Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Happy Pear twins apologise and remove photo of their morning swim

Dave and Steve Flynn continued with their normal morning dip and posted a photo on social media today.

THE HAPPY PEAR twins have apologised and removed a photo from social media of their morning swim today after a raft of criticism was levelled at the chefs.

Dave and Steve Flynn posted a photo of their swim in Greystones on their Instagram account stating:

“Happy Monday. The calm before the storm this morning where there was blue sky and the sea was like a pool. Inspite of weather warning it was one of the calmest mornings ina while so there was no risk in having a swim.”

happypear Happy Pear Instagram Happy Pear Instagram

A code red weather alert was issued for the entire country last night ahead of the arrival of Storm Ophelia. Authorities have warned that under no circumstances should people visit coastal areas, such as beaches and promenades.

Following the image of them emerging from the sea this morning, people were quick to comment that their actions were “disappointing” and “set a bad example”.

Some critics told the chefs their post was disrespectful to those working in the coastguard and sea rescue.

The Flynn brothers have since apologised, and in a statement to TheJournal.ie said they mean no offense.

“We’re sorry if we offended anyone with our swim this morning. We swim in the sea at The Cove in Greystones almost every day and in the early hours this morning the sky was blue, the sea was really calm – there was no wind or storm brewing in Greystones at this early hour – so we got in for our daily brief swim.

“We have the greatest respect for the emergency services, our experienced fellow swimmers, and our families, and none of us would have got into the water if there was a risk at this time and if it wasn’t so calm.

“We fully appreciate that it’s a very different picture now so please stay safe, keep away from the water, and mind yourselves.”

Red alert

The authorities have warned people that this could be the worst storm to hit Ireland in 50 years and have urged people take it seriously, and follow all safety advice, such as avoiding any unnecessary journeys and staying indoors.

Speaking on the the Sean O’Rourke programme on RTÉ Radio One, Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney warned against what he dubbed the thrill of “hurricane tourism”, adding that people should avoid making “stupid decisions”.

Two kite-surfers were rescued in Carlingford this morning, while RTÉ’s Teresa Mannion, famed for warning people to stay out of the sea, reports that officials from Galway Council have been extremely critical of a number of people out swimming in the bay.

Leo Varadkar: The government IS prepared for Storm Ophelia>

‘A significant risk to life’: Storm Ophelia could have a ‘sting jet’ with winds of 100km/h>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
148 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:20 PM

People who swim/walk piers etc in weather like this intentionally put our front line staff in danger.
    They should be prosecuted if front line staff are required to assist them.

Mute Mick Mulligan
    Favourite Mick Mulligan
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:27 PM

@moneymaid: you’re a gobsh**e

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:31 PM

@Mick Mulligan:
    Why? Because I give a s*it about people who get up out of bed everyday to look after other people?
    Go blow it out your a*se Mick.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:44 PM

Mick we saw what happeed with Rescue 116 and that was in weather 10% as bad as this, we lost an entire Coast Guard team due to an error with the GPWS

They’re not just walking uniforms they’re people with kids and husbands and wives and sisters and brothers that care about them and they put their lives on the line for not very attractive pay same as the Guards and medics and fire and CD they should be risking their lives only when necessary not to save people from their own recklessness. We’ve never seen a storm like this so people are already inclined to underestimate it, anything tha encourages that is counterproductive, they made the right decision taking the pics down.

Mute Paul Mc Nulty
    Favourite Paul Mc Nulty
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:56 PM

@Ryan Carroll: Jaysus your a drama queen. The only thing they’ve put in danger is your delicate smugness.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:00 PM

@Mick Mulligan: I’m not sure moneymaid is the gobsh**e. They make a very valid point and show respect and empathy for our emergency services and their families. You on the other hand….

Mute Stephen Small
    Favourite Stephen Small
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:02 PM

@Paul Mc Nulty: I think he had a very valid point. Some people being ridiculously and needlessly careless, either in search of fun like the two Kite surfing saps in Louth, or in the case of the Happy Pear twins, perpetual self promotion. The emergency services already do a hard enough job without these potential Darwin Award nominees.

Mute Sinead
    Favourite Sinead
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:30 PM

@Mick Mulligan: what a ridiculous response Mick.
    Get a life.

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:57 PM

@Mick Mulligan: no you are.if you were in trouble and i was a rescue person id leave you there.tool.

Mute Mick Mulligan
    Favourite Mick Mulligan
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:11 PM

@Sinead: thanks

Mute Little Diddy No
    Favourite Little Diddy No
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:24 PM

@moneymaid: They swim EARLY in the morning every day. They always tweet it. They did not ask for this to be in the media. The storm was a long way off. There was no danger to themselves or anybody else. People are getting very hysterical and nasty.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:50 PM

@Stephen Small: the happy pair of pr1cks

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 16th 2017, 6:00 PM

@Little Diddy No: “They did not ask for this to be in the media”? What planet are you on? Why else put it up on Twitter if they didn’t want anybody to know. Just a pair of attention seeking prats as indeed are you and all the other idiots on this thread who are using terms like “Nanny state” and “snowflakes” to try and show righteous indignation for infringing on your rights to make your own minds up. You are just trying to be controversial for the sake of it which is as bad, if not worse, form of attention seeing. Grow the fu(k up.

Mute Anto McGovern
    Favourite Anto McGovern
    Oct 16th 2017, 7:29 PM

Hypersensitivity again – no problem this morning in Greystones…calm as fook! Nowadays one can’t do fook all but everyone is up in arms…RELAX to fook!

Mute PaulOD
    Favourite PaulOD
    Oct 16th 2017, 7:32 PM

@Mick Mulligan: good lad

Mute John Owens
    Favourite John Owens
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:53 PM

@moneymaid: life isn’t black and white. Were you up in Greystones? Have you the slightest clue? People like you need a fine big dose of cop the hell on. A dip in calm waters hours before the storm is a lot different to kite surfers heading way out to sea for hours

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:13 PM

@John Owens: I never said I had an issue with these individuals in particular. What I did say was PEOPLE who require the assistance of the front line service for reasons that are completely avoidable should be prosecuted.

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:13 PM

@Little Diddy No: Again. I never said I had an issue with these individuals in particular. What I did say was people who require the assistance of the front line service for reasons that are completely avoidable should be prosecuted.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:28 PM

@Stephen Small: Vast amount of publicity even after taking photo down. Job done.

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:34 PM

@moneymaid: and forced to volunteer for 12 months to channel their need for adrenaline to good use

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:17 PM

Not so perfect now

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:21 PM

@kevinhunt101: hes hot in any weather :)

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:08 PM

@Blarneykite: Playing down weather warnings in a hurricane / TS is irresponsible.

When people (who, trust me, won’t consider that it was earlier before the worst hit) get caught in rip tides or get their head bashed onto rocks or their boat capsizes because “it’s grand in spite of the weather warning”, it will be that very nanny state that they’ll be screaming for to rescue them.

and when their rescuers go out those of us who count them as close friends or family will be worrying about them getting killed to save people so stupid in a just world they’d not be allowed to reproduce.

A lot of people make impulsive decisions with their emotions not their logic, go look at conspiracy theory videos online you’ll see people so sure about xyz theory without taking even the most obvious contextual detail into account “there was a missile that hit the pentagon not the plane”, not considering say why would they risk thousands of people seeing a cruze missile? They don’t think context, a lot of people won’t muse “hmmm that was taken before the storm hit it’s probably too dangerous now” they’ll just think “its never been bad before”, then you have the added issue that nobody ever thinks the freak accident will happen to them.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Julian King
    Favourite Julian King
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:27 PM

@Ryan Carroll: so you’re saying Hurricane Ophelia has something to do with 9/11?

Mute Little Diddy No
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Ryan Carroll: It was very early in the morning when they swam. There was no danger. People are getting hysterical and nasty.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:23 PM

@Blarneykite: Not when it endangers other people

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:19 PM

For flock sake, leave the lads alone. Some snowflakes offended by then having a swim and making them feel like they have to apologize?

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:22 PM

@Carnac: they’re a pear of tossers in fairness

Mute Dan Broderick
    Favourite Dan Broderick
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:23 PM

*pair

See 12 more replies ▾
    Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh

@Dan Broderick: ah Dan, I’ll leave that one with you for a few minutes.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:28 PM

@Laura Walsh: facepalm for Dan

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:31 PM

@Laura Walsh: lol poor dan

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:33 PM

@Carnac: I’m right there with you. Hey everyone. It was calm…they weren’t endangering themselves or anyone else. They weren’t disrespecting the rescue services or anyone else because it was BEFORE the storm. During the storm would have been a different matter. So get over yourselves and NO, I will not be wearing my cycling helmet going to bed, just so you can feel better.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:48 PM

@Shea Fitzgerald: I get your point Shea, but there are a lot of really dim people out there, and posting it might give people the impression the storm wasn’t as bad as people thought, people might not pay attention to the posting time.

On my way to job2 this morning I saw people in blackrock swimming and others taking selfies right on the edge of the water. There were people at the DART station looking at what appeared then to be not very rough waves and saying “it must have blown over then”, because they looked up and saw a blue sky and sun peaking through, what they din’t notice was that there was a circle of 360degrees of dark clouds it was just a small break. You are giving peoples intelligence and common sense far too much credit a lot of people don’t ask themselves “wonder when / where that was taken” obvious as it might be to some of us. They did right pulling them.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:04 PM

@Ryan Carroll: The picture was accompanied by a fairly detailed piece of text explaining that it was the morning, there was no storm…yet, it was calm and there was no danger and it didn’t seem to bother the 4 other people who were still in the water. I really wish people would cop on to themselves and leave these two guys alone.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:17 PM

@Shea Fitzgerald: Again…you’re thinking logically

Stop doing that it’s not what people do in situations like this, they don’t consider the context. If you’ve ever been in a job where you’ve had to rescue people you’d be really shocked how people make their decisions. The human brain does not work the same way in every situation, I’ve had to physically drag people out of buildings that were on fire because they didn’t think it was bad enough to warrant leaving their laptop/shopping etc

You’re also not considering that things can look calm but actually be dangerous, if you look out your window in most of Dublin now it’s just a bit windy does not look much worse than a bad winter day, but it’s enough to blow trees down with enough force to crush and kill someone, you can’t see currents in the water with your eyes. “in spite of weather warning it was calm”, if you look at that, and your’e inexperienced, you could look at water that does not seem too bad and think it’s ‘storm sill hasn’t hit’ then get ripped away by currents.
    It’s not their fault if someone goes out, but they were right to try to avoid encouraging it.

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:36 PM

@Dan Broderick: think you may have missed the joke there Dan

Mute Thomas John Keeley
    Favourite Thomas John Keeley
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:02 PM

@Laura Walsh: yes they are they’re plonks

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:19 PM

@Ryan Carroll: Will you please quit telling me what I can and can’t do. All this thinking on behalf of others and not just by you, because they can’t think for themselves. That’s the seedling of apartheid right there and it’s not on.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:27 PM

@Ryan Carroll: Absolutely disgraceful bashing of two people who went for a very early morning swim, as they do every morning, long before any kind of danger whatsoever. Stop it.

Mute Katie Daly
    Favourite Katie Daly
    Oct 16th 2017, 10:10 PM

@Little Diddy No: you’re the first person to mention that the two brothers along with other friends do this most mornings at about 5/6am. Ive seen their instagram posts some days and it’s been a heck of a lot rougher than that!

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:26 PM

They were plonkers well before this.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:17 PM

Watching sky news, muppets swimming in salthill. Crazy stuff altogether!!

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:33 PM

You’re all just jealous that you don’t have the guts to go out swimming today. The real heroes are out in the water in Salthill giving the middle finger to Ophelia. They’re not going to be intimidated by a little wind unlike the rest of you pansies cowering in your homes. I’m off to climb Carrigtwohill barefoot for the evening

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Tweety McTweeter:

Also giving a few fingers to brave, hard working emergency services, don’t you agree, if they get into difficulties on a bad-weather day when asked not to take risks!

US system should be implemented in Ireland, in such circumstances, where “you’re on you’re own notices issue” if thrill seekers insist on being jack asses.

After all, just why should emergency services personnel be put in peril by someone’s stupidity?

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:17 PM

@Tweety McTweeter:
    Climb the main street in Carrigtwohill is it?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Oct 16th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: “giving the middle finger to Ophelia” gosh, I’d say she feels really silly now. Idiot troll.

Mute PaulOD
    Favourite PaulOD
    Oct 16th 2017, 7:37 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: good lad

Mute Pat Smyth
    Favourite Pat Smyth
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:49 PM

That pear are the Jedward of the culinary world

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Pat Smyth: and like jedward similarly irritating

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:32 PM

They were down swimming in the early morning hours before there was any sign of a storm. Much ado over nothing.

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:24 PM

Surprised one of them wasn’t doing a handstand there too

Mute Anthony John Cotter
    Favourite Anthony John Cotter
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:59 PM

Saw them getting out of the water this morning, sea was exceptionally calm at the time, I was running around Greystones and there were lots of others walking, cycling and in the water plus kids on scooters, no issues or dangers whatsoever, hours before Ophelia was due to hit land.

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac

@Anthony John Cotter: you were out running! Apologize please.

Mute Richard Costello
    Favourite Richard Costello
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:18 PM

Clowns

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins

I have no problem with people doing as they wish as long as they don’t expect to be rescued when they get into trouble.

Mute DarkHorse
    Favourite DarkHorse

Dopes

Mute Charlie O'Neill
    Favourite Charlie O'Neill

Tossers

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:49 PM

insufferable attention seekers, anything to promote themselves and their business interests.

Mute Mark Collins
    Favourite Mark Collins

Pear of pri**s

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:43 PM

Pair of absolute toss pots

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper

Pair of ejits!

Mute Sam Cairns
    Favourite Sam Cairns

Some people need to be temporarily sectioned for their own safety.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:13 PM

@Sam Cairns: like half TJ permanent commenters. It’s like they honed their ‘skills’ at being perpetually enraged and easily triggered on Twitter and felt obliged to dose us with their cancerous ravings on every article. This place used to have a half decent comments section a few years back but now it’s just the same 5 or 6 with their multiple accounts on every article, the middle ground is a no go, it’s either join their far left or far right brigade or they group up and pick your bones clean.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Sam Cairns: It’s hard to know how to respond to that because it’s so wrong on several levels.

Mute Ultan Coyle
    Favourite Ultan Coyle
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:50 PM

By all accounts arrogant in school, and seems little has changed.

Mute Margaret Henry
    Favourite Margaret Henry
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:56 PM

@Ultan Coyle:

Jealous????

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:05 PM

So selfish. So what if the water was calm? ” Before the storm ” is no excuse either. The RED ALERT was issued yesterday for the entire country and they should have abided by the nationwide warning.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:57 PM

@John O’Neill: and if the red alert was issued 3 days earlier before the storm would you be saying the same thing if they went for a swim yesterday? They were long gone off the water far from danger before any bad weather hit, they even mentioned clear sky’s, sun and exceptionally calm waters. Why would they not go for their regular morning swim!?! Honestly every person ‘having a go’ at these two needs to have a good look at themselves and cop on. They swam BEFORE any bad weather as they do daily, ie likely very good swimmers and well aware of conditions. The two kitesurfers are a different story however.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:08 PM

@Derek: it is pointless trying to make sense here. People have made their minds up that even though the lads were swimming in ‘exceptionally clam’ waters, they were tossers anyway. It seems to be more to do with personality than anything else. Never miss a good opportunity to let facts get in the way of a good moan.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 16th 2017, 10:29 PM

@Derek: the Red Alert was issued yesterday for the whole country advising people to stay indoors and to away from the coasts, etc. They chose to ignore it and publicise the fact that they ignored it. I saw calm weather outside my house too but I decided to heed the expert advice. So did the vast majority of responsible citizens.

Mute Aidan Rainsford
    Favourite Aidan Rainsford
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:44 PM

Dozy pear.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:37 PM

Well before the storm. No problem at all. Leave them alone ffs

Mute Thomas McSweeney
    Favourite Thomas McSweeney
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:07 PM

I went for a run at 9.30 in the morning in Dublin 22. 4 hrs before the hurricane was due to hit Dublin.

I would not like to apologize for this reckless act.

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac

@Thomas McSweeney: fake apology…

Mute Shem Romanowski
    Favourite Shem Romanowski
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:48 PM

Those who gave out about the twins the most are just simply jealous of their success. It’s clear.

Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe

@Shem Romanowski: the amount of hate expressed here about these two guys is incredible. The vitriol knows no bounds. They are two very successful business men who go swimming every day. They went today BEFORE the storm. It seems that some people like to take any opportunity to put successful people down. Is it not possible to see beyond personality and applaud success in this country?

Mute Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Favourite Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:05 PM

@Deborah Blacoe: You’re talking rubbish. Such a dangerous thing to do especially today

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Deborah Blacoe
    Favourite Deborah Blacoe
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:12 PM

@Deirdre D’Arcy Murphy: No, I don’t talk rubbish. But I read a lot of it here. If you can understand my comment above, it was mainly directed at the vitriol being fired at these two guys, just for being themselves. Nothing to do with the morning swim today.

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Shem Romanowski: success they were born into money

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:59 PM

Two total muppets

Mute Madison Underwood
    Favourite Madison Underwood
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:39 PM

Recommending a dip in the sea?? – Thats exactly what all the emergency services have been warning against. Did you miss the four days of weather warnings?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Madison Underwood: I don’t know or care for them personally but they swim daily and just like yesterday, this mornings early weather conditions were pleasant in Dublin well before the storm arrived. They have no reason to apologise to the internet evangelical anger trolls and gremlins. It’s just another day of attacking someone over nothing for them, and of course the same lot here won’t miss an opportunity to hurl names and get outraged also. Completely different matter if they were out publicing themselves swim once the stomach landed.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster

Lugs

Mute Leigh Duncan
    Favourite Leigh Duncan
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:40 PM

Pear of tossers

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:59 PM

Pear of plonkers

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:04 PM

Love the publicity them two, probably did it just for that knowing too well that there would be more publicity when they take down the posts and the fake apology. It was a perfectly fine morning for a swim if that’s your thing, you don’t need to post every little thing you do. Will they have posts later for “cooking dinner now with the window open in a hurricane”.

Mute Noel James Doherty
    Favourite Noel James Doherty
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:25 PM

@Eddie O’Neill: whilst doing a handstand yes Eddie

Mute Little Diddy No
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:20 PM

@Eddie O’Neill: They are nice guys. They always post about their swims. Lots of people post all kinds of things on Twitter. It’s not a crime. They swim in the very early morning. They were in the sea a long time before there was any danger whatsoever. Why the hatred? What have they ever done to anybody?

Mute Eclectic Vibrations
    Favourite Eclectic Vibrations
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:04 PM

What a misrepresentation. That wasn’t an apology, that was a clarification. A very reasonable and well written one. People have lost their minds over this storm.

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:34 PM

If they want to go swimming, diving, surfing or go out on jet skis BEFORE a storm, all well and grand, if eejits want to follow their example DURING a storm….well….they are eejits after all.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:24 PM

A pair of publicity starved A holes

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:25 PM

They were cooking up a storm

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper

More annoying than Jedward. Absolute gabdaws

Mute Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Favourite Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:36 PM

Two eejits!!!

Mute aleeto45
    Favourite aleeto45
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:22 PM

The O.B.E BRIGADE are out in force again

(Offended By Everything)

Mute Mick Mulligan
    Favourite Mick Mulligan
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:26 PM

My Jaysis this is exactly what’s wrong with today’s world, any f*****g A******e who was offended by this would want to get a life and stay out of other people’s.

Mute Chris van Schoor
    Favourite Chris van Schoor
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:45 PM

Unbelievable to read all the condemnation of people taking a swim! All because a bit of wind was forecast!

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:24 PM

@Chris van Schoor:… Forecast for later in the morning.

Mute Liam John Waldron
    Favourite Liam John Waldron
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:00 PM

There was a weather warnin in place .and we were told not to go outside !!but those two go Swimin .those two will do anything for publicity ,

Mute Paul Costello
    Favourite Paul Costello
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:48 PM

Who?

Mute Art Attack Head
    Favourite Art Attack Head
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:36 PM

I will be boycotting the happy pear as they promote stupidity

Mute Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Favourite Deirdre D'Arcy Murphy
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:04 PM

So not funny. Great example to other stupid people and not admirable in this situation we are in right now in Ireland.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:53 PM

Two absolute pretentious idiots. No respect for emergency services if anythings to happen. All about their massive egos.

Mute Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Favourite Tadhg O'shaughnessy
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:46 PM

Apes have more brains

Mute Thomas Byrne
    Favourite Thomas Byrne

Idiots! Can’t stand those two!

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy

..interesting that they posted their swim this morning as opposed to other mornings!..idiots..cheap advertising stunt.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Celia Murphy: They always post about their swims. They swim very early in the morning. They swam long before even the beginning of the storm was due, when it was safe to do so. I walked by the sea this morning too – it was just slightly windy, well before the storm hit – should I be arrested?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Little Diddy No: present yourself in to your nearest Gardai station at once, regardless of current weather conditions and prepare your backside for a roasting from the frothing internet trolls. You monster.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Favourite Mary Elizabeth Whittle
    Oct 18th 2017, 9:31 PM

@Celia Murphy: they post their swim every morning… I know… I see it

Mute ginger tomatoes i9
    Favourite ginger tomatoes i9
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:58 PM

Did they do it just to say they swam during hurricane, if so pathetic. If swim everyday would know better

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:20 PM

@ginger tomatoes i9: well they didn’t swim DURING a hurricane did they?

Mute james wolverson
    Favourite james wolverson
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:39 PM

going for a swim on the morning that you where told not to make any unnecessary trips, this could of been avoided but you still wanted a selphy, pure saps and can’t take any sort of direction obviously.
    Well done lads, your famous

Mute Audrey
    Favourite Audrey
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:24 PM

I really don’t understand people absolute idiots.

Mute Dave Mooney
    Favourite Dave Mooney

@Audrey: I concur

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:07 PM

Thicks

Mute Fargo Boyle
    Favourite Fargo Boyle
    Oct 16th 2017, 7:20 PM

The Happy Pr*cks

Mute cyril.1
    Favourite cyril.1
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:19 PM

They were right to have a swim calm as fcuk this morning so why not ya thick’s

Mute Christine Gleeson
    Favourite Christine Gleeson
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:44 PM

This is ridiculous. There was no wind in greystones this morning. Where does this pc crap, outrage at everything stop

Mute james wolverson
    Favourite james wolverson
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:37 PM

Arse holes going for a swim on the morning that you where told not to make any unnecessary trips, this could of been avoided but you still wanted a selphy, pure ticks and can’t take any sort of direction obviously

Mute Marie Red
    Favourite Marie Red
    Oct 17th 2017, 8:14 AM

For goodness sakes it was calm and the red alert for the area wasn’t until later in the day .
    There was no risk as it was BEFORE the storm .
    People need to get a grip and get over themselves

Mute JMac
    Favourite JMac
    Oct 17th 2017, 1:44 AM

Best response to these two jumping up and down clowns is to stop buying Happy Pear products in supermarkets or visiting their business in Greystones. Then they can swim all day and night in all weathers and if they get into trouble they can let the tide do what likes with them.

Mute aleeto45
    Favourite aleeto45
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:21 PM

Ahhh the Internet forces someone to remove a post yet again

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Oct 16th 2017, 9:41 PM

There up and at it when you are all in bed , made themselves millions having fun and giving fun to others. They are happy people.
    Calm waters perfect conditions others in swimming too. , some idiot found ink sticks to paper and complained huh
    F the begrudgers, get on with it the pair of you. Enjoy

Mute Dillon Kalen
    Favourite Dillon Kalen
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:32 PM

Who da f#ck is that guy!

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Oct 17th 2017, 12:24 AM

The new Stokes twins

Mute The Irish Gripe
    Favourite The Irish Gripe
    Oct 17th 2017, 2:00 AM

They must be ‘dubs’..

Mute Nollagh Mac An Bhaird
    Favourite Nollagh Mac An Bhaird

What’s kind of people are walking our streets ?
    How do half of you get dressed in the morning set aside go for a swim
    Just like me

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Oct 16th 2017, 5:23 PM

Whoze the sad sacks that give a rats

Mute Marie Red
    Favourite Marie Red
    Oct 17th 2017, 8:13 AM

For goodness sakes it was calm and the red alert for the area wasn’t until later in the day .

Mute Marie Red
    Favourite Marie Red
    Oct 17th 2017, 8:14 AM

Mute Ciaran Keady
    Favourite Ciaran Keady
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:59 PM

Who gives a flying fcuk whether they went swimming scubadiving parachuting whatever there was NO storm when they did what they normally do every other day so why the fcuk not

Mute Rusty Nuts
    Favourite Rusty Nuts
    Oct 16th 2017, 10:17 PM

Happy pear w@nk@rs. Absolute Dick heads

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Oct 16th 2017, 8:39 PM

Don’t see what all the fuss is about if they Got into trouble they could just cling to the raft of criticism

Mute Nollagh Mac An Bhaird
    Favourite Nollagh Mac An Bhaird

What’s kind of people are walking our streets ?
    How do half of you get dressed in the morning set aside go for a swim
    Just like me

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel

JournalTv
News in 60 seconds