TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Clontarf residents protest over flood wall plans

Thousands of people joined in a public protest today against Dublin City Council plans to build an 8-foot-high wall along the 3km Clontarf Promenade next year.

Image: Daryl Feehely via Flickr

MORE THAN 5,000 people joined a protest today to speak out against controversial plans to build a flood defence wall along Clontarf’s 3km promenade.

Local Gardaí believe about 5,000 people turned out for the event, while Clontarf Residents Association chairperson Deirdre Tobin told TheJournal.ie that more than 5,000 signatures were obtained for a petition.

Politicians, including Independent TD Finian McGrath, Minister Richard Bruton and Labour TD Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, address the crowd.

Author Roddy Doyle also made an emotional speech, telling the audience that Dublin City Council’s plans for an 8-foot-high wall along the seafront was a “national crisis” and not just a local one.

Residents say they welcome the need for a flood defence system but reject the current plan, citing tourism and safety as two reasons.

A meeting is due to take place next Friday between City Council officials and residents.

Clontarf residents protest over flood wall plans
1 / 7
  • #ProtestOnTheProm

Roddy Doyle said, "We won't tolerate secret decisions taken in rooms."
  • #ProtestOnTheProm

An estimated 5,000 people turned up for the protest.
  • #ProtestOnTheProm

Residents and business association officials show an artist rendering of the plans.

Thanks to Daryl Feehely and Dan Walsh for the images.

Follow the Clontarf Residents’ Association on Twitter @clontarfRA #Clontarf #ProtestOnTheProm

Read: Clontarf residents object to “insane” flood defence plans>

Read next:

Comments (30 Comments)

• It is fair to say that there are other more pressing issues that people could consider protesting about and I can understand why some people (who have posted comments on this site) dont see this particular issue as being worthy of such a protest.

That said, I completely support the people who have protested today. This isnt the ususal “Not in My Back Yard” (NIMBYism) or “Build Absolutely Nothing Near Anyone” (BANNAism). There simply must be a better way to protect the area from flooding and to ensure protection of an area of great scenic beauty.

It is correct to challenge our city planners or whomever drew up this particular design. Yes, it is fair to say that we should have protested and challenged decisions taken by our town planners in the past ten years or so, but we didn’t. So surely we must change our ways.

Given the size of the protest, the good people of Clontarf clearly feel passionate about this and it is their right to demand a better solution as this is their local area. If they dont protest, then surely nothing has been learnt from the lessons of the outrageous planning decions made in the past ten years or more.

It is time the poeple were listened to.

• Don’t worry. With Joe Duffy being a resident of Clontarf, there is a better chance of Dana becoming President, as this going ahead.

• Wow occupy wall street has been going on for nearly a month and they’ve only recently reached the 5,000 mark. Very impressive turnout

• 16/10/11 #

I read elsewhere that it is actually a 9ft wall. I think it is am absolutely insane solution and I am surprised at the amount of comments who think the protestors should be thinking about insurance issues and the government having to pay out in case of a flood. how miserable can you get! such areas of scenic beauty should be preserved and enrich the quality of local life. a 9ft wall would be a shocking disgrace. I would freak out looking at a flipping giant wall knowing the beauty of the sea lay on the other side.

• It’s only a wall, get over it!
      My previous comment was more about the fact that we as a nation are more concerned about a poxy wall than real issues like the state of our economy and the way we are being treated by those in government. At no recent time have 5000 irish people marched on the government buildings or joined the protesters @ occupy dame street to make a stand or demand real change. It’s great to see some people get off their asses to protest but next time look at what is really important to all of our futures and not just the ‘views’ of those in Clontarf.

• Frank it’s up to people to decide to fight whichever battle they choose. 5000 people from an area protested something that is very near and dear to their hearts – fair play to them. Better that they fight ‘city hall’ than have the landscape blighted. For all you know many of them could have been in Dame Street all week. I wouldn’t be caught dead on Dame Street what’s done is done, protesting should have happened a couple of years ago before the shit hit the fan alà the folks of Clontarf

• Could be worse..you could have shell trying to run the highest pressured pipeline in the world through your front garden and destroying special areas of conservation in the process, polluting the water supply and endangering your everyday lives. I’m sure as it’s Dublin though you’l probably be listened to and they’l look at alternatives

• Bit of a dim viewpoint, Frank, that because the whole worl’s in a terrible state o’ chassis that people should roll over and have their bellies tickled when the council come along with what amounts to projects of corporate vandalism.

• I was proud to be part of this protest today. There are plenty of flood defence alternatives to the cheap and dirty solution DCC are planning. All we are asking for is the chance to investigate those alternative options. I grew up in the inner city and always dreamed of living in this beautiful part of Dublin, now that I’ve made it here I’ll be heartbroken if it’s destroyed by this ill conceived plan.

The people protesting this are the same hard working people who’ve objected to austerity measures and bank bailouts. This protest and the dame st. protest don’t have to be mutually exclusive. I think it’s childish and naive to suggest that people should only support one cause at a time.

• If DCC do not come up with a sensible alternative, a lot of flood defence (and other services) money will be diverted to paying legal fees. This crazy suggestion and the non-existent public consultation could cost a lot of money. There are many social and economic issues to justify protesting but preserving the quality of life of a community is worth protesting for, campaigning for and, if necessary, litigating for.

• Some idiotic comments on here. The sea views in Clontarf are amongst the most spectacular sites in the city. The planners have given this little notice with their plan to build a 9ft mound that will block and views across the bay. Also, how safe will it be for walkers on the other side away from view of passing cars and police; anti-social behaviour is also a worry. No thought has been given for the long-term mental effects this will have on the Clontarf community. There must be other ways found of building flood defences rather than destroying a unique and stunning part of Dublin.

• What DCC fail to explain is how an 8ft high mound will stop the more frequent flood events that occur due to heavy rainfall and the inability of their stormwater drainge system to cope with it.

• Somebody should build a 8 ft wall in front of the city managers house or around the chief planners house and if that fails around Enda Kenny’s house or golf club – these could be temporary like hoarding and see the impact. These people need to wake up. If we are to get 9 ft waves in our time – we better plans a Venice like system for the whole city. Therein lies the answer – they plan to do this along our city coastline north and south. Brown envelopes for the people who make the decisions. Will we ever learn.

• Will any of the planners who are responsible for the ghost estates and the property crises which we are all paying for ever go to jail? There must be brown envelopes involved as vested interests seem to be behind this mad plan.
    These planners seem to waste so much public money and have so many outside consultants doing reports and plans for them I wonder when was the last time one was sacked for corruption. The City manager should certainly be fired as this is a shocking waste of public funds – again has he or any other city manager ever be fired for any reason corruption or neglect of duties It’s the Irish way.

• RDX862 16/10/11 #

The alternative being the government having to pay out every time it floods because the insurance companies refuse coverage.

• There are a number of alternatives being looked into; solutions that are in place elsewhere. Everyone in Clontarf knows we need flood defences, just not ones that are 8ft high. Its the most crude & laziest solution that DCC could come up with, without any regard to 1000s of people that use this amenity daily, the massive safety issue their proposal presents or the need to preserve a piece of viking history (with plans already underway for the Battle of Clontarf millennium in 2014).

As Councillor Damian O’Farrell said today, he personally called to over 30 of worst-affected houses & not one was in favour of current proposals. People in Clontarf have a right to object & to be given time to discuss other options. It makes sense, if money is to be spent on flood defences, that it is spent on the most effective solution.

Great turn out today showed the level of support in Clontarf, all over Dublin and further afield. I only hope these 8ft monstrosities can be stopped.

• So what happens when the council don’t build this and insurance companies won’t even look at the residents? Wait until a flood happens and then go to the government looking money, saying you should have built something?

• travors 16/10/11 #

Nobody wants no flood defence, we just don’t want the proposed one. There are better alternatives.

• I’ll take it when you say “better alternatives”. You mean, far more expensive and more pleasing to the eye.

• So what if the alternative would be pleasing to the eye, that’s a reasonable expectation. I’m sure you wouldn’t want an 8 ft wall going up across from your house? I don’t live in that area, I don’t even live in Dublin but agree wholeheartedly with the residents

• If it were ten years ago, I would say build something grand that makes the place look even better. But this now and there is no money for it. Would you rather they close down a school to pay for it?

• Who said anything about closing down schools, Diego. Do you think that’s the way these things work?

• It’s just an example. The money has to come from somewhere. Never hear of the saying borrowing from Peter to pay Paul?

• So, you consult publicly with the residents of Clontarf and come to a consensus on the need for protection while mainiting the prom, you put this agreed design out to tender and if the tenders fall within budget you choose one and away you go. If the tenders are beyond budget that’s when they need to bring their pricing down and/or compromises need to be sought publicly to bring the project to with the budget parameters – this is a terrible time for builders and contractors in this country, satisfactory compromises should be a lot easier to attain. This is how things are done in proper societies by councils who are invested in the community. Do you think the residents of Clontarf WANT to be inundated with seawater? No. But if you’ve out along the promenade you’ll agree that it’s a beauful amenity central to the area’s character. Destroying by walling it off without public consultation smacks of kneejerk decisions by divorced individuals and shoddy planning on the council’s part.

This has got nothin NOTHING to do with Occupy Dame St, like some other posters believe it should have.

• The council don’t spend money on anything that they really don’t need to, just look at the state of our roads, the sea will not have a conscience when it’s coming for people’s houses and businesses. Why could these people not go to dame street and join the protest there instead of this bs! If you want to moan about something then make it something worthwhile!

Add New Comment