Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 14 °C Saturday 20 April, 2019

#Homes

# homes - Tuesday 1 December, 2015

Fairy lights could be slowing down your broadband, watchdog warns

Other household items that were flagged as slowing down wifi were microwave ovens, baby monitors and lamps.

# homes - Wednesday 25 November, 2015

Plans for modular housing slammed as building actual houses would be cheaper

The department has said it is building houses but it will be two years before they come on stream and this is the solution in the meantime.

# homes - Monday 16 November, 2015

Homeowners who bought in the boom shell out €6,000 more a year for their mortgages

Homeowners who bought in the boom shell out €6,000 more a year for their mortgages

The difference in mortgage repayments is almost 66%.

# homes - Tuesday 13 October, 2015

Nama to build 80 new homes a week over next five years

Most of these will be houses and there will be a focus on starter homes.

# homes - Monday 28 September, 2015

How many empty council houses are there in your county?

There are 2,600 countrywide.

# homes - Monday 21 September, 2015

Three 20-something entrepreneurs just launched an Airbnb for refugees

The website operates pretty much like Airbnb. People, called “heroes”, offer up spare rooms in their homes for refugees to temporarily stay in.

# homes - Saturday 12 September, 2015

What's it like to live "off the grid"?

This couple found out.

# homes - Friday 28 August, 2015

# homes - Wednesday 26 August, 2015

House prices went up again last month and they're not stopping

But the rate of property price increases is slowing.

# homes - Saturday 8 August, 2015

The most expensive homes for sale in Silicon Valley right now

Tech millionaires do alright for themselves.

# homes - Wednesday 29 July, 2015

# homes - Thursday 23 July, 2015

Take 4: Homes for every budget

Here is our pick of properties from €250k up to €1 million.

# homes - Monday 13 July, 2015

Can an Eircode change your address? No - here's why

We put your questions to the Department of Communications.

# homes - Thursday 9 July, 2015

Take 4: Homes for every budget

Here is our pick of properties from €250k up to €1 million.

# homes - Thursday 14 May, 2015

What part of the country will bring you the biggest return on investment property?

Investors can expect a return of between 5% and 8% broadly speaking.

# homes - Tuesday 5 May, 2015

Two bags of bombs were left near army base in residential area

The bags were left by a fence and were set to explode at 11.35pm last night.

# homes - Tuesday 21 April, 2015

A whole estate of 46 houses sold for nearly €3 million today

Sixty-five grand a house. Not bad.

# homes - Tuesday 31 March, 2015

Irish Water to start fixing leaks - even if they're inside your gate

The company said it has identified leaks at Irish homes that are wasting enough water to fill 18 Olympic pools each day.

# homes - Saturday 28 February, 2015

How will the new mortgage rules impact first-time buyers?

It’s tough out there. How tough?

# homes - Sunday 25 January, 2015

Poll: Do you plan to buy your own home? Your Say This post contains a poll

Poll: Do you plan to buy your own home?

Are you a lifelong renter or do you want the property ladder?

# homes - Monday 19 January, 2015

Up to 6,500 homes left without water

Workers with NI Water are currently involved in a dispute over pensions.

# homes - Saturday 17 January, 2015

This gorgeous eco-friendly house produces more than 3 times the energy it needs

Architects haven’t scrimped on luxury… The extra energy is used to heat an outdoor swimming pool, and there’s a sauna too.

# homes - Friday 9 January, 2015

Mother and baby home survivor: My son is in his 42nd year - I might never get to hug him

Survivors of mother and baby homes were given clarity today on the powers that will be given to the commission of inquiry.

# homes - Thursday 8 January, 2015

The Government is on track to finally investigate mother-and-baby homes

Survivors want a fully inclusive inquiry into what happened to them.

# homes - Wednesday 7 January, 2015

The IMF is a fan of the Central Bank's mortgage rules

But it says that reform of the rental market is needed.

# homes - Monday 5 January, 2015

Mortgage rates drop: First Permanent TSB, now BoI ring in the changes

But only new customers will reap the full rewards.

# homes - Sunday 4 January, 2015

Homes destroyed in worst bushfires in South Australia for three decades

More than a dozen homes have already been destroyed in the fire and there are concerns that lives could be at risk.

# homes - Saturday 3 January, 2015

Dozens of homes feared destroyed by raging fires in South Australia

Firefighters have been struggling to contain the blaze due to strong winds.

# homes - Friday 2 January, 2015

# homes - Friday 19 December, 2014

Six homeless people just got the keys to their new houses

It’s all thanks to ALONE.

# homes - Wednesday 17 December, 2014

Fears that survivors will die before mother-and-baby home probe even begins

The founder of one survivors’ group said they don’t want any more p

# homes - Friday 12 December, 2014

Mother-and-baby home survivors want fully inclusive inquiry into what happened to them

It is anticipated the terms of reference of the Commission of Inquiry will be discussed by Cabinet next week.

# homes - Thursday 11 December, 2014

Trying to work with an older extension - how one architect solved the problem

A Wexford couple wanted a bigger kitchen – they got a whole new feel to their home into the bargain.

# homes - Thursday 4 December, 2014

Take 4: Homes for every budget around Ireland

Here is our pick of properties from €250,000… up to €1 million.

# homes - Friday 28 November, 2014

Austrian police raid homes, prayer rooms and mosques for jihad recruiters

150 people have so far been discovered leaving Austria to join jihadists in Syria and Iraq.

# homes - Thursday 30 October, 2014

Would you live in apartment blocks like these? Sure you would

A fresh view on apartment living at the World Architecture Festival.

Hot Property: Light and space at Cuil Min

A perfect family home.

Opinion: Six things that need to change in Ireland's rental market

The rented sector as we traditionally know it is not keeping pace in terms of quantity or quality.

# homes - Wednesday 29 October, 2014

WATCH: People are fleeing their homes because of this deadly lava

The lava is from the Kilauea volcano, and is flowing 17 metres an hour.

# homes - Thursday 23 October, 2014

Hot Property: Sea views to live for at St Leonard's

Tea for one on the breakfast deck please.