TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Applause in auction room as woman buys back brother’s repossessed home

Orla Mulvey addressed the crowd at yesterday’s Merlin property auction, telling them that she intended to purchase the house built on her father’s land.

The five-bed house in Castlepollard in Westmeath

THERE WERE EMOTIONAL scenes at the Merlin property auction in Dublin yesterday as a woman announced to potential bidders that she was there to buy back her brother’s house.

Orla Mulvey stood and made a speech at the end of the auction at the Radisson Blu hotel, telling those in attendance that the five-bed detached house in Castlepollard in Co. Westmeath had been built on her father’s land, and that it had been repossessed when her brother was unable to make payments on it.

The house, which would have been worth around €300,000 at the height of the boom, was eventually bought by Ms Mulvey yesterday after she beat out two other bidders.

Property expert Carol Tallon, who was at yesterday’s auction, told The John Murray Show on RTÉ Radio One this morning that Mulvey made a speech in advance of the lot, explaining potential problems with access and water supply to the land if it was bought by another bidder.

Tallon said that these problems were not highlighted in a threatening way, but rather praised Mulvey’s dignity and described the feeling of ‘goodwill’ in the room.

She described how one bidder dropped out quite early, leaving just Mulvey and one other potential buyer at the back of the room. Mulvey turned to face the bidder as the sale progressed and eventually secured the property for €76,000.

The room erupted into applause as her final bid was accepted.

The house had been remortgaged with a sub-prime lender and the owners had made an attempt to buy it back directly from the lenders for €20,000 after it was seized, but this offer was rejected.

Ms Mulvey had told the gathered crowd at yesterday’s auction that the house rightfully belonged to her family.

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• She basically stood up and said let me get this house for a song or i’ll end up being a neighbour from hell.

• Reg 23/05/12 #

If there are problems with access and water supply how did they get planning permission in the first place?

• Hi Reg. The family owns the surrounding land. They were basically threatening other bidders that water and access would become an issue if the house was sold outside the family. As as result, other bidders pulled-out….plain bullying and completely underhand. For some reason the author thinks this behavior is admirable.

• alan 23/05/12 #

it is shocking that bullying like this is tolerated. surely when the planning permission was granted the access and water supply must have been ok’d with future inhabitants in mind?

depressing stuff

• Reg 23/05/12 #

You would have though so Alan. How can planning permission be granted if both access and water are at the whim of the person who owns the surrounding lands. Even families fall out. Something stinks!

• How did they get mortgage approval if there were issues with basic services sounds like another case of lying on the application by the brother ?

• Bull McCabe stuff there. Tis my field!

• The auctioneer should not be facilitating the speech. Their duty was to the client to secure the best price for the property. Allowing veiled threats before the auction hardly helps that.

• Gods knows what she woulda done to the other bidder if she’d lost!

• A bully and a leech – heartwarming story indeed, if you are one. The family got the house for peanuts by strategic default (they own the land around and another house, so there is collateral to be claimed) and threatened the competition with cutting off resources.
    No wonder there won’t be any mortgage debt forgiveness – how can you tell who is truly broke and who is playing the game?

• Does this story remind anyone of John B. Keane’s “The Field”?

• She was entitled to bid but she clearly interfered with the bidding process solely for the purpose of serving her own advantage. The bank (state) was entitled to get the best price possible and is she could pay it she was clearly entitled to buy the house but by distorting the bidding and interfering with the listing (claiming problems with the property not stated in the listing) she unfairly in my view interfered with what should have been a wholly independent and impartial bidding process.

• This could start a precedent, stand up confess your moral right to a property, point out a slew of issues not communicated on the listing and attempt to “shame” anyone else from bedding

• I only wish the two bidders stayed in and upped the price. Who does she think she is making a speech and threats and then staring down a rival bidder as if it was her birth right. Imagine if her brother didn’t have daddy’s land to build on and had to get an even bigger mortgage

• Using underhand methods to stifle bidding is nothing to be admired. He entered a contract, he borrowed the money, he stop paying. These people have done nothing but take care of themselves and a give a big F.U to the tax-payers who will eventually cover the difference in bank bailouts. I’m glad the bank will continue to chase him for what he owes. You cannot sign a mortgage agreement as an adult and then expect to be treated like a child when it becomes convenient.

• Blame FF for socialising the debt, they are the ones you need to be mad at rather than crying here like a whiney bitch when someone uses the leverage at their disposal. As for that “person” that was raising the bids, trying to profit of others misery they will get what they deserve.

• Brian so we should all stop buying houses now because someone who couldn’t afford it is losing money thats really going to sort the property market out you muppet

• we should all stop paying and then get a relative to stare down the opposition and threaten the water supply, when we buy it back for a song.

thats the very reason why distressed mortgages are not being dealt with by the powers, its impossible to know who is genuine and who is not

• In that case we shoud all tell the banks to go f*ck themselves ,well, that’s premise here. A man borrowed money from a sub prime which means that regular banks knew he was a bad risk ( which is saying something in this country) . Dont get me wrong , id normally be glad a bank got stuffed but its the rest of us on the hook for the bank losses and guys like this lack of personal responsibility!

• No you are not paying the loan was sold and the bank insured wake up wake wake up it’s all spin

• Thanks Anel , Folks go on about your business , Anel has solved the Euro banking crisis , the loans have all been sold on an the bank insured , please stop paying mortages immedialley , we’re off the hook

• Who pays the banks insurance right off Anel? we do, I pay my mortgage and taxes but not so greedy little speculators like this brother and sister can live in 5 bedroom houses cop on!

• Tensing you obviously don’t know how the sub prime market worked.He was not a risk to any bank.

Here’s how the mess we are in happened.

Years ago when you wanted a mortgage, you had to jump through loops to get a loan.Pay slips, references,10-15% of the price of the house etc etc..The bank was taking a big risk in giving you a large sum of money.They needed to know you were a viable customer that over 30 years would pay back their loan with interest!

In the past 20 years banks through lobbying for de-regulation and sheer arrogance, sought greater profits with less risk.They would clump together say 1000 mortgages at €300,000 each and create a thing called a CDO (Collateralized debt obligation).They would then sell off this CDO (debt) to an investment company thus taking away any risk of the mortgage holders defaulting on their debt.They got paid up front for the mortgages with no loss and sold them on to a third party (Investment Companies).

The banks realised they no longer had a risk.They could give out a mortgage and never lose.So they gave mortgages to anyone and everyone even if they couldn’t meet a viable criteria for a loan (sub prime).The banks would clump say 200 sub prime mortgages in with 800 prime mortgages so the investment company buying this CDO thought overall it was a good investment and portfolio.And the ratings agencies (Moody’s/S&P) gave triple A ratings to these CDO’s and signed off on the highly suspect CDO’s.

The investment companies who bought these CDO’s obviously then had investors who had traded in these CDO’s.Even they had a fall back measure.They insured their CDO’s with insurance companies in case their investments went bad, and oh how they did.The greatest example was AIG (Man Utd Sponsors!) who as the sh*t hit the fan came a cropper!!!As the recession deepened, People couldn’t pay mortgages and AIG didnt have the money to pay the investors!Kaput!

This is just one tiny element of what was going on the financial institutions but the banks sold millions of mortgages (not like my examples!) The CDO’S (debt) ventured into credit card debt,mortgages and personal loans!

So when that guy was given his sub prime mortgage you can thank the bank for giving it to him and thank you to the regulator for being utterly incompetent and oblivious!Don’t blame the guy who got the mortgage!

Wherethe banks went wrong was that, as they knew they could sell on these CDO’s to investment companies they could clumpThe investment compnaies had investors

• Last 2 sentences a mistake…..oops! :P

• @Avarus , in fact I’m very familiar with the system you have taken a page to outline . We all know the geniuses of the collapse , if you wanted you could have gone back to the neo liberal policies of Reagan and thatcher based on Friedman economics that deregulated the financial markets ……. Anyway all that long winded nonsense and you wipe personal responsibility under the carpet , here’s the fact ,he went to GE money cause no high bank would touch him so don’t give me a banks in Ireland 20 years ago bullshit . Yes we all know the banks messed up the country but this guy is part of the problem

• Such vicious bitterness on here is very hard to take at times , but the same people denouncing this family are the very ones who support and admire the corrupt bankers and corrupt politicians who got our country into the state its in . Warped or what ? Well done Ms. Mulvey.

• Hah Susie , vicious my ass , get your head out of the sand this guy took a second mortgage at a high interest rate to develop land and went tits up , so ever try to moralise with me , this from the woman who thinks TD and senators who try to legislate to stop people smoking in cars and playgrounds with kids are wasting their time , why don’t you go join the occupy same street crowd defending the poor old couple who got evicted with their 20 house portfolio

• Tensing Norgay
      Whoa ! Do you know me ? No? I know you don’t so why the personal attack ? You have a lot of pent up aggression there against me for some reason …. I must be saying something correct and I am just fantastic the way I can keep hitting the nail on the head . You have a nice evening . You just made mine :)

• Susie ,I don’t know you , nor do I dislike or like you , I’m sure you’re a nice person and one of conviction , However, i do dislike most of your ideas and the one thing I would never accuse you of is being correct . Btw name one thing I said about you that was personal outside of your stated support for not banning smoking in cars with kids?

• Tensing Norgay
      Back pedalling much ?
      I don’t care what you think of me :) I believe Ms Mulvey has acted in the best interest of her own family and I defy you to say that you would not do other wise IF ( I said IF) you found yourself in similar circumstances. All your other comments relate to other threads. Good night .

• I believe in an old fashioned custom. If you saw something you liked, you asked yourself if you could afford it. If you could, you considered buying it and made the committment. If you couldnt, you didnt buy. Period. It seems that over the last decade, this quaint old fashioned custom has been replaced by consumer greed and vanity. The banks were bad, but equally bad were the people who did not consider the affordability of the property they bought.

• Considering it was on her fathers land is it fair to assume he got paid the initial bonanza price as well?

• Horrific muck mansion!

• Great story. Fair play to her.

• And the taxpayers picking up the bill for yet another person overborrowing.
      Denying access to the property betweenthe lines….

• What is wrong with you it’s the banks and government these people work and pay taxes? Have you no moral compass or common sense? You bird brain must be overspending loon enda is beating the rest of us with.

• Ed red bird that’s hardly the women’s fault but you should be pointing the finger at the banks who gave money to anyone and 100% mortgages which was the worst thing for people as this was the peak of house prices as people panicked thinking they would never be able to afford to buy if they didn’t do it then.

• Anel Ccream . its hard to make sense of what you are trying to saying but i glean that you are another childish populist “rage agaisnt the machine man, ) Of course you give little consideration or care that the actions of this man have negitive impact on all of us , at the end of the day we pay for his mess. There are genuines case out there no doubt but remember unlike the majority he built a big house on daddys land and obviously didnt have the means to pay or else he wouldnt have had to go sub prime , then we have Sis with the big sence of entitlement over a house that was built with a banks money .Cop on

• There has to be an amount of personal responsibility. The brother got a mortgage to build the house. He then couldn’t afford to pay and the sister ow has the house for a steal.

Maybe everyone should do the same and see how far into the shit this country can sink into

The sitter may have done it “in good form” but it was it intimidation plain and simple.

• It doesn’t really matter if the sis got it or not, the country is probably paying for the loss.

• Well done Orla Mulvey!, thats just what I would have done. It’s the principal of the matter.

All you bird brains tick the red box.

• Whats great about the storey?You borrow more than you can repay and expect sympathy.The lending institutions are to blame and not the stupidity of the borrower.A five bedroom house that looks like a staus symbol of ones wealth is just the cover of the book.The cupboards are bare.Poor access and a water shortage are the tools this family is using,and be it the brother or the sister that ‘owns’ the house,ultimately the taxpayer repays the balance of the debt.

• Denis 23/05/12 #

I wonder what the brother spend the money on?
      Heard on the radio that it was a remortgage with a subprime lender.
      Maybe a new Jeep and a big holiday.

• Denis 23/05/12 #

Found it on the indo version of the story, it was remortgaged to buy a building site elsewhere.
      I wonder what happened to that?

• So it turn out they were mini speculators , worse again!

• Another great example of People Power . So glad for her and her family :)

• Not that anyone is interested in more details of the story but if you read the version on the indo today they said the lady had to inform the auctioneers prior to bidding that she would be or they could have pulled the house from auction (not sure her threatening access to facilities is included in that requirement, mind you and the indo didn’t mention that little tid bit!) and they also mentioned that the brother is still liable to pay the balance of his original mortgage. Not sure if that makes anyone feel any better but there ya go!

• He’s liable for the mortgage and a lot of taxes, he also shafted his merchants – he was basically a small time developer who ran away to Oz when things started faling apart. Good luck with getting the taxes or the invoices owed back from him, not to mention the mortgage. No wonder the sister had the gall to behave like this, must run in the family.
      Every other hard luck story in the papers has some stink like this in its core; remember the Killiney couple?

• Yes – whats the chances of the brother ever being nabbed for the taxes, mortgage balance etc. ? Nil. Its always the hard working majority of us struggling with our mortgages who get shafted.

• lovely story

• Looks like the other bidder was a ”PUFFER” bidder for the lender. A common practice in Ireland in 1950’s

• Great news story and what a great sister to have.
    If more people did this the banks would just have to cut the debts of struggling people.
    Ireland will never be right until the debts of ordinary people are sorted out.
    Well done Orla

• Great sister? He walks away from a mortgage he could never afford, offers 20 grand for it, then organises to have the sister put up 76k and the house will find its way back to him anyway. Its not a great sister he has but a great country.

• Thats crap. Many many people overspent and gave in to their vanity to buy the biggest and grandest of houses. That couldnt have gone on unchecked.

• It’s very clear to me that many who have posted above are obviously not struggling with there mortgages! As they have no idea the stress and worry people are suffering struggling to live day to day and paying a huge mortgage on a house ( which mine is worth 65% less that what I paid) with the recession many people have lost their jobs since been approved and getting the keys to there house! I think you should all think twice before giving out about that man. You and I do not know the full story to why his house was reprocessed.

• @Sarah,

Have to agree with you. The people above do have a right to complain but have no right to judge anyone. I bought my home 7 years ago. Worked, paying morg. lost job in 2008 trying to run a new little educational business now, still no wage out of it and I don’t know how long more I can continue to pay mine. So the people judging above done judge me if I start defaulting on my morg. I’m trying my best to stay off the dole but my savings won’t last forever. So when and if I hand back my keys don’t judge me and don’t blame me for my home losing EUR185,000 in its worth in the past two years!

• That depends on whether you get your brother to buy it back for 25% value or not…

• Good luck for the future Sheila but my objection to this situation is the sense of entitlement this lady and her son had.

He entered a financial agreement, defaulted on the terms of that agreement, made a derisory offer, was rejected and his sister went to auction to buy the house back. The banking institutions don’t owe him or me or you a house…

• No full story you say ,yet you took sides immediatley, also presumptious to think people you are not sturggling because they disagree with this “robin hood” premise of this story .Im sure its quite the opposite, it when you are struggling that the like of this story piss you off . what we do know is this :firstly he built on family land , how many of us have that adavantage , 2 ) he borrowed sub prime which means he was a bad risk to begin with , 3) He built a 5 bedroom detached house with sun room excessive when he was challanged repaying from the outset , 4) he made a disrisory offer of 20 K to pay for the house , 5) where did he get the 20 k ? obviosuly not off another bank or lender because he was toxic from credit rating POV.as expected he couldnt pay and sister passive intimidate genuine bidders staring them down and “expaining” about access right . sarh if you struggling i genuinley wish you the best of luck and hope you come through it soon , i dont wish that pressure on anyone ,but this guys represents a dieffernt cohort who dont necessarily deserve the high five that at first glance we think he deserves

• Not to forget she had 76k in cash to buy a house, hardly struggling to make ends meet ( you can’t get a mortgage to buy at these auctions )

• Would people feel better if someone else bought this house at auction? The result would probably have been the same except someone else would get he benefit of the low price. Remember everyone buying property at distressed auctions are now getting a taxpayer subsidised house so why shouldn’t his woman also. The banks have decided to stop lending anything and therefore house prices continue to collapse but the bank employees don’t care because they still get paid and get bonuses and they know the taxpayer will pick up any shortfall. They were reckless during the boom giving out loans left right and centre but now they are just as bad because they won’t give out loans to anyone and all they want is cash which they will get at distressed auctions.

• Just like the field by John b keane all over again fair play to the girl

• Reading some of the comments here are really disheartening. I applaud this women for doing what she did. I don’t know how many people here watch the sitcom “Seinfeld” but allow me to make this point. In one episode the character George Costanza screams out “we’re living in a society here”, referring to how we are all supposed to act in a civil manner toward each other. I hate using these terms like “the country is awash with money” and “now is the time to get on the ladder”, but these were the terms banded around by our elected officials during “the f**king boom”. Think about that. That, and the fact that the auctioning profession and finance companies were colluding immorally with each other to get the highest price for properties, along with the banks handing out money they did not have to people who should not have been given mortgages in the first place. Working people wanted one thing, to buy a home and raise a family or just have a roof over their heads. They put a huge amount of trust in the leaders of the country. Imagine working parents. They work between 8 and 12 hours per day. They come home and catch a bit of the news. They are constantly being told that this growth has no end in sight. They don’t feel that they are over reaching, why would they? Then in the space of 2 years the story changes. That mortgage now seems like a bad mistake. The world is plunged into crisis financially. Who’s to blame? The people who over reached? Some people made extra ordinary profits from this “boom”. Every year they were able to buy and sell houses and make double or triple their investment. Others were destroyed because this pyramid scheme was destined to come crashing down. The major finance companies knew this because this monster was their creation. Yet, the working people were not so lucky to have this information. Neither were the wealthy developers who were investing millions to achieve the same thing, PROFIT. They trusted their government that were their to represent them, is that wrong? I fail to see why people can be so hard on someone trying to buy back a property for her family at a reasonable rate. The property is being sold for what the banks want or are content with, yet they would have wanted the original buyer to pay a lot more. We all have been screwed by the financiers. They tried a bold thing and now the world is suffering. I am not a Communist and neither am I a Capitalist but when did we hand over the world to people who studied business in college? Why is it that certain professions think that because they spent 3 extra years in college, they can now charge extortionist amounts of money to do the easiest of tasks. We will still always need nurses, plumbers, bin men/women etc…Those people who turned up at this auction could have paid double or triple the amount for this property if they really wanted it, they did well in the past ten years by “luck” mostly to get through an unforeseeable change of events. The woman bought the property and urged others to look into their own conscience at not bid against her for the sake of her brother. Don’t knock her! See where she is coming from. Let’s fight back and stop trying to screw each other at every turn.

• a story like this makes me more depressed this country will never change for the better.

• Yusufmc 23/05/12 #

Yea great post only thing was her brother owes 2.3 million n cut to oz

• “The property is being sold for what the banks want or are content with” – is not true, when she “shamed” others from bidding on an open market, the market price was not reached, she literally stared down other bidders and used the ownership of adjoining lands to her advantage. I appreciate your points and certainly do not subscribe to the idea that anyone who overpaid for a house deserves to be in negative equity but she manipulated an auction and your argument lies with the fact maybe that the house should never haven been repossessed or auctioned at all, but if it is a public auction should the house not be allowed get the best price on the open market without this disproportionate interference, whatever it would have went to in price she still could have bought it, she should have bid like anyone else and it is likely she still would have got a good deal.

• @Economicopoly – There didn’t seem to be anyone “shamed” from bidding when you consider the room erupted into applause. The people with enough muala to bid at these auctions will have an endless supply of properties to choose from and the ones that really want something have no shame when it comes to money. The thing I learned is that people faced with background facts will alter their motivation to buy a bargain. I applaud this. The unfortunates who will have the properties taken from them could have most likely have paid back more than the banks will get at the auctions, but, they go through with the process and sell the properties back at a reserve that is sufficient for them, anything else is a bonus. I have friends that bought in 2007, €500,000 + for a two up, two down. They weren’t greedy, they serve the community they live in, they participate in society, they work hard and were told to buy before it gets too expensive by every godamn person in position of authority using the media to get their message out. Yet, they now find themselves €250,000+ in negative equity after slogging hard to pay back the banks. The same banks that they are also paying extra payments via the government taxes for investors who made very bad decisions. My bet failed, I’ll have my money back, thanks. Try that at Paddy Powers. I say we challenge the last governments “guarantee” based on the downright false information and scaremongering from the powers that be in Europe and the corrupt leaders we had at the time. I believe it was unlawful. We can sign up for austerity now and be broke for the next 30 years which pretty much puts people over 30 years on the thrash heap or we can stop buying and selling each other like commodities and stand up for change, real change. Change that takes the power away as much as possible from banks and finance monsters. Remember what a bank was created for originally and what is has been allowed to become. They are only people and their powers can be taken back as easily as they were given away. The case here is only an example of what can happen when we forget about “free markets” which is a complete bullshit term to use. True free markets would have seen any business that went bust to do exactly that. Anyone using “free market” as a term to challenge an argument regarding post financial crisis cases is deluded considering all the “bailouts”. The free market is DEAD and to prove it, anyone with a job is paying money from their own pockets for FAILED companies. “Free market” ha!

• p.s. I do appreciate your comment.

• Sham Connors
      Well said . !

• Congratulations to the lady and her family.

• Aww I love this one

• Great story and shame on the other bidder who continued to bid, even though he knew the story of the house.

• First of all it said The house had been remortgaged…. with a sub-prime lender and the owners had made an attempt to buy it back directly from the lenders for €20,000 after it was seized, but this offer was rejected. but it does not say by how much …..the full amount or not…..being 300,000e and will the sister give/sell it back to him will he do it again ????well done sister. but… she should keep the house.and if the lender lost out he should have lowered the repayment and would have eventully got all his money…..

• p.s. red thumbs are to be expected here judging on the previous comments. Guess what? I couldn’t give a shit. Unless you are prepared to comment on your “red thumb” then blow me.

• Good man sham!! The banks and the government have turned ordinary people against each other!Working man against unemployed man, private sector against public, the evicted against those struggling….. “Its his fault!”…”It’s her fault!”..everyone’s fault but the people who were meant to be in control of the money…ie.the banks, the regulator and the government!

• Very true . The old divide and conquer routine… As you said further up above Sham ”We are living in a society … community spirit and a little bit of empathy and humanity can go a long way !

• Fantastic story and nice to hear someone got one over on the banks.

• They got one over on the rest of us suckers Joey. Your tax pays for this house.

• Not quite, its hillarious this notion that Tax payers are paying anything towards repossessions, they may be proping up banks but certainly not helping struggling mortgage holders. I love to know how much the Bank actually lost on this deal, apparently originally sold for 250k, resposessed and then sold for 75k, I am just thrilled the family were able to get it back at its real worth. O and those stories about tax payers paying for this, just a note on my friendly state bank, PTSB! I am one of the lucky ones currently being screwed at 5.19 %

Add New Comment