black. He saved my life because he pushed my head out of the way with his knee.

Fiona Healy of Baldoyle Anti-Water Meter Task Force on what happened after she jumped in front of the Taoiseach’s car and thrown towards a bollard by gardaí.

Ambulance Service. Following A RTE Prim Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Why do people do this? It’s ghoulish, thoughtless and extremely distasteful.

A post on Waterford City Fire Service’s Facebook page after people took pictures of a crash in which a two year old was killed.

Hugh O'Connell / YouTube

I think that that needs to be nipped in the bud. The people have given that signal to us now: nip that in the bud. If not we’re facing what is potentially an ISIS situation in Middle East if those people are allowed get on to do what they’re doing. God help this country and people realise that

Fine Gael TD Noel Coonan predicted that the water charges protests could really spiral out of control. He later withdrew the remarks.

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams distanced himself from the terrorist organisation.