Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 19 °C Saturday 4 July, 2020

#iOS

# ios - Saturday 16 April, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring a way to get your family to put their phones down, telling your friends ‘I told you so’ and an endless runner with a twist.

# ios - Thursday 14 April, 2016

Should you buy the iPhone SE?

A simple question but one with a more complicated answer.

# ios - Saturday 9 April, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring bad corgis, self-improvement and blocky mazes.

# ios - Wednesday 6 April, 2016

Can a black background really extend your phone's battery life?

It really depends on the type of display your phone has.

# ios - Tuesday 5 April, 2016

This iPhone bug lets you talk Siri into giving you its contacts and photos

The bug only works for those who have an iPhone 6s or 6s Plus and downloaded the latest version of iOS.

# ios - Sunday 3 April, 2016

You can do more with your smartphone alarm than just set the time

Making it go off on certain days and using the volume buttons to snooze are some of the things you can do.

# ios - Saturday 2 April, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring Nintendo’s first app, a king rabbit and turning your speech into text.

# ios - Friday 1 April, 2016

iPhone freezing up after tapping on links? The latest update will fix it

The bug was found in the latest update to iOS, version 9.3, and caused iPhones to freeze after clicking on app links.

# ios - Wednesday 30 March, 2016

iPhone users: You know you can assign different ringtones to your friends, right?

It’s handy to know whether it’s work or your best friend that’s trying to contact you.

# ios - Monday 28 March, 2016

Is your iPhone acting weird after the latest update?

Some users are complaining about the screen freezing and other issues associated with the iOS 9.3 update.

# ios - Saturday 26 March, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring a quick way to transfer your CD collection to Spotify, kids learning music and a strategic board game.

# ios - Wednesday 23 March, 2016

Headwreck: How to make those annoying apps that come with your phone disappear

Apps that you can’t delete can take up space unnecessarily but there are workarounds.

# ios - Sunday 20 March, 2016

This is how you make sure your apps only update over WiFi

Usually, your apps update automatically, but it’s good to check.

# ios - Saturday 19 March, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring a way to play with real pets, reactive radio and a dog’s dreams.

# ios - Sunday 13 March, 2016

Your iPhone has a hidden emoticon keyboard that you can access

But only if you want more emoticons than you know what to do with.

# ios - Saturday 12 March, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring zooming GIFs, photos in van Gogh’s art style and a race to be king.

# ios - Wednesday 9 March, 2016

Here's how you can identify (and stop) annoying background apps

You don’t need to have games running in the background and draining your battery life.

# ios - Sunday 6 March, 2016

Here's how you can stop people from reading your texts

And the details of almost every notification that appears on your phone.

# ios - Saturday 5 March, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring Wikipedia re-imagined, music makers and walkie-talkies.

# ios - Thursday 3 March, 2016

Android fans are annoyed over rumours that a key feature is being removed

The app drawer has been a key feature of Android for many years, but it could be removed in the next update.

# ios - Wednesday 2 March, 2016

This is how you can activate light alerts on your phone

Should you need a different way to keep yourself alerted to new updates.

# ios - Saturday 27 February, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring counting, completing tasks through cards and a master swordsman’s journey.

# ios - Wednesday 24 February, 2016

Here's the quick way to save battery on your phone

Should you need to prioritise longevity over functionality.

# ios - Saturday 20 February, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring photo ideas, public WiFi and 3D geometric shapes.

# ios - Wednesday 17 February, 2016

Still have your iPhone headphones? You can do quite a few things with them

They can do more than just change the volume or pause a song.

# ios - Saturday 13 February, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring personal podcasting, figuring out what to watch and drawing your own story.

# ios - Saturday 6 February, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring round calendars, bare-bones radio and surviving in an alien world.

# ios - Sunday 31 January, 2016

From Business ETC Want to make your phone more useful? Try automating tasks TechKnowHow

Want to make your phone more useful? Try automating tasks

It might not be for everyone but it can speed tasks up or allow you to carry out entirely different actions.

# ios - Saturday 30 January, 2016

From Business ETC 5 apps worth downloading this week Pick Me

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring train times, dozing off to podcasts and expressions for alarms.

# ios - Monday 25 January, 2016

From Business ETC There's a prank website that will crash your iPhone when you visit it Too Many Characters

There's a prank website that will crash your iPhone when you visit it

Thankfully it won’t do any major harm if you do end up clicking it.

# ios - Saturday 23 January, 2016

From Business ETC 5 apps worth downloading this week Pick Me

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring oldschool Mega Man action, watching YouTube on any iPad app and quick notes

# ios - Saturday 16 January, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring jetpack fighters, habit trackers, and a music player for Dropbox users.

# ios - Tuesday 12 January, 2016

iPhone users will soon have more reason to look at their screens at night

The next version of iOS will include a night mode which will reduce blue light on the screen and adjust it to a warmer temperature.

# ios - Saturday 9 January, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring hoverboards, identifying items for the blind and 3D clips.

# ios - Wednesday 6 January, 2016

Need a quick way to speed up your iPhone? You have two options

Should you have trouble figuring out the cause of slowdown.

# ios - Saturday 2 January, 2016

5 apps worth downloading this week

Featuring music discovery, HDR photo editing and a custom browser for your apps.

# ios - Friday 1 January, 2016

These are the apps everyone should have on their smartphone

You can’t download every app, but there are some that will be more useful than others.

# ios - Wednesday 30 December, 2015

These are the best smartphone apps of 2015

A wide variety of apps for any taste.

# ios - Saturday 26 December, 2015

Have a bit of free time? Activate Find my Phone when you get the chance

It’s worth having activated in case you misplace or lose your phone.

# ios - Wednesday 23 December, 2015

Here's how you can check what visited locations your phone has saved

Your phone automatically keeps track of all locations you’ve visited, but there’s a way to turn it off.