Skip to content
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies. You can change your settings or learn more here.
File photo: Armagh
File photo: Armagh
Image: /Eye Ubiquitous/Press Association Images

Snow-ice warnings issued for 12 counties

Weather warnings have been issued by Met Éireann.
Mar 11th 2013, 7:21 AM 20,427 50

MET ÉIREANN HAS issued a weather warning to 12 counties today.

Snow-ice is expected in Dublin, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Wexford, Wicklow, Meath, Donegal, Mayo, Cork, Kerry, Tipperary and Waterford.

The meteorologists predict snow showers which will give accumulations of between three and eight centimetres across the country.

“Snow will lie at lower levels, as well as on high ground. Amounts will be highest in coastal counties of Leinster.”

There will also be fresh to strong, gusty northeast winds, making for blizzard conditions in places during snow showers.

Highest temperatures will be between 2 and 4 degrees Celsius. There is better news for tomorrow with “good sunshine and temperatures of 4 to 5 degrees”.

AA Roadwatch has urged caution on roads today because of icy conditions, snow coatings and fallen trees.

If you spot any of those powdery flakes in your area over the next few days, snap a picture and sent it to

More: Weatherwatch: Has it snowed where you are?>

Send a tip to the author

Sinead O'Carroll


    Back to top