Advertisement
This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 25 April, 2019

#is

# is - Friday 4 December, 2015

Germany has approved plans to 'destroy Islamic State's safe havens'

MPs have backed a vote to join the anti-IS coalition.

# is - Thursday 3 December, 2015

Journalist who was held hostage by Isis says airstrikes "are a trap"

Nicolas Hénin says being with IS is “like leaving the Matrix”.

# is - Thursday 26 November, 2015

Turkey won't apologise to Russia for 'treacherous stabs in the back'

And Vladimir Putin is not happy.

# is - Monday 23 November, 2015

Cyber security analyst identifies 20 Islamic State supporters based in Ireland

Two recruitment sites are also operating on Irish webspace.

# is - Sunday 22 November, 2015

Isis bookshop vandalised for fifth time, still refuses to change name

‘Some ignorant people believe that the terrorists have a gift store in the middle of Denver.’

# is - Thursday 19 November, 2015

US warned France about Paris attack ringleader in May

The fate of Abdelhamid Abaaoud is not known after the raid in St-Denis yesterday.

# is - Tuesday 17 November, 2015

Nearly half of US states want to shut their doors to Syrian refugees

Obama has criticised “shameful” calls to screen the refugees based on their religion.

# is - Sunday 15 November, 2015

Paris attacks: What we know today

Several Kalashnikov rifles have been found in an abandoned car.

# is - Friday 30 October, 2015

German rapper turned Isis extremist killed in US air strike

Denis Cuspert, also known by his artist name Deso Dogg, was one of the group’s most famous Western fighters.

# is - Wednesday 28 October, 2015

More US soldiers will be fighting IS in Iraq, but it's not quite 'boots on the ground'

The US military will be taking part in ‘direct action’ against Islamic State.

# is - Tuesday 27 October, 2015

Islamic State ties three men to historic monuments, then blows them up

IS has yet to inform local residents who the executed individuals were or why they had been killed.

# is - Monday 26 October, 2015

Two police among nine killed in shootout between Turkish police and IS suspects

The fighting lasted for at least two hours.

# is - Thursday 15 October, 2015

British mum flees Islamic State, says it wasn't her 'cup of tea' Syria This post contains videos

British mum flees Islamic State, says it wasn't her 'cup of tea'

Shukee Begum went to Syria with her five children to find her husband.

# is - Saturday 10 October, 2015

Why did Islamic State choose this flag and what does it mean?

“They created a logo with an insanely powerful force, and completely trivialised it.”

# is - Thursday 8 October, 2015

# is - Wednesday 7 October, 2015

Four people arrested after police employee is shot dead by teenage boy

Authorities are treating the murder as an act of terrorism.

# is - Monday 5 October, 2015

The Islamic State has blown up another ancient landmark

The group blew up the Arch of Triumph in Palmyra.

# is - Thursday 1 October, 2015

Donald Trump: I'll send all Syrian refugees back

The US presidential candidate said many of the refugees could be members of Islamic State.

# is - Sunday 27 September, 2015

France launches air strikes targeting Islamic State

Western powers are ramping up efforts against the terrorist organisation.

# is - Monday 21 September, 2015

Did this TD plagiarise a speech on Islamic State from a US congressman?

The Tipperary TD’s motion contains several phrases the same as a resolution from the US Congress.

# is - Monday 14 September, 2015

12 dead after Egypt security forces open fire on tourists by mistake

The army believed a convoy of vehicles was carrying jihadists.

# is - Monday 7 September, 2015

Britain kills two of its own citizens in Syrian drone strike

David Cameron said the men planned to murder other Britons.

# is - Tuesday 1 September, 2015

UN satellite images prove Palmyra temple was blown up

The 2,000-year-old temple was part of the remains of the ancient caravan city in central Syria.

# is - Monday 31 August, 2015

Islamic State posts video of men being strung up and burnt alive Is

Islamic State posts video of men being strung up and burnt alive

The men were identified as Shiite fighters.

# is - Tuesday 25 August, 2015

Sisters (aged 5 days and 3 years) treated for chemical attack symptoms

Their parents were also affected by the attack, which has been blamed on Islamic State.

# is - Tuesday 11 August, 2015

Claims Islamic State prepared for 'lone wolf' attacks in UK

World War II victory commemorations involving the royal family are said to be among the potential targets.

# is - Saturday 25 July, 2015

Turkey is taking the fight to the Islamic State

As well as bombing Kurdish militants.

# is - Friday 3 July, 2015

Irish Muslims plan protest to condemn 'slaughter' of Tunisia victims

“Islamophobia is increasing rapidly due to the atrocities of terrorists.”

# is - Wednesday 1 July, 2015

40 people have left Ireland for Islamic State areas

At least three have died in conflicts.

# is - Saturday 27 June, 2015

This is the man the Islamic State claims was responsible for Tunisia attack

In a statement, the terrorist group said it had targeted ‘dens of fornication, vice and apostasy’.

# is - Friday 12 June, 2015

The US spends €8 million PER DAY fighting Islamic State

The militant group has made a number of gains in recent months.

# is - Tuesday 2 June, 2015

Pirates of the Caribbean actor goes to Syria to help 'obliterate' Islamic State Michael Enright This post contains videos

Pirates of the Caribbean actor goes to Syria to help 'obliterate' Islamic State

He said has written to family and friends to tell them he loves them as he “might not see them again”.

# is - Thursday 28 May, 2015

Islamic State is using a Roman amphitheatre as a stage for executions

20 men they accused of fighting for the regime were killed.

# is - Wednesday 20 May, 2015

'Children are being targeted by snipers and civilians shot in the street' Syria This post contains images

'Children are being targeted by snipers and civilians shot in the street'

Irish aid worker David Adams visited a clinic that helps to rehabilitate some of the casualties of the Syrian conflict.

# is - Thursday 9 April, 2015

TV network taken off air after 'unprecedented' cyberattack

The station was unable to broadcast on any of its channels.

# is - Tuesday 7 April, 2015

Mass graves containing hundreds of soldiers found in Iraqi city

Forensic teams are examining the remains.

# is - Monday 23 March, 2015

'I couldn't believe it was my son': Father of Australian schoolboy who joined IS speaks out

Jake Bilardi is believed to have died while carrying out a suicide bombing.

# is - Sunday 22 March, 2015

'Islamic State' calls for attacks on US soldiers as names and addresses published

However, security sources believe the information was already in the public domain.

# is - Sunday 15 March, 2015

British teenagers arrested while travelling 'to join Islamic State'

The three have been detained by Turkish authorities.

# is - Thursday 12 March, 2015

Reports Aussie teen who joined Islamic State group died in suicide attack in Iraq

It is believed that Jake Bilardi converted to Islam after his mother died of cancer.