TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Won’t somebody please think of the farmers?

Mayo County Council has a special appeal for road users – to give farmers room to go about their job at this busy agricultural season.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

MOTORISTS HAVE BEEN asked to pause for thought the next time they get stuck behind a tractor – and think of it as the farmers’ work place.

Mayo County Council has urged the motoring public to bear in mind that spring is a very busy time in the agricultural industry. The spreading of fertiliser and other season-sensitive tasks requires farmer to spend time on the road. The Road Safety Office of the council is urging patience and vigilance for these large and sometimes slow-moving vehicles, saying: “We need to give them a break and exercise some tolerance so they can move their machinery from field to field”. The office said:

The road safety campaign is also reminding people that a farm vehicle is part of a farmer’s workplace. They want drivers to be respectful in allowing farmers to do their job.

Drivers’ anxiety levels skyrocket when they get behind a tractor or combine. But keep in mind that equipment is likely not going too far, and will not hold you up for more than a few minutes.

Noel Gibbons, Road Safety Officer for the council, said that there is a very serious point behind the appeal. “Country roads are unpredictable,” he said, “and, therefore, present far more challenges to drivers. Country crashes often result in greater numbers of fatalities and injuries because vehicles are usually travelling at higher speeds.”

Mayo County Council had this advice to offer on sharing rural roads with farmers’ vehicles:

• Pass with care: Be observant of oncoming traffic and of other vehicles that may try to pass. Never pass when curves or hills block your view of oncoming vehicles, in a no-passing zone or within 100 feet of a juntion, railroad crossing or a bridge. Also be careful that the farmer is not pulling to the left to make a wide left right.
  • Be patient: Farmers are not operating equipment on rural roads to slow other drivers down intentionally; they are working to provide a safe food supply. Whenever possible, farmers will pull off the road to allow others to pass.
  • Slow down: Once you see agricultural vehicles, slow down immediately and be patient.
  • Remain visible: Don’t assume the farmer knows when you are driving near his vehicle. Although most farmers check behind them whenever possible, they are concentrating on keeping their equipment on the road and avoiding oncoming traffic. Before you pass, use your car’s horn to let the driver know where you are and not in an aggressive manner. Farmers may not be able to hear you over their equipment noise.
  • Yield to wide vehicles: Sometimes farm equipment is wider than travel lanes. If you approach wide equipment and cannot pass safely, stop. Watch for escort cars, which help to indicate an oversized vehicle. If you see one, pull off so the vehicle can pass you.

This table (compiled by Mayo County Council’s Road Safety Office) shows a higher percentage of collisions on a national level happen on roads in rural areas rather than in urban areas:

tableroads

The Rules of the Road outline safety procedures for tractors and state that they should keep to the left as much as possible “to let faster traffic pass”.

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• CMD 20/04/12 #

In some states in the US (not sure which) if you are causing a tailgate of 5 vehicles or more its the the law that you have to pull over and let them pass. And if u dont and the police catch u its a fine. Think that might be a good idea on roads in Ireland.

• I grew up mostly in the country and do understand the need for farmers to earn a living in a vastly changing environment that is not conducive to farming life. However they do have an equal responsibility to ensure they don’t hold up traffic, the farm vehicle has all its indicators working including the trailer and to ensure they don’t leave mud or slurry on the roads that can cause accidents.

• @ Mayo County Council- why don’t you have an awareness campaign aimed at farmers asking them to pull in when there is more than three cars behind them ? This is a common courtesy which seems to be lost on some farmers.

This is where the frustration brews up with motorists and as a result they are more likely to attempt unsafe passing manoeuvres.

• Barry 20/04/12 #

The single most frustrating thing for other road users when it comes to farmers is the need for farmers to drive for miles and miles with 10 or 20 cars behind them and never pulling in allowing other traffic to progress, I recently drove to Galway from the south east and met 4 tractors.

The first of which drove for over 10miles on narrow roads, twisting roads. it did have numerous opportunity to pull in but never did and because it had a trailer nobody could safely overtake, it drove at 15mph the whole way!

So yes while certainly some road users should have more cop on in relation to farmers it does certainly work both ways.

• Sound! Main problem being when some don’t take the chance to pull in when holding up a wave of traffic,no more guilty than many other road users with no spatial awareness and tunnel vision!

• I have often driven on main roads behind CARS that dont move beyond 20 to 30 mph and hug the whiteline so u cant overtake them, they surely are the cause of people taking a chance in overtaking when it may not be safe. At least when u are behind a tractor, u dont expect it to move very fast and u just have to be patient. But slow drivers on main roads or country roads are a hazard

• How about tractors pulling in an odd time to let traffic pass?

• I couldn’t be 100% sure on this but I think Sheila may be from a farming background….

• No excuse for bad and inconsiderate drivers be they on tractors, cars, trucks, bikes or buses. A real problem on rural roads is the lack of a hard shoulder to pull in safely, lack of modern engineered solutions create situations where heavily loaded or wide machines must travel some distance to find a gateway to pull in, then additional danger when they pull out into the road.

• Funny all this coming from Mayo County Council, the same council that has narrowed roads by taking in hard shoulders and creating high banks at the edge of the road so you cannot pull in anywhere. The N59 and the road to Belmullet is an absolute joke for doing this. If they left the roads wider, at least you could sort of pull in and use the hard shoulder to pass.

• From a farming background- but agree with the comments saying that farmers need to pull in wherever possible. It’s common courtesy, I’m delighted to be living amongst many tractor drivers with extraordinary abilities when it comes to pulling in and letting the flow of traffic off. Smart driving- it applies to bikes, cars, tractors, you should see the road from other peoples point of view. If you take your tractor and trailer out and are oblivious to the 50 cars behind you on the road at 8:50 on the road you are not living in the real world!! Some farmers are fantastic, hard working, very smart and polite…. Some are not… Human nature

• If the commenter “Made” has paid his road tax how could he possibly have less of a right to be on the road as a farmer? Because he’s possibly a “townie”? Your inherent mistrust of anything or anyone from out of town is a bit ridiculous. Farmers have a right to go about their tasks just as other road users do, end of story. A bit of compromise on both sides would be nice. Wasn’t there a high(ish) profile case somewhere about some guy holding up traffic in his tractor and not allowing anyone to pass even though he had several opportunities to do so. He has prosecuted and fined. If I were to take that as a precedent then what he did was “unlawful”. Having said that, the people he delayed were probably “townies” and therefore not entitled to even be there, the dirty bowsies!

• “Be careful that the farmer is not pulling to the left to make a wide left right”… Because many of them haven’t bothered fixing indicators on their tractor/trailer that broke five years ago. Many more just don’t bother indicating full stop. And don’t even get me started on unlit trailers at night.

“Don’t assume that the farmer knows when you are driving near his vehicle”… Because many of them haven’t bothered fixing mirrors that broke five years ago, haven’t bothered fitting mirror extensions to enable them to see behind their high-sided trailer, or just don’t bother to look in the mirror.

“The Rules of the Road state that they (tractors) should keep to the left as much as possible to let faster traffic pass”… Read all the above comments.

• I have not come across one farmer who cleans up the public road when their machinery leaves mud or even slurry they are blissfully unaware of the fact that they are legally obliged to do so
    Interestingly it’s Mayo people complaining AGAIN

• Cars stuck up the arse of tractors are the biggest cause of problems. They can’t overtake cause their vision is reduced. Stay 50 meters back and overtake when it’s clear ahead. It’s not easy for tractor drivers pulling in on uneven roadsides where every bump rocks the hell out of the tractor.

• And I think a lot on here aren’t do don’t know what they talking about
    I am and I’m proud of it my dad is 82 still farming away it’s a life long job 7 days a week no matter the weather

• They do pay for diesel it’s agriculture diesel!
    Not ever farmer drives the same way same car driver dosnt drive same way
    It’s one of the hardest jobs out there along with fishing! Most farmers work 7 days a week and can’t retire at 65 so show some respect!

• Most farmers who have the misfortune of using the road a lot are people who take huge pride in their machines. New lights, washed weekly and generally minded better than most peoples cars. The greatest bug bear possibly has to be bad drivers who do not understand the physics of towing trailers etc and im sure any lorry driver will agree. People passing you when you are indicating right and keeping to the left so as to make the turn is scary and people who drive up too close at a t junction and cut off your room to turn and wave, flash lights and beep for you to come on are just down right irritating.

• Also farmers are tragically under represented bere because most of them are out working in our most profitable industry instead of sitting in an office pretending to work and commenting on the journal.

• our most profitable industry?
      How much of it comes from EU payments/subsidies?

• Or the industry who can’t wait to get rid of european restrictions, hence european subsidies.

• @Keith Graham

… and your point Keith? Yes, I grew up on a farm, and loved every minute of it and miss it so much now. Simple times, but hard work. My father would get up at 5am every morning and still be working at 8/9pm at night. Had his 2 hips replaced and then taken out (was able to walk on a walking aid for years!) R.I.P. My mother did the same. I get my morals and respect for others from them. Never would he go out on a road without tax and insurance on all vehicles. Was insured for many, many years with FBD. like Caroline’s Father, worked 7 days a week. Would get a call from the farmer up the road at 3am to help him with a cow that was calving. God, wish I was back there in those times.

I have to say, keith, thank you for joining the thread, as I was able to talk about my Father and the hard work farmers do in all weather. As someone mentioned above, just like someone driving a car with no tax/insurance, same goes to a farmer, report them!

• If we are to consider the tractor as a workplace, will they get fined for smoking in their tractors?

• made 20/04/12 #

And what about farmers respecting other motorists and not thinking that they own the road and poodle along as if no – one else matters only them.Most of them won’t even pull over and leave the traffic off if and when they get a chance. I live in the middle of the countryside and come up against this everyday so don’t tell me to respect the farmers.

• @Made

Not to disrespect your busy life and all that good stuff, but if you are/were originally from the ‘countryside’ you would have a huge understanding that the country roads (the name should explain everything) only had tractors and locals on them for many years. Now there are many ‘townies’ moving to the country and thus, causing more traffic. When this happened, the farmers, unfortunately, could not lift up their piece of land and move it! A lot of small farmers would just have a field or two at the home. Now, they rent or have bought another few fields to help them earn a living, but unfortunately these fields may be a mile or two away from the yard/house.

They have as much right, if not more to be on the roads as you do. Some old tractors cannot go any faster than 20mph more modern ones can move much quicker actually to the speed set for that country road! So if you don’t like it, move to a town or city.

• Sheila these farmers didn mind the “townies” movin to the country when he was fleecin them for sites.im from the country side n no for a fact the majority of tractors arent taxed there fore shouldn be on the road never mind the fact a lot of them are bein driven by underage kids with no licence

• @PJ Kiernan

Not sure where you’re getting your information, but if that is the case, why don’t you report it instead of just writing it here on a thread? If it a known ‘fact’ as you call it, report it. I don’t believe you. They have as much right to sell their land to someone as a site for a home as a developer in a village/town/city. It is a great thing to be able to live in the country. Are you saying that the farmer is not entitled to be paid the going rate? Why, because he’s a farmer. Explain?

I know many farmers and they would never attempt to go on a public road and most certainly would not and has never been allowed without a tax disk on the screen. I know of no farmer that allows a ‘child’ to drive a tractor. In fact, my nephew in Monaghan has actually done the theory test and has just past his test (17) to drive the tractors on his neighbours land. He has helped him as a teenager for a number of years. The man is old now and is delighted that my nephew can help him this summer. His parents and the farmer would never allow him to touch any vehicle until he had his test done. Might I add also, he paid for his own lessons! So …. I don’t know where you live, but if I were you, as you seem to know of farmers that don’t have tax on their tractors, stop giving out about it and do something about it! Report them!

• @Barry

I noticed that you mentioned the farmer not only was on his tractor but was also pulling a trailer behind. You also mentioned that you were driving on narrow roads, twisting roads. You may feel that there areas that he could have pulled in, but remember, he was pulling a huge trailer behind. The places you say he could have pulled into may not have been large enough for his tractor and trailer to pull in safely. I take it on board, maybe, maybe there are a few that could pull in just like car drivers that are out for a ‘sunday’ drive (7 days a week!!) taking in the views, not a care in the world for drivers behind them and drivers who ‘hog’ the outside lane of a dual carriageway. There will always be careless, thoughtless drivers like that until they are given points for doing so, they’ll continue doing it.

• mattoid 20/04/12 #

Intelligent comment

• The majority of these tractors arent taxed so shouldn be on the road n they dont need mirrors cause the 12 year old drivin it never seen mirrors on it because they wer broke years ago

• Oh I grew up on a farm, the sun rises from our arses, we’re never wrong. Everyone else is wrong. Coming onto our roads, the cheek of ye!
    “This is a local road, for local people, there’s nothing for you here”!
    No idea how stupid, ignorant and bigoted you sound at times. Idiocy.

• When Im down the country its great to see the tractors on the road. They slow the traffic down and help to stop the speeding on the roads.

• In France, Farmers are only permitted to use farm vehicles on roads between particular hours!

• Think of the farmers ??? What a joke, i too live in the country-side and can honestly say how arrigant farmers are, they have no respect what so ever about the person behind them, never mind that these people might be trying to get to a hospital or to a school or where ever they may need to be, it only takes seconds for a farmer to pull in and let the traffic pass as apposed to putting the people in a (sometimes) life threating position to over take, and in an unrelated toppic why is it OK for farmers to drive for miles on the roads for both business and PLEASURE as down here where i live its extremely common to see the farmers drive to the villages to do shopping ect in there tractors that are fueled by the cheap agricultaral diesel, that apparently is Not allowed to be used on public road ways, perhaps if they were paying the price of normal road diesel they wouldnt be on the roads as often,,, THINK OF THE FARMERS the way they think of us

• @Kieran OLeary

Get over yourself! They may not have a car! They may be on their way from the yard to the field ‘up the road’ and called in on their way to get a bottle of water, paper etc. How dare you give yourself more rights to be on the roads! How dare you! They might actually be getting bread and milk for the old lady/gentleman down the road, in the middle of nowhere, no way of getting to the shop, on their way to work in the field in that direction.

You have no idea. If you had, you wouldn’t be spouting the crap your throwing out of your mouth! Live a little, and come back and give a proper grown up opinion on ‘living in the country’ looking after old neighbours!

• mattoid 20/04/12 #

@Sheila, fair enough if they are on the way to or from fields, but other than that it is illegal to use a commercial vehicle for ‘social, domestic or pleasure purposes’.
      The rest of us have to comply with the law but you seem to be suggesting that farmers should be an exception.

• Your diseal arguement is horribly flawed too. A car will do 40/60 mpg whereas a tractor will 8/10 at road speeds

• Mjhint 20/04/12 #

@ matthiod. Your information is wrong on insurance

• mattoid 20/04/12 #

@Mjhint
      I didn’t say anything about insurance. The fact is that if a vehicle is registered and taxed as a commercial it is illegal to use it for any other purpose. This is not always enforced, but it is still the law.

• matthoid the law makes exceptions for tractors owned by single elderly men and women. it was brought up when the pub rulings were brought in and it was discussed exhaustedly when the tax issue was brought up.

• How many of these law abiding farmers have licences to tow a trailer. Nenagh gardai had a checkpoint last week outside the Mart and did 86 farmer for not having licences.

• Kieran O’Leary

And you know for a fact that they are using them for ‘pleasure’ and not heading to the field up from the farm? Right, you know best, as I said to the other person on this thread, report them, if it is a case that they are out for ‘pleasure’.

Add New Comment