Advertisement

We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Picture: Dublin gets new 'airport' courtesy of iPhone's new map software

With Google Maps gone, the latest version of Apple’s iOS has designated Airfield Park in Dublin as an airport on its new mapping software.

APPLE’S NEW MOBILE operating system iOS6 has been launched this evening and is notable for the disappearance of Google Maps.

Instead the tech giant has put in its own maps system in place which has quite hilariously designated Airfield Park in Dublin as an airport.

The ‘new airport’ is located just off the Upper Kilmacud Road in south Dublin according to the plane symbol on this map and is sure to cause a bit of confusion for anyone unfamiliar with the city and searching for the airport on their iPhone and/or iPad.

The city’s only actual commercial airport is on the north of the city.

Hat tip to Aleesha Tully on Twitter who spotted this and noted “Not only did #Apple give us #iOS6… They also gave us a new airport off the Upper Kilmacud Road! Yay!”

Screengrab via Gavan Reilly.

Oh dear: Apple Maps has made some pretty bad mistakes in its Ireland maps >

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Close
84 Comments
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:58 PM

Don’t tell Michael O’Leary. If he doesn’t have to pay the DAA, he might start landing planes there.

Mute Brian Osborne
    Favourite Brian Osborne
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:05 PM

Same thoughts, same time

Mute LittleSparrowC
    Favourite LittleSparrowC
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:32 PM

Don’t tell Leo he will but a couple of cycle lanes heading straight to it .if he haven’t already

Mute 7w0QAJg6
    Favourite 7w0QAJg6
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:57 PM

Awkward moment when a tourist gets off at Upper Kilmacud Road, expecting an airport. :D

Mute John E. Kelleher-Cantero
    Favourite John E. Kelleher-Cantero
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:58 PM

Siri thinks that The Outhouse on Capel Street and Republican Sinn Feinn on Parnell Street are embassies!!

Mute !/! !/!
    Favourite !/! !/!
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:21 PM

Didn’t Apple invent the concept of maps? I mean, they invented facetime, voice recognition & the turtleneck… and that was all done while they invented listening to music.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:23 PM

And curves. Don’t forget curves. They sued samsung for curves.

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:35 PM

and Al Gore works for them now so they invented global warming and the Internet :)

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Sep 20th 2012, 6:07 AM

This changes everything ….Again

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:11 PM

Apple has made a big mistake in dropping google maps. Their maps system is far from complete I feel, I miss google maps already! Lol

Mute !/! !/!
    Favourite !/! !/!
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:30 PM

I’m reading these comments on a Samsung… please don’t sue me. On 2nd thought, sue all ya like… it’s not like you can find me…

Mute bignazza
    Favourite bignazza
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:14 PM

that’s mad ,right on my house !! No joke

Mute LittleSparrowC
    Favourite LittleSparrowC
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:37 PM

Bignazza don’t go to bed and leave the landing lights on. You could wake up in the morning with a plane in your garden

Mute Lisanne Lotus-Eater
    Favourite Lisanne Lotus-Eater
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:56 PM

Brilliant! I can stop driving across the city to work and fly home to Swords now. Thanks Google, is there nothing you can’t do?

Mute Popsicle Pete
    Favourite Popsicle Pete
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:08 PM

Not google..

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:08 PM

The point is that it’s NOT Google made the mistake, it’s Apple. Apple put in their own maps after ditching Google Maps!

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:42 PM

It’s actually TomTom…

Mute Jules O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jules O'Sullivan
    Sep 20th 2012, 8:10 AM

It’s thanks apple and not google. Where did u c google put the airport there, when it was apple that put the airport there!!

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy

The Iphone 5 useless and out of date before its release but it’s so pppppretttty and expensive just like it’s owners :)

Mute Stephen D
    Favourite Stephen D

Slow news day, eh?

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:17 PM

It’s a revolutionary and magical airport!

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:42 PM

iphone fan boy ye?

Mute Jeff Nolan
    Favourite Jeff Nolan
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:11 PM

Super…park in Dundrum SC and head over to London for some shopping……

Mute JJ Rossi
    Favourite JJ Rossi
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:35 PM

Having downloaded iOS 6 to my iPad tonight, and then reading this article I took a closer look at the maps app. It’s quite staggering at the mistakes in it, in my own town there are dozens of incorrect or out of date points of interest (like bars and super markets that closed or moved several years ago), one road in particular isn’t joined to another road at one end (which was also a fault in TomTom maps who have provided map date for the app). Going out further, whole towns are been moved 10 miles down the road and one town, Killyleagh have been put into the Irish Sea!

Mute Joseph Colclough
    Favourite Joseph Colclough
    Sep 20th 2012, 1:58 AM

Not surprising as they have Tom Tom doing the back end work on the mapping & location of places, even if they had chose garmin still would be a polished piece of richard the third

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sep 20th 2012, 2:15 AM

I bet the map for US has far less mistakes, Apple likely concentrated on getting the map error free where there’s a bigger market for the iPhone … leaving us with a map riddled with mistakes.

Mute Patrick Mooney
    Favourite Patrick Mooney
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:54 PM

We also have a zoo off Merrion Square!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 20th 2012, 10:15 AM

Dept of an Taoiseach?

Mute John Coady
    Favourite John Coady
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:03 PM

it also has a farm and a cafe.If pigs could fly…

Mute Sheila Walshe-Blackmore
    Favourite Sheila Walshe-Blackmore

Hahaha. I used to live 1 minute from Airfield before I moved to France. Would have been so handy for quick trip back to visit.

Mute Brian Osborne
    Favourite Brian Osborne
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:59 PM

Ryanair will operate from there starting next week. It is an airport close to Dublin after all. Come on Michael it’s a chance to make more money and it won’t be run by the DAA.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:20 PM

Too close to Dublin for Ryanair.

Mute Michael Barrett
    Favourite Michael Barrett
    Sep 20th 2012, 12:41 AM

Ryanairs new Belfast airport

Mute Marc Winters
    Favourite Marc Winters

That was supposed to be the “Nama” Terminal

Mute Lisanne Lotus-Eater
    Favourite Lisanne Lotus-Eater
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:14 PM

Point taken @Barry O’Brien- apologies for the Google slander, even though it was in jest!

Mute Dave Gibson
    Favourite Dave Gibson
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:42 PM

Apple maps is pure shite. No streetview for starters. Won’t be updating any time soon

Mute Gerry Grehan
    Favourite Gerry Grehan

I’d say there’s a good few more problems like this on the way. Hopefully google maps will still be available to use.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey

Not on the iPhone – no google maps. Apples answer to competition is ditch or sue.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:24 PM

Google will release their own when its ready.

See 3 more replies ▾
    Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:34 PM

That is if Apple decide to allow it in the app store…

Mute Gerry Grehan
    Favourite Gerry Grehan
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:40 PM

I mean that from the point of view of googling a business either through safari or google maps finding it and hitting ‘directions’ that was very handy. I’d worry that wont work for a lot of places now.

Mute Declan Clancy
    Favourite Declan Clancy
    Sep 20th 2012, 7:47 AM

‘Live street view’ looks good

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Sep 20th 2012, 12:54 AM

What a joke, wouldn’t expect any better, get yourself an S3 folks

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:02 PM

Really?! It’s been 5 hours since the last pointless iPhone story. Fanboi’s much?!

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:47 PM

From more exploration of the app, you can report all these inaccuracies to apple, yelp etc by reporting the wrong location and dragging the pin over the correct location. The more people that do it, the more accurate it will become.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:47 PM

People are also forgetting how crap google maps were when first launched too.

Mute Jeff Kennedy
    Favourite Jeff Kennedy
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:01 PM

when google maps came out there was nothing like it ,it was new and a massive investment by google .When Benz built the first car it was rubbish but you wouldn’t buy a crap car today, well maybe you would if Apple made it?

See 2 more replies ▾
    Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:08 PM

There was nothing like google maps? ReThink that one through ;-)

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:09 PM

The point I’m making is, that it still wasn’t the more polished version today….

Mute Andrew P
    Favourite Andrew P
    Sep 20th 2012, 12:55 AM

Its Batman’s Birthday today.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:44 PM

LOL. London here I come. Beats trekking out to Collinstown! Reminds me of the Wiki article years ago which gave the Republic 27 counties. They’d included Fingal County as a proper county.

Mute !/! !/!
    Favourite !/! !/!

Carl Sagan was the OG Turtleneck pimp…

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Sep 20th 2012, 4:26 AM

God forbid at some stage in the distant future somebody does build and airport here….. Apple will have a watertight legal case

Mute Cli
    Favourite Cli
    Sep 20th 2012, 4:15 AM

Its airport 9 3/4 !!!!

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:26 PM

It’s actually ok so far. The speaking satnav is awesome. And the 3D maps of city centres is really cool.

If you miss google street view I found a cool app called ” ifindview” that does the trick

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:54 PM

I suppose nearly 2 years after Android isn’t bad…

Mute Richard Collumb
    Favourite Richard Collumb
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:11 PM

That’s going to make my house a lot noisier, mind you I’ll be able to walk to the airport now

Mute LittleSparrowC
    Favourite LittleSparrowC
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:20 PM

I heard the duty free shopping there is great please tell me it’s true✈

Mute weddingcar.ie
    Favourite weddingcar.ie

Great i can fly up to see my folks now

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:03 PM

Will google earth be gone as well?

Mute Orion
    Favourite Orion
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:45 PM

Haha I noticed this within a few mins of update to IOS6 and did think it was slightly odd :P

Mute Jacki Rhodes
    Favourite Jacki Rhodes
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:39 PM

I no longer need to cross the city for a flight, brilliant:-P

Mute ronan kelly
    Favourite ronan kelly
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:46 PM

And who cares?????

Mute jim redmond
    Favourite jim redmond
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:43 PM

Samsung fanboys care

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Sep 20th 2012, 7:48 AM

iPhone google map users care. Why pay for a decent satnav app when google could find the smallest town land in the middle of nowhere? And it could. Thx arrogant apple.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 20th 2012, 7:54 AM

I just hope no rookie pilots depend on Apple maps!

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 19th 2012, 9:55 PM

is it Baldonnel/Casement Aerodrome? Thats Dublins “other’ airport

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle

should have read the story first doh

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:41 PM

how’s stillorgan west of Dublin f.f.s.

See 1 more reply ▾
    Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:07 PM

@ muhamed, you could google it!

Mute Bus Man
    Favourite Bus Man

What about Weston and Baldonnel on th e west of the city

Mute Laura Diver
    Favourite Laura Diver
    Sep 19th 2012, 10:40 PM

they’re aerodromes not airports, there’s a difference

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:30 PM

Jesus. Slow news day? This has to be one of the most pointless items on the Journal I have seen in a long, long time. To be fair to Apple, it is called AIRFIELD, after all. Easy mistake to make.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 20th 2012, 7:49 AM

That’s great…I’m in London at the moment, going to change my return flight and I can walk home from there!

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sep 20th 2012, 2:10 AM

The only mistake I found with google maps is it has Shelbourne Football Club labelled Croke Park, depending on the zoom level. I keep meaning to point that out to them.

Mute Hugh O'Brien
    Favourite Hugh O'Brien
    Sep 20th 2012, 9:47 AM

The maps are awful, a prime example of a superior apple product!

Mute Edward Dunne
    Favourite Edward Dunne
    Sep 20th 2012, 4:59 AM

This is great , no more Aircoach out to the airport , 5 mins walk!

Mute Richard Adriano
    Favourite Richard Adriano
    Sep 20th 2012, 12:39 AM

excellent work…. QC sleep now!!

Mute Jack Eagle
    Favourite Jack Eagle
    Sep 20th 2012, 9:55 AM

Great can walk home now, no more long-term carpark charges!! Might even turn the drive way into a short-term carpark — Excellent rates at a tenner an hour!!!

Although I was wondering what will happen to the cows, sheep, pigs ‘n bunny rabbits in Airfield………..ahh, feck them I make me fortune with me short-term carpark!!!!

Mute Barney
    Favourite Barney
    Sep 20th 2012, 4:00 PM
    Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Sep 19th 2012, 11:54 PM

Bla bla bla…..:(

Mute Jean Donnelly
    Favourite Jean Donnelly
    Sep 20th 2012, 12:52 PM

Can I fly out of this one when the other one goes on strike next week and ruins my honeymoon??

Mute Colette Carroll
    Favourite Colette Carroll
    Sep 20th 2012, 1:52 PM

Shall we point out that there is also Airfield/Ayrfield on the northside too?

Mute Frank Kavanagh
    Favourite Frank Kavanagh
    Sep 20th 2012, 2:56 PM

Apple uses Tom Tom, aren’t they the company which was caught out selling information about users to the police?

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.
JournalTv
News in 60 seconds