Skip to content

Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

File photo of Ruth Coppinger.
File photo of Ruth Coppinger.
Image: Sam Boal

Ruth Coppinger to contest Seanad election after losing Dáil seat

A number of former TDs are expected to launch Seanad bids.
Feb 14th 2020, 9:01 AM 40,496 97

RUTH COPPINGER HAS announced she will contest the upcoming Seanad election after losing her Dáil seat in last Saturday’s general election.

The former Solidarity-People Before Profit TD was defeated on the sixth count in Dublin West.

First elected to the Dáil in a by-election in 2014, Coppinger had been a fierce critic of the government and an advocate for women’s and workers’ rights.

Coppinger officially launched her Seanad bid in Dublin city this morning. She will be a candidate for the National University of Ireland constituency.

Speaking after lodging her registration papers, Coppinger said: “My aim is to use the national platform [the Seanad] provides to advance the unfinished business of workers’ and women’s rights in particular, as well as the need for radical action on the housing crisis and climate change.”

A number of former TDs who lost their sets in the election are expected to launch Seanad bids.

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

Former Fine Gael TD Noel Rock has already announced his intention to run in the Seanad election. He was eliminated on the fifth count in Dublin North-West, where he had been elected in 2016, last weekend.

The Green Party’s Saoirse McHugh, who missed out on securing a Dáil seat in Mayo, also plans to run for the Seanad.

Some high-profile senators have also announced their reelection bids including Lynn Ruane, Ivana Bacik and Alice-Mary Higgins. 

The results are in, now keep up to date with all the latest on government formation efforts with our regular newsletter

Send a tip to the author

Órla Ryan


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a comment

    cancel reply
    Back to top