Advertisement
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 3°C Thursday 3 December 2020

#home highlights

# home-highlights - Monday 30 March, 2020

6 places to display houseplants when you don't have a lot of space

Time to get creative.

# home-highlights - Monday 23 March, 2020

Switch off: 6 living room layout suggestions that don't focus on the TV

Turn away from the box and toward the fireplace, the view outside or an eye-catching piece of art.

# home-highlights - Monday 16 March, 2020

No cocktail glasses to display? 6 alternative uses for that bar cart you just bought

Jump on board with the bar cart trend even if your drinks collection isn’t worthy of showing off.

# home-highlights - Monday 9 March, 2020

Channel surfer: 6 stylish but functional alternatives to a basic TV stand

Enhance your viewing experience, even when the TV’s off.

# home-highlights - Monday 2 March, 2020

Off the rails: 6 ways to store clothes when you've run out of wardrobe space

Ditch the floordrobe in favour of some more streamlined ideas.

# home-highlights - Monday 24 February, 2020

Darling buds: 6 flower vases to brighten your home with instant spring colour

Bring spring in with natural wood and quirky ceramics.

# home-highlights - Monday 17 February, 2020

6 stylish door knob updates to refresh tired kitchen cabinets

From hidden to decorative designs, get a handle on things.

# home-highlights - Friday 7 February, 2020

6 ways to add bold colour and personality to a tiny bathroom

From vibrant wallpaper to tiling, these changes would make a big difference in a small space.

# home-highlights - Monday 3 February, 2020

Fired up: 6 ways to turn your mantelpiece into the focal point of your living room

From flowers to fun prints, make the most of a permanent feature.

# home-highlights - Monday 27 January, 2020

Take a seat: 6 kitchen chairs that are as durable as they are stylish

Does most of your dining happen at the kitchen table? Then you’ll need chairs that are up to the task.

# home-highlights - Monday 20 January, 2020

Bright sparks: 6 statement lamps that will be the focal point of your space

Find a lamp that’s functional and stands out too.

# home-highlights - Monday 13 January, 2020

Put away the paint: 6 simple design changes for a front door that stands out

From an eye-catching doormat to some brand new finishings.

# home-highlights - Monday 6 January, 2020

Time to reflect: 6 super-stylish bathroom mirrors to make your washroom wonderful

Liven up your loo with one of these eye-catching additions.

# home-highlights - Friday 20 December, 2019

Cuddle up: 6 super-soft blankets and throws for your next night in

New Year’s Eve movie night? Snuggle up with these great buys.

# home-highlights - Tuesday 17 December, 2019

Just one more: 6 little extras that will transform the look of your Christmas table

The best part? You can get away with using these items year-round.

# home-highlights - Friday 13 December, 2019

Not just the tree: 6 seasonal extras that will add magic to your living room

Need some finishing touches? Try an indoor wreath or a mantelpiece garland.

# home-highlights - Monday 9 December, 2019

Small living room? 6 space-saving alternatives to a traditional Christmas tree

Skip the 8ft tree and opt for a more compact solution this year.

# home-highlights - Monday 2 December, 2019

6 festive ways to bring Christmas cheer to your front door this season

From welcoming wreaths to pleasing plants, here’s how to get your front door ready for Christmas.

# home-highlights - Monday 25 November, 2019

Let it all hang out: 6 coat hooks for a welcoming and uncluttered hallway

From handy hooks to big built-in units.

# home-highlights - Monday 18 November, 2019

Sitting pretty: 6 high stools that are perfect for your kitchen island

From casual bar stools to upholstered seats, make the most of island life.

# home-highlights - Monday 11 November, 2019

6 ways to add personality to your walls - without hanging yet another framed print

Want to go print-free? Here’s how to create a gallery wall that goes beyond the norm.

# home-highlights - Monday 4 November, 2019

Make an entrance: 6 vibrant floor runners that will instantly warm up your hallway

Spruce up a narrow entryway with these stand-out rugs.

# home-highlights - Friday 25 October, 2019

Switch on: 6 larger-than-life light fixtures to brighten up your home this winter

From large pendants to modern chandeliers.

# home-highlights - Monday 21 October, 2019

Hidden gems: 6 sneaky storage solutions to keep your clutter tucked away

Built-ins or budget-friendly furniture ideas for getting more storage into your home.

# home-highlights - Monday 14 October, 2019

Pull up a seat: 6 dining tables that are stylish and functional all at once

From clear glass tops to tables on wheels.

# home-highlights - Monday 7 October, 2019

Kid-friendly: 6 storage solutions to keep bedrooms and playrooms clutter-free

Shelves with baskets and toyboxes with lids to make toy storage simpler (and more stylish).

# home-highlights - Monday 30 September, 2019

Sit up and take notice: 6 statement sofas for a living room that stands out

From supple leather to dramatic colourful velvet, these sofas offer stylish inspiration.

# home-highlights - Monday 23 September, 2019

Light up: 6 striking ways to create a cosy glow with candles

Hang them, float them or pop them in an upgraded tealight holder. Here’s how to warm up as the evenings get darker.

# home-highlights - Monday 16 September, 2019

Blending in: 6 stylish sideboards for storage that doesn't look like storage

These beautiful units do two jobs at once – enhancing your space and hiding away hard-to-store items.

# home-highlights - Monday 9 September, 2019

Hey, good looking: 6 baby and toddler furniture pieces that are both practical and cute

From colourful stools with storage, to mini open wardrobes, these ideas are smart and stylish.

# home-highlights - Monday 2 September, 2019

Branching out: 6 super-stylish alternatives to a standard plastic plant pot

Time to turn over a new leaf with your indoor greenery.

# home-highlights - Monday 26 August, 2019

6 curtains, blinds and shutters that look great and keep the light out

Get even more shut-eye with these top window treatments.

# home-highlights - Monday 19 August, 2019

6 garden accessories to brighten up your outdoor space all year round

Sure to give you a good view from your window – even when it’s raining.

# home-highlights - Monday 12 August, 2019

6 desks that will make working from home feel more productive

You won’t have to drag yourself out of bed for these top tables.

# home-highlights - Friday 2 August, 2019

6 stylish kitchen bins that are anything but rubbish

Find a beautiful design that you’ll want to show off.

# home-highlights - Monday 29 July, 2019

6 wardrobe ideas that will give you more hanging space (without taking up the whole room)

Storage can be as stylish as your clothing.

# home-highlights - Monday 22 July, 2019

Clean up your bathroom: 6 sleek alternatives to your plastic shower curtain

Leave curtains for the windows and invest in a clean-lined alternative.

# home-highlights - Monday 15 July, 2019

6 ways to add extra working space to a tiny kitchen - from smart trolleys to sliding shelves

These ideas will maximise workflow instantly.

# home-highlights - Monday 8 July, 2019

6 ways to be creative with bathroom storage - and still keep everything within reach

Here’s how to tidy up that stack of toiletries once and for all.

# home-highlights - Monday 1 July, 2019

Child's play: 6 fun kids' bedroom accessories that will create a little magic

Let your inner child go wild.

1 2