TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Children’s Referendum count begins

Results are expected by noon.

Sinead Yang Yang Glynn, aged four, passes a polling station in Ranelagh, Dublin with her mother Dan Dan Glynn yesterday.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

BALLOT BOXES FROM polling stations across the country will be opened at 9am as the counting of votes in the Children’s Referendum begins.

According to RTÉ, turnout was low and may just exceed 30 per cent. That would make it one of the lowest ever turnouts for a national election or referendum. The Government had moved polling day to a Saturday in the hopes of boosting numbers.

The record for the lowest ever turnout in the State is from July 1979 when just 28.5 per cent of eligible voters cast their ballots on the issues of adoption and university representation in the Seanad.

Asked about the referendum last night, Enda Kenny said Ireland is a democracy and, therefore, the Government cannot force people to vote.

As the number of votes will be low, a result is expected early afternoon.

PICS: Have you cast your Children’s Referendum vote yet? These people have…

Read next:

Comments (110 Comments)

• creamy . That is a load of rubbish about having to que for 30 minutes to park and vote anywhere in this country .

• @creamy Americans wait up to 4 hrs to vote. Surely a few mins wait for a parking space is not too much hardship in order to use your democratic right to vote?

Some of the excuses I’ve read on here for people not voting are pathetic. “I’ve no kids”, “hungover”, “no parking”, “couldn’t be arsed”, ” wasn’t home” ( ie didn’t bother applying for postal vote), “not enough info” (ie didn’t bother educating yourself) & the best one ” out of protest against the gov). PATHETIC

• @Jenni – “Couldn’t be arsed” isn’t making an excuse, it’s stating that you couldn’t be arsed.

I didn’t vote because I couldn’t be arsed with it, the first time since I became eligible at 18. Hopefully it sends a message to the government to not run proposals that people just don’t care about by themselves in future.

• @Howard. Completely agree. Had quite an argument with the missus over this. She didnt agree with my yes vote, got annoyed and had a go. that was until l said she had no right to an opinion on the matter unless she voted. this was at 6pm but still didnt take the hint !

• What the hell is Enda Kenny talking about, saying that the government can’t make people because we are a democracy? There are plenty of democratised countries were voting is mandatory. Greece for one (the birth place of democracy. Not to mention Luxembourg, Australia and many more besides. What an absolute gombeen!

• Poor turn out and a lot of people voting no, should be interesting.

• I think creamy has pulled his hamstring. If you were worried about queuing at a polling station it was on every news bulletin yesterday that turnout was low so if you applied a bit of logic then you may have concluded that there would be no q and you could have gone and voted. It shows poor regard for democracy People didn’t vote because their annoyed with the Government cut back’s and would see this as a way of punishing them.

• This shouldn’t take long. Very poor turnout.

• What do we all think about compulsory voting ? Happens in Belgium and Australia !
    Turnout was nothing Short of shocking

• Don’t believe in compulsory voting. If you don’t use your vote you should be removed from the voting register and have to apply to get back on again.

• @David – I’m completely against the idea. The majority of people here, on either side but particularly the negative side, vote on proposals for reasons that have nothing to do with what is being proposed. We had clowns here yesterday saying they voted no because they weren’t happy with the campaign the government ran – that’s taking the piss out of our democratic process.

It’s not confined to a few people, most people who are voting here do it. People vote No because they don’t like the government, people vote Yes to not vote in line with SF and more.

To suggest amplifying this nonsense is something I absolutely cannot support. If you want to bring in mandatory voting, then everyone turning up to vote should have to do a quick 10 question multiple choice test on the proposal before they’re given their vote and are only permitted once they get over 7/10 or similar.

• A lot of excuses being thrown around for people not voting. It’s up to the voter to inform themselves and make the short trip to the polling station. There’s really no excuse for less than 75% turnout at a vote. What’s the point in having a democracy otherwise?

• There was a big turn out for the general election. People were told they’d get a change. People have lost all interest in what this government do and don’t trust them. I am one of them.
      If the state really cared about children they would help parents and society with programs e.g. Alcohol and drugs.

• Sean… you say a lot of people had a lot of excuses why they didn’t vote…
      my excuse like a lot of others is
      i didn’t bother my arse

• They do Mark, there are a few different systems / schemes in place to help families from disadvantaged areas and those addicted to substances. They have to want to take part though, you can’t chain them to a chair. A lot do in fairness and it’s great for the children, it gives them a more positive outlook. Breaks the cycle.

• Mark, none of that is really relevant. You should still be voting on an important change to the constitution.

Baxter as far as I’m concerned the right to vote is wasted on people like you.

• The apathy of the Irish electorate over protecting the vulnerable in society (as indicated by low turnout) is extremely sad. Particularly in view of the fact that in this country we have a sordid history of child abuse. The fact that people don’t care enough perpetuates such abuse. As a society we have learned nothing.

• Irene, I couldn’t agree more! The hear no evil, see no evil monkeys come to mind when I read some comments on here. Also people using a vote on a referendum for the most vulnerable in our society to get back at our government is shocking. It’s a low point for us as a nation sadly.

• @Susan @Irene I genuinely think people didn’t vote because they were not sure what way to vote! I voted,but only after it was explained from both sides… The government didn’t really help their case by not making clear what it was about

• @Sean, it is relevant. peeps have lost interest in government. They don’t believe what they say. There is so much spin that peeps have turned off. Unless your interested in this referendum and tried to understand it it would pass you by.

• i think people didnt turn out to vote because of the little understanding everyone has on the issue because of the onesided information given by this decietful government. if it is a no vote then they will state that the reason is because people didnt understand and will make us vote again and people will then turn up to vote and vote yes because they feel the yes vote is being forced on us and wont want to be bothered about another vote being forced upon them

• The lack of information available is another argument. Its the people using their vote as a grudge vote or those saying they didn’t care it doesn’t concern them that’s quite upsetting. As for information, there is a wealth of information available online. I’m not talking about the government websites, there are websites where you can find out the history of laws concerning children in Ireland. As I said, that’s another argument and a personal choice if you want to put that much effort into your vote and wasn’t my argument at all.

• Sean, i dont agree. If people aren’t interested they shouldn’t vote. This allows a fair democracy where the people that ARE interested have their say and it means more because the pool of voters who care is less.

Part of our democracy is having the freedom to choose not to vote.

• @Sean – I don’t make any excuses, I just wasn’t bothered. It was the first time since I became eligible at 18 and I know a load of others in the same boat – not bothered or not interested.

Bring something important to the table and people will turnout. Bring something that only a tiny minority are concerned or care about, as the turnout yesterday will verify, and the turnout will be low.

The best idea going forward is just to have more than one proposal at each referendum.

• So is Enda saying Australia isn’t a democracy because they fine those who don’t bother to go out and vote coz I think its a great idea.

• Is their system better run or do they still have to take time out of their day to sit outside a crowded school with a ridiculously small carpark and wait half an hour until a space becomes available?! Sort their sh1t out, then fine us!

• I voted, went to the post office, the shop, butchers and chemist with 2 kids in toe and was home in half an hour I understand your frustration at having to queue to vote maybe I wouldn’t have been as keen if my experience was like yours. On a positive note all the shop keepers were saying there was increased shoppers about because of the voting maybe that was just my little area but a positive none the less.

• More shoppers around a crappy local centre for half an hour because of the referendum?! Yay, recession over…

• @Creamy. People in other parts of the world put their lives at risk to vote and you can’t be bothered to vote because you can’t find a parking space. Good man.

• No, Paul, I didn’t say I can’t be bothered or that I didn’t go because of the parking issues.

I said I don’t care about this particular issue. That’s the one and only reason I didn’t vote this time.

• Creamy, for someone who doesn’t care about the issue in this referendum you sure spend a lot of time on articles about it in The Journal screaming to the world about how much you don’t care. Going out to vote would have taken a fraction of the time it took you to write every comment about the referendum you have made to date.

• Why cant they run an online voting system where you enter your pps no and a private personal 15 digit code (which could be posted to you instead of a polling card). Theres no reason this couldn’t exist simultaneously with the current thurs-sat vote in the local school.

I suspect this would at least double the numbers and would be so easy to do!

• The people didnt bother getting off their backsides and vote can have no input or opinion in this referendum passed or not beacause they are a disgrace regardless if you voted yes or no.

• I couldn’t vote because I’ve emigrated, but I did encourage friends to vote. One of my friends living in Dublin said she was not happy about being given a pencil to mark her ballot paper….I have to agree, surely an indelible marking implement like a pen would have ensured non tampering of ballots. Not suggesting there was tampering but it should not be made easy to do so either.

• @Adam – The people who didn’t bother voting are a disgrace regardless of whether they voted yes or no?

Well said.

• Excuses, excuses, excuses, if you didn’t vote don’t ever moan about church or state again. You had an opportunity to have a say but didn’t take it so spare us all today.
    Yes or no didn’t matter, to have no say at all gives you no right to comment.
    So troll away because that’s all yous ever will be.
    To say you just didn’t care to vote ( either way) on children’s rights is shameful.

• well that’s Dana put away again in storage with all the ballot boxes.. until the next vote…

• Anybody who didnt bother voting should have their right to vote removed for the next referendum or election. Maybe then they would realise whats important when they have it !

• I would love to agree with this, and certainly would have in the past. Unfortunately, in the voting back in June, I was unable to take part, as I couldn’t get back to my polling station, thanks to my work hours. Now, I’m aware of the whole postal voting thing, but I wasn’t able to avail of that. You have to register by the previous November, and I only found out at the end of May that I wouldn’t be able to get back to my voting station.

I think a better solution might be… if you don’t show up say.. 3 times, THEN remove the name, or fine a person or something. Since turning 18 about 7 years ago, I’ve only missed that one voting opportunity. If my right to vote for the next referendum was stripped from me as a result of something I couldn’t get around (and I did try and get my hours fixed, but to no avail, as sometimes happens), then I would be very *very* upset.

• i voted last nite and i used a PEN not altering my vote

• I wonder how many of the 70% that are registered and didn’t vote have; emigrated, died, are duplicate registrations etc. the voting register is poorly maintained and I wouldn’t trust any statistics that are produced from it.

• They called to my house a few months ago to confirm that the people registered still live there etc. Probably a little more up to date than you might think.

• I’m with you there, Laura. I will technically be one of the 70% that will be classed as not voting, simply because someone, somewhere messed up, and I get two dockets for every vote. One of which, has an incorrect name on it O.o (It can only be me, though… there are three people in the family, and the incorrect one only started showing up after I turned 18).

I did, however, go and vote under my correct name.

• Creamy… Not everyone has a computer or Internet access for that matter. Seriously.

• @ creamy why don’t you have an interest in this referendum? Do you have kids, obviously not! What happens if you or close family members decide to have children?? You do know that this referendum will have an effect on you or your family! If we all had an outlook like you creamy then who would protect the children within our society being abused!??
    Also if you have no interest in this issue why log onto this article about the referendum and start commenting?

• It is looking like a yes vote ( according to radio 1 reports).

• Should be a quick count as only 20 people voted!

• The reason polling was low was, for the most part, because there was little or no debate on the issue. With all the main parties calling for a yes vote and only groups like COIR and the CC calling for a no vote people felt that it was always going to pas anyway so their vote didn’t matter. If you couple this with the information supplied to the voter, which was either confusing or biased plus taking into account the supreme courts ruling on the governments cock up is it really any wonder only 30% of the electorate actually turned out to vote. I’d actually rather that those who use a referendum as a means of taking a pop at the government would actually stay at home too. It’s one thing to vote no because you disagree with the proposed changes and quite another to do so because you disagree with the government.

We’re lucky in this country that we actually have referenda because if we lived in say Germany for example we wouldn’t get the opportunity

• mike 11/11/12 #

People didn’t vote because the information campaign was patethic. The didn’t vote because they didn’t fully understand the amendment

• Lazy excuse … Plenty of info out there for months

• I agree. It’s up to the individual to inform themselves. Info is supplied to all households, there’s a website. Short of implanting it in your brain, what more can be done?

• If they are withholding from voting as a form of protest if doesn’t work, not having enough information doesn’t work. Its the duty of every citizen over 18 to vote. If you wish to spoil your vote you also have the right, but you DO NOT have the right to give out if you didn’t cast a vote. Yes no spoil. Imbeciles for coming with excuses why not to vote.

• Lets hope the ‘no’ wins

• Makes no odds what wins yes or no this one will run again.

• The Journal.ie,
    Can you get the Journal app sorted on the iPhone?
    It constantly sends double comments.

• at Sean read all your comments yest, the bile that’s come out of you is unreal, never been witness to someone as disturbing as u,I knew people like u had to exist to explain why so much abuse went on unchallenged in the past, I’m glad your bloodline goes no further for everyones sake.

• The only reason this vote happened was so Fine Gael.Labour could point to fullfilling an election promise for next 10 years.The result really does not matter to them.

• Perhps NOT voting is saying quite a lot also? You are removing yoir mandate for the State to Govern You?

• Bye bye Saturday voting.
    Except for subjects that make no difference what so ever to 99% of the population.

• People didn’t vote because the political culture is conducive to apathy. For as long as the government beats around the bush and refuses to challenge the emerging electorate/representative credibility gap, the growing lack of faith in the health of Irish democracy will see participation and engagement continue to decline – meaning lower turnouts, more apathy and a general weakening of Irish democratic mandate.
    http://www.perspectivesbyjack.com

• It’s great to see the “voters” up on their high horse this morning. Well done. Typical of some people to use this type of platform to tell the world how wonderful they are.

• It;s not about telling the world how great we wre. It’s about telling the world that the reason this state is broken is because of people not participating and then wanting to blame those who do.

• At least we who voted (Yes, No or Spoiled) made an effort to do what we believe is right, no need for a high horse to look down on you when I can see non-voters dwelling in the gutters.

• @Francis – Actually, the “state is broken” because people are more self-orientated than ever. People voted in FF consecutively because it meant the best for their pockets, they grabbed at credit because it suited their pockets and they demanded high value property because it suited their egos.

Not participating isn’t what has damaged this state, it’s the people who did participate that have wrecked the place for the future.

• Is NOT VOTING also a way of saying,
    that you are removing ALL authority of
    the State to Govern You?

• hopefully- no

• We need a Referendum on making voting compulsory! Expect a high turn out and a No Vote :)

• @Aaron – Of course mandatory voting would lead to more “No” votes. People vote “No” out of ignorance and very little else.

The people on this site are so amusing – if someone doesn’t entirely align with your opinion then it’s not only wrong, but it’s the enemy.

• I’m yet to be asked to show my ID at the poling station. Yesterday was no exception.

• I haven’t read all the posts here, sorry if this has been covered. I voted last night in my polling station, marking my ballot paper in PENCIL, supplied by the government. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but a ballot paper is a legal document. These could easily be altered to orchestrate a desired result. Are we ever going to get anything right in this country

• As William Butler Yeats charged, “Ye have disgraced yourselves again! ”

Yet a great NO Vote in the face of a Yes campaign by the entire political establishment, all the media , all the charitable institutions spending money on a huge nationwide poster campaign. Personally I give money to charity to help people , not for to be spent on political campaigns, so thumbs down to Barnados in particular.
    Well it’s all una voce now with the political establishment and the media united against the people, a very dangerous situation in any country.
    Following upon the Supreme Court judgement against it this referendum was contaminated and the Ministers responsible for that contamination and justifying it even now, Frances Fitzgerald and Alan Shatter, should be asked for their resignations.

• Lack of information is a Mickey Mouse excuse there was plenty of media info i:e , The Frontline Debate, TV3 Debate, SixOne News ,5:30 News, the independent booklet that got delivered to homes. Now what part of that did you not get

• Didn’t bother with this referendum and I’m delighted to see the overwhelming majority didn’t either.

Hopefully the government will learn their lesson and run actually important proposals in referendums in the future.

Oh and to the people suggesting mandatory voting – no thank you. We’ve a country that hits the polls and votes on proposals based on their feelings about the government or many other things that are irrelevant to the question at hand.

Looking forward to the result being a “Yes” so we can sit back and watch TheJournal explode with screams of how the country is doomed, people would be rolling in their grave, “sheeple” and more.

• This was actually a very important proposal. Unfortunately people couldn’t take the time to look at the wider implications of this ammendment outside of the area of child abuse.

Add New Comment