Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

PA Archive/PA Images

Dublin Bus drivers 'urinating in bottles' due to lack of toilet facilities

Dublin Bus has advised drivers to use toilet facilities of local amenities.

DUBLIN BUS DRIVERS are resorting to urinating in bottles due to the lack of access to toilet facilities, particularly on longer routes across the service.

A source within the National Bus and Rail Union told TheJournal.ie that the company has started to “crack the whip” with drivers who request a toilet break.

They said drivers have to ask permission to stop in at a local depot if nature calls, but that their supervisors have now started writing up reports about the disruption to the service if they do this.

“One driver said he was questioned by a manager over a number of these reports.”

All of the depots have toilet facilities, but it becomes an issue for drivers on longer routes from one side of the city to the other, particularly if they terminate at one end in a housing estate or another location without facilities.

“What’s happening in some places is that drivers are urinating in bottles. We’ve had complaints from people in housing estates saying they don’t want their kids looking out the window and seeing the driver urinating at the bus,” the source explained.

“From the female perspective, it’s even worse. If they have the time of the month and they have to drive, for example, from Rathfarnham all the way over to the northside in one go, there’s nothing at either end. That could be over two and a half hours.”

The NBRU is asking the company to provide proper toilet facilities at terminuses and is requesting that drivers be allowed to use toilets at depots without being reported or questioned about it.

“They should have access to basic facilities,” the union source said.

Dublin Bus said: “It is not possible to provide our own toilet facilities at termini across the city due to our extensive route network. However, drivers are advised to use the toilet facilities of local amenities.”

Read: Some Leap Card users travelling on Bus Éireann for free due to lack of correct ticket machines>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
97 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:05 PM

Why don’t they just wear nappies to work like everyone else.

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:11 PM

@O Swetenham: such a total bullshitt statement.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:12 PM

There’s no flies on you Pete.

See 6 more replies ▾
    Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:36 PM

@O Swetenham: Only on his nappy.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:15 PM

@O Swetenham: You jest (I hope so anyway), and yet apparently this is what ‘self employed’ drivers for delivery firms in the UK have been complaining they have been forced into out of sheer necessity. Utterly shameful.

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:56 PM

@O Swetenham: idiot

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Dec 4th 2017, 12:39 AM

@Peter Kelly: childish

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Dec 4th 2017, 5:25 AM

@O Swetenham: Surely someone’s taking the piss…..

Mute Gus Sheridan
    Favourite Gus Sheridan
    Dec 4th 2017, 7:31 AM

@O Swetenham: thats taking the piss

Mute Franklin Roosevelt
    Favourite Franklin Roosevelt
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:17 PM

“But, but, I read in the Independent that Dublin Bus drivers make €100,000 a year and they only work 10 hours a week. It was in the Independent so it has to be true!”

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:12 PM

@Franklin Roosevelt: *Sprays cider over smartphone* €100,000?! That’s disgraceful! We need driverless buses now!!! *carries on ranting*

Mute Franklin Roosevelt
    Favourite Franklin Roosevelt
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:51 PM

@Harry Whitehead: “This paper is owned by a billionaire who made his money by very dodgy dealings, it has to be true!”

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Dec 4th 2017, 4:13 AM

@Franklin Roosevelt: Good god..!! And I am sure he washed his hands before giving customers their change..!!!!

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:02 PM

That’s be the No. 1 bus so…

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Dec 4th 2017, 7:25 AM

What a pisstake!!!

Mute TractorPat
    Favourite TractorPat
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:07 PM

I can understand driving from say Castletownbere to Belfast. But how long are the routes in Dublin!!!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:09 PM

@TractorPat: not very, most should be able to go 4-5 hours without needing a toilet back at a bare minimum.

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:28 PM

@Paul: you never know paul!! I’d say anyone should try hold it for their next break from work instead of going out to piss whenever they need to!!
    I reckon it’d be more difficult than we think!!

See 7 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:45 PM

@TractorPat: Plenty of Pubs/Resturaunts etc. along the way to do a quickie and passengers won’t mind.

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:48 PM

@Andy Byrne: If they were to keep holding on, day after day, they would end up with Kidney or Bladder stones. That is not acceptable.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:02 PM

@TractorPat:

The Bus Eireann drivers on the popular Belfast-Castletownbere Express Route will be Monsignor now if you’re not careful

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:03 PM

*moaning
    Stupid autocorrect

Mute Noel Ryan
    Favourite Noel Ryan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:27 PM

@Richard Wright: what happens if they have a NUMBER 2? Doggy bag I suppose.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:29 PM

@Stephen murphy: You’re on the Journal here mate, there’d be phucking murder!

Mute eimsley
    Favourite eimsley
    Dec 4th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Paul: don’t be ridiculous….

Mute Tom Harpur
    Favourite Tom Harpur
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:13 PM

More strikes on the way or pay rises

Mute Kevin O'Donnell
    Favourite Kevin O'Donnell
    Dec 4th 2017, 12:50 AM

@Tom Harpur: mgmt are not saying one cannot go to the loo. They ask that they use local amenities at a terminus. Seems common sense to me as against setting up portaloos at each end point. If they allow loo breaks in the middle of the route that is a serious inconvenience for the paying customer. Definitely sounds like the opening salvo of a pay claim to me.

Mute Ricardo Shillyshally
    Favourite Ricardo Shillyshally
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:48 PM

My next door neighbour is a driver for Dublin Bus, and he urinates in bottles all the time…..even at home. He’s a dirt bird….

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Dec 5th 2017, 5:51 AM

@Ricardo Shillyshally: how do you know

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:29 PM

Some routes can be up to 2hrs one way. No toilet facilities at that terminus. So holding for another 2hrs on the way back. Then you might not have needed to go before you started work. So the time could be quite long between relieving ones self. I’m actually bursting now after just reading this. Damn…

Mute richiemcf
    Favourite richiemcf
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:32 PM

I understand now why some bus drivers drive so fast :(

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:13 PM

Smart arśe comments abound. Easy to pass judgement on something you can’t relate to because it doesn’t apply to you. This is the 21st century for God’s sake! Yet again management treat staff like dirt & commentators here treat them with utter contempt.

Ask yourselves, if your immediate bosses said you couldn’t use the loo when you needed would you be happy? Of course you wouldn’t. After all it’s Harley your fault… when you’ve got to go you’ve got to go. As another poster said it’s not like anyone’s being asked to reinvent the wheel after all. Now, imagine someone who has ulcerative colitis or crohns disease being denied access to toilets. Does that seem fair to you?

Mute The Watcher
    Favourite The Watcher
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:48 PM

@Matt Donovan: drivers are Not being denied permission to go to the loo. But if going to the loo is the reason that a bus misses a journey, then that had to be logged (excuse the pun) for the NTA. They need to know why a bus is missing.

Mute Patrick Brophy
    Favourite Patrick Brophy
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:07 PM

@Matt Donovan: It isn’t fair. In fact, some might say that the discomfort experienced by a need to use the toilet especially with Crohn’s Disease or Irritable Bowel Syndrome could be seen as a distraction to the driver.
    Distractions of any form are dangerous!

After all, isn’t there a sign near the front of the bus warning passengers not to distract the driver while the bus is in motion?

The movement of a bus can also compound a need for a bathroom break!

A bus driver should be relaxed and comfortable while on duty.

See 4 more replies ▾
    Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:21 PM

@The Watcher: yes they are being denied permission. You might want to get your facts straight before you start trolling.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:30 PM

@Matt Donovan: where does it say that they’re being denied ?

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:45 PM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: I work for Dublin bus, I’ve been denied the use of toileting facilities &I’m aware of quite a few others.

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Dec 4th 2017, 1:06 AM

@Matt Donovan: yes agreed I suspect the replys are from smug well paid office workers who can take their unrestricted toilet breaks, but as most but not all are Irish bus drivers who they feel are lesser beings than themselves , so they feel safe making a joke of them, of what is a basic human right to use toilet facilities.

Mute Michael Dowd
    Favourite Michael Dowd
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:33 PM

Why not examine how London bus drivers deal with this problem and copy their example if possible. I’m sure we don’t have to try and reinvent the wheel on this one

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:57 PM

@Michael Dowd: they stop at Waterloo station

Mute kjholt
    Favourite kjholt
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:01 PM

that’s taking the piss..

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:06 PM

@kjholt:
    No its keeping it…

Mute Stonerpug
    Favourite Stonerpug
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:31 PM

Ah never shake a bus drivers hand

Mute Andy Mahony
    Favourite Andy Mahony
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:40 PM

If your starting your shift and the previous driver offers you a bottle of Lilt…it most likely not a bottle of Lilt..

Mute Denis Silver
    Favourite Denis Silver
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:18 PM

Who the hell says ” if a female has the time of the month ” a 10 year old child .

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:49 PM

@Denis Silver: Couldn’t spell ‘menstruating’.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:18 PM

@Ian Heaton: it was a quote Ian.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Dec 4th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Ian Heaton: that’s a big word Ian ya better lay down now for a bit

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:06 PM

Well boys pay ruses come with consequences. How much more would u all like to make the problem go away!!!

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:10 AM

@Paul: the only ones mentioning money are you & your fellow trolls. Interesting that…

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:25 PM

Toilet at every bus stop only answer

Mute Chris Lane
    Favourite Chris Lane
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:02 PM

I’m glad they don’t handle the money anymore

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:49 PM

It has been my considered opinion that bus routes should have “halting” stops where a bus would wait so it could leave at a specified departure time. It is greatly frustrating on some routes to see buses bunch up cause the first has to stop and the second catches up and you wait an hour and then 3 buses turn up…… this would also solve the problem trying guess the departure time of buses half way along a route…. there could also be used for linking routes and passenger transfers…. Rathmines could be a good holding area for outbound buses for example, and this would be an ideal location to put staff toilets………………….. solve three problems in one go and provide a better service too…

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 9:00 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: have you ever been through Rathmines? Given the lack of places to safely hold a bus, the number of routes, the complete disregard for parking by, cars, vans, trucks etc & the complete lack of enforcement by the gardai of such issues just where in Rathmines do you propose to solve 3 problems in 1?

Mute Karen Doyle
    Favourite Karen Doyle
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:18 PM

Is this the start of the next pay claim, getting in early arent you….. Get over it. Use the bathroom on your break. Its not rocket science.

Mute John
    Favourite John
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:37 PM

Reminds me of that bottle of orange I picked up last week. Smelled absolutely putrid and tasted even worse

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:29 PM

Shocking news just what the rest of the country never expected and wanted to hear, was worried sick all day that something terrible like this could be happening in Dublin Bus, hope to god that Monday will bring much better news from the capital.

Mute Is mise muc gránna
    Favourite Is mise muc gránna
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:15 PM

They wouldn’t dare if John Wayne was alive !

Mute Robbie Moles
    Favourite Robbie Moles
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:28 PM

One way forward althought it would take years to roll out would be all new buses purchased for new fleets would have toilet facilties…for staff only..

Mute Sean taoiseach
    Favourite Sean taoiseach
    Dec 4th 2017, 9:28 AM

Point is clearly being missed it is the disciplinary action being taken against drivers who request to use a toilet that is at issue here and it is amazing the majority of comments come from male keyboard warriors.Dublin Bus ran an exhaustive campaign to recruit female drivers and expect them to drive also for in excess of 5 hours with no access to sanitary facilities should they require them and in fact in some of the depots there is not even access to female sanitary products should they require them considering most work after shops are close if they caught short surely a semi state company should provide even basic toilet facilities now the male keyboard warriors go home and discuss the matter with your wives girlfriend or sister and see what reaction they give u. Won’t be so brave

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:11 PM
    Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:34 PM

Too much information.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:45 PM

The No. 1 Dublin bus drivers go to the loo in a small super market near the terminus. No, not IN the shop , I hope ! There should be shops on a retainer for DB toilet breaks …

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:36 AM

What sort of person reports a colleague for going to the toilet ? Is this how people behave in Dublin Bus

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:01 PM

They couldn’t organise a piss up on a bus

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 11:20 PM

And what do the male drivers do??

Mute Jalil rizvi
    Favourite Jalil rizvi
    Dec 4th 2017, 11:02 AM

Taxi drivers are same but they are just using walls or green if they are outside of town. Only city who has no public toilets around town. Dublin City Council shame on u

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Dec 4th 2017, 4:23 AM

If aircraft commanders can do it, why can’t bus drivers!

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 12:44 PM

@Missyb211: auto pilot & co pilot(s), do try to keep up.

Mute Michael Donovan
    Favourite Michael Donovan
    Dec 3rd 2017, 10:52 PM

IT MAKES ME LATH,,,,.

HOW ABOUT PASSANGERS DONT WE DESERVE TO GO AS WELL,,,,HYMMMM,,,,THAT LITTLE OLD LADY WHOM COULDNT GO BECAUSE THERE WAS NO TOILET ON THE BUS FROM WEXFORD TO DUBLIN,,,,,SHAME,,,SHAME,,,SHAME,,,THE BUS DRIVERS SHOULD TAKE A HIT FROM RISES TO PAY FOR A REFIT OF TOILETS ON THE BUSSES,,,,,THERE OVER PAID LAYABOUTS,,,,.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:11 AM

@Michael Donovan: you said that all in block capitals so your opinion must be valid.

Mute Michael Donovan
    Favourite Michael Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 10:58 PM

@Matt Donovan:
    Thanks Matt,,,I’ll keep it small next time.

Mute Gus Dennis
    Favourite Gus Dennis
    Dec 4th 2017, 10:16 AM

The failure of the Corpo to provide public lavatories in Dublin is a disgrace.In my youth there were such facilities available.Now they are all closed down,and you can piss anywhere, except in a lavatory provided by the Corpo.!

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Dec 4th 2017, 10:43 AM

Minister Ross and members of board should be put on a bus on a 5 hour journey without access to toilet facilities…..somebody would come up with a solution

Mute Tricksy
    Favourite Tricksy
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:25 PM

Ahh your taking the piss ??

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Dec 3rd 2017, 9:52 PM

@Tricksy: you mean, don’t take the piss!

Mute Paul Maloney
    Favourite Paul Maloney
    Dec 4th 2017, 7:14 AM

I can smell a strike coming on—or wait, is that what I can smell?!?!?

Mute Gar Hanlon
    Favourite Gar Hanlon
    Dec 4th 2017, 10:05 AM

Harley’s constantly on the mind eh Matt

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Dec 4th 2017, 12:46 PM

@Gar Hanlon: yeah, sometimes autocorrect comes up with some good ones. Only copped that when you said it

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:29 AM

Here we go again…. How long until another strike?

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:16 AM

The boyos in the speed vans must have en suites.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Dec 4th 2017, 6:08 AM

They should Slash those routes and tell the drivers to piddle off!

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Dec 4th 2017, 1:48 PM

Is that why the London Routemaster buses had the driver area isolated from the rest of the vehicle? So the driver could “piss-in-peace” without making a stop?

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Dec 4th 2017, 8:59 AM

That accounts for what I saw on the bus the other day!

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel

JournalTv
News in 60 seconds