You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED

As it happened: St Patrick's Day at home and abroad

The main parades are all under way – we’ll be bringing you all the colour and spectacle!

IT’S ST PATRICK’S Day.

The main parade in Dublin city centre got under way at midday and will be making its way through the streets throughout the afternoon.

In Cork, the parade began at 11am. They’re also well under way in Galway, while organisers of events in Limerick say they’re expecting 80,000 people to line the streets for the parade, with the story of the city being brought to life.

We’ll be keeping you up to date on events in Ireland and further afield over the next few hours. If you want to let us know how events are going in your area get in touch via email: tips@thejournal.ie.

Happy St Patrick’s Day!

Over on RTÉ One, a windswept President Higgins has arrived, and is having a few words with the presenter ahead of the parade, as the crowd looks on.

It looks cold.

md

HELPFUL INFORMATION ALERT! 

Need to know about the transport options and road closures in Dublin?

rc1

Need to know the details of all the main parades, around the country?

567 Dominic Lipinski / PA Archive PA Images Dominic Lipinski / PA Archive PA Images / PA Archive PA Images

The gardaí are on a charm offensive, ahead of the celebrations.

Expect plenty of competition for the ‘shortest parade’ title later today.

Carrigaholt in Co Clare could be a contender again, perhaps?

Here’s how they celebrated in 2015:

Becky O Farrell / YouTube

parade

Meanwhile in Dublin:

p1

p2

p3

p4

All images: RTÉ

The weather conditions aren’t great for the parades this year – as you’ll no doubt be aware if you’re not cowering inside a warm office, like I am.

More on the weather here, courtesy of Met Éireann.

Meanwhile in Southern Lebanon:

Of course, the annual Global Greening of landmarks has been taking place.

We’ll have more pics in later.

green5 The Kelpies sculpture in Scotland. Sandy Young Sandy Young

WE HAVE A STREAKER!!! A chap has stripped down to his boxers and is legging it around.  That’s a first.

Of course, there are parades all over the country today.

Cork is giving the capital a run for its money.

We can’t forget about all the sporting action today.

The Irish women’s rugby team face England at the Donnybrook stadium tonight with a grandslam at stake.

The GAA club championship final is also on this afternoon as Cuala from Dalkey take on Ballyea of Clare.

Here are some of the Cuala fans heading to Croker.

Even the British royal family wish they were Irish today. Here’s Kate and William visiting the Irish Guards at a London barracks.

kens Kensington Palace Kensington Palace

Poor auld Galway got lashed out of it today.

Despite the torrential downpours, the spirits remained high.

galway Sita O'Driscoll Sita O'Driscoll

galway2 Sita O'Driscoll Sita O'Driscoll

Kilkenny also got in on the action and looked to have dodged most of the rain, thankfully.

A group of gay veterans will march in the Boston parade today after they were initially banned from taking part.

The move drew criticism from politicians in the US and Ireland. The organisers eventually allowed them march.

You can read the full story here.

Pearse Lillis with Sean Moran Ballyea’s Pearse Lillis with Sean Moran of Cuala. Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

As always on St. Patrick’s Day, it’s a big day in the GAA’s calendar.

Ballyea and Cuala are battling it out in a soggy Croke Park in the the All-Ireland Senior Club Hurling Final.

Later, Derry outfit Slaughtneil continue they’re amazing underdog story as they take on Kerry’s Dr Croke’s in the football.

The42.ie are liveblogging the hurling which is currently at half-time.

A few images from the parade in Cork city.

CMK17032016 St Patricks Day Cork City0019 John and Mary Crowley of Mayfleid. Clare Keogh Clare Keogh

CMK17032016 St Patricks Day Cork City0015 Lara Devereaux of Silver Springs. Clare Keogh Clare Keogh

CMK17032016 St Patricks Day Cork City0014 Aishling Coughlan of Kilcully. Clare Keogh Clare Keogh

CMK17032016 St Patricks Day Cork City0016 Rachel Allen is grand marshal at the 2017 Cork St Patrick’s Day Parade. Clare Keogh Clare Keogh

It is a miserable day in Dublin but Dame St looks well.

paddies day 522_90505844 am Boal / RollingNews.ie am Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie