Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.
OK
Image: Shutterstock/CREATISTA

Quick lesson: How to delete everything you search for on Facebook

You need to do this.
Dec 24th 2014, 2:25 PM 23,379 10

WHEN YOU SEARCH for something on Facebook, the site automatically saves your queries to make it easier for you to find things later.

You, and only you, can see what you’ve searched for.

At least, that’s the intention.

For the paranoid out there, this tallied list of everyone and everything you’ve ever searched for on Facebook is an embarrassing treasure trove just waiting to be discovered. Think about how often you accidentally leave your account logged on on someone else’s computer.

There’s no need to open yourself up to a potentially awkward situation. Here’s how you can erase everything you search for on Facebook.

  • Click on the settings icon up in the right corner of your homepage. Then, navigate to the ‘Activity Log’ option in the drop-down menu.

PastedImage-5000

  • On the left panel of your main Activity Log page, you’ll see an option that says “More.” Click it. Near the bottom, you’ll see a “Search” option. Click that next. 

PastedImage-46930

Voila! There’s your search history. A little embarrassing, huh? You can delete one item at a time using the option at the right for each search query, or remove everything all at once by clicking “Clear Searches” at the top.

PastedImage-62047

This is what the final results should look like once you’ve cleared all your searches.

PastedImage-21753

And that’s that. You are welcome.

Send a tip to the author

Business Insider

COMMENTS (10)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

     
    cancel reply
    Back to top