Skip to content
#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Image: Photocall Ireland

Newstalk is the big winner at PPI radio awards

Newstalk 106-108FM walked away with the full-service station of the year award, as well as the gong for best sports programme and best news bulletins.
Oct 8th 2011, 9:53 AM 1,498 11

NEWSTALK 106-108FM WAS named Ireland’s radio station of the year at last night’s PPI Radio Awards.

The eleventh annual “Oscars of Irish Radio” saw 33 awards shared among 16 different stations.

Newstalk was also honoured for its Off the Ball sports programme and news bulletins.

Other big winners on the night included TodayFM, which took home awards for Ray Foley and Ray D’Arcy, as well as an outstanding achievement award for Mario Rosenstock, the funnyman behind Gift Grub.

FM 104 was named music station of the year, while its Strawberry Alarm Clock topped the pile in the best breakfast programme category.

Winning in seven categories, RTÉ Radio 1 went home with the most gongs.

Here are the winners in full:

  • Best (General) Music Programme: Dermot & Dvae, 98FM
  • Best (Specialist) Music Programme: The Arts Show, KCLR 96FM
  • Best Breakfast Programme: The Strawberry Alarm Clock, FM104
  • Best Music Special: The Commitments, 20 Years On, Q102
  • Best New Irish Music / Musical Talent Programme: Transmission with Colm O’Sullivan, Cork’s RedFM
  • Best News Story: The Bull Bows Out, Radio Kerry
  • Best News Bulletin: Newstalk 106-108FM News
  • Best News Programme: Lunchtime News, Midwest Radio
  • Best Current Affairs Programme: The Nolan Show, BBC Northern Ireland
  • Best Sports Story: Leinster Final Fall-Out, LMFM
  • Best Sports Programme: Off the Ball, Newstalk 106-108FM
  • Best Documentary/Feature: Documentary on One – Don’t Go Far, RTÉ Radio 1
  • Best Short Feature: Moments that Shaped Kerry, Radio Kerry
  • Best Speech-Driven Magazine Programme: Miriam Meets…, RTÉ Radio 1
  • Best Drama: Grenades by Tara McKevitt, RTÉ Radio 1
  • Best Specialist Speech Programme: 1911 Census, RTÉ Radio 1
  • Craoltoireacht le Gaeilge: Samlaigh, Cork’s RedFM
  • Community/Social Action: Shave or Dye 2011, Today FM
  • On-Air Competition/Promotion: Chicken Dance, iRadio 102-104
  • Station Imaging: i105-107
  • Entertainment Inserts: The Gauntlet by The Ray Foley Show, TodayFM
  • Innovation: 104 Hour Runaway, FM104
  • Music Broadcaster of the Year: Barbara Nic Dhonnacha, iRadio 102-104
  • Specialist Music Broadcaster of the Year: Philip King, RTÉ Radio 1
  • News Broadcaster of the Year: Cathal MacCoille, RTÉ Radio 1
  • News Reporter of the Year: Cian McCormack, RTÉ Radio 1
  • Sports Broadcaster of the Year: Adrian Barry, 98FM
  • Speech Broadcaster of the Year: Ray D’Arcy
  • Newcomer Award: Kathy McKenna, Shannonside Northern Sound
  • Outstanding Achievement: Mario Rosenstock, TodayFM
  • Local Station of the Year: Clare FM
  • Music Station of the Year: FM 104
  • Station of the Year: Newstalk 106-108FM

Send a tip to the author

Sinead O'Carroll


    Back to top