TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

75 per cent of women in Ireland feel they have experienced sexism in the workplace – research

A new survey suggests a “glass ceiling” may still hold women back in the workplace.

Image: Victor1558 via Creative Commons/Flickr

ALMOST 75 PER CENT of women say they have experienced sexism in the workplace, according to the results of a survey by an employment law consultancy.

Some 814 female employees were questioned by Peninsula Ireland over April and May 2012. Of those, 74 per cent said they had been frustrated that men had been promoted over them and 49 per cent said employers should do more for equal opportunity recruitment in higher positions.

A further 21 per cent said they did not feel confident that their ideas would be taken on board because of their gender.

Managing director of Peninsula Ireland Alan Price said that it was “alarming” that sexism in the workplace still exists, but also noted that employers “may struggle to identify how sexism is still present” – particularly in the context of legislation in place with the intention of protecting individuals.

Price said there was “still a sense that men are progressing faster in their careers than women”, whether in the boardroom or in management positions, and that there were suggestions that a “glass ceiling” was preventing women from progressing further in their careers.

To combat such problem, employers should acknowledge a policy which enforces equal opportunities within the workplace and which recognises the importance of gender discrimination, he said.

“Sexism can affect women at any level, and it is important that everyone from security staff right through to board of directors are given that equal opportunity to progress further in their careers,” Price added.

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• There’s an assumption that the reason that the men were promoted was because they were men.

I used to work in an organisation where attendance at a particular school (not far from Clane if you get the drift) seemed a fast-track to senior management. Now, it happens that everyone who attended that school was male, but the men who attended local community schools or CBSs and even other less prestigious private schools were getting discriminated against too.

• I have no comment on the findings, the percentages, whether or not these people were genuinely passed over for a man of lesser ability and/or experience.

I do, however, feel it would be naive in the extreme to assume that this is not happening. Senior management have budgets to consider and I would be very surprised if (however discriminatory and illegal it may be) some didn’t think “Yer wan there just got married, she’s probably going to have a baby soon and we really need continuity for this project over the next 2 years – if we’re late to market here we’re gonna get killed. Might as well give it to yer man, as he’d be the candidate for the maternity cover anyway.”

The only solution, to both glass ceilings and gender-based salary discrepancies, is to have full paternity leave for men, along with legislative protection for personal days with children. This is highly impractical both financially and culturally, but without that change, the additional cost of maternity cover will continue to be levied unfairly on women. Some people have touted splitting the paid time between a father and mother, but I don’t believe this would be used 50:50 for most couples, given the choice, and continuity in the workplace is the key differentiator, especially in the context of management.

While I’m sure there is an element of sexism remaining in the workplace, I’m confident that the nub of the issue is the perceived cost of high-earning women of a child-bearing age.

• Are you serious?

You want men to watch 6 months of Judge Judy and Jeremy Kyle too…..

• No I don’t, personally I’d go mad.

My point is not “Equal time off for men!”. My point is as follows:

1. The cost of benefits for a female employee is generally higher than a male. If is some function of the pregnancy rate of female staff.
      I believe that some employers wrongly bring this into salary decisions for females

2. Continuity for long term projects is guaranteed to a lesser extent among female employees, as among male employees. Pregnancies happen, and this happens to coincide with the life period in which professional people are at their most driven, and making moves towards promotion. There’s a productivity hit in switching tasks between people, and this can be greater if that person is a project manager
      I believe that employers wrongly bring this into promotion decisions, and/or assigning of the more important projects that can get someone noticed in the first place.

It’s wrong, wrong, wrong, but without the (admittedly unworkable) solution of paternity leave, how can we really stamp this out?

• 2 weeks of watching programmes like Loose Women or how to redecorate your house and I would be in no fit condition to look after any children!

• After nearly losing my first business due to two employees taking maternity leave at the same time ,I would not employ women under 45 again .It is simple economic survival, if you run a small business, that just stays afloat, the expense and cost of training a replacement could sink it.Yes it’s sexist but honestly what choice do you have ,if you have a valid alternative I’m all ears?

• Very brave of you Jeff to post using your Facebook account, you’re gonna rustle a lot of jimmies with that comment!

• It’s the truth and as I said if you have a way round it great, as I know a lot of very talented 20 something girls are not getting jobs for this reason

• @Jeff Kennedy: I’ve had arguments with you before, but I have to say at least fair play to you for making a valid point. It is a tough nut to crack.

• @ Ronan: Very fair point and a valid argument. The problem could be resolved by equaling parental leave. I also think that employers are concerned about lost productivity due to child birth. If everyone was given a mandatory 6 month parental leave it would level the playing field in industry.

• Don’t mean to rain on the parade here but the three main statistics there relate to women being frustrated that men were promoted over them, feeling their employers should do more for “equal opportunity recruitment” and feeling a lack of confidence in the workplace because of their gender. None of those actually mean that they have been discriminated against. They essentially show that 74% of women don’t like men being promoted over them (neither would I, doesn’t mean it was discriminatory), 49% believe their employers should engage more in “equal opportunity recruitment” which to me sounds like quotas and a nice handy method to claim discrimination if you’re passed over for promotion, and that 21% just don’t feel confident, nothing to do with sexism.

• I would agree with you that it’s unlikely that these are all proven cases of discrimination, but I also doubt all 74% of women are just annoyed that men were promoted and they weren’t. It really doesn’t have to be all or nothing.

• Very well observed and explained and I hope others either come to the same realisation themselves when reading the article or do so after reading your comment.

What utterly terrible “research” and I wasn’t shocked to see the sensationalist title originally thrown on it here, something all too common on this site these days.

These “findings” are worthless and are based completely on subjective opinions which were undoubtedly lead by the questions being asked.

I’m sure, if they were bothered, they would find similar or higher numbers of males who’ve felt they’ve experienced sexism in this time of gender quotas, predominantely female HR/recruitment departments and the hiring/promotion of women just to be seen to be doing so.

Another cheap and shallow attack on men in the media, where will this end?

• I think it’s obvious that there are a lot of methodology problems in measuring sexism – how do you know if discrimination against women due to their gender, because they’re (as someone actually said below) perceived to be too emotional or something else entirely. It’s really hard to evaluate and I’m not sure how you can conclude that this means no sexism exists. What it does mean is that it’s certainly something we should be thinking about and considering.

• The headline and the first line are not in harmony. 75% of women have experienced sexism or 75% say they have experienced sexism.
    Which is it?

Big difference!

• Hi Sean,
      Thanks for the comment. The headline was actually changed before you commented to say that 75 per cent of women *feel* they have experienced sexism at work – the original headline had already indicated that statement was based on research, but I changed the wording to make it a bit clearer.
      Obviously, the story is based on a survey – which is based on people’s opinions – so it’s not black-and-white. It is interesting that quite a large proportion of people feel that way, nevertheless.
      All the best,
      Jennifer

• Any chance of a link to the survey?

• I’d never have thought 75% of men knew where the kitchen was! ….I’m expecting a few red thumbs for this one…

• Moany bitches wash my shirts and make my coffee!

The only times I’ve seen this kind of sexism in my career was from the older generation of management. In every place I’ve worked an equal playing field is always promoted. People were hired and put up the ranks based on their skill and professionalism it was never based on gender.

In my experience those who feel hard done by are the ones who make up reasons for their own inadequacies and ineptitude.

• A bit of cop on is badly needed here. If I asked 800 bald men from Mayo could their employer be doing more for bald headed Mayo men I’d probably get a similar result. What seems to have happened is that our pals craft a headline and then go about creating a survey to back it up. What are we saying here? That over a working life of ten, twenty, thirty or more years that 75% of women say they feel they have experienced sexism once or more? Journalists need to stop eating this stuff up every time. If Peninsula want to advertise in the Journal, I’m sure the bosses would appreciate it if they paid like everyone else.

• YYaaaaaaaawwwwwnnnnnnnnn…..now make us a nice cuppa love

• Ask men the same question. They can also be discriminated against. Not uncommon for somebody to say woman can multi task and men can’t. It isn’t true either belief comes from a flawed study in the 50s.

• Let’s talk about our feelings.
    Let’s call talking about our feelings news.

• Is a very hard call…men and women should and must alway be treated equal but the thing is men will always favour a beautiful woman,for so many reasons,and until thats is solved,i dont think it will change soon,cos men are easily lost when they see attractive woman..

• 75% of women need to stop blaming others for their jimmies getting rustled.

• Durning a recent channel 4 TV program they proved that men work better in a stressful environment due to the fact they don’t get as emotionally involved. Maybe this has something to do with these results?

• And as we know channel 4 are renowned for their well documented scientific research and would NEVER manipulate facts and figures in order to increase their numbers….that’s like quoting wiki, sorry.

• The very worst place to experience sexism is in a coal mine.

• It amazes me that on an article about womens experience of sexism in the workplace its funny that almost all of the comments are from men telling us we are imagining things. Men take a look at urselves.

• It isn’t about “women’s experience of sexism”. It is about women’s “feelings”. They “feel they have experienced sexism”, as the article states. Feelings are not facts. They certainly may have experienced sexism, but that is not what the article states. There is no methodology applied that rises above what is known in the world as “opinion”.
      And you know what they say about opinions…
      At least that is my opinion of what this article is saying. It hints at something else, but it doesn’t muster any facts to support it. And if sexism IS widespread (and it may well be) then someone needs to get off their lazy hindquarters and bring us some facts—not opinions.

• Quieten down there love

• Absolutely Niamh … It is all in our heads , did you not realise that ? We are only good for having kids , making tea, cleaning any mess up oh and making cakes for the office party on a friday afternoon…. In the meantime , we do the work while the ”men ” talk about doing it …Ha ha only joking ! I don’t want to be insensitive to the hard work men do out there . There are some people men and women who do not see that both genders are equally capable of doing great work on an equal level and I think working mothers (single or otherwise) do great because they are always compensating somewhere because they feel they are shortchanging someone where in reality , they are doing fantastic work.
      Stop being shy ladies , Have you experienced sexism ? Tell us.

• Seamus because 75% of women ‘felt’ they experienced sexism in the workplace does not mean they imagined it. It means that what was involved was benevolent sexism, this is hard to pin down, it could be being called a girl or love by a male colleague, now this is not enough to go to a tribunal over but it happens all the time and its demeaning. Would you call a male colleague love? Maybe you would, I don’t know you.
      I love lamp it is time to put sex panther away forever, it hasn’t worked for you 60% of the time every time. I’m sorry and a little bit embarrassed for you.

• Where do you read that what the people surveyed experienced is “benevolent sexism”? Or did you just pull that our of–thin air? I’ve re-read the article several times. I see no reference to “benevolent sexism”, nor any definition of it. If it’s not worth going to a tribunal over, then it’s not unlawful, generally, is it? Or do we now propose laws governing forms of address? Calling someone “love” is demeaning? What shall I call you? “My esteemed colleague”?
      There is another problem with the story, and that is that “sexism” is undefined. It is whatever the person queried thinks it is. You think it’s one thing, the law thinks it’s another thing. Some think that because they were offended, they have experienced sexism. Sexism is offensive, but offensiveness is not sexism.
      Get a grip, my esteemed colleague. By, “…it’s hard to pin down” do you mean “it is whatever we say it is”?

• Seamus in the words of I love lamp calm down dear. Benevolent sexism is a term used to describe the general use of ‘accepted’ or ‘ignored’ sexism in society. maybe if you looked it up you might just learn something darling.

• I did look it up, and found that it was invented by two “feminist” researchers in a publication for the journal “Psychology of Women Quarterly” which is the official publication of the Society for the Psychology of Women (Washington, DC, USA) and is described as a “feminist, scientific peer-reviewed” journal.
      I would leave it to the readers to assess the merits of the study by reviewing it themselves.
      Perhaps 75% of Irish women have read this study and agree with it. Perhaps not. But actions described as “sexist” in the journal include opening doors, holding doors, compliments on cooking, compliments on fashion, offers of assistance with heavy burdens, offers to escort women to their cars after hours, in short, any action that a man would not normally (or in some cases WOULD normally) offer another man is considered “sexist”. Even my disagreeing the feminist viewpoint of what constitutes sexism is sexist. I am a sexism-denier.
      I gather the feminist thought model for men towards women is: “Civil to all, courteous to none”, unless of course, they want courtesy. Fair enough. Call you game, we’ll play it your way, pal.

• Dear Seamus (courteous and civil enough for ya?) I’m not really sure wot you are getting all bent out of shape about. You are dismissing research that goes back twenty years by two scientists who happen to be women. I think the study you are referring to is in fact recent research conducted into behaviours around benevolent sexism and where the line is drawn, which goes back to my earlier point about it not being an easy one to pin down. We each have different opinions on wot is sexist and wot is offensive. I f you read the actual report it outlines how when women were asked to fill out the survey they thought the questions referring to husbands carrying groceries, men holding doors etc. were an actual joke, they were so ridiculous that when the researchers asked why the respondents had reacted as they did the women involved were bemused. But that research is not the origin of benevolent sexism. Benevolent sexism isn’t holding doors for women (I also hold doors for men, even for you if you asked me nicely sweet cheeks) its the casual stuff that is accepted or ignored but unwelcome.

• As Richard Keys said “do me a favour love”

• So what about jobs where a woman must immediately stop doing her job as soon as she is pregnant. Cabin crew, pilots, radiographer?

• Disclaimer: This is not a troll statement.

Perhaps it is a case that men are actually more talented than woman or more suited for these perceptions.

OR

Perhaps those women questioned just feel that sexism was the reason for not getting ahead, rather than ability, which was probably the actual reason.

I’m open to arguments against, because of course it could actually be sexism outright.

• Arch Archibaldovich
      Of course you are so right. Men are the masters of the human race and in fairness us women should know our place be it the kitchen or the nursery or the bedroom ….. and let the men like Arch get on with the important stuff out there .
      I worked in a job that not one man could take my place and do . Yet I had men who tried to tell me how i should do it … Ha ha .

• The woman in the office should always make the tea for the men at break time – only joking!

• ah !The good old boy’s club ….You scratch my back and I will scratch yours….. and don’t tell the girls ! Ha ha , you can not beat it and you can not join it unless you can stand while you pee…… That leaves out the girls . .

• I have to admit I understand a boss being worried about a six-month gap in continuity of work if he suspects a woman might have a child within the next couple of years. Only way around that is to force men to take paternity leave too.
    However, that would surely scare employers. For instance if it were a project based work – it could throw the whole thing out by a month or two.

• Mujaahid 14/06/12 #

In modern Ireland the distinct roles of each gender have been blurred in the mad rush to appear liberal and open. The reality is that society simply cannot function under this pretense. It’s time for men to act like men, women to be women and roles to be clearly demarcated.

• Cam here to say this.

Add New Comment