You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

say that again

Inter-planetary competitions and making a balls of it: The week in quotes

“They should be marked and then left to rest in peace.”

IT WAS A week when Cooke report found no evidence of bugging at the headquarters of GSOC.

The introduction of plain packaging for cigarette was announced, and the possibility of the World Cup being held on other planets was raised.

All that, and more – it’s the week in quotes:

Ballyfermot shooting. Garda forensics Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

A community was enjoying a beautiful summer evening, a peaceful evening, and something bizarre happened, a young child was hurt, something that’s happening in Irish society that we really need to reflect on and ask why this is happening and act accordingly.

The words of Father Gerry O’Connor on the shock Ballyfermot felt after a six-year-old child was shot.

Brazil WCup FIFA AP Photo / Andre Penner AP Photo / Andre Penner / Andre Penner

We wonder one day if our game is played on other planets. Why not? Then we will have not only a World Cup, we will have inter-planetary competitions.

Brazil not good enough for you? Don’t worry, FIFA chief Sepp Blatter predicted that the World Cup could be held on other planets in future.

Marie Fleming Assisted Suicide Cases Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Rather than buying it on the street, I bought seeds on the internet and I grew it for Marie and the results were incredible. The pain relief, the spasms and also to be perfectly honest, the lifting of her mood so it helped her in lots of ways that the pain control drugs just weren’t able to do.

Cannabis helped Marie Fleming (pictured), who lost a landmark Supreme Court challenge for the right to an assisted suicide, in ways that prescribed pain medication could not, her long-term partner Tom revealed.

Kenny meets Prime Minister of the Netherlands Niall Carson / PA Wire Niall Carson / PA Wire / PA Wire

Now, however, [Enda Kenny] is coming in to dump down on the House again by asking us to introduce something that Hitler himself, with the enabling act, would have been ashamed of.

Senator Ned O’Sullivan of Fianna Fáil was involved in angry scenes in the Upper House as the Government and Taoiseach Enda Kenny (pictured) were accused of trying to rig the banking inquiry in its favour.

James Heffernan Resigns Party Whip Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

You’ve made a complete and utter balls of it.

Senator James Heffernan also didn’t think highly of the situation.

10177293_10152155492893001_181160209_n An Garda Siochana An Garda Siochana

The relationship does continue to improve and An Garda Síochána is committed to building on that positive engagement with GSOC so as to ensure that there is an independent, objective and effective relationship between us, which is vital for maintaining public trust in policing

Acting Garda Commissioner Noirin O’Sullivan said that gardaí will accept the Cooke report’s recommendation for an improvement in the relationship between An Garda Siochana and GSOC.

Tuam mother and baby home infant death Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

There will be uproar if they take them up… That’s our biggest fear now since all this started. They should be marked and then left to rest in peace.

Maura Ryan, a member on the committee behind efforts to mark the grave of children at the Tuam mother-and-baby home, told the New York Times of her fears over the future of the investigation.

New Cigarette Packets Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Cigarette packets will no longer be a mobile advertisement for the tobacco industry.

Minister James Reilly on moves to introduce plain packaging for all cigarettes.

Read previous weeks in quotes >