TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Camogie chief says crisps ads are just not ‘Hunky Dory’

Those ads featuring scantily-clad girls trying their hand at our national sport haven’t gone down well with some…

One of the girls who features in the Hunky Dorys ads

THE PRESIDENT OF the Camogie Association has hit out the controversial Hunk Dorys crisps adverts which depict scantily-clad women playing GAA.

Joan O’Flynn was speaking after the launch of the latest ad campaign by Hunky Dorys makers Largo Foods this week in which two girls teams in gold and emerald coloured, tight-fitting bikini costumes try their hand at a bit of Gaelic football.

It  follows on from last year’s newspaper advertising campaign which featured the girls playing rugby.

The hugely successful campaign, which increased the Hunky Dorys brand’s net worth by over €1 million, led to widespread controversy and criticism with the adverts subject of a number of complaints to the advertising watchdog.

And the Advertising Standards Authority for Ireland has already received complaints in relation to this year’s campaign.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, O’Flynn said the ads were ill-timed given that camogie’s top teams will be in action at various levels in the All-Ireland finals at Croke Park this Sunday.

She said the ads “trivialises the talent and ability of women in sport” by focussing on their physical appearance rather than their sporting ability. She said that more “responsible advertising would focus on the skill and the ability of the players as athletes.”

The GAA has already said it was not consulted on the campaign.

Meath-based manufacturers Largo Foods, which owns the Hunky Dorys brand, has broken its silence on the controversy, CEO Ray Coyle telling the Irish Independent “we have to attract attention one way or another”.

But O’Flynn said this morning: “It may travel, and it’s a well established fact that that sort of advertising sells, but it sells on what I would call fairly poor values.”

Read: Those Hunky Dorys ads are back… and so are the complaints >

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• Brilliant. Second day of free publicity for Hunky Dorys.

• Aydo 07/09/11 #

‘scantily clad’ – hardly
    There’s far less clothes on in ads on tv with people showering / washing hair etc. These people should be ignored.

• Wherever you have hot babes like this, you will always have envious ugly feminists not far behind.. Sure isnt that why they became feminists in the first place? Cos they were ugly? And envious of the hot babes? Tell the truth!! Cmon now….

• That’s not an official match ball!

• I think the girl in the ad would do well as a presidential candidate.

• Ill timed? I hardly think so by the ad exec’s in charge of the campaign. I for one did not realise that the women’s camoige finals were on this weekend but I will be watching them as a result of this ad campaign. If for no more than pissing off the naysayers of largo foods. I actually find women’s camoige and football more enjoyable to watch not because of their physical attributes but because of the passion that they put into their game. In fact it would take a brave man to go up against some of the sports top women players!

• The whole point of the advertising campaign is to be controversial. That way they get twice as much publicity for their brand. So the people whinging about these bill board posters are more or less working for Largo foods.

• “…Flynn said the ads were ill-timed given that camogie’s top teams will be in action at various levels in the All-Ireland finals at Croke Park this Sunday.”

Not exactly ill-timed if your job is selling crisps…

• If they want to moan about this, then why are they not whining about all the other adds and magazines out there. I agree it’s a bad message because young girls will think that need to look like this and if they don’t they’ll feel insecure and different.
    But this type advertisement is selling things years. Just now because it dictates GAA there’s a problem. I guarantee all the men complaining are looking at girls in magazines and/or videos already. Reeks of double standards

• What kind of bizaar underwear is that girl is wearing, her breasts are up around her neck!

• Aydo 07/09/11 #

Wait…wait… Are we sure the complainers aren’t partly made up of Hunky Doreys employees?

• I think you’re all completely missing the point about why the camogie player was pissed off.

Imagine this – You train your ass off all year in the pissing rain, probably travelling home to the arsehole of nowhere several times a week from college or work. You get absolutely no recognition no matter how good you are and no matter how many All Irelands you win, because no one gives a shit about women’s sport as they’re too busy analysing every little detail of the men’s game.

When the recession hit, it was all talk about the male players losing their jobs and emigrating and leaving the county team, so every local business that could tried to come up with jobs for the lads or the GAA tried to help them out.

What do the women get? Again, nothing. You also never get any sponsorship money or other perks and basically have to pay for most associated costs yourself, but you keep on anyway because you’re a genuine athlete and you love the sport.

Now you’ve made it in to the All Ireland final after years of hard work. There will be maybe 20,000 people there at the absolute max and you’ll get a few minutes coverage on the news – less than the minor hurling.

Then a week beforehand some stupid crisp company comes along as does an ad featuring camogie. But of course they don’t feature real camogie players as they would if doing an ad about hurling – no, they hire some sexy models and dress them up like strippers as if hurling was only a man’s sport and isn’t the idea of women playing it funny, and mildly titilating.

How bloody annoyed annoyed would you be in this situation, especially given you still haven’t a hope in hell of ever getting sponsorship and the women in this ad will now be more talked about than the game on Sunday?

• I’m still gonna buy Tayto..

• So close yet so far. Largo wanted the GAA to comment, that didn’t work, but the Camogie Association serves the same purpose. By inciting anyone in officialdom of Gaelic Games to respond. Largo have achieved their objective of ensuring this campaign generates a lengthier buzz. I understand O’Flynn’s issues but the problem is so do Largo and they were hoping someone like her would respond.

• Do you not think camogie players are in the GAA? duh!

• They aren’t. They have a special relationship but have their own governing body that is wholly independent, albeit fiscally supported by, the GAA. Hence the difference between GAA, the governing body of Hurling, Men’s Gaelic Football and Handball, and the term Gaelic Games which encompasses these and the Camogie Association and Cumman Peil na mBan.

• If it’s funded by the GAA I don’t think saying it’s part of the GAA is that far off, though pedantically speaking I’m sure you’re right.

Do you not think camogie players commenting on it is more relevant though? Just ignoring this blatant sexism and total disregard for women’s sport would be wrong – I don’t really care if some eejits buy more crisps off the back of it. I’m more concerned that someone speaks out about it and doesn’t let it go unchallenged even if everyone here, shamefully including the women, think it’s all perfectly ok and treating women’s sport as a bit of a laugh that’s only interesting if good looking scantily clad women are playing it is fine too.

• I’ll deal with your main point first. This campaign’s success or failure rests on its ability to draw complaints from those running Gaelic Games, it wants to be seen as controversial and that’s why they use the line “Proud Supporters of Gaelic Football”. Cumann Peil na mBan and the GAA have, so far, remained tight-lipped as any response that fuels the fire helps Largo Foods so the best course of action is to rise above it and not engage. O’Flynn’s response effectively helps Largo as it keeps the fire burning longer (this is the 92nd comment on this thread for example). The inaction of the GAA and Cumann Peil na mBan has however kept this story to a much lower profile than when the IRFU decided to respond to Largo’s actions last year http://action81.com/blog/?p=1760

Regarding the issue of separation. I made that point because your wonderfully illustrative argument of “duh!” seemed merit some response as the point here is that there are 3 independent power structures here, and they are independent in terms of decision making, meaning 3 different places from which Largo can hope for a response to come. One made clear it wasn’t talking, another didn’t even say that much, but the third bit.

• Sorry that was the 82nd not 92nd.

• I’d like to complain about something else please

• If camogie players actually looked like these girls, I suspect there would be a lot more interest in the sport.

• Attractive men and women are used in advertising because it sells. This method that been used for years and will continue to do so. Sex sells anything whether people like it or not.

Kelloggs Special K cereal has a bikini clad woman wearing less than what the Hunky Dory girls are wearing, and both advertisements are promoting food.

Women don’t complain about the Diet Coke ads, and the women are almost drooling over the guy in the ad.

Double standards if you ask me.

• So because something has always been done you suggest that it should never be questioned and should continue to be done? There is also a major difference between the Special K ad and the Hunky Dory ad: the Special K ad suggests by eating their product and adhering to a balanced diet anyone can attain the figure of the woman in the ad. The Hunky Dory ad does not suggest this. It simply reads “Eat our food. Oh, and by the way, here’s a few scantily clad women for you men so you can take your trousers off and….”

• I would definitely have more of a problem with the likes of the special k as than these ads. And the worst (or the best if you’re the advertiser) I think is the "cla booster" tv ad with the girl trying on jeans that give her a muffin top. That as makes me want to starve myself. The hunky dories ads just make me smile/laugh.

• I never said I agreed with the Special K ad though either. I simply pointed out that there is a large difference between what the ads suggested.

• Give me a packet of Tayto and an ice lolly any day…

• Can’t remember too many women complaining about the famous Wonderbra advertisments.
    I reckon thats because they hinted that the ‘power/control’ element rested with women.
    The Hunky Dory advertisments are less ouvertly explicit than Wonderbra, but suggests that women are disempowered and are objects.

Thus all the noise….

• Sharrow 07/09/11 #

The wonderbra adds were about the bra and what they can do for boobs, they made sense, the same with the ads for showergels. This ad the same as the last one, is stupid and not related to the product at all.

• Its a misrepresentation, I have never seen girls as hot as the hunky dory girls playing gaa :) the camogie association is as backward

• Sad backward people complaining about something that is helping to draw interest and is trying to add revitalisation to the sport – they just don’t get it.

For sure Hunky Dory is in it for themselves too – but hey, in the long run both sides are benefiting and no one is being victimised. Hell, even the ladies involved are getting extremely well paid and participate willingly.

Some sad old people need to get over themselves and kop-on!

• Don’t think they’re exactly revitalizing the sport…

It’s purely for the controversy, and as someone said above – free advertising for hunky dories

• They are certainly giving it publicity along side the crisp brand name – that is plus to me.
      I’ve already stated “For sure Hunky Dory is in it for themselves too ” and why not! They are a business employing further people, which in turn partly puts food on the bale of many workers families.
      …And lets not forget we are talking about crisps here, not a company selling arms, underwear that exploits kids too young or drink or drugs!

So oldies that are complaining, get a bit of perspective and a bit of kop-on!

• * bale = table – typo error.

• Well these ads haven’t made me want to watch the galic any more than they’ve made me want to eat crisps

• Well thats you – you shouldn’t automatically think that your non-interference is automatically applicable and/or the same same as everyone else.

• CORRECTION: Well thats you – you shouldn’t automatically think that your non-INDIFFERENCE is automatically applicable and/or the same same as everyone else.

• Oh calm down, if you look at any of the rest of my posts on this, you’ll sear I have no problem with these ads.. I see them as tongue in cheek, poking a bit of fun. I don’t think they’re exploiting women, setting a bad example for young girls, disrespecting the sport or any of that cr@p some others seem to think, I just don’t think like you do that they’re particularly doing anything positive for the GAA, not that they’re doing anything negative either. They also don’t make me want to eat crisps, but they are getting purple talking about the brand, so in that way, the ads are effective.

• ^ see, not sear, and people, not purple. Apologies for the swype typos

• I think that the ladies gaa is sitting on a gold mine if they just copy the advertisement kit they will fill stadiums nationwide. At present the gaa kit looks dreadful on beautiful fit local women. If you want more publicity, higher turnout, design new shorts minimum.

• I wish to complain about the ad in question as the chances of the girls depicted being Irish, having played Irish sports, or even set foot in Ireland are as good as me becoming president.

• Jaysus, really scraping the bottom of the barrel if they only person available for comment was the Camogie Association, I wonder how many other talking heads were called before they got to her name :P

• Sport is one of the few outlets in a woman’s life where looks count for absolutely nothing. So yeah, ads like this are a little dismaying.

• Except it’s young girls not directly involved in the ad that are being victimised. Everyone says “oh what about the diet coke ad” or “what about the An Post ad”. But there is a major difference. There is very little societal pressure on men to look like those male models, something which is quite evident when you look around you at the 60% or more of Irish men who are over-weight. However, women in general, and young girls in particular, are constantly being barraged by this type of imagery from crisp ads, to TV programmes, car ads, expositions (motorshows in particular), fashion magazines, etc. The societal pressure on women and girls is enormous and is directly linked with the serious amounts of bulimia, anorexia, depression, etc. If the societal pressure on women was as low as the societal pressure on men, and if women were in fact equal, I might agree that these ads are harmless, but this just is not the case. It’s all very easy as a male to just sit there and say it’s not harming anyone and for those that complain to get a life – you are not being victimised so how the hell would you know? You (and I’m speaking generally here, not aimed at anyone in particular), are generally speaking a well-off (in comparison with many others in the world), white (an instant societal advantage), male (again an instant advantage) with a greater chance of earning money, gaining career prospects and promotions, and straight (again another societal advantage). You have never been victimised and probably never will so it’s very easy to just react as you do (in that stereotypical “me man, you woman, me right…”). Try doing some research into the effects of these ads (it’s not difficult – there are plenty of studies) and you’ll soon see why they are a problem.

Aside from that, someone above mentioned scantily clad people in showers – there is a big difference there. Those shower ads are advertising shower products. How the heck are those girls playing Gaelic football in incorrect attire in any way advertising crisps. It’s simply a shock campaign designed for publicity – it in no way advertises the product – it simply highlights the name.

• How you can think that young girls are being victimised by this ad is beyond me. It’s a stupid ad that makes a parody of other sexy ads by being knowingly overt. I don’t think young girls are anywhere near as stupid as to think that this ad sets standards of appearances that they should be aiming at.

The societal pressure with regards to appearance on young girls largely comes from their own gender. Women always seem to say that they don’t dress up for men – they say they dress up impress/compete with other women.

And just because young men don’t fall for the appearance pressure, as much as young women, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist (you don’t get thousands of young men screaming at good looking young women in Croke Park – Take That, Justing Bienber etc.).

It also doesn’t mean that there aren’t other just as onerous societal pressures on young men with regard to masculinity, performance at sport and so on.

Is it not true that most examinations of general levels of happiness, sense of self-worth and so on always find that young women are doing far better than young men? Ever ask yourself why this is so? Or why is it that far more young men kill themselves than young women?

• It’s not just this ad Donal. This ad was created by a company governed by men and advertised on media governed by men, aimed at a male audience. The vast majority of the print, radio and television media are owned by men. It is these men who set the agenda. Most people, and I will include myself in this, simply take the easy option when faced with a task – i.e. look at what has been done in the past and try to emulate, or better still, improve on what has already been done. This doesn’t make it right though. This ad doesn’t directly victimise young girls – but it is part of an entire cadre of ads that collectively do in the sense that they remove the free will, albeit surreptitiously, of the young girls who view such ads, promotional material, etc. Women are all to often told the only way to succeed in life is to have the perfect figure, the perfect looks. Men are simply told they have to be smart and intelligent, but that’s not enough for women. Even take a look at Christine Lagarde, head of the IMF. A very intelligent woman who has built a very successful career based on her intelligence and business savvy. Straight after becoming IMF head she was subjected to criticism and acclaim based on her sex appeal. This does not happen with men. Men may have the odd “and sure he’s also sexy” thrown at them – but it’s never one of the primary concerns facing them. It is for women. You say the societal pressures comes from their own gender – to a point yes it does. But ultimately it comes from men who dictate the very media that women then use themselves to further pressurise each other. Humans are not very smart creatures at the end of the day. We give ourselves too much credit. The only reason us men don’t do it to ourselves is because we control what the women see, hear, read, etc. to an astonishing degree. Take a look at Italy. Serious advances were made in women’s rights during the 1960s and 70s to a point where they had almost achieved equal respect with men. Along comes Berlusconi and his media empire, shovelling images of scantily clad women all over the TV, on billboards, etc. in the EXACT same fashion as Hunky Dorys did and what do you know – Italy is now one of the most sexist countries in Europe. All the work of the 60s and 70s is gone with women now seeing their looks as more important than their intelligence or personality. And this was done by only one man. Now imagine all those magazines, TV channels, advertising agencies and companies, over 80% of which are male owned. Take a look at China where the same pressure is being exerted on women. Young girls are mutilating themselves to look like a stereotypically good-looking western woman, and are going to such extremes as leg extensions (breaking the shin and inserting a metal implant to grow the legs), eye surgery to remove the “oriental” look, etc. In India they are bleaching their skin and avoiding sunlight at all costs (with serious health repercussions including a growing number of Vitamin D deficiencies among the middle classes). Even in the US (a country which actively discourages promiscuity through its churches while next door to the church are ads promoting Playboy and Hustler on giant billboards with women literally only using their hands to cover up) a recent study showed that there has been a serious decline in women seeking to advance themselves academically while another study reported a majority of women deem good looks and the right figure more important than a career. The Hunky Dory ad on its own doesn’t do much damage, but as part of an overall area of concern there is a major problem with it.

“And just because young men don’t fall for the appearance pressure, as much as young women, doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist” – I never said it didn’t exist. I said there is very little societal pressure. Currently, with the likes of the cosmetic industries in particular, we are seeing that slowly change. You say there are onerous societal pressures on men regarding masculinity and so on. I agree there are. But placing societal pressures on women does not combat the societal pressures on men.

“Is it not true that most examinations of general levels of happiness, sense of self-worth and so on always find that young women are doing far better than young men?” These examinations are inconclusive and circular. The questions being asked are being asked by the very society that places the societal pressures on them.

“Or why is it that far more young men kill themselves than young women?” This is another topic which also needs addressing (and which has much to do with masculinity, employment, bullying, sense of self worth, etc.). But saying that we should all “take a chill pill” and by that logic do nothing about any problems in society is not the answer.

• Brian – you clearly said that the societal pressures on men were lower than those on women. This is a subjective opinion not supported by evidence. In any case, a who is worse off debate serves no-one any good in the end.

Furthermore, my memory tells me that the original offending HD ad was made by a female creative.

The idea that men dictate and control the media that women consume (which is what you seem to be saying) is not something that I could agree with at all – consumer demand dictates how this media operates.

The magazine for women that didn’t have the articles on getting ready for the beach etc. simply would not sell.

• My God Donal – you can’t even read what I wrote, and can’t obviously remember what you yourself wrote. First off I stated “There is very little societal pressure on men”. You went on then to suggest that I had stated that ” it doesn’t exist”. I then countered and repeated that there is “very little societal pressure” to which you responded by saying I clearly said it was lower. Well done. I don’t disagree with that last one. But why you had to suggest I said something I didn’t in the first place and then argue over it is beyond me. Regarding the differences in societal pressures – well try reading Kate Fox (1997), Haeberle (1981), and Powell and Kahn (2002) for a start.

“Furthermore, my memory tells me that the original offending HD ad was made by a female creative.” And who does she work for? Many slaves also opposed emancipation and worked for its preservation with blacks fighting for the Confederacy in the US Civil War. The Roman Catholic Church colluded with the UK government in the early 1800s despite the fact that Catholics were actively discriminated against. Your point is moot.

“The idea that men dictate and control the media that women consume (which is what you seem to be saying) is not something that I could agree with at all – consumer demand dictates how this media operates.” This is definitely not true, and if you believe it is consumer demand that dictates the media then you are very naive. Try the documentary Killing Us Softly 3: Advertising’s Image of Women or read Kaufman (2004) or Moser (2007).

“The magazine for women that didn’t have the articles on getting ready for the beach etc. simply would not sell.” There is a big difference in advising someone on how to get ready for the beach on one hand and on the other telling them they must be a size 8, they must have this year’s bikini, they must have appropriate sun tan lotion, make-up, hairspray and other toxic chemicals on their bodies, they must shave every single bit of hair, and as a result have to cake themselves in all sorts of deodorants and perfumes…and all for the beach!!

• I see boobies.

• Yawn…

• For crying out loud people get over it, it’s a crisps ad and it features a couple of hot young women in it. Hardly ground breaking stuff! I dread to think what O’Flynn would say if she saw F1 motor racing and the ‘scantily clad’ women who advertise the numerous products or services associated with sponsoring that sport. It’s that old Irish parochial prudery raring it’s head again, also the women in the ad’s are not being exploited they get well paid if my experience in dealing with model agencies is anything to go by and as everyone knows sex sells when it comes to advertising.

• Jolly hockeysticks!

• How old is the diet coke ad? Really you have to go back THAT far?

• To say there’s little societal pressure on men to look a certain way is ridiculous. There’s huge pressure on both males and females. Increasing numbers of men are seeking professional help for anorexia and bulimia. But apart from that it’s a crisp advert and I think it works well because I remember seeing it in last weeks paper. From an advertising exec perspective: job done!

• Ummm, if this lady walked down the streets on a Sat night they would see scantily clad ladies!
    Think Joan needs to get out more!

• If anyone does wish to lodge a complaint here is the link to the online forum which can be filled in.
    http://www.asai.ie/complain.asp

• I think I know that girl, she packs the Chipsticks in Tayto Park !!!! ;-)

• I have seen girls in rural Irish towns on a Saturday nite with less clothes on.I don’t know what the fuss is about.fair play to whoever is creating the adverts for hunky diets they are certainly getting a lot of publicity for the company.

• jchizle 07/09/11 #

I don’t see why this ad isn’t praised. At least it isn’t lying to people to sell the latest iteration of something that was fine to begin with. I generally hate advertising but at least this appeals in some way.

• I’m just glad that Henry Shefflin and Lar Corbett don’t tog out in gear like that!!

• I don’t want an ex superman villain as president.

• You should check out the website. There’s a link to the old rugby campaign and a video of a ‘scrum’. Sweet Jaysus!

• Yum

• Tara 07/09/11 #

@ Brian O’D..zzzzzzzzz.

• No problem with it at all. Glad to see that’s the majority consensus here. Wouldn’t want a case of Bernard Dunne having to box in an Aran jumper.

Add New Comment