We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Dáil Éireann

Enda Kenny's new coalition cabinet, in pictures

Our guide to who’s who in the new team of 15 tasked with running the country under the stewardship of Enda Kenny.

AFTER DAYS OF SPECULATION, newly-appointed Taoiseach Enda Kenny has named his cabinet for the 31st Dáil – and, as expected, it contains ten Fine Gael TDs and five from coalition partner Labour.

Some of the government portfolios have been divided differently by Kenny, with defence merged into the same department as justice and a full minister for children.

Marie Whelan SC has been nominated the country’s first female Attorney General.

Here’s‘s guide to the allocation of cabinet posts and the history and experience of the new team:

Enda Kenny's new coalition cabinet, in pictures
1 / 17
  • Enda Kenny - Taoiseach

  • Eamon Gilmore - Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs

  • Michael Noonan - Minister for Finance

  • Ruairi Quinn - Minister for Education and Skills

  • Brendan Howlin - Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform

  • Richard Bruton - Minister for Enterprise, Jobs and Economic Planning

  • Joan Burton - Minister for Social Protection

  • Jimmy Deenihan - Minister for Arts, Heritage and Gaeltacht Affairs

  • Pat Rabbitte - Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources

  • Phil Hogan - Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government

  • Alan Shatter - Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence

  • Simon Coveney - Minister for Agriculture, Marine and Food

  • Frances Fitzgerald - Minister for Children

  • James Reilly - Minister for Health

  • Leo Varadkar - Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport

  • Paul Kehoe - Government Chief Whip and Junior Minister at Dept of an Taoiseach

  • Willie Penrose - Junior Minister with responsibility for Housing and Planning

Additional reporting by Susan Ryan

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.