You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

thefinest.ie
Vigilante justice

This robber met his match when his victim set about him with a rather large umbrella

The thief was trying to break into a beer cage in Nenagh, Co Tipperary.

A WOULD-BE thief in Tipperary got more than he bargained for when confronted by the owner of the business he was trying to rob.

Pat Keller, owner of the Nenagh off-licence in question, received a phone call telling him his beer cage was being robbed at 10.20 am on Sunday morning.

Keller proceeded to set about the ne’er- do- well (who was armed with a hammer) with a golf umbrella from the funeral home he also owns, with the whole incident being captured on security camera.

The footage has since been uploaded to local site thefinest.ie together with a heroically laconic commentary from Keller.

robber 1

robber 2

robber 3

“You can admire my fencing technique,” Keller says as he approaches the thief on camera, umbrella in hand.

Your man scattered over the fence, lucky he didn’t kill himself he had such a fall out of it.
And that was our excitement for yesterday morning.

What the thief planned to do next with a 12-stone keg isn’t immediately clear.

Unfortunately, he wasn’t caught so the answers still elude us. Anyone with information on the individual is asked to contact Nenagh gardaí.

James Williams / YouTube

Read: Shop sent hate mail over Yes to same-sex marriage poster

Read: Three Irish lads are driving from Nenagh to Beijing for their friend’s wedding