You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Evan Vucci
AS IT HAPPENED

As it happened: The world reacts to Donald Trump's shock victory

We’ll be taking you through the declaration, the results and the speeches.

DONALD TRUMP IS the president-elect of the United States of America.

We’ve been taking you through the declarations, the results and the speeches.

Stay with us for all the reaction through the day.

PastedImage-41347 SurveyMonkey SurveyMonkey

Good morning, folks.

Paul Hosford here taking you through the final hours of this crazy election. As it stands, this map shows the state of play.

Not only does Donald Trump look set to become President, he will likely have control of the House of Representatives, the Senate and the Supreme Court of the USA.

Read about the Congressional races here.

Right-wing French politician Marine Le Pen has congratulated Trump and the “free American people” on his impending victory.

Grey’s Anatomy actor Jesse Williams has been a vocal critic of Trump’s and he’s not stopping today.

It’s very early, but there will be myriad discussions about what Trump’s victory means for everything.

From the US voting map, to polling, to “elites”.

But those think-pieces will have to wait until later, as we still await results from a number of states including Michigan.

CBS reports Hillary Clinton campaign chairman John Podesta is heading to Clinton HQ at the Javits Centre to “rally the troops”.

Podesta will tell supporters it’s “too close to call”.

Clinton takes four electoral votes in the northeastern state of Maine. She now trails by 264 votes to 219.

Any single state from Arizona, Minnesota, Wisconsin or Michigan would put Trump over the top.

John Podesta has taken the stage at the Javits Centre.

He tells Clinton supporters that they’re “still counting votes” and “several states are too close to call”.

He tells supporters to “head home” and “get some sleep”.

Could we be looking at recounts?

So, Clinton isn’t conceding – tonight, at least.

What does that mean? Probably a few requests for recounts. Florida and Pennsylvania were pretty close, while Michigan and Wisconsin might be the same.

News US / YouTube

Van Jones on CNN gave a heartfelt speech about how some people are taking the result.

“It’s hard to be a parent tonight, for a lot of us,” he said.

“You have people putting children to bed tonight and they’re afraid of breakfast.”

“How do you explain this to your children? I’ve had Muslim friends who are texting me tonight, saying, ‘should I leave the country?

We’ve talked about everything but race tonight.

“This was a whitelash – this was a whitelash against a changing country. It was whitelash against a black president, in part. And that’s the part where the pain comes.”

India Economy Aijaz Rahi / AP Aijaz Rahi / AP / AP

It’s been said plenty of times before, but markets like stability and for them Clinton was stability.

In the face of a Trump victory, the dollar is tumbling.

The Mexican peso also fell to a record low as safe haven assets rallied, with gold soaring more than five percent, while fears about the impact on financial markets led Japanese and South Korean authorities to each call crisis talks.

If you’re heading to the US, your euro will get you $1.12 this morning.

Come on over, Mia, we’ll make you tea and toast.

Sky News / YouTube

Vice-President elect Mike Pence is now speaking in New York ahead of an expected speech by Donald Trump.

Trump’s victory speech was largely on-message, as he pledged to be “the President for all Americans”.

Trump added that he wanted to tap America’s “untapped potential” and said the “forgotten Americans will be forgotten no more”.

PastedImage-48099 The New Yorker The New Yorker

The New Yorker cartoon today is probably aimed at someone. But who?

Peter Rukavina / YouTube

You know what’s important in elections? Momentum – “the big mo”.

Clinton seemed to have it around 12 hours ago. Then, it all changed.

After the Brexit result much was made about the divergence in votes between young and old.

It looks like the US had much the same thing.

Russian President Vladimir Putin has congratulated Donald Trump, hoping to work with him to improve relations, the Kremlin said in a statement.

Putin “expressed hope for mutual work on bringing US-Russia relations out of their critical condition” and said that “building constructive dialogue” would be in the interest of both countries and the world community, Putin says.

Aoife with you now on the liveblog.

On CNN they’re analysing what Trump can do now that he has power – there’s a lot of “negative energy” in the country says one analyst, while another says that what he has in story will be “an anathema” to a lot of Americans.

For now, that’s all speculation – but based on Trump’s pledges during his campaign.

Independent TD Michael Healy-Rae has released a statement on Donald Trump’s election, wishing him well:

More comments from Irish TDs in – this time from Junior Health Minister Finian McGrath, who told my colleague Cianan Brennan:

“Well, I’m a democrat, I accept the will of the American people, I have never agreed with Trump, but we have to accept that this is what’s happened and that’s it.”

Regarding Trump and the Irish government, McGrath said:

The Irish government will be very pragmatic – there will be no change in the relationship between the Americans and us.

If you’re looking for left-wing analysis, the New Yorker’s most-read story today is An American Tragedy by David Remnick.

It’s a tough read:

On January 20, 2017, we will bid farewell to the first African-American President—a man of integrity, dignity, and generous spirit—and witness the inauguration of a con who did little to spurn endorsement by forces of xenophobia and white supremacy. It is impossible to react to this moment with anything less than revulsion and profound anxiety.

On the other side of the coin, over on Breitbart.com they describe Trump  as an “outsider candidate” who “overcame overwhelming odds to defeat establishment, Clinton”.

British Prime Minister Theresa May has congratulated Trump.

In a statement, British Prime Minister Theresa May said: “Britain and the United States have an enduring and special relationship based on the values of freedom, democracy and enterprise.

“We are, and will remain, strong and close partners on trade, security and defence.

I look forward to working with President-elect Donald Trump, building on these ties to ensure the security and prosperity of our nations in the years ahead.

Over on Twitter, we’ve put together a Moment on how Irish people reacted to Trump’s presidential victory – check it out below:

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has congratulated Trump in this statement:

The Government of Canada’s citizen and immigration website hasn’t been working properly this morning – which many are putting down to people wanting to jump ship from the US.

The government hasn’t officially commented on it however, so we don’t know yet if that is in fact the case.

canada aoife aoife

And after a few tries, we were eventually able to get the site working ourselves:

canada 2 Government of Canada Government of Canada

This Rachel Maddow short-but-to-the-point commentary on Trump’s win has been doing the rounds:

Taken part in our poll yet? We’re asking:

Do you think Ireland’s relationship with the US will change after Trump’s victory?

Here’s the state of play so far:

poll

Have your say here.

Jeremy Corbyn has put out a statement on Trump’s win – and describe it as “an unmistakeable rejection of a political establishment and an economic system that simply isn’t working for most people”.

Corbyn goes on to say:

But some of Trump’s answers to the big questions facing America, and the divisive rhetoric around them, are clearly wrong.

Musician Lady Gaga has been seen protesting outside Trump Tower in New York this morning:

Gaga had appeared at a Hillary Clinton in the last week and was at Javits Centre earlier today.

Here’s Roddy Doyle’s take on Trump’s win:

roddy trump Facebook Facebook

Michelle Hennessy here taking over the reins of the liveblog. It’s the calm after the storm right now, as everyone looks back at how the night unfolded.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Trump’s first tweet as President-elect of the United States:

We’ve noticed he has also changed his Twitter bio and installed an understated header…

We heard from Trump earlier, but Hillary Clinton still has not spoken publicly – not even to thank her supporters.

Nati Harnik / PA Nati Harnik / PA / PA

Her campaign chairman John Podesta told supporters at her victory party to go home last night and reporters have been told she is currently still at the Peninsula Hotel in Manhattan.

German’s Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier had a rather disheartening reaction to Trump’s win.

“I think we must expect that American foreign policy will become less predictable for us and we must expect that the United States will be more inclined to make decisions on its own,” he said.

In other words, and I will not dress it up, nothing will become easier, many things will become more difficult.

Don’t forget, we’re asking what you guys think over on our open thread. Here’s what some of you are saying so far about the shock result:

Want to have your say? Head over to the open thread and leave your thoughts in the comments…

So, now we’re all asking: What next? And what kind of president will Donald Trump be?

We had a word with Eamon Dunphy about the election when he was in the office recently. He said if Trump won, he’d become a “pussy cat”.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Patrick Kent, president of the Irish Cattle and Sheep Farmers’ Association (ICSA) has an interesting take on it all.

In a statement this morning, he pointed said “unfair free trade deals” had hurt ordinary people and benefited big business and warned Irish politicians to pay attention.

The pandering to big business has got to stop. The EU Commission and all EU and national politicians need to stop looking for excuses and get tough with multinational retailers, food and drink processors and input suppliers who, between them, are driving our beef, sheep and tillage farmers to despair and over the edge.

“I don’t for one minute suggest that Donald Trump will be a panacea for all ills, but it is clear that normal politics needs to shape up very quickly and figure out why so many ordinary people are voting for change, even if that change is something as unpalatable as Mr Trump,” he added.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Seán O’Rourke about Trump’s victory, former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern said “we need to have a bit of a love-in with his people very quickly”.

11/2/2014 Paidi O Se Tournaments Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

To the best of my knowledge – and I still visit the United States a bit – we don’t have any connections with his team. When he was going to come here some months ago when he was in Scotland during his campaign for his business interests… I think it was probably made clear to him that he’d get a hostile reception here, so that dropped off his itinerary.

His concerns in relation to Trump centre around the undocumented Irish, Brexit, Apple’s tax affairs and multinational companies in a general sense.

In times of uncertainty, you can always trust Paddy Power to help put things into perspective:

Some more reaction coming in from Irish ministers. Transport Minister Shane Ross told reporters in Dublin that once someone is democratically elected “we have to accept that fact and deal with them as a democratically elected president”.

Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government, Simon Coveney, said the Irish government will have to “work with the democratic reality that is there.”

He described Trump’s comments in his victory speech earlier as “generous”.

“They are aimed at unifying people after one of the most bitter campaigns that I can ever remember.”

When asked if he would like to see him coming on a visit to Ireland soon, he replied: “Of course I would”.

I think we should always welcome a US leader to Ireland. The relationship between Ireland and the US is arguably a more special relationship than the US has with any other country. That is valuable, it needs to be maintained, and that will certainly happen and this government will work towards ensuring that happens.

Anti-Austerity-Alliance TD Ruth Coppinger has also been having her say on the result in the Dail today.

She branded the US President-elect “a racist, a misogynist and homophobe and many other things besides”.

Coppinger said solidarity was needed from Ireland with minorities and others in the US who may be worried and in fear over Trump’s presidency.

The Taoiseach said he had previously stated comments Trump had made were racist. But he said he listened to Trump say earlier today that he wanted “to heal wounds” and that he supported that.

Our own president has made a statement on the outcome of the election.

Michael D Higgins said Ireland has had a “long and deep connection with the United States and its people”.

“I have conveyed my best wishes to President-elect Donald Trump, wishing him and the American people every good fortune for his term in office.”

It looks like we might hear Clinton’s first public remarks in just over an hour…

Sinéad O’Carroll taking over the liveblog this afternoon as we are still glued to the US networks, taking in all the reaction to a Trump POTUS.

My colleague Aoife Barry has been examining probably the most important part of the Republican’s campaign – his slogan.

PastedImage-25228

What made it so powerful to some and so worrying to others?

“Make America Great Again connects with the patriotic, American dream-focused attitude of those who herald their great country. But it also sparks fears of a return to an America where ‘great’ equaled power for some, but not for all – and a fierce fight needed for progression,” she writes.

Where Ohio goes…

We had been hearing a lot about the swing states that would decide this election – and Trump came out a winner in all the important ones.

There were shocks, in particular, when Wisconsin (blue since 1988) and Pennsylvania (blue since 1992) turned red for Trump.

Here’s the lowdown:

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Video: Nicky Ryan

Need some cheering up?

These lads were all born at the neonatal unit at a University Maternity Hospital Limerick in recent weeks and PJ Corbett rounded up the quads, triplets, twins and a ‘singleton’ for a photo shoot today.

PastedImage-83828 PJ Corbett PJ Corbett

In a statement released today, the hospital said it is the first time the unit has cared for sets of quads, triplets and twins at the same time.

Read more about the beauts here.

Where is Hillary?

She’s due to give her concession speech in public at 10.30am (3.30pm Irish time).

Spokesperson Jennifer Palmieri confirmed to reporters that she will speak in New York City.

The Washington Post‘s media columnist has been looking at the role journalists have had to play in the Trump victory.

Margaret Sullivan writes:

Make no mistake. This is an epic fail. And although eating crow is never appealing, we’ll be digesting feathers and beaks in the next weeks and months — and maybe years.

She says that journalists didn’t create Trump but they left him unchecked for months with ‘unfiltered exposure’. They didn’t take those voters in the red states seriously enough – and retreated to their liberal, urban homes in New York City, LA and DC quickly.

And she adds:

We wanted to believe in a country where decency and civility still mattered, and where someone so crude, spiteful and intemperate could never be elected — because America was better than that.

Read her reasoning here.

PastedImage-29892 Surfworld Bundoran Surfworld Bundoran

This one is doing the rounds in Ireland with over 9,000 shares and 8,000 likes on Facebook.

“We could shoot him, it’s not a bad idea.”

That was the surprising suggestion from David Attenborough (of all people) earlier this month when asked about dealing with Donald Trump if he won.

Sir David Attenborough comments Yui Mok / PA Wire Yui Mok / PA Wire / PA Wire

Speaking to the Radio Times, he said:

“Well, we lived through that with earlier presidents – they’ve been equally guilty… But what alternative do we have? Do we have any control or influence over the American elections? Of course we don’t.”

The interviewer then said he giggled and in a quiet voice added: ”We could shoot him, it’s not a bad idea.”

As we wait on Hillary, here’s a reminder of what the White House has had to say today.

“The President will make a statement on Wednesday at the White House to discuss the election results and what steps we can take as a country to come together after this hard-fought election season,” a statement read.

The President invited the President-elect to meet with him at the White House on Thursday 10 November to update him on the transition planning his team has been working on for nearly a year.

“Ensuring a smooth transition of power is one of the top priorities the President identified at the beginning of the year and a meeting with the President-elect is the next step.”

It is understood Obama congratulated Trump on his victory.

We’ll have Hillary in the next few minutes and then…

They’ve actually pushed back Hillary’s concession speech again. It will now be held at 4pm Irish time.

Bill Cullen – who was the star of the Irish version of The Apprentice – has said he thinks Donald Trump is a ‘great guy’ and that he would have voted for him.

“I would vote for him if I was over there. You just have to look at him… he’s strong, he went bankrupt and he’s back again; it’s terrific,” he told Ray D’Arcy on RTÉ Radio One.

I don’t think himself will be able to do anything here. I don’t think he likes Ireland.

Listen to the full interview here.

Still no sign of Hillary… it’s like waiting for white smoke in the Vatican.

Republican Paul Ryan – who was lukewarm on the party’s candidacy – is speaking now, saying he has pulled off a political feat.

He heard voices that nobody else was, he added, saying he is excited about “where we are”.

PastedImage-76284

He noted that he had spoken to him and ‘his good friend’ Pence twice over the past 18 hours.

“I think President-elect Donald Trump set the perfect tone last night… this needs to be a time of redemption, not recrimination,” he told journalists in Wisconsin.

The networks have gone live to the Clinton event in New York, where her election team have been waiting all morning.

It is now 11.30am in the US – incredibly late to be making a concession speech.

There are a lot of sad faces, even tears, in the crowd.

PastedImage-70742 Sky News Sky News

We have action at the Clinton event. A standing ovation is given to defeated VP-candidate Tim Kaine and his wife Ann.

PastedImage-38351

He says that he is proud of Hillary Clinton.

“She has made history in a nation… where it is uniquely difficult for a woman to be elected to federal office,” he added.

Kaine looks at the positives of the campaign – that she won the popular vote across the country for one.

Kaine looks incredibly emotional as he talks about the team that Clinton put together for the campaign.

The team… of people who are so deeply loyal to her because she is so deeply loyal to them is… remarkable.

He thanked her for asking him and his wife to join this “wild ride”.

He remembers their three hours of conversation with the Clinton family as they made a decision on whether they would run.

Clinton has arrived on stage with Bill and Chelsea.

She hugs the Kaines, stands and smiles at the podium.

She receives a rapturous applause, joking that a rowdy crowd is in.

clinton2

“I know how disappointed you feel because I do too,” Clinton says, while choking

“This is painful and it will be for a long time.”

Clinton acknowledges that the glass ceiling – the highest and hardest of them all – has not been smashed.

She says she hopes that it will be some day sooner than we believe it could be now.

She finishes her speech with a quote from scripture.

“Let us have faith in each other, let us not grow weary… there are more seasons to come and more work to do. I am incredibly honoured and grateful… May God Bless You. And May God Bless the United States of America.”

Clinton has spoken about Obama’s years in the White House, allowing Donald Trump to lead for the next four years and how she still has hopes the glass ceiling will be smashed soon.

Read it all here.

PastedImage-30320

Up next… Obama is due to address the nation in the coming minutes. Stay tuned.

Meanwhile, we’ve received a Thank You email from the man himself.

PastedImage-46881

President Obama, flanked by VP Joe Biden is speaking now at the White House.

“I know everybody had a long night… I know I did,” he says. He notes that the sun still came up this morning, something he promised would happen (the only big of prognostication that was correct, he joked).

PastedImage-50210

Obama skirts around the issue of Trump winning, skipping onto what will happen between now and inauguration day.

He says that it is no secret there are significant differences between himself and Donald Trump.

But he learned from George Bush’s team who were gracious and professional during the handover in 2008.

It is how he has instructed his team to behave over the next three months.

A fairly flat Obama winds his way around a speech in which he tries not to put too much emphasis on Trump’s victory or Hillary’s loss.

He speaks about being proud of Clinton and how excellent she was in her role at the State Department.

He tries to quell worries about a Trump presidency.

“The point is, we all go forward with the presumption of good faith in our fellow citizens… that good faith is essential to a vibrant democracy,” he says.

“That’s how we’ve expanded the rights of our founding to reach all of our citizens. That’s how we’ve come this far,” adding that he is confident the journey will go on.

“I have said this before but I think of this job as being a relay runner… You take the baton, you run your best race, and hopefully you’ve… made a little progress.”

Well, it’s really just starting but we’re going to say good evening and goodbye to you all now, from this liveblog.

It’s been quite a week.

Stay with TheJournal.ie as we bring you more analysis, reaction and opinion about what is happening to our neighbours.

mrbean