This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 20 °C Tuesday 17 July, 2018
Advertisement

COMPETITION: Here are the books you should be picking up this World Book Day

Plus: Win one of three €100 Easons.com eVouchers.

THERE IS NOTHING better than taking time out to delve into a new book – you can escape from your everyday life and its issues and give your brain a break for a while.

Whether you’re a regular reader or you haven’t picked up a book in a while, you might be looking for something new to read.

It’s World Book Day today, so we’ve put together a list of recommended books to get you started – and ones for the young people and kids in your life.

To make things even easier, we also have three x €100 Easons.com eVouchers to give away. Details on how to win are at the bottom of the article.

Adult books 

Current bestellers:

All the Light We Cannot See Source: Easons.com

  • Room by Emma Donohue

The book that the Oscar-winning film of the same name is based on, written by the Oscar-nominated Irish author. A must-read.

  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

American Doerr writes about a blind girl who lives in Paris during WWII, and how she crosses paths with a German boy who lives in a children’s home. This won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize.

  • The Perfect Gift by Emma Hannigan

One for fans of Cathy Kelly or Patricia Scanlan, this is about a woman who receives a letter from her biological mother that shakes her world.

  • The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

Ishiguro (author of Never Let Me Go) travels into Britain’s mythical past for a novel that sees him take on the fantasy genre.

  • My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout 

Critics have been raving about this new novel by the author of Olive Kitteridge.

Here are our staff picks:

Catch 22 Source: Easons.com

  • Emer McLysaght: Rachel’s Holiday by Marian Keyes
  • Christine Bohan: The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson.
  • Steve O’Rourke: The Minotaur Takes a Cigarette Break by Steve Sherrill
  • Susan Daly: That They May Face The Rising Sun by John McGahern
  • Sinead O’Carroll: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  • Quinton O’Reilly: A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
  • Cormac Fitzgerald: Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  • Thomas Fanning: Catch 22 by Joseph Heller

Just Kids Source: Easons.com

  • Edel Corrigan: The House of Sand and Fog by Andre Dubus III
  •  Michael Freeman: Miami by Joan Didion
  • Paul Hosford: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • Fiona Hyde: The Cider House Rules by John Irving
  • Peter Bodkin: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
  • Sinead Casey: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon
  • Paul Fennessy: Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald
  • Eoghan Hynes: Maus by Art Spiegelman
  • Aoife Barry: Just Kids by Patti Smith

Young adult books

Asking for It Source: Easons.com

  • Plain Jane by Kim Hood (12+)

16-year-old Jane lives in her little sister’s shadow, and struggles to look after herself.

  • Needlework by Deirdre Sullivan (14+)

Brand new book by the author of the Prim series, about a young girl trying to escape domestic abuse.

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (13+)

A tale about the kids at the Watford School of Magicks – one for Harry Potter fans.

  • Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

An up-to-date book about a girl, a podcast that goes viral, and facing up to fears.

  • Asking for It by Louise O’Neill

The critically lauded second book by Corkonian author O’Neill, about a teenage girl who is sexually assaulted at a party.

Kids’ books

Grandpa's Great Escape Source: Easons.com

  • Grandpa’s Great Escape by David Walliams

A story about a grandad who thinks he’s back in WWII, and the grandson who’s the only one who can understand him.

  • The BFG by Roald Dahl

The classic Dahl tale – soon to be made into a movie – about the Big Friendly Giant who brings us our dreams.

  • Old School: Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinny

The latest in the ever-popular Diary of a Wimpy Kid range.

  • The Easter Rising 1916 – Molly’s Diary by Patricia Murphy

A timely book that will help young children understand what happened during the Rising, told from the perspective of a child.

  • The Book With No Pictures by BJ Novak

A silly and cute book written by comedian Novak, perfect for reading aloud.

The World Book Day website also has some great resource packs for young Irish readers.

Competition

To be in with a chance of winning one of three €100 Easons.com eVouchers, just email your name to competitions@thejournal.ie, with email subject ‘Easons competition’.

To get you started, we also have a promo code that will get you a discount of 20% off  on Easons.com from today until midnight 6 March: JOURNALWBD.

Terms & Conditions:

  • Discounts codes are only valid on easons.com.
  • Discounts do not apply to eBooks, eVouchers, eReaders, magazine subscriptions.
  • Discounts codes are not valid in any Eason retail/franchise outlet.
  • Discount codes are not valid on easonschoolbooks.com unless otherwise stated in the promotion.
  • Discount offers exclude postage.
  • Discount codes cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer, including Buy1 Get1 Half Price offers.
  • Discount codes must be entered in the Promotional code box in the basket at the time of purchase. Discounts cannot be applied retrospectively.
  • Offer expires midnight, Sunday 6 March.

Read: “I take a perverse pride in being fired so spectacularly and internationally”>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

COMMENTS (19)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel