Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Jeff_Golden via Flickr

Not to ruin your weekend, but your BBQ might give you cancer

Research shows that your barbcue may be cooking up some dangerous chemicals, but don’t worry, we have tips on how to avoid it.

WITH ALL THE lovely sunshine this weekend, many of you are probably planning on dusting off the barbecue and grilling yourselves up a delicious summer feast.

We definitely don’t want to spoil that for you but before before taking that first juicy bite there are a few things to know about barbecuing safely.

All that sizzling and flipping on the gas or charcoal grill may also be cooking up cancer-causing chemicals, experts at a cancer institute in the US have warned this week.

These chemicals have been linked to breast, stomach, prostate, and colon cancer, but the Dana-Farber Institute said that there’s no need to abandon the barbecue completely, it’s just a matter of “planning ahead and making wise choices”.

There are two risk factors to keep in mind. First, research has shown that high-heat grilling can convert proteins in red meat, pork, poultry, and fish into heterocyclic amines (HCAs). These chemicals have been linked to a number of cancers.

“What happens is that the high temperature can change the shape of the protein structure in the meat so it becomes irritating in the body and is considered a carcinogenic chemical,” explained nutritionist Stacey Kennedy.

Another cancer-causing agent, called polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), is found in the smoke. PAHs form when fat and juices from meat products drip on the heat source. As the smoke rises it can stick to the surface of the meat.

“That’s where the main cancer causing compound occurs in grilling,” said Kennedy. “So you want to reduce the exposure to that smoke.”

To help avoid these dangerous chemicals, here are some tips for a safe barbecue:

Prep the Meat

• Choose lean cuts of meat, instead of high-fat varieties such as ribs and sausages.
  • Trim all excess fat and remove skin.
  • When using marinades – thinner is better. Thicker marinades have a tendency to ‘char’, possibly increasing exposure to carcinogenic compounds.
  • Look for marinades that contain vinegar and/or lemon. They actually create a protective barrier around the meat.

Limit time – limit exposure

• Always thaw meat first. This also reduces the cooking time.
  • Partially cook meat and fish in a microwave for 60 to 90 seconds on high before grilling and then discard the juices. This will lower cooking time and reduce risk of cause smoke flare-ups.

Grilling techniques

• Flip burgers often – once every minute for meat burgers – to help prevent burning or charring.
  • Place food at least six inches from heat source.
  • Create a barrier to prevent juices from spilling and producing harmful smoke. Try lining the grill with aluminum foil and poking holes, and cooking on cedar planks.

Plan ahead and choose wisely

• Lean meats create less dripping and less smoke.
  • Choose smaller cuts of meat, like kabobs, as they take less time to cook.

Some good news for veggies – charred vegretables are safe to eat as they are not affected the same way as the meat protein.

Kennedy told people not to panic explaining that if you’re following the proper safety tips, “the risk of getting cancer from grilling food is very low”.

Hopefully we didn’t give you too much of a scare. Bon appetit!

Read: Longer use of breast cancer drug halves the risk of death>

Read: Brad Pitt: Angelina is ‘absolutely heroic’ for undergoing double mastectomy>
Read: Breast cancer rates in under 50s rise, but fewer than ever are dying – UK>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
77 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:40 AM

The amount of them we get to have in this country, I wouldn’t be too worried now.

Mute Martin Forde
    Favourite Martin Forde
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:04 AM

Nothing nicer than a slightly burned BBQ sausage. I’ll manage

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:17 AM

Exactly Martin, fire it up!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:22 AM

Nothing like a burnt burger and a bottle if Heineken in the sun.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:42 AM

For crying out loud, can we not even enjoy the good weather and BBQ’s now ?!!!!

Mute James Ó Cianáin
    Favourite James Ó Cianáin
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:54 AM

Of course you can!

It is simply a precautionary article.

Mute Frank Buffalo
    Favourite Frank Buffalo
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:59 AM

Well shove it where the sun don’t shine.
    Cos where the sun is shining I’m having a BBQ.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:46 AM

If you want to avoid getting cancer then don’t get out of bed! Oops! The material in your bed linen might give it to you as well. Ah shucks, just enjoy the day!

Mute Pádraig Downey
    Favourite Pádraig Downey
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:47 AM

Reading journal.ie on one’s iPhone may cause cancer !

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:31 AM

How is it you can throw a burnt match out of a car window and start a forest fire, but you can use two boxes of matches, a box of fire lighters, 500ml of lighter fuel and a Sunday paper but still can’t light the freakin’ BBQ?

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:49 AM

Classic :-)

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:33 AM

Living in Ireland is a cancer.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:36 AM

Really is. Miserable people. And cowards….. What you mean new tax.no way im paying. …. Oh wait I’ll pay …. Baaaaa baaaaa. Country is finished. Almost 3rd world. As you said Ireland is cancerous

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:40 AM

My father says: the Irish go to the most expensive pubs to complain about the price of the drink: “the pint here is 10c dearer than down the road”

Why not go to the cheaper pubs and shut up?

Similarly, you moan and whine about this country, why not move to another country?

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Eileen Dover
    Favourite Eileen Dover
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:44 AM

I think you’ve got some issues young Collins.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:50 AM

Well said Michelle,if you don’t like it you know where the airport is. See how easy it is in another country.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell

Hi John,
    We’re having a BBQ later. Some nice food, clever & cheery conversation. A few drinks. There’ll be people smiling & laughing.

Don’t come next nor near it.
    Michelle & Eileen.. you’re most welcome.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:08 AM

And moaners like you are the tumours infecting it.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:10 AM

Ignore the red thumbs, John.
    Us cowards appreciate the benefits you reap for us.
    And my family especially appreciate everything you have done for us. Nothing to do with what my wife or I have done. All credit to you!

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:11 AM

Moaners…….. Grow a pair clown

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:19 AM

When’s your victory parade, John? I ask because from where I’m standing it looks a whole lot like your having your asses kicked.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:23 AM

Hey Colin…. Dont put on any lamb.. Its cannibalism to eat your own you sheep…. Sad thing here is that if Edna brought in a barbeque tax u dopes would pay it :-). Now off to my own barbeque….oh and needless to say , your not invited ..only chickens I want at my barbaque are the ones in cooking. Your have a nice day though

Mute Eileen Dover
    Favourite Eileen Dover
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:26 AM

Seriously John, seriously, you need to lighten up chap, you’re gonna bust a blood vessel if you keep up your shenanigans

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:26 AM

If you could have protest for me to increase the dole that would be great thanks.

Mute Noel Griffith
    Favourite Noel Griffith
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:27 AM

love the fact that your having a moan and whine about people that moan and whine michelle…

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:28 AM

Haha, I see what you did there, John. Witty.

I don’t believe you have time to have a BBQ if you always protest on your days off. Or is it just a token protest on The Journal?
    Anyway, enjoy the cooking. And don’t burn those chips that fall off your shoulder on to the grill.

Mute Amy gaffney
    Favourite Amy gaffney
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:28 AM

And if you could protest for me to fix the potholes outside my estate, would be much obliged.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:34 AM

Funny how you have the balls to pick a fight with me online . Waster

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:35 AM

This is a fight? Sweet Jesus. I was laughing my ass off.

Now I’m worried.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:45 AM

Right lads in the park at 12 and ye can sort it out,no kicking or biting.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:47 AM

Shane,
    Will you stand on the corner to keep an eye out for any teachers coming?

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:49 AM

I will lads ill keep sketch for ye no worries.

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:03 AM

Mad? Bro?

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:08 AM

When done properly, research can prove beyond doubt that everything causes cancer even things as yet to be discovered by science.
    Can I have me grant money now please its nearly opening time.

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:09 AM

Go away John Troll. Your probably praying for rain. Misery bags!

Mute Good News Caravan
    Favourite Good News Caravan
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:16 AM

LOL.

Burn the bondholders!

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:20 AM

If you don’t like it you can leave,we’re having great weather,get your friends around a few beers and a BBQ.enjoy life,and please stop your winging about every little thing.lifes for living.get out and enjoy it.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:38 AM

Troll another stupid term used by fools with mo argument

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:47 AM

Buzz killington.moanbag

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jun 8th 2013, 2:08 PM

Cancer of the journal comes to mind Mr.

Mute colly dub
    Favourite colly dub
    Jun 8th 2013, 4:09 PM

C’mon eileen..

Mute Laura W
    Favourite Laura W
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:57 AM

Bloody hell, everything causes cancer these days doesn’t it!?
    You’d have to live in a bubble to avoid it all, and even then you might still get it (my grandmother never drank or smoked, very healthy her whole life and got breast cancer at the age of 50).
    Just enjoy your life, ignore the scaremongering for the most part, and if it all catches up with you later in life at least you can look back and say you had a f*cking good time getting to that point!

Mute Larry O'Doherty
    Favourite Larry O'Doherty
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:43 AM

What’s a kabob?

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:53 AM

A skewered piece of smaller meat.

Mute Andy Murray
    Favourite Andy Murray

Either Robert’s kebab, or a kebab that costs 10p in old money.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Philip Doyle
    Favourite Philip Doyle
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:56 AM

I think that’s how the Americans say it?

Mute Nydon
    Favourite Nydon
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:55 AM

Having followed all those tips my stake will taste like I grilled it in the kitchen.

Mute Jennifer Hislop
    Favourite Jennifer Hislop
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:02 AM

If you put split ends into a google search it will tell you that your hair has cancer – Anne Wheaton.

Mute Colin B
    Favourite Colin B
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:59 AM

After reading so much about the cancer risks of barbecuing I have no choice but to reluctantly give up reading.

Mute Sofyan
    Favourite Sofyan
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:43 AM

No way, given the weather we had this whole week, Im having my BBQ this week-end!!!

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:21 AM

Ah, how cheering…

Bloody hell, is there no respite from this fvcking negativity?

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:00 AM

Looking forward to grilling today! The process started yesterday with rubbing the meat down with my dry rub and preparing my vinegar based cooking basting sauce. If I can’t get cooked American style spare ribs in Ireland… Then I will use my grandfather’s recipe and make my own.. I don’t care what tbe warning is….

Mute Good News Caravan
    Favourite Good News Caravan
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:15 AM

Jaysus Marlon, I’m getting the vinegar strokes just reading that.

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:23 AM

Sounds nice……What time will a call around.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:24 PM

Would love to invite you all. There is nothing better than ribs, beer, cole slaw, potato salad and sun. Always the more the merrier.

Mute Deirdre Seoighe
    Favourite Deirdre Seoighe
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:42 AM

Even burnt toast apparently, anything that’s burnt is bad! Sorry guys!

Mute Sneachtaitall
    Favourite Sneachtaitall
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:12 AM

burnt toast is class I love it…………..

Mute Lonel Mostert
    Favourite Lonel Mostert
    Jun 8th 2013, 8:42 AM

Thats why I use good old fasion wood! The charcoal has a fowl smell anyway!

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:06 AM

Jasus lads.
    Is nothing sacred.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:03 AM

Now this is news,Last week it was toast,whats next,chips.

Mute garycopeland
    Favourite garycopeland
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:02 AM

^ Always thaw meat first.
    That’s probably the main thing to worry about…

Mute Edwina Harding
    Favourite Edwina Harding
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:58 AM

Everything we eat and drink has cancer chemicals in..so yr eather very unlucky to get cancer or very lucky not tooo..best live every day like its yr last you might actually live longer that way

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 8th 2013, 11:55 AM

The funny thing for me is that I’d never go into Burger King and order two burgers yet when I BBQ , one just doesn’t seem enough after all that effort , don’t think it’s the cancer I need to worry about but the fact I stuff my face…..

Mute CAJOT
    Favourite CAJOT
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:11 AM

Could we have a definitive list of what wont give us all cancer please or is there anything safe left!

Mute Colin B
    Favourite Colin B
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:13 AM

Check the Daily Mail. they should be able to help – they’re obsessed by it

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Jun 8th 2013, 11:02 AM

Won’t affect me I’m workin all week :( proxy nights

Mute Vincent McKeever
    Favourite Vincent McKeever
    Jun 8th 2013, 9:46 AM

Can anyone tell me what a kabob is?

Mute Timmy O Toole
    Favourite Timmy O Toole
    Jun 8th 2013, 11:21 AM

Lottle bots of moat ond vog on skowors.

Mute Darragh Muckell
    Favourite Darragh Muckell
    Jun 8th 2013, 10:06 AM

Keyboard warriors! HAHA

Mute Neil Griseto
    Favourite Neil Griseto
    Jun 9th 2013, 12:33 AM

Life is not worth living without BBQ anyway. More veggie agenda bs from the Journal. Where’s the beef, that’s what I want to know.

Mute CatherineRotteMurray
    Favourite CatherineRotteMurray
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:08 PM

Ah Jaysus lads don’t spoil the bit of summer we’re getting, it mightn’t last and we’ll be moaning about our Irish Summer for the rest of the year! We’re all getting great mileage outa the Farmers’ Tans and bad tan lines for the last week, some great photos on The Journal:)

Mute Joseph Gi
    Favourite Joseph Gi
    Jun 9th 2013, 1:05 AM

Some suggestions given in this article are absolutely terrible, and should really never be followed. They might address the issues intended, but the resulting steak would be worthless and the suggestions should never be followed.

1. NEVER microwave steak. EVER. Not for 90 seconds, not for 5 seconds. You might as well bake the damn thing. It defeats the whole point of grilling. Same goes for cooking meat at least six inches from the source of heat is the surest way to ensure the meat will get dry and take a long time to cook. Steak SHOULD be cooked at the highest possible attainable temperature in short bursts each side, full stop, otherwise it’s just not a proper steak.

2. NEVER EVER EVER EVER barbecue over an aluminium foil! This is the dumbest suggestion here! It prevents the steak from cooking the correct way, which is by intense radiation, which the aluminium foil will reflect back to the grill. Again, you might as well bake it while you’re at it. In fact, if you want less smoke on the meat, a better way is to ensure that the steak is cooked by intense radiation (very hot charcoal) rather than by flames (propane, burning fat, burning starter fluid). You achieve this by having as much hot glowing charcoal as possible, and having the meat relatively close to the source of heat.

3. Even fat cuts of meat (such as pork chops) can be made with very little fat dripping. Quite frankly if your meat is dripping you’re doing something wrong and your meat will come out dry (unless it’s hamburger meat, in which case dripping is mostly unavoidable). If the meat is dripping it is being overcooked, or being cooked at too low a temperature.

4. If exposure to contaminated smoke is the main problem, then clearly having it spend as little time as possible on the barbecue is crucial. So in addition to cooking it intensely and quickly, it’s good to encourage the usually squeamish Irish public to have their steak rare, medium-rare, or medium, and to avoid well-done (which for taste reasons alone should never be allowed in the first place)

5. Furthermore, if the main problem is the smoke, if the vegetables are cooked on the same grill as the meat, and there is contaminated smoke coming from the grill, that smoke is not going to tell the difference between aubergine or ribeye.

I am not be a nutritionist, so perhaps the proposed alternatives don’t really work to alleviate the medical concerns surrounding barbecuing steak. But I am a thermodynamicist by trade and a steak fanatic, and if you follow the instructions being given by the nutritionist, your barbecue will simply be awful and the advice should most definitely not be followed.

Mute Grainne Ni Bhrian
    Favourite Grainne Ni Bhrian
    Jun 9th 2013, 12:51 PM

What doesnt give ya cancer at this stage yaaay ill eat grilled carrots forever. Whats the point in living if your going to be scared to do anything because everything ya do gives ya cancer. Id rather die happy living my life than living in fear doing nothing

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:04 PM

Think the sun is more dangerous than the amines you talk off. Great timing on this article, can we not just live and let die??? Who did not know this anyway???

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Favourite Denise Kinsella
    Jun 8th 2013, 11:03 AM

Seems like you can’t do anything anymore without it been linked to cancer

Mute Daniel Holian
    Favourite Daniel Holian
    Jun 8th 2013, 6:01 PM

Bit of a nasty headline.

Mute Tom Lyons
    Favourite Tom Lyons
    Jun 8th 2013, 12:35 PM

Fashionable bullshit

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.