This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019

Irish Times biggest winner at national newspaper awards

The paper of record wins four gongs at the National Newspapers of Ireland’s inaugural journalism awards.

Image: NS Newsflash

THE IRISH TIMES has won four awards, the most of any title, at the National Newspapers of Ireland’s inaugural Journalism Awards for 2011.

The paper of record saw its finance correspondent Simon Carswell named National Journalist of the Year, while Kathy Sheridan won the title of features writer and Miriam Lord was named best political journalist.

The paper’s recently retired editor, Geraldine Kennedy, was given a special award for Outstanding Contribution to the Newspaper Industry.

The Irish Independent and Irish Examiner took two awards each – with the Independent’s Martina Devlin winning Columnist of the Year, while political correspondent Fiach Kelly was named Young Journalist of the Year, an award for writers aged 26 or younger.

For the Examiner, Kieran Shannon – formerly of the Sunday Tribune – was named Sports Journalist of the year, while the paper also took the nod for Best Design.

The Irish Daily Mail’s Senan Molony took the award for Scoop of the Year, for his story on the Michael Healy-Rae ‘Celebrities go Wild’ voting scandal, while the Irish Sun’s Jennifer O’Brien won Showbiz Story of the Year for covering the attack on the home of Boyzone’s Mikey Graham.

The Sunday Times’ pair of Tom Lyons and Brian Carey shared the Business & Economics Journalist of the Year prize.

The Evening Herald’s Patrick Freyne – also formerly of the Sunday Tribune – was named Critic of the Year, while the prize for regional journalist of the year went to the Wexford Echo’s Colette Browne.

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Gavan Reilly

Read next: