Skip to content
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal

'We spend hours sitting in the snug': Inside this Clonmel home with mountain views

Ramune Morrissey wanted a balance between tranquility and convenience.
Jan 20th 2020, 5:31 PM 4,586 0

About your home

Where? Co Waterford, a few miles from Clonmel

What type of house? A detached new build

How many bedrooms and bathrooms? Four bedrooms and three bathrooms

When did you move in? March 2018 

About you

Name: Ramune Morrissey

Age: 36

Occupation: Hospital support staff member

Who else lives there? My husband, Tom

What made you choose this home over others?

We had the option to live in Clonmel town, but Tom and I both grew up in the countryside and we really missed nature, singing birds in the morning, and the peace and quiet. 

So, we decided to build instead. We wanted our house to be in the countryside, but still close to both of our jobs. It was also very important to be near to my husband’s family, as we are very close.

What is your favourite place in your home?

Definitely the snug beside the dining area. It has a couch and a huge window looking towards the Knockmealdown mountains.

We love sitting there for hours and just looking at the view. Also, it is a very handy corner when we have friends for dinner. It seems that everybody loves the snug.

Is there any part of the home you don’t like?

I don’t think so! I don’t think we have been living in the house long enough to find faults. 

Is there any part of your home that makes it unique?

It has to be our sitting room. It is upstairs with a huge window taking up one full wall.

It’s facing south-west, so the sun is always in the room. It is looking toward both the Knockmealdown and Galtee Mountains.

During the summer, the mountains are so green, and in the winter when the temperatures are low, we can see the white hats on them. It’s amazing!

Take us through an average day in your house, room by room. 

7am: This is when my husband and I start our days during the week. I work on shifts and he works Monday to Friday. Having more than one bathroom is helpful in the morning. Laundry is put on the clothes horse and left to dry in our warm house.

8am: We have a dog, Bella, and rabbit, Floppy, so before we leave for work, we feed them and bring Bella outside for a run. We both have breakfast at work.

5pm: This is when my husband gets home from work. He takes some time to look after the animals again after the long day. 

8.30pm: This is when I get home from work. I have a shower, a little snack and then I’m ready to relax for the evening before it starts all over again. 

Weekends: When we are both off, we often try to make small improvements. While my husband is a minimalist, I like to add lovely decorative touches, such as a piece of restored furniture or some tasteful flower arrangements. 

Is there anything you’d do differently if you were doing it again?

I don’t think so. We really put a huge amount of our time into planning our house. It really paid off and now it seems that everything is working just fine.

More: ‘Every room is filled with things we love’: Inside a cosy family four bed in Co Down

Get inspired with home features, design tips and real rooms straight to your inbox each week

Send a tip to the author

Orla Dwyer


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top