Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Rollingnews.ie

Commissioner 'more interested in corporate image than welfare of gardaí'

The association representing middle-ranking gardaí said members want their boss to stand up for them.

THE PRESIDENT OF the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI) has criticised the Garda Commissioner this evening, accusing her of being more concerned about the corporate image of the force than the welfare of its members.

Speaking to reporters ahead of his opening address at the AGSI annual conference in Westport, county Mayo, Tim Galvin said middle-ranking members were becoming increasingly frustrated about the lack of support from Nóirín O’Sullivan and the Minister for Justice.

“In December we did a survey, 86% said to us morale is low or very low,” he said. “The importance for that is we’re trying to get across to the minister and to the commissioner that we want some kind of reaction.”

This year we gave her the results of our morale survey in the hope that she would look at welfare and look after our people. We have heard nothing since December, so it’s more of the same. We’re not getting the response from the people – our employer first of all and especially from the minister.
We just feel she’s getting her priorities wrong, she should be looking after the people who work for her; the people on the street, the frontline staff – not the corporate image, which is the way the [Commissioner's] job seems to be gone.

He said members feel the commissioner is not standing up for them, in her failure to highlight the need for more resources. .

“Because resources are so short, people are going a ten hour shift without a break, constantly out on the street call after call,” he said. “They’re physically worn out and at the end of the six day term all they have is their break to look forward to because they’re physically shattered.”

The commissioner is due to make a speech at the conference tomorrow.

Gangland criminals 

In his opening address in Westport this evening, Galvin also accused the Minister for Justice of “tying our hands” and preventing the association from representing members in full pay negotiations.

“We are different to other employees. We wear body protection and some of our members are armed in response to the changing demographic of our societies. The impact of gangland criminals and their ability to arm themselves has only heightened the dangers associated with being a member of An Garda Síochana,” he said.

Galvin, who addressed his speech to the minister, though she was unable to attend due to ongoing talks on the formation of a government, went on to say:

“Our treatment by your government has only increased the lack of morale within the organisation. The bottom line Minister is that the people represented here today want action not promises. They want to see meaningful negotiation on the pay and conditions under which they are employed.”

We’ll be reporting from the AGSI annual delegate conference in Westport over the next three days, so keep an eye out and follow @michellehtweet for updates throughout the day. 

Read: Body cameras, terrorist threats and wages on the agenda for sergeants and inspectors>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
78 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Favourite EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:18 PM

Politically appointed commissioner, more interested in playing politics than doing her job. Shocker.

Mute Kris Ertz
    Favourite Kris Ertz
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:12 PM

Top dog more interested in their own skin then those below them? Shocker

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:35 PM

Something very unlikable about her and her predecessor.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Apr 11th 2016, 8:12 PM

It was never anything else with top brass Gardai

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Favourite Jack Falltrades
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:04 PM

Going to be a rocky 2016 I think….

Mute Dave Field
    Favourite Dave Field
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:16 PM

Quality street crime is definitely on the rise

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:06 PM

Seems a common theme these days with certain people… All about the corporate image….

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:22 PM

I read about new Garda recruits getting only 23k per year no wonder they would leave after training they would be better off in the dole ,

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:27 PM

How many Garda exactly have gave up their jobs and gone on he dole, 100 euro a week dole for under 25s!
    10 hour shifts without a break who are they kidding? There is no one standing behind them with a whip,
    Not saying the police should be badly paid but their is none of them two poor either.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:32 PM

@Michael. You really haven’t a clue. If a guard is at a traffic accident or suicide or burglary etc you think they can just go on break? It’s not how it works. Not every day is the same of course but going without lunch is par for the course.

See 6 more replies ▾
    Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:41 PM

I am not convinced I think they may be better paid in Ireland than the UK, EUR, or the US

Mute Rob Stafford
    Favourite Rob Stafford
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:48 PM

Michael maher The new guards have to pay tax on that 23k plus pension contributions. Very unlikely that any new guard would be able to afford a mortgage or start a family on that wage. Come on its scandelous.

Mute Axl H Jealy
    Favourite Axl H Jealy
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:52 PM

Is that a fact Michael. There are plenty of Guards that have resigned over wages the last few years. Have the gone on the dole? I don’t know but then who would quit their job to go on the dole? There are guards in receipt of FIS and on medical cards so ya I’d say that’s poor.

Mute Axl H Jealy
    Favourite Axl H Jealy
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:57 PM

There are plenty of Guards who have resigned over poor pay in the last few years. Have they gone on the dole? I doubt it but who does resign from a job to go on the dole? There are guards in receipt of FIS and medical cards so yes that’s poor.

Mute Axl H Jealy
    Favourite Axl H Jealy
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:58 PM

We they’re not. Police in the states can retire on full pension after 20 years. Don’t suppose you’d want our police doing that Michael.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:13 PM

All while in fronline service of the state…

Mute China Photo Daily
    Favourite China Photo Daily
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:54 PM

She was appointed in place of more qualified colleagues so the guards could look like a more politically correct organization.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:11 PM

China…and so she can make francis the minister of justice look pretty…

Mute GI Joe
    Favourite GI Joe
    Apr 11th 2016, 11:02 PM

She’s always out with J. Halpin and the rest of them “ah let them off therefore we have existing purpose in our jobs” horrible true cycle folks, if all the knacks got locked up imagine who you’d bump into in the social welfare office, “ah howya Judge” Bollkcs

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:04 PM

AGSI in “Politicians don’t give a toss about front line workers shocker”…

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:19 PM

Banana republic

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:48 PM

Didn’t she award s top job to her husband? Just like the politicians abusing their power.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 12th 2016, 1:31 AM

Mind…i dont know that story about her husband…can you fill me in? I must have missed it..genuinely.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:19 PM

Noirin. Please forget your Corporate image and just do your job that the Irish people pay you to do. Being a Woman no one will do you any favours but if you do what you are paid to do i guarantee you you will be hailed as the first person not just a Woman but any commissioner who has done her job .

Mute Kerry Blake
    Favourite Kerry Blake
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:00 PM

So the party of “law and order” being told off by those who have to enforce the law. Says a lot about the last government who unfortunately are still in power as an acting government,,,,,

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:09 PM

The reports on crime are so distorted it is a crime. God help us if terrorists target any city in Ireland.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:06 PM

Middle ranking Gardai are paid to maintain the morale of lower ranking gardai.

middle ranking gardai are complaining that they aren’t much good at doing this.

They think the root cause is that there is a female commissioner.

What did Callinan dispose of in those big black sacks? Garda morale?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:28 PM

Alphanautisia, what kind of point are you trying to make, stop acting the clown and be constructive, if you can.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:42 PM

I don’t think he even read the article.

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:32 PM

If any middle manager in the private sector blamed their seniors for low morale the first question they themselves should be asked is what they are going to do about it.

Seems it is different in the Gardai, particularly when there are ‘Unions’ involved – sorry I meant Association, cough cough.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:04 PM

Main point is you mention private sector and it’s not a comparable sector. What part of private sector is on an equivalent work practices level? I’m not denigrating any private sector work but I don’t compare apples with oranges.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:59 PM

You are a bit of a cynic as far as I can see. The Gardai are putting their lives on the line. They do not know the day nor the hour when a serious crisis occurs. You have to be on your game all the time. A ten hour shift is a long period. If a serious incident occurs and people are held up for hours that may have a serious effect on everyone on that unit as regards meal breaks. You cannot just down tools and walk off as a “union” man would do. That won’t happen every day, but it does happen. How many cynics would be prepared to deal with serious road traffic accidents, drownings, and all really bad scenes, like fatal fires etc. All frontline workers have a rough job, but they get on with it, and they deserve to be treated well, be well paid and not to be made dirt of by people who should know better. There are decent people in this country who appreciate the difficult job that the front liners do, but there are far too many who are delighted to abuse and try to destroy the Gardai and other front liners at every opportunity. Give it up and show respect for them.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:35 PM

You mean the kind of respect that the gardai have shown to the people? Backing up dodgy business men yeah you know the one, protecting the bankers, not cooperating with gsoc etc not one garda stood up and said this is wrong. Respect is earned never demanded.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:56 PM

No, I don’t agree with your description. We have a very good police force who are under pressure from every side , not enough resources , not enough members on the ground, having to watch their every move as they try to solve crime, with thugs on their mobiles trying to set them up at rough scenes in busy towns and cities every night of the week. Then they have to contend with the vexatious calls to gsoc and all that follows from that. People working in private sector would not tolerate it, I can tell you that. We will always have people like you however, everyone is out of step but your crowd, plough on my friend, you will go far.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Apr 11th 2016, 11:00 PM

You’ve no idea

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 11th 2016, 11:04 PM

I have gone far thanks, very selective response I see, never a shortage of resources when it comes to Dennis.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:47 PM

Fianna Gael? Is that gonna be the new name for the Government?

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:48 PM

#to Aoife

Mute Nick
    Favourite Nick
    Apr 11th 2016, 8:54 PM

This yoke played her part to try humiliate and undermine the whistle blowers when they were exposing corruption. Shame on her and God help those cops having to listen to her lick up to the politicians.

Mute Anne Kehoe
    Favourite Anne Kehoe
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:14 PM

That’s all they all do talk talk promises promises shame on the lot of them

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Apr 11th 2016, 8:07 PM

It’s very hard to have any sympathy for the Gardai. They have allowed themselves to be turned into a political force at the beck and call of their political masters.

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:13 PM

Nah, that’s just what you want people to think so you can justify “civil disobedience”.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:18 PM

@Colm Flaherty,
    Do we need your permission for civil disobedience?

Mute Michael Sands
    Favourite Michael Sands
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:45 PM

Is that why you report a crime and they don’t do anything about it, for their image?

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:11 PM

The guards have to understand that things won’t always be this bad for them. The recovery is well underway according to fianna gael. They just need to put on the green jersey for this one. Simple as.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:23 PM

Sorry I made a typo, I meant to say ordinary people.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:39 PM

God you can’t win around here. I control the journal.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute The Mooooose
    Favourite The Mooooose
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:41 PM

Possibly the dumbest comment I have ever read and that’s really saying something

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Apr 11th 2016, 6:42 PM

Wearing the green jersey for the best part of a decade can lead to one hell of a manky jersey. Time to change the jersey sweetheart.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:00 PM

Jack. We’re all in this together remember.

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:10 PM

In what together? I’m here on the bog. Want to help?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher

The root of the problem been guards just like teachers and other highly paid public sector people who are akin to millionaire lifestyles homes and cars and think they are above the average tax paying private sector self employed workers who create the moneys to run the state.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:39 PM

Can you speak English please Michael.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:44 PM

A smarty pants

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:48 PM

MONIES, MONEY MORE MONEY CASH

Mute Axl H Jealy
    Favourite Axl H Jealy
    Apr 11th 2016, 8:04 PM

Oh my sweet jesus Michael Maer you are a f n wa nk er. Millionaire lifestyles, above the average tax payer!! They are the average tax payer you p r i c k. And as a clue for you, the Luas drivers are private sector tax payers.

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Apr 11th 2016, 8:09 PM

You sir, are a moron.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:31 PM

The truth sometimes hurts

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 11th 2016, 9:46 PM

Cool down a. little now I not in favor or advocating that anybody be poorly paid but we have to live within the means of the State and budget . Now being over worked and missing break times loss of workers rights is a matter for organisation and the commissioner to put right.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:19 PM

@Aoife,
    I hope you’re being sarcastic.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Apr 12th 2016, 1:26 AM

Yip Michael got it one, just watching all the gardee sicheleeny red thumbing any one who doesn`t get down on their knees in front of them.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 11th 2016, 7:17 PM

Working 10hr shifts without a break and they are shattered aww!! Poor didums, must be hard work eating all those donuts. Thousands of workers do those hours and just get on with it!! Stop whining and do your job, the one that you decided to do!!!

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:11 PM

How about you go tell a father his child is dead after examining a scene with the child’s brains splattered all over the road.
    A union rep is every bit the politician Enda & co are, but I don’t begrudge the Guards their pay.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:56 PM

If I was garda,I would accept it as part of my job, it seems to me a lot of garda shouldn’t be in the job if all they can do is complain about it, I’m sure it must be very difficult at times but nobody forced anyone to do it?!

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Apr 12th 2016, 10:46 AM

you hit the nail on the head

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:16 PM

She’s no good that one, I remember she was all for Callinan until he got the heave ho.

Mute Himself
    Favourite Himself

Is it my imagination or has the journal dramatically reduced the update rate?

Mute Can't Think of One
    Favourite Can't Think of One
    Apr 12th 2016, 4:34 AM

The Commissioner was not put into that job to act in the best interests of Gardai and to make sure that the organisation is run effectively, she was put there to do what she was told to do by the government. If she was strong-willed and independent-minded, and willing to make waves over the treatment and working conditions of Gardai, she wouldn’t be Commissioner.

Mute Chris carey
    Favourite Chris carey
    Apr 11th 2016, 11:19 PM

Garda reserves are working at weekends when all the sh!t goes on and nobody cares, or will stand up for them. No voice,No support.when they see a horrific scene go home see you next weekend, forgot about,

Mute Axl H Jealy
    Favourite Axl H Jealy
    Apr 12th 2016, 12:34 PM

That’s simply because they’re a bunch of nosey f u c k e r s and they are not wanted and wouldn’t be missed if disbanded

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien
    Apr 11th 2016, 10:55 PM

I wonder will there be much Guinness drank in Westport or is that not allowed now that the women are in charge. A barefooted climb up Croagh Patrick after 10 pints would do wonders for morale , run that by Noireen and Francis and see if a barrel or two can be allocated in the next budget.

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Apr 12th 2016, 5:18 AM

I feel so sorry for the rank and file gardai that are doing their jobs when the top is rotten to the core. The garda com should nominated by the president and passed by the courts. The dail is just used this as a political pawn

Mute knowing it all!
    Favourite knowing it all!
    Apr 12th 2016, 7:41 AM

Any person who’s job it is to be the front line of defence for their country should get paid damn well for doing it….anybody who thinks the army is our first line are wrong….The first people called in any crisis are the police then they assess the situation and then the army are called if needed. I know there have been soldiers killed in the line of duty for ireland but these have been over seas mainly….but in the line of duty protecting irish people in their own country it’s been the Gardai who have lost the most…..If any person is in trouble or need imediate help they call the Gardai not the army so as far as I am concerned they should be paid well for protecting the ordinary person like me and so any others on here and not have to struggle in their own private lives to help us in our lives.

Mute Emmet Lyons
    Favourite Emmet Lyons
    Apr 12th 2016, 11:06 AM

No sympathy for them what so ever …. if they had the balls to do their job and protect the people instead of the corrupt politicians and corporate dictators they would stand more of a chance of getting the people behind them

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Apr 12th 2016, 9:03 AM

Mr Kenny . Will all criminals please keep their aciivities to between 9 AM and 5PM please

Mute Eamon F. O'Malley
    Favourite Eamon F. O'Malley
    Apr 12th 2016, 9:08 AM

Why would the negotiations on the formation of a government have anything to do with commissioner of the Garda Am I missing something

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.
JournalTv
News in 60 seconds